View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2017

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24

sbgawa
01/09/2017, 7:46 AM
The fans who cost us money in fines for this stuff and pitch incursions are hurting the club. The front of the East stand is going to be meshed off against cork to try to stop this. Will they be happy when the FAI close the wast stand ?

Ezeikial
01/09/2017, 8:28 AM
The fans who cost us money in fines for this stuff and pitch incursions are hurting the club. The front of the East stand is going to be meshed off against cork to try to stop this. Will they be happy when the FAI close the wast stand ?

The fans who have been involved in pitch invasions have typically being getting a soft ride from other their fellow club supporters, security staff and the clubs board. Heavy fines and sanctions like ground partial closures are what forces reality and stimulates action.

Rovers are not unique in their 'see no evil, hear no evil' approach

01/09/2017, 11:26 AM
I was shocked at the size of the fine more than anything tbh.
I suppose i shouldn't be after the fine we got for the Palestine flags v Split but its getting ridiculous now.

Maybe the observer was looking over at half-time when Shams fans were looking to use the bogs at half-time or looking to leave the ground at full-time and just looking at the dying minutes of the match from the stairwell?Benefit of the doubt and common sense should be applied.
The observers reports would be an interesting read.
I don't have a problem with the stairway fines. They seem to be levied fairly across clubs and if, touch wood, something bad did happen those areas need to be free. It shouldn't cost the club much to ensure stewards and trained and available to ensure fans aren't blocking exits.

The fans who have been involved in pitch invasions have typically being getting a soft ride from other their fellow club supporters, security staff and the clubs board. Heavy fines and sanctions like ground partial closures are what forces reality and stimulates action.

Go away you spoofer, you have no idea what their fellow club supporters are saying to them.

RathfarnhamHoop
01/09/2017, 4:38 PM

Fans whove had to be removed from the pitch this year have actually been issued with bans from the ground but sure that doesnt suit your narrative so just ignore that

Ezeikial
01/09/2017, 10:38 PM
Fans whove had to be removed from the pitch this year have actually been issued with bans from the ground but sure that doesnt suit your narrative so just ignore that

Are you seriously suggesting that Rovers have routinely issued bans to any supporter involved in a pitch invasion?

Ezeikial
01/09/2017, 10:55 PM
Go away you spoofer, you have no idea what their fellow club supporters are saying to them.

Rovers appear to be belatedly taking some action, probably because of the fines incurred and the threat of further more severe action by the FAI. As a result some supporters may now be starting to wake up to the negative financial consequences of the these regular pitch invasions.

For quite some time, the typical reaction among Rovers supporters on Social Media and message boards has been to minimise or defend this behaviour.

I have also witnessed outright hostility and aggression from many travelling Rovers fans towards stewards and security staff who tried to prevent these pitch invasions

I don't believe that the ostrich type attitude to this problem is unique to Rovers, but the problem is undoubtedly more pronounced than anywhere else.

sbgawa
01/09/2017, 11:16 PM
BS the club have been banning those involved and have now gone a step further. Fans on social media defending other fans does not mean the club feel the same.

mcgonigle
02/09/2017, 7:56 PM
You really need to start reading posts properly, he said "belatedly" and has acknowledged Rovers are taking some action. But let's not pretend that this has always been the case, if it was there would be very few Rovers fans left. He also acknowledges the fact that these problems are not isolated to Rovers but that seems to go over your head as you furiously smash your keyboard. Time for decent Rovers fans to acknowledge they have the largest element on numptys attached to their club and spend their time helping the club weed them out instead of attacking fans from other clubs who point out the elephant in the room

EatYerGreens
03/09/2017, 2:47 PM

I suspect they neither think not care about what impact their behaviour has on the club. If they did, they wouldn't do it.

sbgawa
03/09/2017, 3:01 PM
Your right they don't have the brains to appreciate it.

sbgawa
03/09/2017, 3:05 PM
You really need to start reading posts properly, he said "belatedly" and has acknowledged Rovers are taking some action. But let's not pretend that this has always been the case, if it was there would be very few Rovers fans left. He also acknowledges the fact that these problems are not isolated to Rovers but that seems to go over your head as you furiously smash your keyboard. Time for decent Rovers fans to acknowledge they have the largest element on numptys attached to their club and spend their time helping the club weed them out instead of attacking fans from other clubs who point out the elephant in the room

I'm not banging my keyboard I'm reacting to someone criticizing the club for taking action "belatedly" when if they did nothing they would be criticized for doing nothing.....with some posters we can't win.
Anyway hopefully our own collection of numpties will start to get the message.
I suspect not somehow and it'll keep happening until they are all banned

ToberonaTornado
03/09/2017, 9:11 PM
Story with Bradley at a LOI u-15 match today?
Is he leading by example?
BTW,i'm only asking ;)
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DI0c41GXoAAc03D.jpg

sbgawa
03/09/2017, 9:49 PM
No problem you dont generally display bod :) Shocking reffing but no excuse for either side. Real needle between Dublin clubs and kevins the slave traders. They aren't allowed enter next year's league unless they sign up with bohs so they aren't happy. Important for loi to take control of the best kids.

gufcfan
03/09/2017, 10:23 PM
Important for loi to take control of the best kids.

I wouldn't phrase it like that. It's giving them the best chance at the highest level possible in Ireland and giving them a clear pathway to senior level while not indoctrinating them into thinking it's England or bust.

sbgawa
03/09/2017, 10:43 PM
Thats what i mean by taking control. Its as impirtant to educate the parents about how nuts it is to gamble their kids lives at 15 and that's easier if the kids are under the control of the Loi clubs.

sbgawa
03/09/2017, 10:45 PM
Loi clubs see 15 year old kids as potential first team players , the slave traders in kevins want to get 5 or 10k for selling the kid as an end game

RathfarnhamHoop
04/09/2017, 12:46 AM
Story with Bradley at a LOI u-15 match today?
Is he leading by example?
BTW,i'm only asking ;)
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DI0c41GXoAAc03D.jpg

I wouldn't listen to that twitter account at all seems to have a real dislike of rovers, if you scroll down they have a go at duffer for saying previous coaches have given his players bad habits of not playing the right way then scroll a bit further and theyve a go at coaches for not coaching teams to play football right themselves.

Ezeikial
04/09/2017, 8:13 AM
I wouldn't listen to that twitter account at all seems to have a real dislike of rovers, if you scroll down they have a go at duffer for saying previous coaches have given his players bad habits of not playing the right way then scroll a bit further and theyve a go at coaches for not coaching teams to play football right themselves.

Are you saying that no Rovers staff were sent off?

RathfarnhamHoop
04/09/2017, 12:16 PM
Are you saying that no Rovers staff were sent off?

No but but what i am saying is theyre making it out to be a lot worse than it was when you compare what theyre saying to what other people who were there were saying that becomes pretty clear. For instance he says two members of staff were sent off, what he doesn't mention is they were just spectators at the game and according to other people that were there one was just a fan while the other was Bradley. Also according to people who were there it was far from "verbal abuse", ive heard the lino was asked a question with no voices even raised but i wasn't there so i dont know for sure. They also leave out that refereeing performance was apparently a complete shambles. They also dont point out that apparently it was a brilliant game of football with both teams playing the right way.
So all that considered that account is the last place id go for an accurate account of what happened.

gufcfan
04/09/2017, 3:30 PM
That twitter account is constantly sniping at LOI clubs and making ridiculous statements with nothing to back it up.

This tweet reply which they RT'ed is fairly representative (https://twitter.com/jaypurcell93/status/896042211955093504)

Always with the "poor me", "think of the children" and patently false assertions like "we're proven to be hugely successful at this" type of ball axe

Ezeikial
04/09/2017, 5:20 PM
Whatever about allegations of bias from a particular Twitter account, it appears that the fundamentals of the story are correct according to the Indo, who report that Bradley and another Rovers staffer were sent-off by the referee

Two members of Rovers staff - including first-team manager Stephen Bradley - were sent-off by the referee during an incident-packed second half of the game at the club's Roadstone academy base.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/rovers-boss-bradley-sees-red-in-testy-u15-clash-36096742.html

RathfarnhamHoop
04/09/2017, 6:59 PM
Whatever about allegations of bias from a particular Twitter account, it appears that the fundamentals of the story are correct according to the Indo, who report that Bradley and another Rovers staffer were sent-off by the referee

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/rovers-boss-bradley-sees-red-in-testy-u15-clash-36096742.html

As i said while technically correct they leave out some key details that make it sound worse than it really is. That article seems to just be based off that tweet to so I would't go off that as proof of what happened

Ezeikial
04/09/2017, 8:36 PM
Fake News, Fake News?

05/09/2017, 1:05 AM

John Fallon wasn't at the match. He's working off the same twitter comments as the rest of us. Fair play to him for making a few quid off it though.

Ezeikial
05/09/2017, 3:36 AM
John Fallon wasn't at the match. He's working off the same twitter comments as the rest of us. Fair play to him for making a few quid off it though.
Is there some part of the report mistaken, or is it all factually correct?

sbgawa
05/09/2017, 7:51 AM

mostly factually accurate but facts in the absence of detail or context can be misleading.
It would be factually correct to say you are "interested" in all things related to Rovers and Stephen Bradley.
But to report such a fact without mentioning your B.O.D (Bradley Obsessive Disorder) would be to miss out on the broader detail and context that would give a better understanding for a casual reader of this thread that might be unfamiliar with your disorder and the slant that the disorder might give to any comments on any specific situation.
A bit like asking an alcoholic for his views on a nice pint of Guinness, one can appreciate the potentially true statement that "Guinness is good for you" but you have to keep in mind the illness and think about how it influences the sufferers opinion.

05/09/2017, 8:34 AM
So, is anyone actually able to say what happened or is it all going to be mindless nonsense on here about who's more obsessed with the other?

ThirdManRun
05/09/2017, 11:06 AM
I was at the game. Very good standard of game from both sides would be the first observation and among the players on the pitch it was played in an excellent manner.

The initial incident happened when a Rovers player was "fouled" in/just outside the box, the linesman flagged to award a foul but the referee (who was in a good position to see it) overruled the linesmans decision. 5 minutes after this incident, the linesman waved his flag during a break in play and singled out Bradley (who was standing beyond the fence at the corner flag alongside other prominent members of the Rovers board) Bradley was asked to leave the park.

Ten minutes later in a completely separate incident (last minute of normal time), Rovers were awarded a free kick to the right of the penalty area. St Kevin's set up with a two man walk. As the free kick was being lined up, St Kevin's decided to make a sub and replace one of the players in the wall. As the player being subbed was making his was off the pitch (roughly 10m from the sideline), Rovers took the free kick and scored. The referee awarded the goal, but the linesman who was overseeing the substitution ruled that the goal shouldn't stand (rightlfully in my opinion). The entire Rovers staff surrounded the referee resulting in one member being sent off.

Overall one member of the named technical staff and Bradley (a "spectator") were sent from the park.

This sort of "scandal" is everything that the League of Ireland underage systems were created to steer away from.

Philosophizer
05/09/2017, 12:24 PM
Thanks for that, ThirdManRun.

But we should probably keep this thread on topic folks. We have another thread for the national underage leagues.

RathfarnhamHoop
05/09/2017, 1:47 PM
I was at the game. Very good standard of game from both sides would be the first observation and among the players on the pitch it was played in an excellent manner.

The initial incident happened when a Rovers player was "fouled" in/just outside the box, the linesman flagged to award a foul but the referee (who was in a good position to see it) overruled the linesmans decision. 5 minutes after this incident, the linesman waved his flag during a break in play and singled out Bradley (who was standing beyond the fence at the corner flag alongside other prominent members of the Rovers board) Bradley was asked to leave the park.

Ten minutes later in a completely separate incident (last minute of normal time), Rovers were awarded a free kick to the right of the penalty area. St Kevin's set up with a two man walk. As the free kick was being lined up, St Kevin's decided to make a sub and replace one of the players in the wall. As the player being subbed was making his was off the pitch (roughly 10m from the sideline), Rovers took the free kick and scored. The referee awarded the goal, but the linesman who was overseeing the substitution ruled that the goal shouldn't stand (rightlfully in my opinion). The entire Rovers staff surrounded the referee resulting in one member being sent off.

Overall one member of the named technical staff and Bradley (a "spectator") were sent from the park.

This sort of "scandal" is everything that the League of Ireland underage systems were created to steer away from.

Thanks for the unbiased view, first ive seen anyway. I heard the football was great on the day. As a player though if i had that goal disallowed i'd be absolutely fuming since the linesman cant actually make a sub just ask the ref to make it but it would also be very harsh on Kevin's as blame has to rest purely on the linesman there.

Real ale Madrid
05/09/2017, 2:54 PM

This part doesn't read well for Bradley, pretty shameful whatever happened regarding the incident at the end. Does it really matter long term if Rovers are inaugural u15 champions?

05/09/2017, 3:07 PM
As far as I know he was sent off, yeah. My point was using a report based on tweets to confirm the veracity of those tweets is ridiculous.

EatYerGreens
05/09/2017, 3:12 PM
No but but what i am saying is theyre making it out to be a lot worse than it was when you compare what theyre saying to what other people who were there were saying that becomes pretty clear. For instance he says two members of staff were sent off, what he doesn't mention is they were just spectators at the game and according to other people that were there one was just a fan while the other was Bradley. Also according to people who were there it was far from "verbal abuse", ive heard the lino was asked a question with no voices even raised but i wasn't there so i dont know for sure. They also leave out that refereeing performance was apparently a complete shambles. They also dont point out that apparently it was a brilliant game of football with both teams playing the right way.
So all that considered that account is the last place id go for an accurate account of what happened.

Can a referee send off spectators at a match ?

gufcfan
05/09/2017, 4:24 PM

Thanks for the others details, but I don't really think this has anything to do with LOI underage vs schoolboy system.

Ezeikial
05/09/2017, 5:36 PM
As far as I know he was sent off, yeah. My point was using a report based on tweets to confirm the veracity of those tweets is ridiculous.

So you agree that the Indo report is factually correct but are still banging on about how the journo sourced his information?

According to many Hoops fans there always seems to be a reason (or "context") to deflect away from unpalatable realities whether that has got to do with pitch invasions, racist abuse, red cards, BradleyBalls, filing fraudulent accounts or violent attacks on other fans

I surprised that you seem to be doing the same.

RathfarnhamHoop
05/09/2017, 6:18 PM
So you agree that the Indo report is factually correct but are still banging on about how the journo sourced his information?

According to many Hoops fans there always seems to be a reason (or "context") to deflect away from unpalatable realities whether that has got to do with pitch invasions, racist abuse, red cards, BradleyBalls, filing fraudulent accounts or violent attacks on other fans

I surprised that you seem to be doing the same.

As has been explained to you the problem isnt the article the problem is you using source b that is based off source a to prove source a is correct. But as is par for the course for you ignore that since it doesn't suit your spin on events

sbgawa
05/09/2017, 7:24 PM
Lol B.O.D flog them all I say flog them. Start with the season ticket holders, that will teach them....

ToberonaTornado
05/09/2017, 9:51 PM
Rule 1 on Foot.ie
http://foot.ie/threads/34422-Rules-Links-Info

mea culpa for(kind of) dragging the thread off topic.Split mod if you see the need to do so.

sbgawa
05/09/2017, 10:03 PM
Lol i'll appeal on the basis of irrefutable body of evidence...he really is tiresome but I'm done with him now , I'm equally sorry for going off topic I'll try to not rise to the troling:)

ThirdManRun
05/09/2017, 10:09 PM
Thanks for the others details, but I don't really think this has anything to do with LOI underage vs schoolboy system.

No problem. For me, the League of Ireland underage system was an unbelievable opportunity to move away from the traditional set up of "win at all costs", which has an awful overbearing input on player development in this country. During my time working in both school boy and League of Ireland football, this has always been the defining difference between both. Hopefully this can carry on this way rather than being dragged down to the standards of schoolboy football, which I'm sure everyone agrees is what needs to be avoided.

Apologies to the mods for for dragging this thread off course.

07/09/2017, 1:24 AM
Can a referee send off spectators at a match ?

they can and have to all to often sadly, especially parents gettng on the back of their own kids with foul language. Ref wont restart the game until the individual leaves but most of the time they can just step outside a perimeter fence or the like so makes litle difference. Ye hope they have been shamed in to shutting up

disgruntled
11/09/2017, 12:35 PM
they can and have to all to often sadly, especially parents gettng on the back of their own kids with foul language. Ref wont restart the game until the individual leaves but most of the time they can just step outside a perimeter fence or the like so makes litle difference. Ye hope they have been shamed in to shutting up

Had to deal with it myself back in the day.
You wouldn't believe how some parents behave.

NeverFeltBetter
11/09/2017, 1:25 PM
Anyone here watch Last Chance U on Netflix? There's an episode in Season 2 where the head coach gets a mouthy parent removed from the stands, much to the chagrin of her onfield son. More of a stadium security thing though, not referees.

11/09/2017, 2:43 PM
Had to deal with it myself back in the day.
You wouldn't believe how some parents behave.

Same here, it verged on physical assault sometimes. Until a no tolerance approach is taken to that craic at underage matches, Irish kids will learn nothing other than to kick it as hard as they can up the pitch

12/09/2017, 8:57 PM
UCD v Molde fixture details confirmed - home leg on 27th Sept at 6:30 in the UCD Bowl; tickets a tenner (fiver concession) and available at the gate.

Return game on 18th October at 6:30 in the Aker Stadion in Molde -

http://www.moldefk.no/AkerStadion/_/image/7d197528-b9c6-4f03-9d28-87639c70e851:ee002ef691f8a37a160a1624f3d659c8639fb 0e9/wide-1600-900/Aker%20Stadion%20-%20drone.jpg

EatYerGreens
13/09/2017, 1:10 PM
UCD v Molde fixture details confirmed - home leg on 27th Sept at 6:30 in the UCD Bowl; tickets a tenner (fiver concession) and available at the gate.

Return game on 18th October at 6:30 in the Aker Stadion in Molde -

http://www.moldefk.no/AkerStadion/_/image/7d197528-b9c6-4f03-9d28-87639c70e851:ee002ef691f8a37a160a1624f3d659c8639fb 0e9/wide-1600-900/Aker%20Stadion%20-%20drone.jpg

That's some stadium Molde have !

Do you think they'll be able to handle the intimidating atmosphere in the Belfield Bowl ?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/09/2017, 9:24 PM
Molde is such a picturesque place. And expensive!

redarmyfaction
13/09/2017, 10:16 PM

Aye, Stu and the boys will be eating shoe polish in the park if they want to get a buzz on before the game, that is all we could afford to do anyway.

20/09/2017, 3:11 AM

Aye with the ground costing €20mil

Philosophizer
20/09/2017, 9:47 AM
Aye, Stu and the boys will be eating shoe polish in the park if they want to get a buzz on before the game, that is all we could afford to do anyway.

On the plus side, Ryanair flights to Norway are usually v cheap. But yes, if stu or any of the other UCD lads are planning on going, be prepared for very expensive food and drink. I was in Oslo a few yrs ago and a pint cost me €13. Admittedly, that was in a lovely square right in the centre of the capital, but i'd still expect you'll pay around €10 for a pint in Molde. Even cans were expensive. I found a local supermarket (Kiwi it was called) and the cheapest can i could buy was €3!!

Luckily, I found Gronland. Tourist websites called it Oslo's multi-cultural melting pot - code for an immigrant neighbourhood. Prices were a bit cheaper tho so i was happy!