View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2017

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Ezeikial
28/06/2017, 10:05 PM
I'd say he has really frightened them with that talk.

He's a master at the ould psychology all the same

sbgawa
28/06/2017, 10:29 PM
I'd say he's on a par with "poor me we haven't had a peno in 5 years "

28/06/2017, 10:36 PM
This is bubbling up nicely! and not a Cork fan in sight to row in behind geysir ... yet. Cork and tbh Dundalk struggled in Iceland the last couple of years but Dundalk got over the jitters and kicked on. Cork have a banana skin of a tie but expectation is to progress. Id imagine Shamrock Rovers fans feel the same as bar struggling in Luxembourg, struggling in Iceland wont meet expectation regardless of overtures of staying grounded and stating that nothing is taken for granted - it is hard not to feel expectant against teams from countres that big Irish clubs should be putting away. Without seeing any of the game i'd say the expectation in Windor Park tonight was a given with relatively new management at the NI champions who were actually available for the forray in to Europe, the biggest club on the island and their fans had to have been thinking all about their glamour tie against the other hoops. Tie still up for grabs though there.

28/06/2017, 11:41 PM
You'll give poor geysir a heart attack with that "countries big Irish teams should be putting away" talk.

29/06/2017, 12:19 AM
Oh after beating FH last season that heart sucked it up and quit the onslaught of the virtues of the Icelandic domestic league :p Id give plenty to have the facility that FH have, not the one fairly new stand, though that would be nice, but the facilities anciliary to that stand were sweet. But then if we all had the funding from the local council as they did we'd be grand.....cough.

29/06/2017, 12:29 AM
I approve at your thinly-veiled dig at Bohemians and their cushy peppercorn rent deal.

29/06/2017, 3:23 AM
Thinly veiled - hardly. Jealousy is what it is, of FH.

29/06/2017, 3:45 AM
Thinly veiled - hardly. Jealousy is what it is, of FH.
I'm sure they probably had to endure a years-long court case taken by the local GAA club before anything happened. I assume they have GAA clubs in Iceland anyway.

PartySaint
29/06/2017, 8:13 AM
Bradley talked to few local reporters early this evening after training in Stjarnan's ground. He let it be known that Rovers "are the biggest club in Ireland and have the best supporters".
That's mighty talk from the minnow sized coach.

He says that before every game over here as well, I'm not sure if he's trying to convince himself or everyone else.

I reckon 2 of the 4 Irish sides will go through

oriel
29/06/2017, 12:37 PM
Best of luck to Derry, Rovers and Cork today. I`ll be following the updates closely. I think I saw Cork were slight favs to win tonight?

I think the only time we were favourites last season was home to FH, and we still didn't beat them!

Pablo Escobar
29/06/2017, 1:24 PM
Best of luck to Derry, Rovers and Cork today. I`ll be following the updates closely. I think I saw Cork were slight favs to win tonight?

I think the only time we were favourites last season was home to FH, and we still didn't beat them!

We weren't favourites when the odds came out. We're strong favourites now. It's down to our fans putting money down rather than a true reflection I'd say.

thebronze14
29/06/2017, 1:45 PM
Best of luck to Cork, Rovers and even Derry today. More pessimistic than other years for some reason. Reckon Cork will scrape through, Rovers could go either way and Derry will put up brave resistance but ultimately be beaten. Similar may happen Dundalk

Jd2793
29/06/2017, 2:08 PM
We weren't favourites when the odds came out. We're strong favourites now. It's down to our fans putting money down rather than a true reflection I'd say.
Will not be down to fans putting money down decent liquidity in asia. Plenty of other people fancy Cork and with decent amounts of money too.

sbgawa
29/06/2017, 2:15 PM
Cork are the new Athlone for those Asian lads, any dodgy last minute goals will be watched very carefully :)

EatYerGreens
29/06/2017, 2:20 PM

I doubt any LOI club has the fanbase to influence the odds of a European fixture to any noticeable extent tbh.

Just consider how relatively small the crowds are for any club. Then factor in that only a (small?) percentage of those are likely to be active betters. And then drill down further via the fact that most of those betting would probably only wager small sums of the nature that wouldn't impact odds. Then consider that lots of other gamblers who aren't LOI fans - including overseas - will take an interest in European fixtures given their profile.

Pablo Escobar
29/06/2017, 2:37 PM
I doubt any LOI club has the fanbase to influence the odds of a European fixture to any noticeable extent tbh.

Just consider how relatively small the crowds are for any club. Then factor in that only a (small?) percentage of those are likely to be active betters. And then drill down further via the fact that most of those betting would probably only wager small sums of the nature that wouldn't impact odds. Then consider that lots of other gamblers who aren't LOI fans - including overseas - will take an interest in European fixtures given their profile.

I wouldn't have thought that there would have been much money going on the game. Probably an incorrect assumption. I know our lads have been punting on us, but yeah, I'd assume small money.

Either way, the favourites tag does not sit well. I'd take a draw and run right now.

DannyInvincible
29/06/2017, 3:49 PM
Cork doing fine so far and definitely have the beating of them.

DannyInvincible
29/06/2017, 4:01 PM
Only a matter of time before Cork score, surely. They're exerting good pressure now and looking dominant. Levadia's keeper looks very dodgy with Cork challenging him a few times with shots and corners. No real threat from Levadia so far.

DannyInvincible
29/06/2017, 4:11 PM
Levadia down to ten men and Cork have a free-kick in a great position here.

DannyInvincible
29/06/2017, 4:13 PM
Away goal for Cork from the free-kick just before half-time. Great stuff.

Finlay Harp
29/06/2017, 4:14 PM
Cork are battering them.

29/06/2017, 4:17 PM
Dream start really. A goal and a red card in the first half. Just need to kick on and hopefully end the tie here

Pablo Escobar
29/06/2017, 4:21 PM
The default mentality of a City fan is "How do we **** it up from here!?"

Straightstory
Maguire the best player on the park by a country mile.

Cillian Sheridan misses a penalty for Jagellonia

patrickccfc
29/06/2017, 4:24 PM
Watching it on my mobile on this stream

http://www.vipbox.nu/football/488723/1/levadia-vs-cork-city-stream.html

Dream scenario so far with them being a man down. Would love to see us kick on and get another 1 or 2 if we can

DannyInvincible
29/06/2017, 4:24 PM
Video of Garry Buckley's goal for Cork: https://twitter.com/eirSport/status/880459997905387525

sbgawa
29/06/2017, 4:26 PM
Go on the Langers :)

Pablo Escobar
29/06/2017, 4:30 PM
Go on the Langers :)

The LOI's version of the Christmas Truce comes along once every year.

29/06/2017, 4:33 PM
The default mentality of a City fan is "How do we **** it up from here!?"
Cork a goal up away from home against an opposition that's down to ten men.

What's the worst that could happen?

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/o1IUDrMuEW4/hqdefault.jpg

29/06/2017, 5:05 PM
Ballymena United back in European action for only the second time since 1989...and they're 1-0 down in Norway after 34 seconds.

29/06/2017, 5:07 PM
Jesus can Cork hold out?

29/06/2017, 5:08 PM
Ballymena United back in European action for only the second time since 1989...and they're 1-0 down in Norway after 34 seconds.Coleraine 1-0 down after 8 mins

Goal, badly needed

Cillian Sheridan scores for Jagellonia, making up for his earlier missed peno

And it's 2-0 Cork

Finlay Harp
29/06/2017, 5:09 PM
Screamer

DannyInvincible
29/06/2017, 5:09 PM
Great goal to put Cork 2-0 ahead.

29/06/2017, 5:10 PM
Beattie with it.

No goals from play for Maguire in 8 European games now - slight concern? Just wonder if he's more likely to be the next Roy O'Donovan than Kevin Doyle.

(Watch as I reverse jinx it of course...)

29/06/2017, 5:12 PM
Beattie with it.

No goals from play for Maguire in 8 European games now - slight concern? Just wonder if he's more likely to be the next Roy O'Donovan than Kevin Doyle.

(Watch as I reverse jinx it of course...)

Think he was pretty woeful in the 2nd half

pateen
29/06/2017, 5:16 PM
Any link for the Derry game, assuming its live somewhere?

Finlay Harp
29/06/2017, 5:20 PM
That's a big win.

patrickccfc
29/06/2017, 5:25 PM
Very pleased with that result. Didn't kick on in the second as I hoped but to get a second goal and not concede was great. . Beautiful finish from beattie that was. Over to you now rovers and derry best of luck

DannyInvincible
29/06/2017, 5:26 PM
Cork not as dominant in the second half despite having an extra man, but a great result away from home nevertheless. A nervy moment or two with Levadia hitting the cross-bar before Cork's second, but Cork were the better side overall and deserved the win. It's Levadia's first defeat since October. The second goal was important in killing off Levadia's budding hopes of snatching an equaliser and Cork should be more than able to see the tie through in Turners Cross.

Video of Steven Beattie's goal: https://twitter.com/eirSport/status/880475312156442624

Meanwhile, Cork's likely opponents in the next round if they make it through, AEK Larnaca, are 1-0 at home to Lincoln Red Imps with half an hour gone in that game.

DannyInvincible
29/06/2017, 5:30 PM
Any link for the Derry game, assuming its live somewhere?

6'eren stream for the Derry game here: http://sportlive.site/sthunter/tv3sp2.php

sparky12345678
29/06/2017, 5:41 PM
just a small note on iceland;
Valur who were unseeded at 1.925 got an away draw against Ventlips (5.725); higher than Stjarman who are seeded 4.175.
Rovers would be doing well to take a score draw away from home...

Fair play to the Langers :D

sbgawa
29/06/2017, 5:45 PM
Second goal makes all the difference. Game over. Great start to the night.

29/06/2017, 5:47 PM
Don't think Levadia could have given Cork much more space for that goal. Really poor from them

legendz
29/06/2017, 5:52 PM
Good result for Cork. Very diligent in their European performance again from what I saw of the first half.

There's an air of expectancy and purpose when Cork and Dundalk are in Europe now. Any wins from the rest are bonuses for the coefficient.

pateen
29/06/2017, 6:03 PM
Stream here too

http://cricfree.sc/watch/live/midtjylland-vs-derry-city-live-streaming

DannyInvincible
29/06/2017, 6:04 PM
Midtjylland looking slick and dangerous already.