View Full Version : Troy Parrott F AZ Alkmaar b.2002
Conor Coventry doubled the lead. 2-0.
A "goal of the season" contender according to KK... I am not so sure. Based on where the ball hit the net, i am not so sure that it didn't take a deflection or, in any case, it seemed to go through the keeper. Either way, lovely to see.
Eirambler
05/04/2022, 9:35 PM
I think it might be time to start getting excited about Troy again. Really seems to have turned a corner after a tough 18 months at Millwall, Ipswich and then losing his starting place at MK Dons.
Looks to now have developed the workrate and physical strength to play Championship football next season if the opportunity comes up - he always had the technical ability but that alone is not enough.
liamoo11
05/04/2022, 9:53 PM
Lovely take down and great feet to clip the ball over the keeper.
Beautiful technique and awareness
05/04/2022, 11:52 PM
Beautiful technique and awareness
Awareness, vision and execution all wrapped up in a lovely bow of technique.
liamoo11
06/04/2022, 11:39 AM
Awareness, vision and execution all wrapped up in a lovely bow of technique.
He is so naturally 2 footed . The power off his right for that Lithuania goal and the finesse off his left for finish last night's goal.
Obviously comparisons with kane are stupid but his attributes are very similar as a footballer even down to the absence of serious pace. Obviously the major attribute which kane has demonstrated scoring bags of goals consistently will be close to impossible for troy to emulate
I think it might be time to start getting excited about Troy again. Really seems to have turned a corner after a tough 18 months at Millwall, Ipswich and then losing his starting place at MK Dons.
Looks to now have developed the workrate and physical strength to play Championship football next season if the opportunity comes up - he always had the technical ability but that alone is not enough.
I still think both Parrott and Idah have great potential. It may have been a bit early for Idah to get so much game t8me, but I think it may stand to him in the long run.
seanfhear
06/04/2022, 4:25 PM
Lovely take down and great feet to clip the ball over the keeper.
Great Ball from the Number 3. OK he was given a bit of room but he still made that great pass.
tommy_c12000
06/04/2022, 4:45 PM
Really nice touch and finish. Continues to show signs that he may deliver on his early promise. Still only league one though. He is not on Spurs radar at all it seems. Hopefully he can continue to perform at a higher level next season, probably championship bound.
I think his career arc will roughly resemble Patrick Bamfords though that permanent move might come a little sooner.
Razors left peg
06/04/2022, 5:17 PM
If MK Dons go up you'd like to see both Parrott and Coventry stay there next season.
Parrott is really impressing me recently. He has more to do to show that he can now keep it going consistently but there are times he does things that make you think Wow
On the score sheet again with another quality finish.
09/04/2022, 5:17 PM
Confidence as well to put the boot through a volley as sweetly as that. Very encouraging stuff
That strike couldn’t be any sweeter if you dipped it in a pint of Nutella. And in a big game.
The comparisons with Harry Kane, though, are still really unfair.
It should be Marco Van Basten! :D
seanfhear
09/04/2022, 5:52 PM
Obviously Wimbledon Commentator = = “ “ The Opposition have Equalised “ “ and nothing about the quality of the Goal, LOL ! !
ColourfulPeanut
09/04/2022, 9:37 PM
Wimbledon basically don't acknowledge MK Dons existence or ever speak their name and I don't blame them for acting that way.
What a strike though! Got that cocky edge too, sliding in front of the home fans. Love to see it!
10/04/2022, 12:39 PM
Playing against them is some sort of acknowledgement I'd say though. Can understand that from fans but it feels like empty grandstanding from the club itself. Good optics sell I suppose. Pretty much all clubs are the same.
10/04/2022, 12:40 PM
Also, more importantly, smashing goal from Parrott. The last half season or so has been welcome progress from him. Fair play.
tommy_c12000
16/04/2022, 7:21 PM
MK Dons imploding against Sheffield Wednesday, 3-0 down at home after 33 minutes. Parrott has been poor. A few heavy touches already. Dragged one shot wide off his left.
Hopefully Parrott can continue to develop nicely at Championship level (or equivalent) next season. Can’t see him making much of an impact at Spurs this side of Christmas.
tommy_c12000
16/04/2022, 7:29 PM
Love it, some good motivational posting again. Really nice goal by Parrott, wonderful finish. 3-1 down now, come on Troy, Conor, Warren!
Yeah was a lovely finish. Thought his touch might have been too heavy but did brilliantly to finish it off.
17/04/2022, 7:42 AM
That's a heavy touch and then some! I think the keeper will be annoyed he didn't close Parrott down quicker there. He won't get away with that in a higher division.
But six goals in eight games now, ignoring his one minute cameo v Belgium. All starting to look a bit promising
Olé Olé
17/04/2022, 8:03 AM
That's a heavy touch and then some! I think the keeper will be annoyed he didn't close Parrott down quicker there. He won't get away with that in a higher division.
I find it funny that that is your first response to a lovely goal like that. The half empty glass in front of you must be annoying.
17/04/2022, 8:14 AM
Sorry; I forgot it's only positive thoughts allowed on here. What was I thinking?
Olé Olé
17/04/2022, 8:17 AM
Sorry; I forgot it's only positive thoughts allowed on here. What was I thinking?
You were thinking negatively. Strangely enough.
17/04/2022, 9:25 AM
Nope, just analysing the goal.
Same as JR89 before me, but I don't see you commenting on that.
And funny how you ignore the second part of my post. Probably not negative enough for you, which doesn't suit.
You were thinking negatively. Strangely enough.
Smart decision though, if we talk positively about a player that player will probably end up getting injured!
17/04/2022, 9:31 AM
Declan Rice is doing great these days, isn't he? :p
17/04/2022, 1:52 PM
Is it really that heavy a touch? It took him clear of the defender and took the defender out of the frame, and it was into a space not quite close enough to goal to commit the keeper. He accelerated and finished well. What on earth is there to moan about? I mean I’d have preferred he used his left for aesthetics but objectively speaking Parrott did really well there. If the ball hadn’t been put into that space the defender was back for a second bite.
CraftyToePoke
17/04/2022, 2:00 PM
That's a heavy touch and then some!
I don't see a heavy touch.
CraftyToePoke
17/04/2022, 2:02 PM
It took him clear of the defender and took the defender out of the frame, and it was into a space not quite close enough to goal to commit the keeper. He accelerated and finished well. What on earth is there to moan about? I mean I’d have preferred he used his left for aesthetics but objectively speaking Parrott did really well there. If the ball hadn’t been put into that space the defender was back for a second bite.
Saw all these though & would agree with this apart from the finish, which was class. A lot of players would have gone with the left, very few could execute how he did off the right.
seanfhear
17/04/2022, 2:02 PM
Is it really that heavy a touch? It took him clear of the defender and took the defender out of the frame, and it was into a space not quite close enough to goal to commit the keeper. He accelerated and finished well. What on earth is there to moan about? I mean I’d have preferred he used his left for aesthetics but objectively speaking Parrott did really well there. If the ball hadn’t been put into that space the defender was back for a second bite.
I like to see the ball go in the net in those situations ~ ~ Aesthetics are a bonus.
The finish was absolutely perfect. Like a chip to the green on Augusta. I think it was a slightly heavier touch than he was wanting but the recovery was spot on. Maybe similar to Idah’s goal against Everton in that respect (so might get away with it in the Premier League, Stu!). Nothing to be sniffed at.
I grabbed the last 15/20 minutes of the Dons/Wednesday game yesterday actually and he was really involved and had an air of quality about him when he was on the ball. Had a shot from outside the box in the last minute of injury time which the keeper saved that he might have wanted back. All in all, though, Parrot had that look about him.
17/04/2022, 3:22 PM
I wasn’t trying to suggest otherwise.
Sorry, I wasn’t arguing against your post at all - other than the touch, a little bit - though I can see that it might have come across that way!
17/04/2022, 7:00 PM
Sorry, I wasn’t arguing against your post at all - other than the touch, a little bit - though I can see that it might have come across that way!sorry I meant to quote seanfhear’s post! I was only trying to say the goal would only have been more pleasing had he taken it with his left, but it was a classy goal all the same. Yeah a more alert or quicker keeper might have made a difference but I actually think THAT touch was what made the goal. Without it he was still in a contest with the defender and wasn’t suddenly 1-on-1 with a keeper unsure what to do. I mean yeah, the touch might have taken the ball a metre further than he’d have liked but to actually see the first touch as something he got away with just amazes me.
Insidetherock
17/04/2022, 9:40 PM
Thing is guys.. we're talking about 4 young.. really young lads.. if even one of them became the next Robbie Keane, we'd be over the moon
irishfan86
18/04/2022, 5:59 AM
Having seen criticism of Parrott’s touch from this goal and criticism of Idah’s touch on a goal vs Everton I suspect there’s a bit of a misunderstanding of what these guys are doing — not every touch from a striker should be aimed at total control.
The aim is to redirect the ball in a way that will set you up for your shot and/or make it difficult for defenders to react. A very frustrating thing from some forwards is a predisposition to control the ball in the final third rather than aim to set up a shot through deliberate redirection.
Hold up play has value of course but deliberate redirections, even when not perfectly executed, are destabilizing and difficult to defend against.
18/04/2022, 6:10 AM
I find it funny that that is your first response to a lovely goal like that. The half empty glass in front of you must be annoying.
Play the ball, not the man. Trolling is against forum rules.
I don't agree with Stutts - I think a better keeper would have gotten to that - but he has my respect for disagreeing with the opinion instead of whining about it like a spoiled child.
... deliberate redirections, even when not perfectly executed, are destabilizing and difficult to defend against.
This one I agree with. Parrott knew what he was doing there, and if he maybe slightly overhit it, he got away with it and finished sweetly.
Eirambler
18/04/2022, 6:15 AM
This is a good point. Something I've been trying to do playing football as I get older and slower is to try to intentionally take a first touch that puts the ball about a yard away from where I am if a defender is closing me down hard. The idea being that I don't have the pace to take them on and run around them from a standing start any more, so doing that gives me a head start and a better chance to get a shot or forward pass away.
Not that anything I do should be compared to professional players but the principle is the same I think.
(Having said all that I still think Idah's one might have been a slightly heavy touch.)
seanfhear
18/04/2022, 8:19 AM
Having seen criticism of Parrott’s touch from this goal and criticism of Idah’s touch on a goal vs Everton I suspect there’s a bit of a misunderstanding of what these guys are doing — not every touch from a striker should be aimed at total control.
The aim is to redirect the ball in a way that will set you up for your shot and/or make it difficult for defenders to react. A very frustrating thing from some forwards is a predisposition to control the ball in the final third rather than aim to set up a shot through deliberate redirection.
Hold up play has value of course but deliberate redirections, even when not perfectly executed, are destabilizing and difficult to defend against.
So what your saying is sometimes it's better ~ ~ Not to have the ball resting in your account, sorry your control ! !
18/04/2022, 1:44 PM
I don't agree with Stutts - I think a better keeper would have gotten to that - but he has my respect for disagreeing with the opinion instead of whining about it like a spoiled child.
Thanks. I did actually say this too btw "Yeah a more alert or quicker keeper might have made a difference but..."!
Razors left peg
18/04/2022, 6:20 PM
I had to go back an look at the goal again because I was surprised to see the heavy touch comments here. I honestly dont see it. It looks like he was fully in control of what he wanted to do. The touch to bring the ball away from the defender was far enough that it gave the defender no hope.
Dont disagree that a higher standard keeper might have done better, but I also think the way he finished with the right foot would have caught a lot of good keeper out too
liamoo11
18/04/2022, 6:24 PM
I had to go back an look at the goal again because I was surprised to see the heavy touch comments here. I honestly dont see it. It looks like he was fully in control of what he wanted to do. The touch to bring the ball away from the defender was far enough that it gave the defender no hope.
Dont disagree that a higher standard keeper might have done better, but I also think the way he finished with the right foot would have caught a lot of good keeper out too
I agree with this. The finish is quality taking it early with the right foot is something keeper isn't going to expect. If yiu take that with the left you have tightened the angle for yourself and allowed the keeper to spread himself for the save
19/04/2022, 8:59 AM
Hold up play has value of course but deliberate redirections, even when not perfectly executed, are destabilizing and difficult to defend against.I agree totally that the purpose of the first touch is to make the second touch easier. One that really stands out for me was Serge Gnabry for Munich at Spurs in 2019(?). The ball came over his head and it’d have been a hard one for most players to take down but his first touch was so perfect it meant he could hardly miss afterwards. It was a thing of raw beauty!
I think Parrott’s was a pretty good first touch here. I think Idah’s first touch at Everton was a fluke tbh, I just don’t think he intended it at all even if it worked out perfectly.
There’s a lot of debate over whether Shane Long’s touch with his knee against Germany was deliberate or afluke. I personally think he knew what he was doing. It was improvised and maybe came off better than he could have wished for but I think he was trying to push the ball into a spot where his next touch was a shot.
19/04/2022, 9:54 AM
Nice finish against an international keeper although the defender didn't cover himself in glory. He had a chance to draw the game in the 10th minute of injury time but snatched at it (thank God, sorry). Great goal by Bannan in the same game https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQeWPsL-DaA There is an Irish flag among the MK Dons behind the goal.
30/04/2022, 1:16 PM
A 5-0 win for MK Dons to finish the (regular) season - four goals for Parrott's strike partner but none for Troy. I know it's a team game and Parrott may have picked up an assist or two, but you imagine that has to smart!
Looks like they're going to miss out on automatic promotion by a point behind Rotherham, so into the play-offs.
liamoo11
30/04/2022, 1:23 PM
It's great they are in playoffs. High pressure hight profile 2 legged semi and then hopefully big day at Wembley Nd keep troy playing football for a few more weeks so in good shape for june
02/05/2022, 12:02 PM
It's great they are in playoffs. High pressure hight profile 2 legged semi and then hopefully big day at Wembley Nd keep troy playing football for a few more weeks so in good shape for june
I'd say they are delighted with the way the playoff draw has worked out. a derby is never great, but they should have too much for Wycombe. Regardless of who they face in the final, they'll be underdogs, and their opponents will be under incredible pressure (Weds or Sunderland)