View Full Version : Songs that you sing

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

harpskid
17/05/2005, 10:57 PM
Cork never seem to manage it

We managed it and we didn't have too big a crowd down that night - in all fairness it's not a hard task! :p

17/05/2005, 10:59 PM
and now your just plain lying.

Selective deafness is a terrible thing
Honestly not. I have seen clapping etc, but I've never actually heard it over the noise we've been making.

17/05/2005, 11:01 PM
Honestly not. I have seen clapping etc, but I've never actually heard it over the noise we've been making.

That's the same anywhere at any time. People don't seem to realise if you're singing and making noise no matter what you will NOT hear the oppositon fans. That's why you get pathetic arguments on the internet where both sets of supporters will be absolutley convinced they outstang the other crowd.

As an example I heard nothing from the Harps fans yet they just said they outsang us because they probably were singing away.

17/05/2005, 11:02 PM
That's the same anywhere at any time. People don't seem to realise if you're singing and making noise no matter what you will NOT hear the oppositon fans. That's why you get pathetic arguments on the internet where both sets of supporters will be absolutley convinced they outstang the other crowd.

As an example I heard nothing from the Harps fans yet they're saying they outsang is because they probably were singing away.
fair enough. I have heard the home fans at other grounds though- Bohs :eek: and Rovers as well as Harps and Derry.

17/05/2005, 11:03 PM
Bohs :eek:

Ah now come on, be realistic ffs :D

anyway obviously you were alone there as last time Cork played in Tolka there was a huge thread on the Cork forum about one of our chants.

harpskid
17/05/2005, 11:04 PM
That's true Slash. Derry brought over 1,000 fans to Finn Park and no-one in the home crowd heard them - it just seemed as if they were jumping up and down clapping but making no noise!!

Still though, we did outsing Shels :D

17/05/2005, 11:05 PM
Ah now come on, be realistic ffs :D
I was as shocked as you are. It was only once or twice though :D And i think it was chanting abuse at their own team- sound more realistic now?! :D

17/05/2005, 11:06 PM
I was as shocked as you are. It was only once or twice though :D And i think it was chanting abuse at their own team- sound more realistic now?! :D

Ah yes that's more like the Bohs I know :p

EDIT - anyway I'd imagine the reason there is you'd be singing far more in Tolka than elsewhere as it's a bigger game for you.

17/05/2005, 11:24 PM
Oh and it hasn't stopped Cork robbing some of our songs either :p

Roverstillidie
18/05/2005, 9:37 AM
Oh and it hasn't stopped Cork robbing some of our songs either :p

which you in turn robbed from us..... :mad:

dortie
18/05/2005, 6:27 PM
To Derry

You'll never beat the Irish
You'll never beat the Irish!

The old favorite comes to mind.....

Take it down from the mast Irish traitors its a flag we republicans claim, it should never belong to free staters who have brought on it nothing but shame.

Roverstillidie
18/05/2005, 11:01 PM
The old favorite comes to mind.....

Take it down from the mast Irish traitors its a flag we republicans claim, it should never belong to free staters who have brought on it nothing but shame.

thatcher built your foodlights,
nananana nananana

dortie
19/05/2005, 8:34 PM
nananana nananana

So go on home Shamrock Rovers go on home, have you got no fecking home of your own......... :p

19/05/2005, 10:20 PM
So go on home Shamrock Rovers go on home, have you got no fecking home of your own......... :p
Ye come in stolen cars, ye try to wreck our bars
go on home homeless b@stards, go on home

skitz3
20/05/2005, 5:02 PM
I was talking to an old fellow the other day and he told me of a chant that shels fans sang to Drogheda years ago but it didn't last long because some found it distasteful. It goes simething like this:

'Ol-iv-er Crom-well'

They then broke out into a chant of how he wrecked homes and raped women but the bloke couldn't remember.

21/05/2005, 12:21 PM
Anyone know any non-bigoted songs for tonights Linfield match.

skitz3
21/05/2005, 12:43 PM
I don't think there are any but we could apply some of the regulars just change names etc.
It would be great if we could find some. Sectarian songs will be sang anyway.

21/05/2005, 12:44 PM
I don't think there are any but we could apply some of the regulars just change names etc.
It would be great if we could find some. Sectarian songs will be sang anyway.

Not by Shels.

skitz3
21/05/2005, 12:51 PM
pe you're right but with fans out watching FA cup final and drinking all day there will be a few drunk and who won't be able to help themselves.

skitz3
21/05/2005, 12:52 PM
the first word is supposed to be 'hope'. :o

21/05/2005, 10:48 PM
Tonight the Linfield fans were singing

"we f*cking hate Shamrock rovers,hate Shamrock rovers,we f*cking hate Shamrock rovers"

So we joined in and some of them were actually puzzled.

Roverstillidie
23/05/2005, 10:49 AM
Tonight the Linfield fans were singing

"we f*cking hate Shamrock rovers,hate Shamrock rovers,we f*cking hate Shamrock rovers"

So we joined in and some of them were actually puzzled.

no one likes us, we dont care

proves we are the biggest name in the game!! :cool:

Da Real Rover
23/05/2005, 4:24 PM
To keely on saturday.
'We want the money back'
and
'Dermot Keelys a homosexual, hes so bent its unbelievable'

stevieontour
26/05/2005, 2:17 AM
What was the lyrics to the Shels version of "Hey Hey We're the Monkeys", changed to "Hey Hey We're the Junkies"?? That was my favourite.

Supersaint3
01/06/2005, 12:34 PM
"when I was just a little boy
I asked my mother what should I be?
Should I be Shelbourne, Should I be Pats
Here's what she said to me...

Wash your mouth out son,
and then get your fathers gun
and go shoot the Shelbourne scum
shoot the Shelbourne scum...."

Little eh... over the top? Na... :D

stevieontour
01/06/2005, 11:43 PM
You're Just a Junkie,
A thieving Junkie,
You're only Happy on Labour Day
Your Mam's out Stealing
You Dad's out Dealing
Please don't take my Hubcaps away!

02/06/2005, 12:15 AM
You are a jackeen,
A scummy jackeen,
You're only happy on dole day
Your Ma's out stealing
Your Da's out dealing
Please don't take my Hubcaps away!

02/06/2005, 8:01 AM
Does anyone remember being in Tolka around 1998/99 when these pesky kids were trying to wind us up and one ginger kid got a chorus of "What's it like to be foxy?"

I know it's not eircom League but a lad was telling me that he was at a Brighton game once and the away supporters were singing, "We can see you holding hands." :D Classic!

02/06/2005, 8:48 AM
A few of the ones from Mels

Oh Athlone Town
... Oh Athlone Town
Is Wonderful
... Is Wonderful
Oh Athlone Town Is Wonderful
Its Full Of T!ts, Fanny and Porter
Oh Athlone Town Is Wonderful

We All Live In A Rowdy Rowdy Town
A Rowdy Rowdy Town ... A Rowdy Rowdy Town

We are the brothers Malone
We come from the town of Athlone
We are two Dandies
We are two swells
and to the Ladies
We show our Shileighs
Were a right pair of
OH OH OH
Were are the brothers Malone.

Wise man say ...
Only fools rush in ....
But I
Cant Help
Falling in love with
De Athlone ... De Athlone

To tune of Adams Family
Your grandad is your brother
your sister is your mother
your shagging one another
your a Longford family

Your mums your dad
your dads your mum
your nutin but
interbred Lonford scum.

As sung to Dublin City
No Home, No Fans

1 9 2 8
05/06/2005, 11:53 AM
To tune of Adams Family
Your grandad is your brother
your sister is your mother
your shagging one another
your a Longford family

Very good :D

As sung to Dublin City
No Home, No Fans
And sung to Athlone

Sh!t ground, no fans
Sh!t ground, no fans :D

09/06/2005, 12:18 PM
A couple for Continuity Home Farm games:

The Red Dwarf theme:
"It's cold outside,
There's no kind of atmosphere,
I'm all alone,
More or less."

And at a preseason friendly last season, played on a training pitch:
"Is this better than Whitehall, is this better than Whitehall
Is this better, is this better, is this better than Whitehall,
Is this better than Whitehall?"

Dave drummerboy
17/06/2005, 9:42 AM
We sang this one sunday against monaghan , you know the song o my god i cant belive it by the kaiser chiefs.

O MY GOD I CANT BELEIVE IT 1 NIL DOWN AND WE ARE 4 1 UP

OR

O MY GOD I CANT BELIEIVE IT SEVEN ONE UP GOING TO WIN THE CUP .

19/06/2005, 10:10 PM
chant we've been using recently

we're on top of the league, said, we're on top of the league

:D :D :D :D

21/06/2005, 9:58 PM
[QUOTE=1 9 2 8]Very good

And sung to Athlone

Sh!t ground, no fans
Sh!t ground, no fans :D[/QUOTe

I think everyone who goes there sings that. :D

1 9 2 8
28/06/2005, 6:22 PM
To other Rovers supporters who won't sing for the team

"We're top of the league and ye won't sing"

"Sing your hearts out for the lads"

If the score is 1-0 etc "1-0 and ye still wont sing"

30/06/2005, 4:09 PM
how about this towards Shamrock Rovers fans, speaking of Kaiser Chief songs..

I Predict A Riot....

Passive
06/07/2005, 3:38 PM
A couple for Continuity Home Farm games:

The Red Dwarf theme:
"It's cold outside,
There's no kind of atmosphere,
I'm all alone,
More or less."

And do UCD fans sing that with no sense of irony?

Favourite Dublin City song is to the tune of Boney M's 'Brown Girl in the Ring':

'Home Farm in disguise, tra la la la la,
You're only Home Farm in disguise, tra la la la la la'

06/07/2005, 3:50 PM
And do UCD fans sing that with no sense of irony?
No. We actually don't know what irony is.

Passive
06/07/2005, 4:03 PM

Not surprised.

As Dara O Briain once described UCD: "Ireland's premier centre of learning......how to drive"

anto1208
06/07/2005, 4:06 PM
its probibly turned up allready but from the kaiser cheifs song
oh my god i cant belive it ive never been this far away from home
to
oh my god i cant belive it we ve never been this good away from home

06/07/2005, 6:30 PM
:D :D

07/07/2005, 12:35 PM
As sang to Drog fans last Friday
Are you Dundalk in disguise?

Didnt go down too well.... :o

07/07/2005, 12:36 PM
Remember Shels fans singing "FC Copenhagen" at a UEFA Cup game with Brondby...nearly started a riot amongst the Brondby fans! :p

Aaron GUFC
07/07/2005, 6:55 PM
One of my favourites has to be "WE HATE SLIGO"!
and here are some others: G U F C Stephen Lallys barmy army! lol!
UNITED clap clap clap : obviously
BTW our chants sound good cos we have drums Luckily :D

Mayo Red
07/07/2005, 7:09 PM
One of my favourites has to be "WE HATE SLIGO"!

How about that for originality, these boys really must have a chip on their shoulders because I even heard them singing it in Terryland during the cup game against Cork! :confused:

Thought the "Are you Mayo in disguise" one was good though!

1 9 2 8
07/07/2005, 7:58 PM
barmy army!
What are ye English or something :rolleyes:

Da Real Rover
07/07/2005, 10:24 PM
Your a hippy,A smelly hippy,
Your only happy on may day,
Your grounds a cow-shed,
Your fans are inbreds,
Oh Dentropheliacs from Galway.

09/07/2005, 11:07 AM
To Some(not all) St Pats fans last night.

"Flag thieving bast*rds,Your only flag thieving bast*rds,Flag thieving bast*rds"

Bohs fans,feel free to use this one above

"We're all off to europe,you're all off to rehab la la la la"

13/07/2005, 9:32 AM
The Hearts fans sang this last night:

Jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way,
Oh what fun it is to bet the Hibs on New Years Day. :D

They did a version of the Fields of Athenry but I don't remember it. :mad:

sonofstan
15/07/2005, 9:16 PM
us to Cork last week; 'we're from Dublin and we're better than you' not subtle, but funny