View Full Version : Songs that you sing
Pages :
[
10]
03/04/2007, 1:10 PM
"Let us win, let us win..." and "we'll be back, we'll be back, we'll be back..." sang at United Park on Friday. :(
Also, "Go home and do the dishes" sang at the female assistant referee:)
We usually sing the eastenders theme tune followed by "go home and watch eastenders" at her
sonofstan
03/04/2007, 9:07 PM
'One Thomas Davis, there's only one Thomas Davis'
Us, Tonight.
:D :D :D
05/04/2007, 10:54 AM
Walkin' Down the Belgard road to see the Thomas Davis
Leejo
05/04/2007, 11:48 AM
Us, Tonight.
Class...quite a few hand gestures aimed towards us from the homeless when we sang it, especially when the whole jodi was shouting it just after we scored our second :D :D
Heard a good one watchin the Chelsea-Spurs match...Chelsea fans started singing José Mourhino José Mourhino José Mourhino to which the spurs fans replied with...sacked in the summer your getting sacked in the summer
Steve Bruce
10/04/2007, 9:54 AM
Sung against Drogheda and Derry City,
'Your wheels on your house go round and round all day long'
Sung against Derry City - DCFC HA HA HA, ha ha ha, ha ha ha
Also against Derry City - Your just a small team from Ulster
Towards Felix Healey - Felix whats the score(quite a regular song as we seem to beat Irish Opposition quite often)
Other songs we would sing would be -
When Coyle was manager of Glentoran - Roy Coyle, there's only one Roy Coyle, He takes it up the rear, as he's a f*cking queer.
There's also, Theres only oneeee Roy Coyle, There's only oneee Roy Coyle, With a packet of sweets and a cheeky smile, Roy Coyle is a pedeophile.
Towards Paul Millar - If you hate Paul Millar clap your hands(to the tune of Build My Gallows)
Other favourites are - You have a big chicken on your shirt(to Glentoran, they once had a white away shirt that had a big cockerall on the side of it)
Erstwhile Bóz
10/04/2007, 10:23 AM
If you hate Paul Millar clap your hands(to the tune of Build My Gallows)
Steve Bruce
10/04/2007, 11:25 AM
It's called replacing words that are offensive with words that are less offensive. :rolleyes:
Erstwhile Bóz
10/04/2007, 6:39 PM
It's called replacing words that are offensive with words that are less offensive. :rolleyes:
:D Sorry. I thought "If you hate/love X/Y clap your hands" was a tune in and of itself, that's all.
NavanBohs
10/04/2007, 6:51 PM
Whoa black Darren, Mansaram
Whaoa black Darren, Mansaram.
To the tune of that Black Betty song...
Sorry. I thought "If you hate/love X/Y clap your hands" was a tune in and of itself, that's all.
The tune is 'She'll be coming 'round the mountain' as ye well know.
Build my gallows indeed! :eek: :p :D
03/06/2007, 5:18 PM
Rovers fans at Bohs game:
"Singh and he's crippled, he's Harpal Singh and he's crippled."
03/06/2007, 5:22 PM
Rovers fans at Bohs game:
"Singh and he's crippled, he's Harpal Singh and he's crippled."
Funny coz its true.
03/06/2007, 5:23 PM
'quasimodo'...lol
Paddyfield
04/06/2007, 8:33 AM
"Can we play you every week"
- Galway United fans after beting St Patrick's Athletic 2 - 1 in Richmond Park.
04/06/2007, 9:55 AM
I wanna go home,
I wanna go Ho-ooooome
This is the worst trip,
I've ever been on.
GuisaSaigon
04/06/2007, 10:32 AM
We're Maroon, We're White, Our Water Makes You Sh!te, We don't Care, We Don't Care.
Jeebus
04/06/2007, 10:40 AM
I wanna go home,
I wanna go Ho-ooooome
This is the worst trip,
I've ever been on.
Do ye amend this song depending on the result?? On the train down to Sligo on saturday ye were singing "Dont wanna go home, this is best trip i've ever been on". ;)
04/06/2007, 10:44 AM
Do ye amend this song depending on the result?? On the train down to Sligo on saturday ye were singing "Dont wanna go home, this is best trip i've ever been on". ;)
Yep its a result specific song.
Da Real Rover
04/06/2007, 5:19 PM
Gerry Carr what does he say??
Id take seanie any day,
and if the ******* was on fire,
i wudnt **** on the ****ing lier,
we are rovers, sligo rovers,
we like drinking,
in the morning,
in the evening,
in the daytime,
nah nah nah nah,
wee heeyy sligo rovers
gufcfan
05/06/2007, 8:55 PM
We're Maroon, We're White, Our Water Makes You Sh!te, We don't Care, We Don't Care.
Very nice. thank god i dont live in the city!
BleusAvantTout
06/06/2007, 6:51 AM
The tune is 'She'll be coming 'round the mountain' as ye well know.
Build my gallows indeed! :eek: :D
That horrible song (Build my gallows) is mainly the tune (in the verses at least) from Bunch of Thyme. However the chorus is different, it certainly is not "she'll be coming round the mountain", not right and not even close! I suspect it has a few minor chords in the chord sequence but I'll not be sitting, playing it to find out!! :rolleyes:
Well I can't say I've ever heard 'If you hate XXXX YYYY clap your hands' sung to the tune of 'A Bunch Of Thyme', but I'll take your word for it. It's a popular loyalist song (the gallows one I mean (http://www.google.ie/search?hl=en&q=build+my+gallows&meta=)) and maybe ye do match that phrase to that song, but if ye do you're pretty much the only ones. In the world!
In each and every one of the 12,756,998 times I have heard it sung it's been to the tune of 'She'll Be Coming Round The Mountain'. :D
BleusAvantTout
07/06/2007, 6:46 AM
Well I can't say I've ever heard 'If you hate XXXX YYYY clap your hands' sung to the tune of 'A Bunch Of Thyme', but I'll take your word for it. It's a popular loyalist song (the gallows one I mean (http://www.google.ie/search?hl=en&q=build+my+gallows&meta=)) and maybe ye do match that phrase to that song, but if ye do you're pretty much the only ones. In the world!
In each and every one of the 12,756,998 times I have heard it sung it's been to the tune of 'She'll Be Coming Round The Mountain'. :D
Get a bit more into the theory of music!! Maybe you are a minor!!!;)
We're going way off-topic now, apologies for that, but I have to say that you've succeed in confusing the hell out me there BAT. If there's something more you think might help then please spell it out, though for my part I don't want to say what I think at the mo because I've rarely heard anything as silly.
'If You Hate The F*ckin' Amish Clap Your Hands' (safe enough, doubt there's any Amish on here!), or whatever variation fans use thereon, is virtually everywhere sung to the tune of a very popular, almost universally well known song called 'She'll Be Coming Round The Mountain'. There's no debate there, no room for doubt. It's not my opinion. It just is, and that's an end on it.
Maybe up there ye sing that phrase to a different tune (the Gallows one, which I've not heard I must admit), but as I said if that's the case you're the only ones I've ever heard not using the 'Round The Mountain' tune.
For you to say nobody sings 'Round The Mountain' because it doesn't sound remotely like 'Bunch Of Thyme' is not only one of the greatest non-sequiturs I've ever heard, it's plain daft! This is why you've confused me, you surely can't be saying that, can you?
And in answer to the above: I'm quite au fait already ta, and no, I'm not. But I see what you did there! ;) :D
07/06/2007, 1:41 PM
Its definitely "round the mountain"
BleusAvantTout
07/06/2007, 10:04 PM
Right before this debate wrecks my nerves!!! :confused:
When the odious "Build my gallows" is sung by a small minority of juveniles at some Linfield games the following has been observed or should that be, heard by me:-
a) the tune used in the verses is the same tune as in the verses of "Bunch of Thyme"!
b) the chorus is definitely not "she'll be coming round the mountain", I have been involved in music since the late '60s and I have never heard that tune before. I do believe it is partly in a minor key.
However Linfield fans do sing songs using the "she'll be coming round the mountain" tune eg."we'll be running round Windsor with the cup"! To name but one!!:cool: ;)
damoGUFC
07/06/2007, 10:55 PM
A funny chant sung by us in Flancare Park recently....
Money, Money, Money,
it's so funny,
in a Longford town!!
or
Stand up if you paid your bills!!
Erstwhile Bóz
08/06/2007, 12:15 PM
b) the chorus is definitely not "she'll be coming round the mountain", I have been involved in music since the late '60s and I have never heard that tune before. I do believe it is partly in a minor key.
However Linfield fans do sing songs using the "she'll be coming round the mountain" tune eg."we'll be running round Windsor with the cup"! To name but one!!:cool: ;)
:lol: This is getting ridiculous, but there's still a mix-up. What people are saying is "definitely" to the tune of Coming Round the Mountain is If You're Happy and You Know It, Clap Your Hands, the basis for myriad "If you..." chants the anglophonic world over.
I don't know where the air for Build My Gallows came from but it's a great marching band tune and we can all agree that no part of it sounds like any part of Coming Round the Mountain. That's the whole point!
The original laugh was the utter weirdness of singing "If you hate xxxxxx, clap your hands" -- or ANY handclap-based lyrics -- to any tune other than If You're Happy and You Know It, Clap Your Hands/Coming Round the Mountain.
08/06/2007, 12:26 PM
What people are saying is "definitely" to the tune of Coming Round the Mountain is If You're Happy and You Know It, Clap Your Hands
It's not though... :eek:
Dr.Nightdub
08/06/2007, 11:12 PM
I thought "Bunch of Thyme" was by Foster & Allen or some such no-marks. Would be VERY surprised to hear Linfield or anyone else singing it at a match
Right before this debate wrecks my nerves!!! :confused:
When the odious "Build my gallows" is sung by a small minority of juveniles at some Linfield games the following has been observed or should that be, heard by me:-
a) the tune used in the verses is the same tune as in the verses of "Bunch of Thyme"!
b) the chorus is definitely not "she'll be coming round the mountain"
Right, I see what's happened now. Sorry for wrecking your nerves BAT! :)
Ya see, Steve Bruce first wrote this:
Towards Paul Millar - If you hate Paul Millar clap your hands(to the tune of Build My Gallows)
At which firstly Erstwhile Bóz bit, and then meself, saying that's not the tune of 'If You Hate Paul Millar (or anyone else) Clap Your Hands', 'Round The Mountain' is. Or at least it is in every other club in the Anglophone world.
Then you thought we were saying 'Round The Mountain' is the same tune as 'Build My Gallows', but we weren't.
Ridiculousness sorted, back to the other chants then. :D
Dr., yeah though I think it's a trad song, it's most infamous for the time Foster & Allen embarrassed the whole country by performing it in leprechaun suits on Top of the Pops in the early 80s.
09/06/2007, 10:27 PM
Bunch of Thyme
8BNE7gIerwg
Build My Gallows
QnMYMEcP5Uw
She'll be coming round the mountain
VI3PlOsJUFw
If you're happy and you know it
9IgHwOyi0ys
Erstwhile Bóz
09/06/2007, 11:37 PM
:D:D Balls. Fecking football matches. I've been singing If You're Happy and You Know It... to the wrong tune for the last fifteen years.
10/06/2007, 8:36 AM
''XXXYYYY XXXXYYY We'll support you ever more'' is based on Welsh hymn '' Bread of Heaven'' FACT. Songs of praise used to be shown on Sundays shortly after coverage of the English football on ITV's Big Match ended and that I believe to be the connection. That the footie fans were too lazy to change the channel back in the day before zappers and subliminally took in the melody.Either that or all football fans cross channel are Methodists :D
10/06/2007, 11:04 AM
''XXXYYYY XXXXYYY We'll support you ever more'' is based on Welsh hymn '' Bread of Heaven'' FACT. Songs of praise used to be shown on Sundays shortly after coverage of the English football on ITV's Big Match ended and that I believe to be the connection. That the footie fans were too lazy to change the channel back in the day before zappers and subliminally took in the melody.Either that or all football fans cross channel are Methodists :D
nvhrbWS1-Pc
10/06/2007, 1:27 PM
''XXXYYYY XXXXYYY We'll support you ever more'' is based on Welsh hymn '' Bread of Heaven'' As is "what the f***ing hell was that?", etc.
BleusAvantTout
10/06/2007, 9:54 PM
I was right all along!!!!! :cool::p;)
11/06/2007, 7:53 AM
Not about the tune everyone down here sings it to!
Erstwhile Bóz
11/06/2007, 9:03 AM
Not about the tune everyone down here sings it to!
That is, “on this planet”.
sfc red
18/06/2007, 1:59 PM
Two Liam Kearneys, there's only two Liam Kearneys...
18/06/2007, 3:00 PM
Two Liam Kearneys, there's only two Liam Kearneys...
Also to the tune of D-I-S-C-O was "schiz-o-phren-i-a" and "Does Liam Kearney know you're here"
The Man Himself
21/06/2007, 5:39 PM
I'm comin' home, I've done my time
Now I've got to know what is and isn't mine
If you received my letter telling you I'd soon be free
Then you'll know just what to do
If you still want me
Whoa, tie a yellow ribbon 'round the old oak tree
It's been three long years
Do ya still want me?
If I don't see a ribbon round the old oak tree
I'll stay on the bus
Forget about us
Put the blame on me
If I don't see a yellow ribbon round the old oak tree
Bus driver, please look for me
'cause I couldn't bear to see what I might see
I'm really still in prison
And my love, she holds the key
A simple yellow ribbon's what I need to set me free
I wrote and told her please
Whoa, tie a yellow ribbon round the old oak tree
Do ya still want me?
I'll stay on the bus
Forget about us
Put the blame on me
Now the whole damned bus is cheerin'
And I can't believe I see
A hundred yellow ribbons round the old oak tree
I'm comin' home
(Tie a ribbon round the old oak tree)
DecBoh
22/06/2007, 1:28 PM
Remember a few years ago we were playing in the RSC when McGrath was director of football or whatever he was
Ooooh Aaah, at the bar or else Ooooh Aaah, on the jar
03/08/2007, 9:27 PM
"Anto Flood, Anto Flood,
does whatever Anto Flood does,
Can he fly or spin a web,
no he can't, he's Anto Flood,
Look out, Here comes Anto Flood"
half_full
04/08/2007, 11:18 AM
I'm comin' home, I've done my time
Now I've got to know what is and isn't mine
If you received my letter telling you I'd soon be free
Then you'll know just what to do
If you still want me
Whoa, tie a yellow ribbon 'round the old oak tree
Do ya still want me?
I'll stay on the bus
Forget about us
Put the blame on me
Bus driver, please look for me
'cause I couldn't bear to see what I might see
I'm really still in prison
And my love, she holds the key
A simple yellow ribbon's what I need to set me free
I wrote and told her please
Whoa, tie a yellow ribbon round the old oak tree
Do ya still want me?
I'll stay on the bus
Forget about us
Put the blame on me
Now the whole damned bus is cheerin'
And I can't believe I see
A hundred yellow ribbons round the old oak tree
I'm comin' home
(Tie a ribbon round the old oak tree)
"Anto Flood, Anto Flood,
does whatever Anto Flood does,
Can he fly or spin a web,
no he can't, he's Anto Flood,
Look out, Here comes Anto Flood"
The original
Spider-Quig, Spider-Quig,
Does whatever a spider-quig does.
Can he spin from a web?
No he can't, he's a Quig.
Look out... He is the Spider-Quig
"We all here on a technicality" just edges Derrys "4-3" for chant of the season :)
kdjac
04/08/2007, 3:21 PM
Not sang by us but got great pleasure in playing "That's Entertainment" as I watched what was left of the Dundalk fans departing from Kingspan Century Park last night.
05/08/2007, 2:26 AM
Bohs fans songs changed from "This is the best trip, I've ever been on" to "You can stick yer ****ing longball up your arse" tonight:p