Pages :
[
11]
DeLorean
09/11/2018, 8:55 AM
https://media.giphy.com/media/ToMjGpKniGqRNLGBrhu/giphy.gif
09/11/2018, 9:06 AM
if the first few paraghraphs of the article are to be taken at face value then its clear he hasn't made his decision yet. makes a mockery of all the recent media reports claiming he has decided England.
I see zero benefit to Rice drawing this out if he has decided for England. I see some benefit if he has decided Ireland given his ongoing contract talks with WHU
DeLorean
09/11/2018, 9:08 AM
I was thinking that too. In fact, if he had chosen England he'd probably be keen to get the paperwork started (assuming that isn't already happening behind the scenes).
09/11/2018, 9:12 AM
So, everything written about him definitely choosing one side, or the other, in the past four months, has been wrong.
And anything written that was based of those original articles, have been worse.
09/11/2018, 9:26 AM
In fact, if he had chosen England he'd probably be keen to get the paperwork started (assuming that isn't already happening behind the scenes).
I don't think he would do that given the sensitivities involved. Its obvious that he, and particularly his family, feels some attachment to us and if it came out afterwards that he had started the England switch process while still claiming he was thinking about things it would make things a bit worse for him. Again, I just don't see any benefit in him not coming out immediately to confirm he has made a decision to go with England
Deckydee
09/11/2018, 11:06 AM
if the first few paraghraphs of the article are to be taken at face value then its clear he hasn't made his decision yet. makes a mockery of all the recent media reports claiming he has decided England.
I see zero benefit to Rice drawing this out if he has decided for England. I see some benefit if he has decided Ireland given his ongoing contract talks with WHU
Thinking the very same thing................
livehead1
09/11/2018, 12:40 PM
It would be pretty funny if it transpired the England interest was drawn out simply to obtain a better contract from West Ham, particularly given Southgate's very public pursuit.
09/11/2018, 12:41 PM
I don't think he would do that given the sensitivities involved. Its obvious that he, and particularly his family, feels some attachment to us and if it came out afterwards that he had started the England switch process while still claiming he was thinking about things it would make things a bit worse for him. Again, I just don't see any benefit in him not coming out immediately to confirm he has made a decision to go with EnglandI was wondering if this was a planted article or an article advised by a publicist. I then wondered for what purpose, thinking it might be a way of softening the blow if he defects. After that I thought maybe it's a way of being polite to England and preparing to let them down. And even after that I thought, maybe he just hasn't decided!
Diggs246
09/11/2018, 12:48 PM
I was wondering if this was a planted article or an article advised by a publicist. I then wondered for what purpose, thinking it might be a way of softening the blow if he defects. After that I thought maybe it's a way of being polite to England and preparing to let them down. And even after that I thought, maybe he just hasn't decided!
Hes gone lads and has been since he pulled out. The worst part is he giving false hope to decent Irish fans and we dont deserve that. If you look at the article he refernces his career not heritage or nationality. His only stumbling block is his dad, who he will let down as well.
09/11/2018, 2:02 PM
Hes gone lads and has been since he pulled out. The worst part is he giving false hope to decent Irish fans and we dont deserve that. If you look at the article he refernces his career not heritage or nationality. His only stumbling block is his dad, who he will let down as well.
I don't agree with that. if he was gone he would say so as he gains little if anything by dragging the decision process out. I honestly believe he is yet to decide.
my odds: 40% us / 60% england
Diggs246
09/11/2018, 2:11 PM
I don't agree with that. if he was gone he would say so as he gains little if anything by dragging the decision process out. I honestly believe he is yet to decide.
my odds: 40% us / 60% england
If you honestly believe deep down in your heart of hearts that he is yet to decide why wouldn't you give it 50%/50%?
09/11/2018, 2:38 PM
If you honestly believe deep down in your heart of hearts that he is yet to decide why wouldn't you give it 50%/50%?
because I believe he will probably choose England but I still believe that he hasn't decided. my odds are based on what I think the chances are as to where his head will end up.... not where his head is now
Olé Olé
09/11/2018, 2:47 PM
"One of the hardest decisions I will have to make in my career". That the rules didn't enforce that decision to be made the first time he got a senior cap for Ireland is a sad indictment.
Diggs246
09/11/2018, 3:21 PM
because I believe he will probably choose England but I still believe that he hasn't decided. my odds are based on what I think the chances are as to where his head will end up.... not where his head is now
Needs sound
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0sPVEBAtwmg
dr_peepee
09/11/2018, 6:33 PM
I remember Steven Ireland, early on in his international indecisiveness, very publicly on MOTD after a good performance in a city match talk about having highlights in his career, and representing “his country” being amongst them.... to subsequently carry on the way he did. So I’m giving no faith to the Declan Rice sound bites. His Ireland career is with O’Leary in the grave, as far as I’m concerned.
Diggs246
11/11/2018, 1:24 PM
I bought the Sunday times and two very interesting points. Southgate says the power point presentation meeting wirh Rice in London was bullsh*t and Mon is bringing Mark O'Toole( the youth scout) to meet Rice in Rices dads gaff
liamoo11
11/11/2018, 1:46 PM
I bought the Sunday times and two very interesting points. Southgate says the power point presentation meeting wirh Rice in London was bullsh*t and Mon is bringing Mark O'Toole( the youth scout) to meet Rice in Rices dads gaff
Thanks Diggs246. I didn't see the Sunday times can you elaborate on the points you raised and the significance you see in it? Thanks it is probably already clear from your post but I have serious baby brain today!
Diggs246
11/11/2018, 1:52 PM
Thanks Diggs246. I didn't see the Sunday times can you elaborate on the points you raised and the significance you see in it? Thanks it is probably already clear from your post but I have serious baby brain today!
Southgate was directly asked about the meeting in St George's where he supposedly ran through a technical analyse of where Rice would fit in. However this meeting never took place.
Mark O' toole is the Fai scout who brought Rice into our under age set up. Bringing him along is seen as a smart charm offensive.
11/11/2018, 2:04 PM
And that was the last time anyone bought the Daily f*cking Star
liamoo11
11/11/2018, 2:18 PM
Southgate was directly asked about the meeting in St George's where he supposedly ran through a technical analyse of where Rice would fit in. However this meeting never took place.
Mark O' toole is the Fai scout who brought Rice into our under age set up. Bringing him along is seen as a smart charm offensive.
Cheers thank you.
Olé Olé
11/11/2018, 5:26 PM
Unbelievable stuff. There is such dross being reported recently and the journos need to be held accountable. I had a pop off Dan McDonnell recently over his Harry Arter not returning to Ireland story. He DM'd me to say that the story was from another journo, his name was just put to it but the journo has been reprimanded privately. Judging from the convo, it was Kevin Palmer- a man who has had a story or two Rice also. Neil O'Riordan and Palmer have lost a lot of credibility, if they had any.
11/11/2018, 6:33 PM
for a group that are so quick to be critical of others poor preparation and homework the journos need to have a hard look in the mirror. the indo staff more than anyone really
Grafter
11/11/2018, 7:01 PM
To be fair, in my opinion Dan McDonnell comes across as a fairly considered and accurate journalist when it comes to reporting on and breaking stories. I was surprised when his name was attributed to that Arter not returning story in the hours prior to the October squad announcement. If it was actually another journo's misreporting then I'd be more than a bit miffed that my name was associated with it.
Fixer82
13/11/2018, 1:31 PM
I remember Steven Ireland, early on in his international indecisiveness, very publicly on MOTD after a good performance in a city match talk about having highlights in his career, and representing “his country” being amongst them.... to subsequently carry on the way he did. So I’m giving no faith to the Declan Rice sound bites. His Ireland career is with O’Leary in the grave, as far as I’m concerned.
Dave O’Leary is not dead ;)
Cathalsmart
14/11/2018, 3:40 PM
https://www.the42.ie/michael-oneill-jimmy-dunne-ireland-northern-ireland-international-football-hearts-burnley-4339387-Nov2018/
Is MON having a laugh?
Olé Olé
14/11/2018, 3:52 PM
He's a troll, nothing but a troll.
14/11/2018, 7:49 PM
Dave O’Leary is not dead ;)
I think you've sucked the marrow from the bone on that one.
TrapAPony
24/11/2018, 5:37 PM
The Star supposedly saying he now favours Ireland again.
24/11/2018, 6:00 PM
Guardiola was impressed with him today
Diggs246
24/11/2018, 7:07 PM
The Star supposedly saying he now favours Ireland again.
I can't find that. Do u have a link?
Ta
24/11/2018, 7:11 PM
When you google "daily star declan rice" one of the first links is an exclusive that he's definitely going to switch to England.
Also, it's from October.
TrapAPony
24/11/2018, 7:14 PM
I can't find that. Do u have a link?
Ta
No link. It was on the back page of today's Star
25/11/2018, 3:14 PM
Mick McCarthy has spoken to his father and is to sit down with Rice this month. You'd wonder did the previous regime not try hard enough to get him on side.
TrapAPony
25/11/2018, 3:20 PM
Mick McCarthy has spoken to his father and is to sit down with Rice this month. You'd wonder did the previous regime not try hard enough to get him on side.
The previous regime wouldn't go after any player unless he came to them first. They had the complete wrong way of doing things.
Olé Olé
25/11/2018, 3:45 PM
From all the word we have heard though I'm sure his old man would be absolutely honoured to answer the phone to Mick. And I'm sure his old man was utterly honoured to answer it to Roy Keane too. Given that his dad and uncle(s) have been pushing him in our direction then I'm not sure if Mick will make much of a difference. It will be an indictment on the previous regime if it's a factor in his decision.
Given and Robbie Keane strike me as more personable chaps than Roy too which might be a help!
25/11/2018, 4:33 PM
The previous regime wouldn't go after any player unless he came to them first. They had the complete wrong way of doing things.
criticism needs to be balanced.
rice was with our underage teams long before mon should have had anything to do with him. mon also appears to have met and spoken to both declan rice and his family on a number of occasions. no irish manager should have to plead with any player..... especially one he has already capped 3 times!!!!!!
Olé Olé
26/11/2018, 5:06 PM
Interesting point by Dion Fanning on the Second Captains. He thinks Robbie Keane will play a big part in Rice talks, as Mick has confirmed. He refers to the theory that Rice's agent is pushing him to play for England but he reckons Robbie is "well-connected" in the agent game and "commands respect" of agents with some of the big deals he has been involved in. Fanning also states that Keane is very relevant and a PL years highlight package would feature him quite a bit and he didn't do badly out of playing for Ireland.
26/11/2018, 7:13 PM
You could also argue that Dion Fanning is yesterdays man in the world of journalism (much like Philip Quinn actually), and time waits for no man in football.
gastric
03/12/2018, 7:39 AM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/mick-mccarthy-delighted-declan-rice-wants-to-speak-to-him-as-gareth-southgate-admits-he-hasnt-spoken-to-midfielder-since-june-37588462.html
Interesting article and if the quotes are right, it gives me Some hope!
Diggs246
03/12/2018, 1:07 PM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/mick-mccarthy-delighted-declan-rice-wants-to-speak-to-him-as-gareth-southgate-admits-he-hasnt-spoken-to-midfielder-since-june-37588462.html
Interesting article and if the quotes are right, it gives me Some hope!
I would prefer if Mick brought Coleman our captain to the meeting instead of Robbie
seanfhear
03/12/2018, 6:05 PM
If he calls Mick for a meeting and acts the ******......Chin him Mick.....Nothing to lose at that stage anyway .
In fairness he should have Chinned Roy Keane back in the day . If anyone ever needed a Straightener it was Roy Keane .
06/12/2018, 7:29 AM
Mick was at the game last night and will speak to Rice soon: https://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2018/12/05/mick-mccarthy-will-make-last-ditch-attempt-convince-declan-rice/
Article also mentions that Bayern are interested in him
rebelmusic
06/12/2018, 1:09 PM
I still haven't gotten past him saying this:
But the 19-year-old said: “There’s no decision to be made. I have not had a call from the FA and England have never wanted me at under-age level — it’s always been Ireland.”
Asked if he would meet Southgate for a chat, Rice added: “No, not at all. I’m fully focused on Ireland.”
They probably put him in a room with John Terry and corrupted him with stories of WAGs and fan orgies. Im actually being serious...along with the cash he'd be on etc. Simplest way to control a fella - through his laddy.
Diggs246
06/12/2018, 1:17 PM
I still haven't gotten past him saying this:
But the 19-year-old said: “There’s no decision to be made. I have not had a call from the FA and England have never wanted me at under-age level — it’s always been Ireland.”
Asked if he would meet Southgate for a chat, Rice added: “No, not at all. I’m fully focused on Ireland.”
They probably put him in a room with John Terry and corrupted him with stories of WAGs and fan orgies. Im actually being serious...along with the cash he'd be on etc. Simplest way to control a fella - through his laddy.
For all the talk of his new agent, his new agent. Hes aggessive a top shark etc
I think his agent is doing an incredibly **** job. He should have demanded 60k a week and then settled for 40k basic( 10k more then his minimum target). He shoild offically request a tranfer on Jan 1st and watch the bids come in from other clubs and then we will see the colour of west hams eyes
CraftyToePoke
06/12/2018, 1:24 PM
They probably put him in a room with John Terry
I think ending up in a room with MON and particularly Roy Keane is more the problem here.
CraftyToePoke
06/12/2018, 1:26 PM
For all the talk of his new agent, his new agent. Hes aggessive a top shark etc
I think his agent is doing an incredibly **** job. He should have demanded 60k a week and then settled for 40k basic( 10k more then his minimum target). He shoild offically request a tranfer on Jan 1st and watch the bids come in from other clubs and then we will see the colour of west hams eyes
I think, the club have an option of another year on him. Could be wrong.
rebelmusic
06/12/2018, 1:35 PM
I think ending up in a room with MON and particularly Roy Keane is more the problem here.
Hah! Touche!
Im confident with Mick meeting him tbh. He had the same choice to make himself and he's a charming ********. There's one absolute truth that with us he could carve out a legend but with the Sasanaigh he'll a Walker at best (I cant even remember his first name)
With England still wetting themselves over Bobby Moore...who else, Platt?
For us, in fairness, there's only Keane - and my fellow Corkman is as polarising as Obama
boysingreen
08/12/2018, 3:09 PM
Talk of Mick meeting him this week...
I’m scared.
The Fly
08/12/2018, 7:59 PM
Had a look on the main West Ham forum earlier and by all accounts Rice put in another superb display today.
liamoo11
20/12/2018, 10:19 PM
https://amp.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/fai-confident-following-talks-between-declan-rice-and-mick-mccarthy-37646718.html?__twitter_impression=true A story so made up it took two to write it. Someone should tweet Fallon about Stephen Ireland son and delaps son he could start writing articles about their future international intentions now it might keep him in a job for another five or six years