View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2017

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Real ale Madrid
12/07/2017, 1:25 PM
I should have added both Kenny and Martin Connolly have said these are fake!

They may or may not be fake - but I'm just saying "all that is on a USB stick" is a rubbish excuse! and doesn't prove anything.

sbgawa
12/07/2017, 1:45 PM
I feel sorry for Rogers, he was such a calamity last time out in Europe that he is bound to be feeling the pressure now.
Pressure is not good on a keeper .
Hopefully he can get a few decent touches early and settle down.
Dundalk are not as good as last year but this is still a match that is winnable.

Most important thing is a clean sheet

Philosophizer
12/07/2017, 2:05 PM
For what it's worth, I believe Gartland and Rogers are the two big weak links in the side too. For the life of me I can't fathom why a goalkeeper wasn't high up on the list of priorities for Kenny during the off-season or even during the transfer window, as I think Rogers is a total liability, but for now he'll have to stick with what's familiar.

I'm fairly sure a new GK was high on his priority list, but for whatever reason he couldn't get one, so he's stuck with Rogers and Sava for another year.

Rumour has it that he wanted Supple badly, but Supple chose to stay with Bohs.

DannyInvincible
12/07/2017, 2:42 PM
The claim made on balls ie is
"It's 100% legitimate and essentially tells any Norwegian journalist or scout for Rosenborg, exactly how Stephen Kenny is going to play."

An odd thing to claim, especially if Dundalk have said they are fake. Why did Balls.ie think they could be so sure the pages were legit, I wonder?...

As Nigel points out (http://foot.ie/threads/217098-League-of-Ireland-in-Europe-2017?p=1928143&viewfull=1#post1928143), they do appear to contain odd or suspiciously irrelevant info, such as the players' agents, which would lend credence to the notion that they aren't genuine. They aren't particularly detailed or insightful either, as you say. However, it would also be in Dundalk's interests to dismiss them as fakes as it'd save the club embarrassment and cast doubt over any revealed game-plan.

If it is indeed a hoax, it's an odd thing to fabricate, but, hey, this is the internet!

sbgawa
12/07/2017, 2:48 PM
i've seen scouting reports with agents names on them , it gives the clubs a contact point if the scout is recommending a player for a transfer.
Its actually standard enough and easily inserted as some PFAI websites (don't know about Norway and can't be bothered looking) list the agents as a service to players.
Maybe its real maybe its not but I don't think it gives anything away that isn't obvious

12/07/2017, 3:13 PM
An odd thing to claim, especially if Dundalk have said they are fake. Why did Balls.ie think they could be so sure the pages were legit, I wonder?...

As Nigel points out (http://foot.ie/threads/217098-League-of-Ireland-in-Europe-2017?p=1928143&viewfull=1#post1928143), they do appear to contain odd or suspiciously irrelevant info, such as the players' agents, which would lend credence to the notion that they aren't genuine. They aren't particularly detailed or insightful either, as you say. However, it would also be in Dundalk's interests to dismiss them as fakes as it'd save the club embarrassment and cast doubt over any revealed game-plan.

If it is indeed a hoax, it's an odd thing to fabricate, but, hey, this is the internet!
There are no agents listed.
A scout report can be typed out on a template with flexible purpose, eg a scout report on a player that the club might be interested in signing. In that case the agent would be listed.

Hoax or not - it doesn't matter, there are just 2 pages of saying nothing, yet a Balls ie article claimed that those 2 pages tell all and sundry how Dundalk are exactly going to play.
Some people have lost the run of their imagination.

12/07/2017, 3:14 PM

As sbgawa has hinted at, a scout report can be typed out on a template with flexible purpose, eg a scout report on a player that the club might be interested in signing. In that case the agent would be listed.

Hoax or not - it doesn't matter, there are just 2 pages of saying nothing, yet a Balls ie article claimed that those 2 pages tell all and sundry how Dundalk are exactly going to play.

swinfordfc
12/07/2017, 3:34 PM
Anyhow - best of luck to Dundalk tonight! ... I take a 1-0 win now!

ToberonaTornado
12/07/2017, 3:42 PM
Whenever i need to verify an Irish football story - balls is my first port of call followed closely by the LOI banter page on Facebook :rolleyes:

DannyInvincible
12/07/2017, 4:00 PM
A scout report can be typed out on a template with flexible purpose, eg a scout report on a player that the club might be interested in signing. In that case the agent would be listed.

True, the two reports - Bendtner and the goalkeeper's - that appeared on Facebook and Balls.ie have "no agency" listed, but there's still a line reserved for such info if the player scouted had an agent.

Anyway, who knows for certain whether they're genuine or not?

Of course, Balls.ie, in their noble employment of the humble clickbait model, would have absolutely nothing to gain from a bit of dramatisation... :)

ger121
12/07/2017, 6:21 PM
Always look through the draw to see what ties might see the Unseeded side having a chance of winning over 2 legs. This is one of the ties.

ger121
12/07/2017, 6:23 PM
One of my other picks Vardar, just gone one up in Malmo.

DannyInvincible
12/07/2017, 6:48 PM
Positive start from Dundalk.

DannyInvincible
12/07/2017, 7:02 PM
Yes! McMillan.

L.T.F.C.
12/07/2017, 7:04 PM
I hate Dundalk, Drogheda and the entire county of Louth, but come on Dundalk!

12/07/2017, 7:07 PM
feck it anyway , my stream went dead, typical, anyone describe the goal to me, cheers

DannyInvincible
12/07/2017, 7:12 PM
feck it anyway , my stream went dead, typical, anyone describe the goal to me, cheers

Video here:
https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x5tcgxc

ForzaForth
12/07/2017, 7:13 PM
Duffy, I think, pulls the ball onto his right on the left wing. Whips in a cross at fantastic pace into the box. McMillan is standing in the middle of three defenders but gets the headed flick past the Rosenburg keeper who hasn't a prayer. 1-0

L.T.F.C.
12/07/2017, 7:15 PM
Video here:
https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x5tcgxc

Great source stream yer man has.

Big let off there for Dundalk.

L.T.F.C.
12/07/2017, 7:20 PM
Keepers get undue protection in football. Similar bs with player's shadowing balls out for 15 yards.

DannyInvincible
12/07/2017, 7:30 PM
Really soft goal to concede after being so comfortable for so long.

Philosophizer
12/07/2017, 7:32 PM
We said it earlier sure. Gartland and Rogers are almost guaranteed to let you down in Europe.

Comic Book Guy
12/07/2017, 7:33 PM
Ref did them no favours with the Rosenberg free. Should have been a free for Dundalk about 30 seconds before

12/07/2017, 7:34 PM
45 mins of great controlled football then donkey defending by 1 or 2 and its all undone.

L.T.F.C.
12/07/2017, 7:46 PM
What clown covered an acoustic version of the sound of the underground?

swinfordfc
12/07/2017, 7:54 PM
Gartland for the size of him cant mark his man! .... How the hell is he captain! ... always let you down... Its a shame cause Dundalk was doing really well!

12/07/2017, 8:25 PM
Dylan Connollys diving is infuriating to watch.

Guitd
12/07/2017, 8:27 PM
Dylan Connollys diving is infuriating to watch.
Shocking keeps falling over must have learned how to dive when with Bray on the beach

12/07/2017, 8:29 PM
Shocking keeps falling over must have learned how to dive when with Bray on the beach

He done it consistently in two games against Harps too. League of Ireland refs easily conned. A half decent European ref won't buy it and clearly this Romanian guy is having none of it too.

swinfordfc
12/07/2017, 8:37 PM
Shame - think Dundalk miss a trick there but all to play for next Wednesday!

12/07/2017, 8:37 PM
He's really obvious about it too. Like, if you're going to dive, be a bit subtler about it.

Dundalk left that behind them. McElheney pretty anonymous second half, Connolly looked out of his depth. They'll be disappointed in that.

12/07/2017, 8:40 PM
Very professional performance from Rosenborg.

Dundalk out on their feet and out of ideas early in the second half. They were very one dimensional throughout the game. A 1 0 would have been an excellent result given their overall performance. I think Rosenberg has come too early for them fitness wise the other European games last year built them up to peak at the right time.

Rosenborg will do enough at home. 2 0 or 2 1.

DannyInvincible
12/07/2017, 8:44 PM
Not the worst of results, but it still feels disappointing after such a good performance in the first half. The Rosenborg goal really dampened the atmosphere too. Dundalk definitely have enough to score in Norway, so there's still hope.

ger121
12/07/2017, 8:46 PM
As I mentioned elsewhere. Dundalk have only failed to score once in last 9 away European games. Still makes for an intriguing 2nd leg. This could go all the way into ET. Time will tell...

ger121
12/07/2017, 8:52 PM
On a side note. FH drawing at home with Vikingur. We may not see Geyser tonight.

CorribsideSteve
12/07/2017, 8:55 PM
New poster to foot.ie , been following the League of Ireland since the late 90's, especially with regards to Europe, and Dundalk are the best LOI side I've seen at a European level, although Cork can rival them for that also. I'm disappointed for them. This morning I feared it would be a 2-1 defeat, but now that it was a score draw,it's a shame they weren't able to eke out the 1-0 they probably deserved on the balance of play. Now, Rosenborg are in control of the tie and Dundalk need to score first , and early. They are capable of doing it, but they left it behind them tonight. Mountney and Massey are great players. Gartland miles away from his marker for the goal, very poor for a normally very good defender. A mistake like that next week, just one, and it's tie over.

Calcio Jack
12/07/2017, 8:57 PM
Dundalk looked a pale imitation of the team that played in Europe last season - no surprise with Finn, Horgan and Boyle gone and replaced by lesser players and of course O'Donnell unavailable- still at least they're still in the tie so you never know

White Horse
12/07/2017, 9:46 PM
Dundalk looked a pale imitation of the team that played in Europe last season - no surprise with Finn, Horgan and Boyle gone and replaced by lesser players and of course O'Donnell unavailable- still at least they're still in the tie so you never know

You must have watched a different game than I did.

mcgonigle
12/07/2017, 10:30 PM
You must have watched a different game than I did.

Agreed, thought we were the better side. Remember last season we were poor against FH and the first leg v BATE

12/07/2017, 11:31 PM
No doubts the nous of Finn in such a tie would be a help but considering the changes in the team and relative form 1-1 is far from a disaster. It isnt in the SK psyche but defending a 1-0 isnt what we are we are good at wheras going at a side who may try too look after an away goal will suit us. This game was a complete unknown and Rosenborg looked like they were showing us too much respect rather than the usual other way round. 4 EL wins and a CL draw (and a game to play) with 4 EL games to go is the sort of minimum we have all would have grabbed when the draw was made. Next Wednesday will be another nervous rather than fearful fixture and with Cork and Rovers tomorrow quite capable of results. That the general feeling is of disappointment with tonights result and expectation tomorrow is a show of where Dundalk have dragged the league up a level! I wouldnt dicount Dundalk chances at all next week. Weaknesses...Rogers was solid tonight as was Gartland in general. The most disappointing aspect of Gart's game was getting on the end of set pieces. The away goal could have been stopped at a few points and the lads should know better than to switch off when the free wasnt given for McEleney's heels being clipped - Massey then nudged a player for an arguable foul and then a complete dive against Gannon got under the skin, it was like that was in the minds for the free. We have learnt from such things in the past and will carry that in to the second leg along with the whole when to give a ball back after an injury. Cut throat and take all chances of an edge next week!!!

ToberonaTornado
13/07/2017, 12:30 AM
100%
Great to see people are disappointed in us just pulling of a nice wee draw in a match at this level.
I believe we'll win the return leg next week.Rosenborg were happy to get the one all after all the pressure Dundalk hit them for in the first half and we were none to shabby in the second either but never took the chances that came our way.
Thought Ganno was just amazing tonight,,McMillan is an underrated player(outside of Dundalk) who is more than a striker(what a player,hardest working in LOI?) His tracking back is and energy levels are brilliant.
Apart from the goal we conceded i thought our back line was fairly solid.Massey for instance was immense.
Mounts was like a man reborn on the wing.
I think a lot of people here are running the result down and comparing it to Dundalk last season which is a bit unfair but imo it was an immense one.
On to next week.

placid casual
13/07/2017, 6:51 AM
Rosenberg stood off Dundalk for the 1st half, and only scored because of schoolboy defending by Dundalk. They were very very comfortable in the 2nd half, as Dundalk offered nothing. Dundalk may surprise them by scoring next week, but I don't believe it will affect the outcome of this tie.

Rovers & Cork to also get a score draw tonight.

13/07/2017, 7:50 AM
I think we need to keep a clean sheet tonight to qualify.

sbgawa
13/07/2017, 8:19 AM
I think Dundalk held their own in the second half even with Rosenberg stepping up and could have scored again, the away goal is a killer but any result is possible from here.

We need to keep a clean sheet tonight, not sure what to expect from the Czechs , we could sneak a win or lose easily.
Don't feel as much pressure this time and hopefully the team can put in a performance tonight.

El-Pietro
13/07/2017, 8:45 AM
I didn't watch a tonne of the game, 10 or 15 in the first half and the last 10 or 15 but it seemed to me that Dundalk were well on top at that point. Connolly looks out of his depth (again from a short spell that I saw) but he has time to get up to speed ahead of next season.
Seems like Dundalk left a result behind them and next week will be much tougher.

Real ale Madrid
13/07/2017, 8:48 AM
If Dundalk can defend properly next week they have a chance - Rosenborg are not going to cut them open with pace - I reckon it could go to penalties.

ToberonaTornado
13/07/2017, 9:13 AM
Fella playing "nintendo" *ahem* - all night :D still has an opinion on Dundalk and Connolly.
*ahem*

oriel
13/07/2017, 9:27 AM
First half and especially first half hour was the best Dundalk played all season, ball retention and movement down both wings was excellent. Disappointing goal to concede and a bad time too, second half was a slow affair, definitely think Rosenborg were happy for a draw and I don’t think Rogers had a serious save to make in that period, although he did well to get down to a mix up at the back with 20 to go or so. It shows how far we have come with mood of most fans leaving, a lot were disappointed with ‘only’ drawing with a team like Rosenborg.

Mountney was a surprise starter but he did excellent on the right, pity O’Donnell didn’t come on, he was on the bench, maybe he will start in the away leg. Shields did well though and an excellent finish by McMillan that’s him up to 7 Euro goals now with Dundalk. All in the CL too!

Going into the game, my hope was to have the tie alive for the second leg, and we have that, Rosenborg will be favourites of course, but they obviously can’t score any more away goals and Dundalk usually score in away legs, so I think its still all to play for.

13/07/2017, 10:40 AM
On a side note. FH drawing at home with Vikingur. We may not see Geyser tonight.
The Faroes are our little brother :) I am a proud of our Faroese, they take great inspiration from us, though a bit slower on the up.

I thought Dundalk gave Trondheim a tough game and fairly rattled them in the first 1/4 with both barrels, but they're a handy team half way into their season and their discipline saw them through with typical norwegian tight defence / counterattack. Both goals were soft, both defences caught napping.
Horgan's hyperactive wizardry is sorely missed.
I suspect Trondheim think they have weathered the worst with the cráp pitch, patch work stadium, bawdy natives, frantic paced home team, but Dundalk have good record in away games albeit with a better team than this.
2 excellent saves from Rogers, that shot which landed in the top corner (from Bendtner?) was moving all over the place before Rogers at full stretch got his paw to it.

Pablo Escobar
13/07/2017, 10:41 AM
About 35 mins in Dundalk were clearly getting the better of it. Then a mix of Rosenborg coming out of their shell and Dundalk standing off them meant Rosenborg got on top. Dundalk need to push the midfield further up when they play the ball out. Everytime Rosenborg got pressurized they gave the ball up. Also, Mountney's deliveries were excellent. I think that's a point to focus on for next week. Get him to get as many balls in the box as possible. I also felt that Duffy's chance right after the goal was a huge opportunity missed. Great ball in, but he didn't connect.