View Full Version : Attendances 2018
Pages :
[
9]
28/04/2018, 2:39 AM
Great to see more than 10,000 out between the games in Derry and Cork. If we can maintain those sort of figures for the games between the top five, hopefully that'll have some spillover effect for the rest of the calendar.
Ezeikial
28/04/2018, 10:34 AM
My first post on the matter stated "what I'm led to believe".
I can only go with information I see elsewhere, since of course I wasn't on that bus myself.
You can only take someone at face value Ezeikial. If someone is happy to clarify otherwise, that's fine. Do you have information that would suggest it wasn't the doing of Drogheda as has been suggested by numerous people?
Nigel - you seem to be putting the blame on the Drogheda board based on little more than a random social media post. The first post I have seen from you said this
Yep. They were almost there too. Wonderful communication from Drogheda to their fans.
Could it be that the Gardai decided to take action based on mis-behaviour en route?
I don't know what occurred either, although a Drogheda BOM member told me that the club did not make the call that was alleged.
Ezeikial
28/04/2018, 10:35 AM
Well we can rule out Stephen Bradley anyway because Ezekial would have told us by now.
I heard Bradser was driving the post (but I did not want to say so until I saw it posted on Social Media)
28/04/2018, 11:09 AM
I don't know what occurred either, although a Drogheda BOM member told me that the club did not make the call that was alleged.
If that is the case then fair enough, I'd happily retract my comments. But, to me, that's no more than a random post on Foot.ie than the several posts on social media stating otherwise.
The fact there's been no comment from Drogheda, or from Cobh, or from Gardaí on the matter suggests to me something has gone on that someone is unwilling to admit. The only statements being made are from those who claim to have been on the bus, or from those who claim to know people who were on the bus.
Ezeikial
28/04/2018, 11:27 AM
. But, to me, that's no more than a random post on Foot.ie than the several posts on social media stating otherwise.
You are absolutely right and that is why the only pertinent fact I presented is that the Drogheda BOM member told me it did not happen
I don't know the facts of what happened. It is not okay to present pretty damning accusations made by randomers on on social media as factual - surely you get that?
28/04/2018, 9:03 PM
I get your point indeed Ezeikial.
On an unrelated topic however, there couldn't have been many more than 300 in Longford tonight. Only around 40 Harps fans down too.
Shearer
28/04/2018, 9:29 PM
On an unrelated topic however, there couldn't have been many more than 300 in Longford tonight. Only around 40 Harps fans down too.
That's a ~300KM return journey, that's admirable enough for the First Division in my opinion.
28/04/2018, 10:08 PM
That's a ~300KM return journey, that's admirable enough for the First Division in my opinion.
It's our shortest trip of the year. We had as much if not more in Drogheda on a Monday night for our rearranged game there.
Olander
29/04/2018, 1:18 AM
753 at Terryland for Galway United v Cobh Ramblers.
bluemovie
29/04/2018, 7:56 PM
Nigel, the Waterford News and Star gave the Pat's Blues game as 1358
29/04/2018, 8:15 PM
Against Sligo? That's not the official figure given by Waterford themselves.
bluemovie
29/04/2018, 8:18 PM
No the game last Monday in Inchicore. You were missing that figure I think.
29/04/2018, 8:20 PM
No the game last Monday in Inchicore. You were missing that figure I think.
Ah yes, excellent. Thank you very much.
PartySaint
30/04/2018, 7:42 AM
2,429 at Richmond on Friday night.
Shearer
30/04/2018, 8:07 PM
703 watching Limerick vs Dundalk.
ToberonaTornado
30/04/2018, 9:13 PM
703 watching Limerick vs Dundalk.
Fair play to them ;)
Meanwhile 2086 watched Dundalk v Pats.
01/05/2018, 1:25 AM
458. Tweeted during the game by the Longford Leader.
01/05/2018, 1:17 PM
458. Tweeted during the game by the Longford Leader.
Looked to be an even smaller crowd than the UCD game which most people thought couldn’t have been more than 200. We always seem to give a figure in that 450 range.
bluemovie
02/05/2018, 4:59 PM
Waterford FC highlights has the Bohs v Blues attendance as 1540
marinobohs
04/05/2018, 11:30 AM
Waterford FC highlights has the Bohs v Blues attendance as 1540
Saw that figure quoted alright. crowd seemed a lot bigger on the night. always difficult as never sure if that includes Bohs members etc which could add a couple of hundred more to the figure.Recall being pleasantly surprised by the size of the crowd on Monday night, decent atmosphere as well by both sets of fans.
PartySaint
04/05/2018, 12:27 PM
That can't be right, there is no way if everyone was in the stand that night there would have been 400 empty seats
Partizan
04/05/2018, 8:11 PM
3,508 tonight at the RSC for Waterford v Dundalk.
04/05/2018, 10:16 PM
Harps v Drogheda - A very disappointing 631.
05/05/2018, 12:50 PM
Very small crowd at the Cross. Bloody Ed sheeran costing us a fortune!
patrickccfc
05/05/2018, 4:17 PM
3516 at the cross. Thought that was decent enough
Olander
05/05/2018, 6:42 PM
Give or take around 350 at Athlone Town v Galway United.
200+ from Galway.
CorribsideSteve
05/05/2018, 8:13 PM
That's a great attendance. Ye are really riding on a wave of momentum, and fair play. What can the RSC hold, 4,000 or so?
06/05/2018, 12:23 PM
Give or take around 350 at Athlone Town v Galway United.
200+ from Galway.
Crowd was 282 give or take 1 or 2.
200+ galway, 16-20 foreign students/refugees who made great noise for athlone and 2 from Limerick.
One more semi interesting fact from that game: the 159 clear cut chances that Dylan Connolly missed is to the best of my knowledge a world record.
06/05/2018, 1:37 PM
Couldn’t have been more than 150-200 in Cobh last night with around 20 from Longford. Fair play to Cobh they put pizza and chips on for the lads that traveled down on the supporters bus and drank in the bar but how can a club keep alive with those kind of figures? Absolutely no vocal support for Cobh, they use to have a few young fellas in the corner making a racket but even that’s gone now. Got the feeling last night it’s a club that may not be around in the next few years. Hope I’m proven wrong
Enjoyable trip down and my first visit to the RSC, nice set up, not sure on the away support in numbers but Dundalk looked to have filled their allocation or close to.
Couldn’t have been more than 150-200 in Cobh last night with around 20 from Longford. Fair play to Cobh they put pizza and chips on for the lads that traveled down on the supporters bus and drank in the bar but how can a club keep alive with those kind of figures? Absolutely no vocal support for Cobh, they use to have a few young fellas in the corner making a racket but even that’s gone now. Got the feeling last night it’s a club that may not be around in the next few years. Hope I’m proven wrong
What went on with the running of the club over the last 10 years created many divisions and differences, a lot of genuine fans lost all trust in the club. It has had to build up from its new roots again which is near impossible as people have moved on and the attraction is not the same. And now it is not considered a local club anymore, the amount of local talent is limited through all levels of the teams, some even say its a club now for outsiders to have a second chance at league football. They don't even train in Cobh anymore as they can't secure the facilities.
How do you attract new fans to a club with all the other interest available to people nowadays, who is going to pay €10 to watch a team of amateurs you don't know!
06/05/2018, 5:28 PM
What went on with the running of the club over the last 10 years created many divisions and differences, a lot of genuine fans lost all trust in the club. It has had to build up from its new roots again which is near impossible as people have moved on and the attraction is not the same. And now it is not considered a local club anymore, the amount of local talent is limited through all levels of the teams, some even say its a club now for outsiders to have a second chance at league football. They don't even train in Cobh anymore as they can't secure the facilities.
How do you attract new fans to a club with all the other interest available to people nowadays, who is going to pay €10 to watch a team of amateurs you don't know!
Where do they train these days?
Partizan
07/05/2018, 6:27 PM
That's a great attendance. Ye are really riding on a wave of momentum, and fair play. What can the RSC hold, 4,000 or so?
3,100 covered seating and another 2,000 standing. If this keeps up, there will be an impetus on the FAI/Local Council and Government to allocate the funding to extend the West Stand.
07/05/2018, 6:57 PM
655 at Finn Harps vs Galway. Not too bad for a Monday evening.
Just under 3000 seats when the camera position is in place (there's nominally about 3035 or so IIRC). We've had 5000 at a Liverpool friendly a few years back and 8500 is the record, for a Cup semi v Shels about 1997. I think the safe capacity for the ground is set at 3100, with inspections or certs or some class of dispensations required when attendances are expected above this.
PartySaint
08/05/2018, 9:51 AM
2,918 at Richmond on Friday night
A.D.K.
08/05/2018, 3:41 PM
2,918 at Richmond on Friday night
thats a decent crowd - it seems st.pats crowds are well up this year anyone care to speculate why?
found a good website on attendances across the european leagues here
worth a look
http://european-football-statistics.co.uk/attn.htm
nr637
09/05/2018, 10:23 AM
Where do they train these days?
They had an arrangement with CIT Cork which allowed them use of the college's facilities, but that was strangely stopped just before the season started, no reason given, but I suppose money was at the source of the problem. I believe that Mayfield FC offered the Club their grounds which includes an all weather floodlight pitch, not sure of the money arrangement there either. As most of the players are from the City, I suppose it makes travelling easier. I believe they are still in that arrangement.
So much for the local business support, as there are at least two football facilities with all-weather and floodlit pitches available but not to the Club, it seems!
Strange goings on!
nr637
09/05/2018, 10:24 AM
67 at Cobh vs Longford last night EA Quarter Final!:(
ToberonaTornado
09/05/2018, 11:51 AM
Will the new Finn Park be going 4G?
No. Plan is a grass pitch. Given the improvements in such pitches and the potential to increase footfall in the ground (local schools, leagues, etc) I would not be against it.
09/05/2018, 1:14 PM
No. Plan is a grass pitch.
Are you suggesting fans on the internet talking about the internal workings of a rival club might be wrong? This is surely unprecedented.
Pablo Escobar
09/05/2018, 2:57 PM
They could have named them in the programme.
Seriously though, that's a crazily low number. Surely a home semi-final would be a draw for fans?
sbgawa
09/05/2018, 3:18 PM
Hopefully Cobh draw Sligo (and beat them....no offence Sligo ) for a club like Cobh to get to a final might give them a boost that they badly need.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
10/05/2018, 6:26 AM
We played Monaghan in 2010 final and they were gone under 2 years later.
10/05/2018, 1:01 PM
Hendo said on one of the pods this morning he’s hoping for a couple thousand in if they can get a home semi final draw. They wouldn’t even get that for a final. People of Cobh have zero interest. Wanderers got more interest during their cup run
Comic Book Guy
10/05/2018, 1:17 PM
They could have named them in the programme.
Seriously though, that's a crazily low number. Surely a home semi-final would be a draw for fans?
Don't know where the 67 came from, I counted 188 the other night, for what it's worth I counted 292 (albeit a lot of kids) on Saturday night from where I was behind the goal by the bar.
Either way appalling crowds. As I've said before there is a group of people who never forgot what went on in the club 10 years or so ago who now refuse point blank to support the club. Also the fact that Cobh wanderers did well last year with an all local side albeit entirely ex Ramblers players and it all adds up. There's one or two other factors too that I won't mention here that contribute as well.
10/05/2018, 1:20 PM
Was that the League Cup or the League?
sbgawa
10/05/2018, 1:21 PM
Don't know where the 67 came from, I counted 188 the other night, for what it's worth I counted 292 (albeit a lot of kids) on Saturday night from where I was behind the goal by the bar.
Either way appalling crowds. As I've said before there is a group of people who never forgot what went on in the club 10 years or so ago who now refuse point blank to support the club. Also the fact that Cobh wanderers did well last year with an all local side albeit entirely ex Ramblers players and it all adds up. There's one or two other factors too that I won't mention here that contribute as well.
Maybe you should stand a little further away from the bar when you are counting :very_drunk:
D24Saint
11/05/2018, 10:27 PM
No more that 700 in Markets Field.