View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2017

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

patrickccfc
13/07/2017, 9:22 PM
That was very disappointing. I wasn't that impressed by them really. We weren't good enough tonight but I didn't think we would concede either. McCormack was my man of the match tonight thought he was exceptional. It's an uphill struggle now going over there next week but we live in hope.

oriel
13/07/2017, 9:39 PM
If Cork score first, its game on again, I would think they still have a chance, but Larnaca definitely odds on now, also got the impression they can up the gears too, but its only 1 goal.

Sloppy one to concede in saying that.

Real ale Madrid
13/07/2017, 9:43 PM
Bitterly disappointing night. Absolutely gutted. They were a willy outfit and we gifted them the goal. I expect us to do better next week but we have too much to do I think.

sidewayspasser
13/07/2017, 10:24 PM
A draw probably would have been a fair result. The ref didn't fancy Maguire, I thought. Constantly decided against him. Did he give any free at all for a foul on Maguire? Don't think so.

MeathDrog
13/07/2017, 10:31 PM
Was at the Rovers game as a neutral.

I thought Shams played well. Just lacked the bit of European experience to see out a result. They played good football and Burke's goal was a gem.

The Czech outfit's 1st and 2nd goals were well worked although overall they weren't that good.

Definitely can see Rovers scoring out there but it's pretty much over as a contest.

ger121
13/07/2017, 10:37 PM

If and a big if, Rovers could turn it around, they'd be the seeded side in the 3rd Qualifying Round. They'll be very disappointed now.

RathfarnhamHoop
13/07/2017, 10:39 PM
to be honest I wouldn't bet against either side progressing, I wouldn't bet on them progressing either, its all still fairly up in the air is what im saying

Philosophizer
13/07/2017, 11:00 PM
Ah lads I think a few of yous were looking at rovers through rose tinted glasses tonight. Don't get me wrong I think they probably played as well as they could have played, scored two good goals and did themselves proud, but the Czechs had that extra bit of quality. Their 2nd goal was an outstanding move. A couple of times during the match they put together moves that you just don't usually see in our league. Burke and Shaw were outstanding, but Matejevski the number 8 for them was excellent. No surprise he played internationally for years.

patrickccfc
13/07/2017, 11:17 PM
Thought Maguire could've got himself a penalty around the 90th minute there. Larnaca defender went in for a challenge and Seani could've easily gone down but he rode the challenge and ended up with a corner. He's an honest player but it was definitely an opportunity

sbgawa
13/07/2017, 11:40 PM
Ah lads I think a few of yous were looking at rovers through rose tinted glasses tonight. Don't get me wrong I think they probably played as well as they could have played, scored two good goals and did themselves proud, but the Czechs had that extra bit of quality. Their 2nd goal was an outstanding move. A couple of times during the match they put together moves that you just don't usually see in our league. Burke and Shaw were outstanding, but Matejevski the number 8 for them was excellent. No surprise he played internationally for years.

They were good but finn and Byrne were through and shot straight at the keeper..if we create chances and actually take them next time we can do it.
They are favourites obviously but it's still on.

DannyInvincible
13/07/2017, 11:44 PM
3 teams out of Europe now. Not great.

It was a disappointing night for the league, but I wouldn't say Cork are out just yet. It wasn't Cork's best performance and AEK defended well, but they didn't look invincible either and if Cork were to snatch the first goal in the away leg, things might get nervy for AEK. Even then, Cork could take the game to penalties if they were only to score one and keep it tight at the back. The ref was a bit frustrating tonight and AEK's goal was an annoying one to concede. There was definitely a penalty there for the taking too if Maguire had gone down at the very end.

Looks like a very tough ask for Rovers, on the other hand, with Mladá Boleslav getting three away goals in Tallaght. I believe Rovers were doing very well though until they conceded. Rovers pretty much have to score two without reply over there or they're out (unless they can win by a goal and outscore the Czechs' away goals tally, which probably isn't very likely either).

Is the third team you're referring to Dundalk or Derry? If it's Dundalk, I'd say Dundalk are still very much in their tie. They definitely have enough in them to score a goal in Norway.

What's good to see at least now is the speed, athleticism, fitness and physicality is no longer missing and therefore ye dont see 3 or 4 0s anymore.

If Derry's results passed you by, maybe it's best to leave it that way... :o

Edit: Rovers could also win the second leg 3-2, of course, and go through on penalties, but that's surely an improbability too.

13/07/2017, 11:53 PM
It's effectively game over for Rovers with the three goals conceded. Even 2-1 wouldn't have been a disaster but I can't see Rovers scoring three over there, which we'd need assuming they score (which they almost certainly will).

Frustrating as I thought their goal came right when we were looking like we'd taken control of it. Third goal was a sickener, although the first two were just very well worked.

Burke's goal was sensational. If he can keep his head in the right place we won't have him for long.

sullanefc
14/07/2017, 5:55 AM
Ref was brutal.

Cork are not as good as dundalk in Europe. Not as savvy or street smart.

Going down easy and conning the referee is something I thought we had gotten to grips with, with all our experience against Dundalk. But they played that side of it very well. The sneaky nudges and pulls were all well timed too.

They also pressed us well. We looked uncomfortable in possession (unusually) and they forced us long which didn't suit us.

Apart from that, I didn't think they were head and shoulders above us and I wouldn't rule us out. Heat will be our biggest opponent next week. We will have to adapt.

Philosophizer
14/07/2017, 7:31 AM
They were good but finn and Byrne were through and shot straight at the keeper..if we create chances and actually take them next time we can do it.
They are favourites obviously but it's still on.

If someone is through that usually means they've a free run at goal with only the keeper to beat. Finn and Byrne managed to get space for a shot, but they were from the edge of the box, think Byrne was actually a bit outside, and they were still defenders back between them and the keeper when they were shooting so they weren't through IMO, they just made space for a shot. In both cases, the keeper saved anyway so the shots weren't good enough. The only real difficult save he had to make was from Shaw's drive toward the top corner. Which was again from outside the box. Shaw and Burke were excellent tho. Shaw is an outstanding target man.

Rovers might indeed score out there, but Mlada Boleslav clearly have attacking movement that's superior to what we see in our league so I expect them to score at least once.

It was a galliant effort in fairness, but resembled a lot of matches between LOI clubs against technically superior outfits. We tried our hardest, played to our strengths with excellent balls up to Shaw but in the end the LOI team succumbed to their greater technical quality.

White Horse
14/07/2017, 8:36 AM
Thought Maguire could've got himself a penalty around the 90th minute there. Larnaca defender went in for a challenge and Seani could've easily gone down but he rode the challenge and ended up with a corner. He's an honest player but it was definitely an opportunity

It was weird. He was chucking himself on the deck all game and the ref didn't fall for it.

Then a genuine chance came to manufacture a penalty and he doesn't take it. Very unlike Maguire.

seand
14/07/2017, 8:49 AM
Dundalk/Rosenborg will play one of these:

Group 1
Seeded
Linfield (NIR) - Celtic (SCO)
Žilina (SVK) - Křbenhavn (DEN) 1-3
BATE Borisov (BLR) - Alashkert (ARM) 1-1
IFK Mariehamn (FIN) - Legia Warszawa (POL) 0-3
Zrinjski (BIH) - Maribor (SVN) 1-2

Real ale Madrid
14/07/2017, 8:53 AM
Rovers in Pot 2 for EL Draw:

Group 2
Seeded
1 Shamrock Rovers (IRL) or Mladá Boleslav (CZE) coefficient 10.135
2 PAOK (GRE) 35.080
3 Austria Wien (AUT) 17.070
4 Dinamo Zagreb (CRO) 26.050
5 Ferencváros (HUN) or Midtjylland (DEN) 16.300
6 Athletic Club (ESP) 60.999
Unseeded
7 Olimpik Donetsk (UKR) 8.526
8 Progrčs Niederkorn (LUX) or AEL Limassol (CYP) 8.210
9 Kairat Almaty (KAZ) or Skënderbeu (ALB) 6.825
10 Dinamo București (ROU) 6.370
11 Vaduz (LIE) or Odd (NOR) 5.665
12 Arka Gdynia (POL) 3.950

Real ale Madrid
14/07/2017, 8:53 AM
We are in Pot 5:

Group 5
Seeded
1 Zenit (RUS) coefficient 87.106
2 Braga (POR) 37.366
3 Marseille (FRA) 28.333
4 Freiburg (GER) 20.899
5 Sion (SUI) 14.415
6 Rabotnicki (MKD) or Dinamo Minsk (BLR) 10.975
Unseeded
7 Željeznicar (BIH) or AIK (SWE) 9.945
8 Oostende (BEL) 8.480
9 Trenčín (SVK) or Bnei Yehuda Tel-Aviv (ISR) 6.850
10 Cork City (IRL) or AEK Larnaca (CYP) 6.210
11 Valur Reykjavík (ISL) or Domžale (SVN) 4.125
12 Liepāja (LVA) or Sūduva (LTU) 2.225

El-Pietro
14/07/2017, 9:29 AM
Thought Larnaca were very cute. They didn't give us an inch of space all night, pressed and harried us. Our midfielders were struggling to get their passes off at time. That plus the clever cynicism was the difference between us.
Good news. they created nothing. Bad News. Neither did we. Its going to be difficult in Cyprus but all we need is one chance really. Let the ball fall to Seani in the right spot and we're right back in it.
We need Benno back. McCormack did very well, but Delaney struggled with the man marking job and the two centre backs were switching back and forth all night (at least in the first half right in front of us) and looked very uncomfortable.
Campion is a donkey. Sadlier has a long way to go to get to the standard of the rest of the team. Griffin might be one of the best players in the league and I can't wait to see him play regularly.

Hitman
14/07/2017, 9:33 AM
Rovers 3-1 down now.

Cork's result is more than poor; it's worrying for the league.

A touch of "I wasn't at it but..."-itis about this, but the team walking away with the title - and deservedly so - have struggled to do much against a 10-man Estonian side (albeit that they were unbeaten all season) and then nearly threw the game away at home. And now they've gone down to a Cypriot team in pre-season, albeit again that the Cypriot league is solid enough.

But if that's what the dominant force in the league at the moment can do, it doesn't say much about the rest of the league.

We did beat Levadia 6-2 on aggregate, it's hardly that worrying. Larnaca are streets ahead of anyone we've played this year, I've a nagging feeling that even if we did take the lead next week that they've the quality in midfield to really put us to the sword.

seand
14/07/2017, 9:36 AM
Tactical fouling is a big challenge in Europe, we're just not that used to it in Ireland.... AND it gets punished in Ireland. Rosenborg must have committed 30 fouls without a booking, likewise Legia fouled away at the Aviva last year. Deliberate fouls to break up play, the type of thing that would have a LOI ref reaching for a card straight away. I think there's a reluctance to throw around cards in big Euro matches.

patrickccfc
14/07/2017, 9:46 AM
Last night we got a throw in, and like dunleavy did against dundalk recently, it was thrown off one our guys back, not sure who it was. Play carried on against dundalk, but last night a throw was given the other way. Is it frowned upon by foreign refs?

14/07/2017, 9:50 AM
Bitterly disappointing night. Absolutely gutted. They were a willy outfit and we gifted them the goal. I expect us to do better next week but we have too much to do I think.

Ya they were going around with their willys out all evening, if the cork lads had only got a hold of them it would have been sound.

If Derry's results passed you by, maybe it's best to leave it that way...

Derry were still going from reports right to the end, I'd put it down to naivety and inexperience in Europe, not setting up correctly and not being tight enough rather than a lack of what I mentioned in the earlier post.

Going down easy and conning the referee is something I thought we had gotten to grips with, with all our experience against Dundalk. But they played that side of it very well. The sneaky nudges and pulls were all well timed too

I wasn't just talking about this, but I've always maintained that the referees generally give to the supposedly stronger teams(seeded/whatever), and its true but its usually down to being duped and I think the ref was in this, there was niggles on both sides but he always fell for the Larnaca ones. It was definitely frustrating and you could see it was frustrating Caufield and the players. But that's another thing Caufield is too animated and hyper on the sidelines which probably emanates to the players so when they get into positions - like the cross in the box at the end bumbling around - to shoot, there is a little bit of panic/hurried/rushed/call it whatever, that Dundalk look far more re-assured. And Kenny looks and sounds more confident all the time. I think this comes across to the players, and I think if caufield did similar in Europe then Cork would be more clinical.

It was a galliant effort in fairness, but resembled a lot of matches between LOI clubs against technically superior outfits. We tried our hardest, played to our strengths with excellent balls up to Shaw but in the end the LOI team succumbed to their greater technical quality.

I didn't see that game so I can't comment. IF you were to mention this in Corks game against Genk last year then I'd wholly agree with you. BUt caufield drew on this before the game last night and said when you are playing at a higher level or against a higher level team you have to have 100% intensity and concentration and you can perform to a higher level yourself. And I think that's generally true until you meet exceptional teams. If you up your game and work as a unit, keep the intensity levels up and concentration you can match the more technically gifted team. I don't see a LOI team scoring 2 goals and only losing by 1 as not matching them perhaps they were too loose and not experienced enough to deal with their play having not come up against it - again I didn't see the game but the number of goals scored is what i'm basing this on. Loi teams when technically outplayed and not at the level get very few chances to score, perhaps 1 or 2 a game and neither are clear cut chances. By the sounds of reports here they could have had more than 2.

Maguire should have gone down that time, but perhaps again that's being a nice guy and not have the professional cynicism running through or perhaps he wouldn't have taken the penalty and wanted one last goal into the shed end. Either way he should have gone down and it was more than likely a 1-1. I have only seen Maguire in Europe( bar a couple of LOI highlights) and that's the standard to base him on, isolated and all as he was he only had 2 or 3 good plays all game. I'm not wholly convinced by him but perhaps with more intelligent players around him he will make better runs and get picked. Yesterday he made some runs but it was too late, needed cleverer runs.

Larnaca harassed cork all night, but they wouldn't have done the same to Dundalk cos Dundalk are more comfortable on the ball and can play the tight spaces and triangular balls better. Is this purely down to coaching(given cork/Dundalk standard and league position)?

14/07/2017, 9:51 AM
Tactical fouling is a big challenge in Europe, we're just not that used to it in Ireland.... AND it gets punished in Ireland. Rosenborg must have committed 30 fouls without a booking, likewise Legia fouled away at the Aviva last year. Deliberate fouls to break up play, the type of thing that would have a LOI ref reaching for a card straight away. I think there's a reluctance to throw around cards in big Euro matches.

And that's the way refereeing should be.

14/07/2017, 9:56 AM
Referees should not punish fouls?

14/07/2017, 9:56 AM
We did beat Levadia 6-2 on aggregate, it's hardly that worrying. Larnaca are streets ahead of anyone we've played this year, I've a nagging feeling that even if we did take the lead next week that they've the quality in midfield to really put us to the sword.
Would have been a completely different game without the red card though. Now I know there was a red card of course, but would it have been 2-0 out there against ten? Did Levadia give up at 2-2 in the home leg and lead to the two late goals? What if ye hadn't scored so shortly after the break?

Again, I know all this did happen and ye won 6-2. But I know from our own experience that a 6-1 result can be misleading. And I know the Cypriot league is quite decent. I just think that, so far, this campaign is more 2016 than 2017 for Cork, despite the domestic strides ye've taken

Real ale Madrid
14/07/2017, 10:05 AM
Would have been a completely different game without the red card though. Now I know there was a red card of course, but would it have been 2-0 out there against ten? Did Levadia give up at 2-2 in the home leg and lead to the two late goals? What if ye hadn't scored so shortly after the break?

Again, I know all this did happen and ye won 6-2. But I know from our own experience that a 6-1 result can be misleading. And I know the Cypriot league is quite decent. I just think that, so far, this campaign is more 2016 than 2017 for Cork, despite the domestic strides ye've taken

Thought we played much better v Levadia when they had 11 - we were completely dominant in the first half. 6-2 was harsh on them but we were comprehensively the better team - Levadia's second goal was a complete joke anyway so there is give and take for that argument.

We were poor last night, but a narrow exit to a Cypriot team hardly paints the league in a poor light anyway - its what would be expected. I reckon we will give them a fright next week - weather we will be good enough to go through is doubtful though.

Real ale Madrid
14/07/2017, 10:10 AM
Celtic for Dundalk if they get past Rosenborg

Philosophizer
14/07/2017, 10:11 AM
I've a nagging feeling that even if we did take the lead next week that they've the quality in midfield to really put us to the sword.

I get that nagging feeling when a lot of our LOI teams play against more technically accomplished opponents over 2 legs. Even if the LOI team goes ahead you know that the other team will probably have the technical and tactical nouse to overcome it. I felt it last night in Tallaght and have felt it in recent years watching Pats against Legia and Dinamo Minsk.

Dundalk's run last year was en exception though, along with Shels in '04. Dundalk and Shels managed to consistently match (and often surpass) the foreign outfit tactically and technically.

I'd love to see Cork do it next week but the signs are looking ominous. The players won't have much rest and the heat over there will be stifling. Those Spanish lads might just pass Cork to death in the heat. But we live in hope.

seand
14/07/2017, 10:12 AM
Celtic / Linfield v RBK / Dundalk

Yossarian
14/07/2017, 10:14 AM
Come on the Blues!!!

14/07/2017, 10:20 AM
Isn't Corks match next week on at 9, so I wonder will the heat be that much of a factor?

Real ale Madrid
14/07/2017, 10:23 AM
Dundalk if they get though are scheduled to play the home leg on 1st or 2nd of August.
Guess who is playing in the Aviva on the 2nd of August!

seand
14/07/2017, 10:27 AM
If, big IF, Dundalk get past Rosenborg and play Celtic we're due to be at home on August 2nd. Oriel Park won't be allowed in the third qualifying round, so it's off to Tallaght or ask if we can move from August 2nd cos the FAI are giving the great Irish sporting public Man Fukkin United in a friendly at the Aviva on August 2nd!

Personally I'd got for Tallaght anyway, make it a home match. 90% Celtic support in the Aviva would be grim.

ArFella
14/07/2017, 10:28 AM
Dundalk if they get though are scheduled to play the home leg on 1st or 2nd of August.
Guess who is playing in the Aviva on the 2nd of August!

:note:Glory, Glory, Man United:note: :rolleyes:

El-Pietro
14/07/2017, 10:30 AM
Isn't Corks match next week on at 9, so I wonder will the heat be that much of a factor?

8 local time - will still probably be over 30.

oriel
14/07/2017, 10:46 AM
That’s some incentive now for Dundalk (Celtic are 1/300 to qualify for the next round !!) what a draw to look forward to if we can get past Rosenborg next week. Its obviously a massive ask, but I wouldn’t entirely rule it out, Dundalk scored in 5 out of the 6 away games last year in Europe.

For Cork, the heat will definitely be a huge factor, even a later ko will mean muggy conditions and trying to stay cool during the day will also be a challenge. I was in Luxembourg in 2011, Grevenmacher match, Dlk were 3-1 up and cruising and the temp rose to 30c, all of sudden the fatigue set in and it ended 3-3.

Yossarian
14/07/2017, 10:48 AM
Personally I'd got for Tallaght anyway, make it a home match. 90% Celtic support in the Aviva would be grim.

I agree 100%. If we do manage to get through then playing that game in the Aviva would be a disaster. There would already be a circus surrounding it anyway. This is about progressing as far as we can in the competition, not a "glamour" tie.

sbgawa
14/07/2017, 11:14 AM
Yes playing in the Aviva with 90% support for Celtic would be a sickener, Dundalk supporters would be completely passionately cheering for Dundalk and listening to Irish people cheer for a foreign team is sickening.

Real ale Madrid
14/07/2017, 11:16 AM
10 Cork City (IRL) or AEK Larnaca (CYP) 6.210 v 6 Rabotnicki (MKD) or Dinamo Minsk (BLR) 10.975

1 Shamrock Rovers (IRL) or Mladá Boleslav (CZE) coefficient 10.135 v 9 Kairat Almaty (KAZ) or Skënderbeu (ALB) 6.825

14/07/2017, 11:21 AM
Yes playing in the Aviva with 90% support for Celtic would be a sickener, Dundalk supporters would be completely passionately cheering for Dundalk and listening to Irish people cheer for a foreign team is sickening.

I'm not sure that'd be the case. I can see why you'd think that and you're right to be cynical about Irish supporters of UK teams but I think there's a growing feeling among Irish football fans that the LOI is crucial to the way we develop the game here. I think some Irish Celtic fans will be very vocal, but more will be mooted. I think many non-Dundalk fans in Ireland will root for them too.

sbgawa
14/07/2017, 11:23 AM
Well if Rovers can win 5:4 in Prague next week we have a decent shout at getting another round :)
Have to finish a bit better than last night , although in truth 2 goals should really be have been enough if we were awake at the back

Pablo Escobar

I know it's a hypothetical scenario, but I'd like to see the LOI fans should pull together in such an event. Too right it is a sickening thought.

PartySaint
LOL at Caulfield complaining about players diving BTW

ArFella
14/07/2017, 11:25 AM
10 Cork City (IRL) or AEK Larnaca (CYP) 6.210 v 6 Rabotnicki (MKD) or Dinamo Minsk (BLR) 10.975

1 Shamrock Rovers (IRL) or Mladá Boleslav (CZE) coefficient 10.135 v 9 Kairat Almaty (KAZ) or Skënderbeu (ALB) 6.825

Decent draw for both, if they manage to get through, especially for Cork considering the relative "giants" in the pot.

Pablo Escobar
14/07/2017, 11:32 AM
Decent draw for both, if they manage to get through, especially for Cork considering the relative "giants" in the pot.

A very decent draw, but it means nothing if we don't progress against AEK, and that's a big 'if'.

El-Pietro
14/07/2017, 11:40 AM
Best possible draw for us in a tough little group, similar to the first round. Unbelievable opportunity to make the playoff round now. We will need to perform at a much higher level on Thursday first though.

ger121
14/07/2017, 11:41 AM

You couldn't have asked for better draws. The real hope of the 2 ties is City. Score first and game on. I reckon Mlada will be on their way to the play off round as Skenderbeu drew 1-1 away in 1st leg.

14/07/2017, 11:48 AM
Thought we played much better v Levadia when they had 11 - we were completely dominant in the first half. 6-2 was harsh on them but we were comprehensively the better team - Levadia's second goal was a complete joke anyway so there is give and take for that argument.

We were poor last night, but a narrow exit to a Cypriot team hardly paints the league in a poor light anyway - its what would be expected. I reckon we will give them a fright next week - weather we will be good enough to go through is doubtful though.
Fair point on the handball goal alright.

This isn't a dig at Cork btw - the point more is that Cork are so far ahead of the rest of the league at present (as are Dundalk, especially given that they're now coming back into form) that I think a narrow exit to a Cypriot team by one of the most dominant teams the LoI has ever seen (over 20 games at least!) doesn't really reflect well on the rest of the pack (Dundalk aside).

Anyways, sure second legs to come; a lot can happen yet. Maybe a 50% chance of one side getting through to one of those nice third round ties. Worth noting Minsk - maybe the best of the four teams there? - only beat Pat's 2-1 last season.

ArFella
14/07/2017, 11:51 AM
Best possible draw for us in a tough little group, similar to the first round. Unbelievable opportunity to make the playoff round now. We will need to perform at a much higher level on Thursday first though.

Absolutely, Cork really need to bring their best game to Cyprus now, the motivation of potentially progressing to a the playoff stage should really get them up for this one, best of luck to them anyway. Don't be afraid to play the kids against Bray either, the league is over ;)

Dundalk also should have HUGE motivation to get through too, not that it wasn't there in the first place. As much as I dislike Celtic and a large proportion of their Irish followers, Dundalk vs Celtic in the Champions League does make me giddy.