View Full Version : Songs that you sing

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

01/05/2005, 7:30 PM
In regards to fans singing songs i feel we are ahead of our premership counterparts who mostly just stick to the usual songs(glory glory man utd,come on you spurs etc.)and i was just wondering if we could get posters from a few different clubs to post original and funny songs that your fans sing at other fans or at other players or songs praising your own players.

Bearing in mind that there will be songs that will may to offend some sets of fans i don't want anyone to take personal offence and if you feel you will take offence please leave this thread now.

It just that some of the songs are very funny but it is very hard to hear all the words when your at the games.I don't know if this thread will be allowed and i don't want anyone to be offended but this is a thread i would really like to see.

Colie
01/05/2005, 7:41 PM
Heard it at UCD Vs Waterford Utd a few years back. Sounded good thru the megaphone:

"We don't buy your crystal
we don't buy your crystal
La la la la
la la la la"

01/05/2005, 8:05 PM
to tune: Youll never walk alone

...and You'll never walk,
in Athlone,
after dark,
without fear in your heart....

same tune to UCD

...and You'll never get, a job
sign on, sign on
with hope in you heart

01/05/2005, 8:53 PM
We, were born, in the Showgrounds,

Where knives are meant for stabbing, and guns are meant to shoot, and if you come down to the Showgrounds, you'll surely get the boot cause,

;) ;)

harpskid
01/05/2005, 9:57 PM
"Oh there won't be jobs in Derry this Christmas time,
The greatest gift they'll get this year's their dole.
They haven't got a job,
They just walk their skinny dogs,
Do they know it's Christmas time at all?"

Made up on a trip to Buckly Park... 'Tis a long way to Kilkenny :cool:

Also this wee gem which was sang at a certain TV pundit during his tenure in the Finn Park hotseat...

"Noel King's disco ties are the best,
you would swear that he'd pucked on his chest,
you see them and you have to wonder why,
Noel King's disco ties"

01/05/2005, 10:01 PM
to tune: Youll never walk alone

...and You'll never walk,
in Athlone,
after dark,
without fear in your heart....

same tune to UCD

...and You'll never get, a job
sign on, sign on
with hope in you heart

Our response would be:

To the air of the old Welsh hymn "Bread Of Heaven"

One day you will
One day you will Call me boss! :D

01/05/2005, 11:42 PM
To the tune of the Wild Rover

I've been an auld reds man for many a year
I spent all my money on Shelbourne and Gear
The jersey's,the T-shirts,the scarfs and the hats
Were not Barcelona but at least were not Pats.

hamish
01/05/2005, 11:47 PM
Saw this in the Observer Sports Monthly. The Leeds fans used to sing it against Liverpool. Same tune as Pauloooooooooo Deeeeeeeeee Caneeeeeeeeeeeeeooooooooooo, if you follow me.
"We've got Dom Matteo,
You've got our stereo".

02/05/2005, 10:58 AM
To cork city fans

Small town in munster,
your just a small town in munster,
small town in munster,
your just a small town in munster.

joeraki
02/05/2005, 11:54 AM
In regards to fans singing songs i feel we are ahead of our premership counterparts who mostly just stick to the usual songs(glory glory man utd,come on you spurs etc.)and i was just wondering if we could get posters from a few different clubs to post original and funny songs that your fans sing at other fans or at other players or songs praising your own players.

Nearly all songs are a rip off / spin off of some English team. Hardly any EL clubs songs are original

02/05/2005, 12:07 PM
To the tune of the Wild Rover

I spent all my money on Shelbourne and Gear
Were not Barcelona but at least were not Pats.

Good one. :D :D

We could use that too:

I spent all my money on Rovers auld gear
We're not Barcelona but at least we're not Harps. :p

aido_b
02/05/2005, 12:10 PM
When Bohs won the league in Kilkenny. To the tune of Can't buy me love by the beatles and of course about Ollie Byrne ...

Ollies tried to buy the cup he bought some penalties,
Ollie gives brown envelopes to the referees,
But I dont care too much for ollie coz ollie cant buy the league,
Cant buy the leagueeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Nearly sure thats how it went anyways

Drumcondra Red
02/05/2005, 12:17 PM
When the burger van broke down in the away end at Portadown, the girl behind the counter legged it up to the home end to get a few burgers, when passing the away end:

Get your baps out for the lads etc...

When Pat Dolan walked by the new stand in tolka:

You'll never get a job, sign on, sign on...

Police Acadamy tune always puts a smile on my face when a Garda walks by, or when getting a police escort, again at Portadown!

Winning the league at Pats;

We won the league, in inchicore, we won the league in inchicore, we won the league in that ****hole, we won the league in inchicore!!!

Ok, that'll do for now!

02/05/2005, 1:01 PM
Armarillo tune: Sha la la la la la la la,(Drum- Bang Bang)
Sha la la la la la la la, (Drum-Bang Bang)
Bray Wanderers A.F.C.
Sang it before Armarillo was re- released!!!

(2)We all live in a Bray Housing Scheme,
Where all the walls are green,
And Wanderers are the team,
The Sky is Blue,
And So are you,
Alan Reynolds
We hate you!!

Oh skippy woh oh oh, Oh skippy woh oh oh, he comes from far away, he plays for braaaaayyyy(for as long as we want)

Irelands fatest striker, irelands fatest striiiker, your only irelands fatest striker. (Sang to Glen Crowe in the carlisle when he was called up to the Squad)

02/05/2005, 1:26 PM
To Bray fans:
South County Dublin,
your just from sount county dublin,

Used to sing to Derry lads: (hasn't be used for years now)
Whats it like to have a queen.

Last fridays chant of the season so far:
Rovers player gets injured...

"Don't get injured! You won't get paid" :D

Da Real Rover
02/05/2005, 2:23 PM
Sing this one to any Dublin team,

In your Dublin slums,
you look in your dustbin for something to eat,
you find a dead rat and think its a treat,
In your Dublin slums,

02/05/2005, 2:43 PM
To Bray fans:
South County Dublin,

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :mad: :mad:

02/05/2005, 2:52 PM
The old UCD site used to have a fantastic section of comical chants, seemingly always sung at Shelbourne :) Very comical read, cant find link now though. Will keep looking!

http://www.ucd.ie/soccsup/shelschants.html -> Excellent chant exchanges here!

02/05/2005, 2:53 PM
To Bray fans:
South County Dublin,

Used to sing to Derry lads: (hasn't be used for years now)
Whats it like to have a queen.

Last fridays chant of the season so far:
Rovers player gets injured...

"Don't get injured! You won't get paid" :D

:D :D :D
Heard that Derry one before pete and between you,me and anyone else who wants too i think we should bring about its revival.

Also liked aido b's one about Ollie Byrne
very funny lads,all of them.please keep them coming

02/05/2005, 2:54 PM
To cork city fans

Small town in munster,
your just a small town in munster,
small town in munster,
your just a small town in munster.

A Big Village to be fair :D

02/05/2005, 2:55 PM
:D :D :D
Heard that Derry one before pete and between you,me and anyone else who wants too i think we should bring about its revival.

We are all too PC now for that. Could make revival if Derry continue to win games...

02/05/2005, 3:01 PM
We are all too PC now for that. Could make revival if Derry continue to win games...

I'll take it that by PC you mean politically correct,dont really know,would Derry fans see this as more than just a rival team trying to wind them up and take serious offence,we mean no harm when singing it.

02/05/2005, 3:05 PM
I'll take it that by PC you mean politically correct,dont really know,would Derry fans see this as more than just a rival team trying to wind them up and take serious offence,we mean no harm when singing it.

Sure why not try it out next time you visit the Brandywell. If i don't see you back online i'll know how successful ti was.

02/05/2005, 3:11 PM
We had a short lived one for Cork and I'm not sure how it ended now, it was somethng like

You are City, the Cork City,
No-one hates you, because no-one cares
You're just a small team, from out the country

And I forget how it ends, but whoever came up with it should get it going again it was a good one.

But our best one was the Chris Adamson ugly abuse songs, and then he got injured and had to come off, and he was walking out of Richmond Park in front of us with his face covered in bandages and we sung

"He's going for a facelift, he's going for a facelift, la la la la, la la la la" it didn't go down too well with him, and he made that known to us :D

02/05/2005, 3:18 PM
Tell all the $hels ya know that Eamonn Zayed is better than Crowe,
Oh yes he's fat and slow,
Eamonn Zayed is better than Crowe!!! :p

02/05/2005, 3:26 PM
We always had great Dolan ones,i think every team does(bar cork).here's some of the usual ones.

To the tune of stand up for the ......
"Sit down and you'll break the bench"

"Whose that lying on the carpet,
whose that lying on the floor,
it's Pat Dolan on his back
'cause he's had another snack
and he's just to fat to stand up anymore".

Speranza
02/05/2005, 4:48 PM
Rovers still sing those songs at the Brandy,"where the ****s your union jack" :mad: e.t.c I personally know that the rival fans aren't to be taken seriously when singing them but it is hard enough to take.

hamish
02/05/2005, 7:18 PM
Heard the Newcastle fans sing against Liverpool a few weeks ago:
Sing when yer stealin'
You only sing when yer stealin'

02/05/2005, 7:47 PM
What was the tune of that "Don't get injured you won't get paid chant"?

Remember playing Pat's or Rovers a few years ago and doing the UCD drumbeat (the really annoying one...) After about five minutes of this, someone turns around and says "Are they the only letters you know?" and so we sang the alphabet... :o :p

Couple of others -

"Tolka, Santry or Richmond Park
And you'll never play at home,
You'll never play at home"

"Imagine there’s no Rovers
It’s easy if you try.
They have no home to go to
Except their Tallaght sty.

Imagine all of Dublin
Living life in peace
(EXCEPT FOR BOHS!)
Rico…………….
You may say we are dreamers
But we’re not the only ones.
We hope some day you will go down
And join the Limerick scum.

Imagine poor old Rico
I wonder if you might
No team to carry Damo
Nowhere to write his sh!te

Imagine all of Dublin
Living life in peace
(EXCEPT FOR BOHS!)
Rico…………….
You may say we are dreamers
But we’re not the only ones.
We hope some day you will go down
And join the Limerick scum."

(Bohemian Like You tune (Dandy Warhols))
"Rovers (or Shels or Pats or Bray or whoever)
We don’t like you
And we also hate Bohemians like you
We don’t like you
Woo hoo ooooooooo"

The never-tedious ( :rolleyes: :cool: ) Twelve Days of Christmas Tony McDonnell song doesn't get much of an airing these days! Somebody mentioned the Forty Days of Easter but hasn't been seen since! :)

02/05/2005, 9:59 PM
Tonights two impromptu songs

To the tune of "London bridge is falling down"

"George O'Callaghan f*cks his mother
and his sister,and his brother
all the O'Callaghans F*ck each other
There all inbreds"

To the tune of "..........it's just like watching brazil"
"City,it wasn't over the line,it wasn't over the line,it wasn't over the line"
:D :p :) :D

02/05/2005, 10:13 PM
Shels are filth !!

Gerrit
02/05/2005, 11:06 PM
Nice one :rolleyes:

Ehm, we sometimes sing... (ROI fans don't take offense, I didn't make up the song and am just the messenger)

Brian Kerr's a ******
He wears a ******'s hat
When Jayo went to Poland
he didn't fancy that
He played the English *******s
who never score a goal
He's just a Pats*****
**** off to Inchicore

(I censured a few words just to make sure we're not offending any rules)

Last year we sung to the Derry fans:
"Pay your taxes to your Queen" (on the tones of "when the saints go marching in")

Versus Ports:
"We like your bank account"
(there were few others ones as well, but as those others had a sectarian undertone I prefer not to post them)

02/05/2005, 11:12 PM
To the tune of BBC children's show Ballymorry

Sheeeeeeeeeepshaagggggggging *******s,
What's the story Ballybofey,wouldn't you like to know

Ring of fire

I'm telling you our wingers are on fire,
Harps are going down, down, down
and the City are going higher,
Cashy turns turns turns,
Our wingers are on fire,

To Rovers last week

You're skint, and you know you are

Inspiral Carpets-This is how it feels

"This is how it feels to be Finn Harps,
This is how it feels to be small,
This is how it feels when your team wins nothing at all
Nothing at all, Nothing at all"

To the Undertones Jimmy Jimmy

Little Mallow boy,
Cork City just sold,
And though he's very tall,
He's in the stirker Mould

Flynny Flynny,
Steven O'Flynn scores goals,

He's been played on the right,
Scoring with his head,
Stephen Kenny had listened,
To what the scout had said,

Flynny Flynny,
Steven O'Flynn scores goals,

Now Liam Coyle is gone,
His knees gave up that day,
By the extravagance we showed,
We've signed O'Flynn today,

To the Shels "tweenie" support

Are you allowed out this late?

To "One green bottle"

24,000 in Lansdowne Road,
Then one week later,
Where's the f**k the crowd
Cause you're Shelbourne,
There's no chance they'll return

02/05/2005, 11:18 PM
Shels are filth !!

Now,Now jelousy will get you nothing. :p

Gerrit
02/05/2005, 11:19 PM
We called the Cork fans sheepshaggers earlier on today... It's not very original but it was still funny when I heard it :)

02/05/2005, 11:27 PM
Nice one :rolleyes:

Ehm, we sometimes sing... (ROI fans don't take offense, I didn't make up the song and am just the messenger)

Brian Kerr's a ******
He wears a ******'s hat
When Jayo went to Poland
he didn't fancy that
He played the English *******s
who never score a goal
He's just a Pats*****
**** off to Inchicore

(I censured a few words just to make sure we're not offending any rules)

Its actually goes like this

"Brian kerr is a w****r
he wears a w****r's hat
when jayo went to poland
he didn't fancy that
he played an english bast*rd
but Clinton couldn't score
He's just a Pats Kn*cker
F*ck off to Inchicore"

And the portadown one was

"We'll rob your bank again".
Didn't sing this one myself as i don't know the we that they talked about,that robbery had absolutly nothing to do with me.

hamish
03/05/2005, 5:59 AM
Aren't Jamaica called the Reggae Boys.
I think a real cool/catchy name for Cork City would be the Corky Boys!! :D
Think of the creac fans and opposition would have.

sonofstan
03/05/2005, 9:34 AM
favourite last year was 'washed up transsexual' at Dessie Baker

Favourite this year is 'Washed up transsexual' at Simon Webb - he became a midfielder for the second half last week because he didn't want to come near us; also enjoy 'six- fingered banjo players' at any Culchie team

03/05/2005, 10:59 AM
To the Galway fans the other night:

Your just a small town in Mayo,
Small town in Mayo, Small town in Mayo,
Your just a small town in Mayo (voices kinda died on the oooo) :D

Hes got your cash, Hes got your cash,
Hes got it,
Leesons got your cash :D

03/05/2005, 11:02 AM

No backing tune. Impromtu. Just has its own rythum.

At Tolka last night:
"Dessie & Richie, different fathers.."

Even Richie Baker was laughing at that one :D

03/05/2005, 11:17 AM
Shels are filth !!

03/05/2005, 11:19 AM
Shels are filth !!

You're an idiot, and a bitter 12 year old girl in disguise!!
Now fúck off down the country,
I can't take the smell.

Aberdonian Stu
03/05/2005, 11:20 AM
To the cadbury's Roses tune:
Thank you very much for paying your taxes
Thank you very much
Thank you very very very much

bigmac
03/05/2005, 11:43 AM
at a cup game against Kilkenny "City" (tune of go west i seem to recall)

"A town! And you'll always be!
A town! and you'll always be!"

etc...

03/05/2005, 12:55 PM

The full thing is here and sung to the "Think you're a big club, you're having a laugh" type tune

Don't get injured, you won't get paid

Don't play for Rovers, you won't get paid

Don't support Rovers, you won't get laid

At Portadown, 'Jesus supports you, you're having a laugh' was sung because one of their stands has "Jesus Says Come On Portadown" written in BIG writing on top of it.

I assume everyone knows the 'Kilkoyne is my hero' chant for Rovers.

Bad Bob
03/05/2005, 1:06 PM
Probably the best response ever to a chant in the League of Ireland was when Cork City sang to Kilkenny City:

'Going down, Going down, Going down'

Kilkenny Fans responded with:

'So Are We, So Are We, So Are We !!!'

:D :D Classic.

03/05/2005, 1:30 PM
Probably the best response ever to a chant in the League of Ireland was when Cork City sang to Kilkenny City:

'Going down, Going down, Going down'

Kilkenny Fans responded with:

'So Are We, So Are We, So Are We !!!'

:D :D Classic.

Wasnt that UCD and Bray who sang that?

03/05/2005, 1:39 PM
Wish we could claim a quality chant like that, but no can do, I'm afraid!

03/05/2005, 1:54 PM
Guess you're just left claiming a government grant so?

<Troy leaves himself wide open for a similar smartarsed response :o >

03/05/2005, 2:07 PM
Guess you're just left claiming a government grant so?

<Troy leaves himself wide open for a similar smartarsed response :o >

Keep those inter-dublin big school rivalries away from foot.ie. Just cos you defected to Trinity...