View Full Version : Attendances 2018

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18

blueblood
30/10/2018, 4:14 PM
Harps keep the gate money. Limerick keep the gate money on Friday night. Extra gates were opened on the night though to ease congestion, so large numbers of people through those gates weren't counted. Only those going through the turnstiles themselves were counted.
Fair enough I wasn't sure as it's not a league game. Same thing happened last time when we played ye in play off at MF "officially" something like 3k but more like 5k in attendance, there won't be anything like that on Friday!!! Still I'm sure everyone was give a receipt if not a ticket 😁😁😁

30/10/2018, 4:33 PM
Yeah, Markets Field was massively over-sold for that game too. Some of these 'safe-capacity' figures are a bit ridiculous to be honest.

30/10/2018, 4:48 PM
Harps keep the gate money. Limerick keep the gate money on Friday night. Extra gates were opened on the night though to ease congestion, so large numbers of people through those gates weren't counted. Only those going through the turnstiles themselves were counted.

nigelthe ones that got through the extra gates did they have to pay I wonder?

30/10/2018, 9:04 PM
nigelthe ones that got through the extra gates did they have to pay I wonder?

Yeah they had to pay..

Dalymountrower
30/10/2018, 10:24 PM
1300 in Tallaght to see Bohs under 19's win the double and back to back titles.

oriel
30/10/2018, 10:26 PM
Had a nice laugh to myself at that figure as well. Easily around 3,000 there. Few of us had estimated it at around 3,500 when in the ground.

Why would Harps have bothered to call out a lower figure though Nigel, not like you have to pay vat on the gate. Dundalk had a few this year that made us laugh too mind.

I sometimes think it’s a case of clubs not being too bothered at getting a correct figure, add on ST holders, then the tickets sold or whatever figure they have to hand.

However in this case of FH v Limerick, if loads were charged in through additional gates open, this would probably account for the discrepancy.

marinobohs
31/10/2018, 10:32 AM
1300 in Tallaght to see Bohs under 19's win the double and back to back titles.

Another great result for our U19s and always nice to win over there :D Any idea why the PA didn't call out the Bohs players names for the medal presentation ? Called out all the shams players and all the officials by name but appeared to ignore the winning team.

blueblood
31/10/2018, 11:34 AM
Why would Harps have bothered to call out a lower figure though Nigel, not like you have to pay vat on the gate. Dundalk had a few this year that made us laugh too mind.

I sometimes think it’s a case of clubs not being too bothered at getting a correct figure, add on ST holders, then the tickets sold or whatever figure they have to hand.

However in this case of FH v Limerick, if loads were charged in through additional gates open, this would probably account for the discrepancy.
Because you can't bate cash/no ticket!!! Strange tho surely clubs should be over estimating attendances when they can to make things look rosier rather than worse than they are, I doubt the announced attendance has to be the "official attendance" tho

31/10/2018, 1:29 PM
I've often wondered which is the better thinking if official attendances are not official attendances. Assuming that there is no worth in cooking the books for tax purposes, credible overestimation of crowds may have more positives. ttendance figures help to market a club, if people start getting in to the mindset that x is the place to be on Friday night then bumping up the numbers might have a positive. If there are financial issues though and a club has creditors knocking on the door then announcing a bumped up gate wont help. Its a bit ridiculous that there is any discussion around this TWGL and all and there have been a few strange figues given this year!

marinobohs
31/10/2018, 1:38 PM
I've often wondered which is the better thinking if official attendances are not official attendances. Assuming that there is no worth in cooking the books for tax purposes, credible overestimation of crowds may have more positives. ttendance figures help to market a club, if people start getting in to the mindset that x is the place to be on Friday night then bumping up the numbers might have a positive. If there are financial issues though and a club has creditors knocking on the door then announcing a bumped up gate wont help. Its a bit ridiculous that there is any discussion around this TWGL and all and there have been a few strange figues given this year!

I think in the dim and distant past there may have been underestimates for a number of reasons (shared gates the most obvious) but cant really see how in this day and age (apart from shared gates) it would make any sense to underestimate. as you say overestimation would at least be beneficial for promotion of club etc.
Many clubs also have a number of 'freebies' be they club members/officials/whatever, these are not paying customers but can distort the number attending versus official attendance ( I think official attendance is paying customers only ?). fans are unlikely to agree on attendance numbers as they are to agree on particular players.

31/10/2018, 3:13 PM
Am not so sure the crowd was understated by much. There was still a fair bit of space around the place, it didn't seem hugely bigger than the Drogheda game. Disappointing as the buzz around for the game was huge.

SeanDMRooney
31/10/2018, 4:58 PM
There was a rake of room of the town end terrace so I felt that the stated crowd felt legit.

I was disappointed at the traveller themed chants aimed at Limerick - it just didn't feel sporting tbh and as a snowflake didnt think it was nice

bluewhitearmy
31/10/2018, 7:42 PM
There was a rake of room of the town end terrace so I felt that the stated crowd felt legit.

I was disappointed at the traveller themed chants aimed at Limerick - it just didn't feel sporting tbh and as a snowflake didnt think it was nice

If it helps we couldn't hear ye.

SeanDMRooney
31/10/2018, 8:22 PM
If it helps we couldn't hear ye.

Nor tbh did I expect you to have but in reality that's besides the point the intent of it was what rankled with me

31/10/2018, 11:27 PM
Nor tbh did I expect you to have but in reality that's besides the point the intent of it was what rankled with me

This was from the town end terrace obviously? Couldn't hear the chanting from there either in the stand.

bluewhitearmy
01/11/2018, 9:17 AM
This was from the town end terrace obviously? Couldn't hear the chanting from there either in the stand.

I honestly thought and still hope he was joking about it all. If people did sing about us being travellers then so what? As long as it's not homophobic or racist then chant away like.

SeanDMRooney
01/11/2018, 11:20 AM
I honestly thought and still hope he was joking about it all. If people did sing about us being travellers then so what? As long as it's not homophobic or racist then chant away like.

YEah there were maybe 20 people on the Town End who made repeated references to "your just a bunch of gypsys" or "gypsy *******s" throughout the game and I didnt like it. No more no less than that

NeverFeltBetter
01/11/2018, 11:24 AM
Limerick fans have sung the same or worse about other teams and their fans. Any Dublin team we play gets the "scumbags and junkies, alive alive oh" treatment for example.

EAFC_rdfl
01/11/2018, 12:31 PM
Any snowflakes at the hearts hibs game last night must be fully melted today, heaven forbid a set of fans singing abuse at the opposition fans!

01/11/2018, 12:32 PM
YEah there were maybe 20 people on the Town End who made repeated references to "your just a bunch of gypsys" or "gypsy *******s" throughout the game and I didnt like it. No more no less than that

Ah, christ, I thought it was something offensive. Don't think I've ever been at a game where someone hasn't been called a gypsy or scumbag or some sort.

dundalkfc10
01/11/2018, 12:50 PM

Your better off not going to football games if you dont like that. Also never ever go to a game between 2 big rivals!

01/11/2018, 12:51 PM
People need to stay away from the likes of that. Clubs have been fined for a lot less.

marinobohs
01/11/2018, 1:32 PM
People need to stay away from the likes of that. Clubs have been fined for a lot less.

Don't stewards take action (in so far as they can) about racial chants ? also, it is open to any individual to bring racist chants to the attention of the gardai who are obliged to act, even if it is just to warn off the clowns doing it.

bluewhitearmy
01/11/2018, 1:42 PM
Stop ffs a bit of harmless chanting.

sbgawa
01/11/2018, 1:56 PM
where does it stop Lads?
Are we not allowed to call the Junkies Junkies and the Gyppos Gyppos anymore?

joey B
01/11/2018, 2:40 PM
Fecking Caseyites ruining football!!

01/11/2018, 2:44 PM
Don't stewards take action (in so far as they can) about racial chants ? also, it is open to any individual to bring racist chants to the attention of the gardai who are obliged to act, even if it is just to warn off the clowns doing it.

Honestly curious, what would the guards do them for? We dont have any hate crime legislation as far as I know..........

NeverFeltBetter
01/11/2018, 3:12 PM
We actually do have hate crime laws, made in the 80s, though from what I've read they aren't worth much when it comes to prosecutions. Part of the background to the recent referendum was a suggestion the blasphemy provision should be replaced with more general wording about hate speech, but that never transpired.

EatYerGreens
01/11/2018, 4:00 PM
Your better off not going to football games if you dont like that. Also never ever go to a game between 2 big rivals!

Would it be ok if they were abusing Limerick fans for being black, Jewish, Muslim etc ?

Sadly Travellers are the one remaining 'acceptable' targets of racism in Irish society.

bluewhitearmy
01/11/2018, 8:22 PM
Would it be ok if they were abusing Limerick fans for being black, Jewish, Muslim etc ?

Sadly Travellers are the one remaining 'acceptable' targets of racism in Irish society.

How can you be racist or sectarian again someone the same race and religion as you?

EatYerGreens
01/11/2018, 11:17 PM
How can you be racist or sectarian again someone the same race and religion as you?

Travellers are a recognised ethnic minority.

bluewhitearmy
01/11/2018, 11:22 PM
Travellers are a recognised ethnic minority.

How I'll never know but not a discussion for this site so I'll say nothing more on it.

sbgawa
02/11/2018, 5:59 AM
I think LOI supporters should be recognised as an ethnic minority , we are scorned in public, discriminated against by the govt and in general looked down upon

02/11/2018, 10:44 AM
Would love to see a day where LOI fans move beyond the traveller themed abuse / chants at matches. Apart from the very real prospect of punishment for clubs, it's just not right to use any such group as an abusive term.

We can all give each other abuse without picking on the travelling community.

marinobohs
02/11/2018, 11:08 AM
I think LOI supporters should be recognised as an ethnic minority , we are scorned in public, discriminated against by the govt and in general looked down upon

that's just Shamrock Rovers ;)

marinobohs
02/11/2018, 11:10 AM
Would love to see a day where LOI fans move beyond the traveller themed abuse / chants at matches. Apart from the very real prospect of punishment for clubs, it's just not right to use any such group as an abusive term.

We can all give each other abuse without picking on the travelling community.

Yes indeed, its very unfair to the Travelling Community to be associated with Limerick FC :D

sbgawa
02/11/2018, 11:14 AM
that's just Shamrock Rovers ;)

:) Touche....Gyppo :)

marinobohs
02/11/2018, 11:19 AM
:) Touche....Gyppo :)

Always thought it funny that Bohs are nicknamed 'the Gypsies' while shams were the club homeless and wandering around Dublin for so long :D

DCWA
02/11/2018, 11:37 AM
It is testament to the quality of discussion that this subject has been brought up but it is sad to hear anti-traveller chants at games, of course they are still commonplace as are shouts of “fa**ot” or “q**er” but they should be challenged every time.

Great to see it being brought up.

SeanDMRooney
02/11/2018, 12:33 PM
It is testament to the quality of discussion that this subject has been brought up but it is sad to hear anti-traveller chants at games, of course they are still commonplace as are shouts of “fa**ot” or “q**er” but they should be challenged every time.

Great to see it being brought up.

To be honest, having been away in the US the last LOI game I was at a female linesperson was the subject of relentless sexist abuse being called a **** etc so I wasn't prepared to let it pass this time. I just don't understand what it adds to the enjoyment of the game

DCWA
02/11/2018, 12:57 PM
To be honest, having been away in the US the last LOI game I was at a female linesperson was the subject of relentless sexist abuse being called a **** etc so I wasn't prepared to let it pass this time. I just don't understand what it adds to the enjoyment of the game

Yep also happens every time and everyone under the age of 60 who does it is f**king gimp

vinnie
02/11/2018, 1:06 PM

Ah now you should know that every Assistant Referee is a cúnt, not just the female one's

sbgawa
02/11/2018, 1:19 PM
Always thought it funny that Bohs are nicknamed 'the Gypsies' while shams were the club homeless and wandering around Dublin for so long :D

Says the lad who's moving to Tolka :) i hope its just a temporary halting site for you there.

02/11/2018, 2:10 PM
Yep also happens every time and everyone under the age of 60 who does it is f**king gimp

Looks like we have a social justice WARRIOR on our hands here.

*Defends the womyn*

*Insults the disabled*

:bulgy:

02/11/2018, 2:20 PM
Also the north stand is sold out tonight meaning we will have at least 1000 more than we had at our last four or five home league games.

Ezeikial
02/11/2018, 3:14 PM

*Defends the womyn*

*Insults the disabled*

Is that the poster who called those who may disagree with him as "pure simple"?

02/11/2018, 4:10 PM

*Defends the womyn*

*Insults the disabled*

Ageist too.

02/11/2018, 9:59 PM
I think there were about 7 million Harps fans in Markets Field.

DCWA
03/11/2018, 8:33 AM
Correct lads only signed up to fight the good fight I will keep you all in line online and you can thank me in the time ahead

Kingswood Rover
03/11/2018, 9:17 AM
In the case of travelers, they are a now recognized ethnic minority within the general population.