View Full Version : Songs that you sing
Pages :
[
6]
20/08/2005, 4:40 PM
against Bohemians and Longford Town ( in their Red and Black stripes kit)
Are you Trinity(College) in disguise?
to the tune of ".... We'll Support You evermore" :D
Bald Student
20/08/2005, 5:31 PM
I don't know if it's been posted already but during our temporary divisional realignment we were beating Galway 4-0 and playing terribly.
We sang, "4-1. We're goin' to win 4-1"
Dr.Nightdub
20/08/2005, 11:23 PM
Digger was wearing an orange jersey for Longford v Pats tonight - even he laughed when someone shouted "O'Brien, yer only a fukking traffic cone"
20/08/2005, 11:29 PM
Digger was wearing an orange jersey for Longford v Pats tonight - even he laughed when someone shouted "O'Brien, yer only a fukking traffic cone"
:D class
21/08/2005, 9:55 PM
From what I've seen and heard of Digger he sounds like a sound chap, if u give him a few `spot the midget` chants he'll usually reply with a thumbs up or somethin.
kevin_devine
23/08/2005, 4:17 AM
there was one in the Brandy directed at the Longford keeper(i think!!) sayin
"Who ate all the pies you fat B*****d, you fat b*****d........"
he turned around and started rubbing his stomach was hilarious!!!
23/08/2005, 12:40 PM
After Brian Gannon scored the equaliser last night and was flattened by Steve Williams at the same time -
"You're unconscious, and you don't know you are" :o (he was grand after a while...!)
A few others from the brief five minutes of caring at the end...
"You'll never go to college"
"Can you spell UCD? No, no! Can you spell UCD? No, no! Can you spell UCD, you can't spell a f***ing thing. No-oo-oo-oh!"
"Where's Setanta gone, where's Setanta gone?"
"Are you watching Glentoran?" (These were at 1-1 too! :eek: )
"Ollie, giz a smoke. Ollie Ollie giz a smoke"
kevin_devine
24/08/2005, 4:55 AM
"Ollie, giz a smoke. Ollie Ollie giz a smoke"
hahaha great !!!!
24/08/2005, 6:48 AM
Heard from the UCD gang at Tolka on Monday night when Glen Fitzpatrick came on as a sub:
To the tune of the Pompey Chimes:-
College Reject College Reject; Athlone Reject Athlone Reject; Rovers Reject Rovers Reject; Newry Reject, Newry Reject; :D
wanderette
25/08/2005, 3:43 PM
at a bray reserve match the other evening there was a group of kids trying to sing abusive chants at players/officials/other fans etc, and failing miserably at it. after a while they came out with:
"we are children, we are children, we are children, we are children..etc etc" !
25/08/2005, 6:51 PM
Djurgardens Fans overheard at Turners Cross on TV to Cork City fans.
Sheep Shagging B***ards You're only Sheep shagging B***ards.
Silly people sure everyone knows that area is mostly dairy and beef cattle farming country. :D
25/08/2005, 10:53 PM
........ College fans when Anto Murphy comes into a game as a sub...
To the tune of that Harvey Norman ad...
Go Anto Go Anto .. Go Anto Murphy.... :D
26/08/2005, 12:50 PM
Djurgardens Fans overheard at Turners Cross on TV to Cork City fans.
Sheep Shagging B***ards You're only Sheep shagging B***ards.
That was hilarious, couldn't believe it when that started up. :D
Drumcondra Red
26/08/2005, 2:33 PM
I'd say that chant I'm sure stemed from the group of Shels lads who used to live in Sweden and Djurgarden was the club they followed over there!!!
26/08/2005, 4:08 PM
I'd say that chant I'm sure stemed from the group of Shels lads who used to live in Sweden and Djurgarden was the club they followed over there!!!
it was indeed,a few made the trek to the x last night
1 9 2 8
28/08/2005, 3:57 PM
Pats fans sang "You're just a small town in Mayo" to us last night to the response "2-1 to the Mayo team" :D
We also sang "Premier league your having a laugh"
Bald Student
03/09/2005, 3:10 PM
"We'll see you in the premier, if you ever get there, if you ever get there"
To the tune of "We'll see you when we get there" (by puff daddy I think).
Sung during our temporary divisional reallignment at any promotion threathened club, particularly Harps.
03/09/2005, 4:05 PM
Don't forget "You'll see us on Setanta" at the Shels game last night...same tune.
"Does your father know 'bout you?" at the knacker kids was amusing.
03/09/2005, 8:40 PM
"Does your father know 'bout you?" at the knacker kids was amusing.
" Does your mother know your father ?" at the same kids was even funnier!
05/09/2005, 9:03 PM
the section o an sacar beo!
baile longfort!
both sung by section o the other night!
We're gonna win the league, we're gonna win the league - sung by the Cork fans at Finn Park on Saturday
We're gonna win the Cup, we're gonna win the Cup - Harps band's reply, sadly we were mistaken :(
09/09/2005, 10:11 PM
"All the way to Tallaght,all the way to Tallaght,all the way to Tallaght.........You never kicked a ball"
To the Rovers fans
sullanefc
10/09/2005, 11:26 AM
Greating singing from the Shed on TG4 last night.
Cathair Chorcai, Cathair Chorcai, Cathair Chorcai, Cathair Chorcai. To the tune of the Rebel Army chant. Priceless. And of course the TG4 chant was done as well. Brilliant.
And when Mick Devine miscontrolled a ball and it went over the endline for what should have been a corner for Bray (wasn't given :confused: ) the Shed started chanting Dodgy Keeper. :D
11/09/2005, 11:21 PM
yeah, Devine gave us the middle finger for that- ****er :D :D
12/09/2005, 12:36 PM
Now if it'd've been Dan Connor who'd done that... ;)
17/09/2005, 8:30 PM
Devlin sells your team
Devlin Devlin sells your team
sullanefc
18/09/2005, 4:05 PM
yeah, Devine gave us the middle finger for that- ****er :D :D
:D Good craic :D
To Longford:
"wales, wales"
rugby style
"5, 5, 1 Carmarthern,
you're a disgrace to the eircom league"
to the tune of "delilah." :D
"small farm in Dublin, you're just a small farm in Dublin."
Battery Rover
01/10/2005, 6:23 PM
Posted in wrong section
02/10/2005, 3:21 PM
Anyone else think this thread should be re-stuck
eh.... yes
Speranza
02/10/2005, 4:50 PM
"Are you England in disguise" To the Rover's fans fighting in the Brandywell last week.
02/10/2005, 9:01 PM
you know that "russian" song we sang v Ekranas and Slavia? where did that come from?
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 1:08 PM
"Are you England in disguise" To the Rover's fans fighting in the Brandywell last week.
"Are you England in disguise" to derry fans in general!! :D
Speranza
03/10/2005, 1:23 PM
I have spent a few minutes using every available mean to understand your comment but still it doesn't make sense. To use idiot-proof geography, Derry has no link at all to ENgerland, it is in Norn Iron so a chant matching that would be fine but England?
Rover's fans fighting - England fans notorious for similar activity
Derry City fans in general - ?????
Care to explain :confused:
03/10/2005, 1:51 PM
I have spent a few minutes using every available mean to understand your comment but still it doesn't make sense. To use idiot-proof geography, Derry has no link at all to ENgerland, it is in Norn Iron so a chant matching that would be fine but England?
Rover's fans fighting - England fans notorious for similar activity
Derry City fans in general - ?????
Care to explain :confused:
I get it and it's funnier than your one :D
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 2:01 PM
Derry has no link at all to ENgerland
geographically no. politically, yes. its where your queen, prime minister and secretary of state live. its also where your MP goes to vote on the issues that affect you, such as the taxes you pay to her majesty, the wars fought in faraway lands in your name and the British healthcare and education that you enjoy.
and your jersey matches their flag!!!
seriously, lighten the **** up. dont give it if you wont take it back.
03/10/2005, 2:43 PM
its where your secretary of state lives.
Although Hillsborough could easily be confused with any quaint village in England, I didn't realise they'd moved the whole place lock,stock and barrel across the Irish Sea.
You learn something every day.
Not to mention the irony of being called British by a club with a sizeable following whose dress sense (and I use the term loosely) cries out "I wanna be English, guv'nor".
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 3:11 PM
Although Hillsborough could easily be confused with any quaint village in England, I didn't realise they'd moved the whole place lock,stock and barrel across the Irish Sea.
You learn something every day.
Not to mention the irony of being called British by a club with a sizeable following whose dress sense (and I use the term loosely) cries out "I wanna be English, guv'nor".
blah blah blah
we are derry fans we are special, no-one is allowed slag us (back) because we are oppressed. we used to have loads of fans you know.
rovers fans are bold, they sang a song about us and the queen.
blah blah blah
change the record. the whining is getting tiresome.
i repeat, dont dish it out if you are too sensitive to take it back.
why are derry fans so sound in real life but such sensitive tossers in cyberspace?
03/10/2005, 4:35 PM
blah blah blah
we are derry fans we are special, no-one is allowed slag us (back) because we are oppressed. we used to have loads of fans you know.
rovers fans are bold, they sang a song about us and the queen.
blah blah blah
change the record. the whining is getting tiresome.
i repeat, dont dish it out if you are too sensitive to take it back.
why are derry fans so sound in real life but such sensitive tossers in cyberspace?
Read my post, I've no objection to a bunch of Burberry and Stone Island wearing geezers singing "whats it like to have a Queen" and waving their Irish passports at me (I hadn't brought mine to that particular game as I didn't expect to have to use it), but I do see the irony in it.
You apparently don't.
Drumcondra Red
03/10/2005, 4:57 PM
I hate to tell you this but what exactly is the difference between dress sense here and in England??? Are we supposed to wear wellies and flat caps or something??? Irrelevent post!
03/10/2005, 6:03 PM
I hate to tell you this but what exactly is the difference between dress sense here and in England??? Are we supposed to wear wellies and flat caps or something??? Irrelevent post!
I referred those casual dress labels that SOME fans of CERTAIN clubs slavishly wear to matches.
Its clearly mimicking the English casual hooligan thing.
It must be a Dublin thing then so.....
Drumcondra Red
03/10/2005, 6:08 PM
No, read over your original post again, plus there were plenty of labels knocking around Derry, doesn't mean a fcuk mate, clothes are clothes!!!
03/10/2005, 6:13 PM
I see what you did there, very clever indeed.
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 6:35 PM
Read my post, I've no objection to a bunch of Burberry and Stone Island wearing geezers singing "whats it like to have a Queen" and waving their Irish passports at me (I hadn't brought mine to that particular game as I didn't expect to have to use it), but I do see the irony in it.
You apparently don't.
but i do!!! thats the whole ****in point. read the post that got speranza in a tizzy, it has a dirty big similey beside it.
speranza takes it as an insult to the memory of all who died defending free derry when rovers fans take the mickey. BACK.
i have repetedley asked why if its so offensive does no-ne say boo to us when we are getting our backs slapped in the oak and the brandywell when we are up?
because we are by and large like minded soles ripping the **** out of each other. explain the liam coyle song if we are so anti republican?
if it was bohs fans it would be a different story....
Speranza
03/10/2005, 8:48 PM
It has only ever been Rover's fans who have shouted "**** off to your queen you orange *******" to me at Ireland matches so why attempt to bring Bohs fans into it.
On that note remember last year the BSC flew their flag out the window of the B&B they were stayin which was located in a loyalist area. That shows either balls of steel republican mindframe or absolute stupidity.
You refer to us being nostalgic about when we had loads of fans (still do, 2nd highest average attendance). Utter hypocrisy, no-one cares about your X amount of leagues and cups because it is in the past and those days are very unlikely to return. We don't claim to be oppressed but you still harp on about Kilcoyne and his evil ways. Your club whines about the guards, bad reputation in press, Longford penning you in, Roddy e.t.c
03/10/2005, 8:50 PM
The thread is about songs you sing lads.BTW Derry are as Irish as the rest of us and there fans are dead on.
03/10/2005, 8:56 PM
No, read over your original post again, plus there were plenty of labels knocking around Derry, doesn't mean a fcuk mate, clothes are clothes!!!
Crap. Our fans don't make a point of not wearing colours (apart from one, he knows who he is!!).
If you can't see the whole casual Soul Crew/Headhunters wannabe thing going on then you're either naive or stupid. Its only a minority, but its there.
If you can find it, have a look at the front page photo from last weeks Derry News showing the handbags at the Rovers game. Casuals in the foreground, not a colour in sight. Unimpressed people in scarves and jersies at the back. Tells a story.
Drumcondra Red
04/10/2005, 3:46 PM
What if people were wearing jackets cause of the cold, I know my jersey wasn't visable in the Brandywell last friday, well it was in the brandywell bar (best boozer ever!!!) Thats exaactly what Rovers fans were saying about Shels fans in Dalyer, why? For wearing jackets in the rain!
04/10/2005, 5:44 PM
What if people were wearing jackets cause of the cold, I know my jersey wasn't visable in the Brandywell last friday, well it was in the brandywell bar (best boozer ever!!!) Thats exaactly what Rovers fans were saying about Shels fans in Dalyer, why? For wearing jackets in the rain!
Christ almighty. Leaving aside individual views on the casual culture, at least have the cop on to accept the fact these people NEVER wear colours and they wear the labels they do for a reason.