View Full Version : LOI Attendances 2016

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

Ezeikial
14/04/2016, 12:30 PM
if the clubs just want a 40-week season and players want their 2-week summer break there's no other way (apart from 14-team league with 26 games).

While there is 2 weeks between matches either side of the mid-season break most players would have only 1 week off (some even less)

14/04/2016, 12:32 PM
Sorry can't agree with you there Dodge.
Yes by all means have mid week games but you don't have to get them all played in the first couple of months of the season. Wait a couple of months until the Champions League & Premiership are finished. Then the clubs can have any night they want.
There are only three rounds of midweek fixtures in the season and two of them are during the summer. I don't know where you're getting this "all played in the first couple of months" from.

14/04/2016, 1:14 PM
There are ways to avoid Mondays night games if clubs want them.
The problem is that most of the clubs are totally dysfunctional & couldn't run the proverbial in a brewery.

Or, they think it's the best night for midweek games. How does Wednesday sound with league games to follow on Friday? As has been pointed out several times; once the clubs and players want to start in March and end in October (with a break in June), midweek games are a must.

I think you've misunderstood Dodge (I'm sure he'll defend himself anyway!) but I think what he's saying is that they need to get the postponed games played as quickly as possible, which is the way it should be.

Absolutely

FWIW, the Midweek scheduled games;
14 March
9-10 May (most clubs going with Tuesday 10)
15-16 August

disgruntled
14/04/2016, 1:42 PM
This is Cork City's fixture list between April 15th & April 29th.

April 15th,. Galway vs City.
April 18th. City vs Waterford.
April 22nd. City vs Harps.
April 25th City vs Rovers.
April 29th City vs St Pats.

That's 5 games in 14 days.
Pure madness. Yes 4 of the games are at home but its still madness with fans expected to shell out for that amount of games in such a short space of time.

There has to be a better way ?

vinnie
14/04/2016, 1:46 PM
To be fair, the Game against Rovers is the one that was postponed because of the under 21s International, there is no other time to play it until one of us get knocked out of the cup which might not happen too early

14/04/2016, 1:48 PM

Pure madness. Yes 4 of the games are at home but its still madness with fans expected to shell out for that amount of games in such a short space of time.

Not asking the FAI to postpone games would be a start.

seand
14/04/2016, 3:53 PM

Hardly madness. It's 5 games in 15 days. Put another way it's 3 league games on three successive weekends, with a League Cup tie for the reserves one midweek and a rearranged league game the next midweek- which your club requested to have postponed!

14/04/2016, 4:31 PM
I dont get this fatigue issue in football that is rolled out by managers. High intensity and impact sports like rugby during 6 nations, for example, have 6/7 days recovery between games over a month and then provincial competitions too. Tennis players can be on court for 3 or so hours days in a row. Cyclists doing 1000's of km's over 3 weeks day after day. In gaelic games, albeit less common now, you had dual players at inter-county and club games in both codes certain times of the year + training. Maybe i'm missing something and it is a different type of fatigue for the association footballer but when you hear a manager complain about even 2 games in 7 days it seems like complaining for complaining's sake or maybe its a mind game bluff even. It may not be at the highest levels of sport but I know plenty of chaps who were playing GAA, football, maybe even rugby, all year round with the odd 10k local run or golf etc and very little complaint about physical fatigue. Is it just a mindset?

disgruntled
14/04/2016, 4:34 PM
Hardly madness. It's 5 games in 15 days. Put another way it's 3 league games on three successive weekends, with a League Cup tie for the reserves one midweek and a rearranged league game the next midweek- which your club requested to have postponed!

You still have to play them no matter what type of games they are :)

disgruntled
14/04/2016, 4:37 PM
Some of the excuses put up by some around here are funny especially coming from guys who spend most of their season inside the M50 :o

sulywaterfordfc
14/04/2016, 8:04 PM

Our game against Cork Monday will be our fourth game in 11 days and on top of that next week is the third time from the last four weeks we're playing Friday and Monday and we're part time and ya don't see us on here complaining (Not *counting having three away games in arrow in the league). Youse are supposed to be full time and your moaning build a bridge........

disgruntled
14/04/2016, 9:03 PM
Our game against Cork Monday will be our fourth game in 11 days and on top of that next week is the third time from the last four weeks we're playing Friday and Monday and we're part time and ya don't see us on here complaining (Not continuing having three away games in arrow in the league). Youse are supposed to be full time and your moaning build a bridge........

1st Div games aren't real games anyway so they don't count :D

14/04/2016, 10:10 PM
1st Div games aren't real games anyway so they don't count :D

I disagree they are all too real, seem twice as long as premier games and they scar forever!!

patrickccfc
14/04/2016, 11:10 PM
I disagree they are all too real, seem twice as long as premier games and they scar forever!!

Yeah, still can't get over losing 2-1 at home to salthill devon.. shivers

14/04/2016, 11:52 PM
Away and sh!te all of ye. You're ruining my nice thread.

disgruntled
14/04/2016, 11:53 PM

Thanks for reminding me just as I thought I had forgotten :o
Its not the games themselves, its the standard of the referees who are even worse than the Premier Div if that were possible :rolleyes:

disgruntled
14/04/2016, 11:55 PM
Away and sh!te all of ye. You're ruining my nice thread.

Sorry Boss.
Wont happen again.
Well not tonight anyway :)

oriel
15/04/2016, 10:14 PM
2,339 at Dundalk v Sligo. All present and counted.

Joking aside you can see the gaps from last year, I moved from the stand for the second half to the open seating town side and that area would have been well packed last season, was less the half full. The shed side is keeping its numbers, stand probably ok too, granted the away support was low, but you can't be counting on away fans to boost your figures.

Overall Dundalk are down around 600 on their 2015 average (to date) if you look at the last 2 games, maybe complacency is creeping in, but it's early days I suppose. There can be no blame on tv tonight though, and although it was around 250 more than the Derry game, it's still a disappointing turn out.

wonder88
15/04/2016, 10:50 PM
1,557 at Galway v Cork. Great game, especially the second half, but that is a disappointing crowd considering how well Galway are playing.

joey B
15/04/2016, 11:08 PM
919 at Harps and again a bit disappointing.

16/04/2016, 3:10 AM
2,339 at Dundalk v Sligo. All present and counted.

Joking aside you can see the gaps from last year, I moved from the stand for the second half to the open seating town side and that area would have been well packed last season, was less the half full. The shed side is keeping its numbers, stand probably ok too, granted the away support was low, but you can't be counting on away fans to boost your figures.

Overall Dundalk are down around 600 on their 2015 average (to date) if you look at the last 2 games, maybe complacency is creeping in, but it's early days I suppose. There can be no blame on tv tonight though, and although it was around 250 more than the Derry game, it's still a disappointing turn out.
Happened with Rovers and probably every team that has a bit of success. Getting people in when success is new is one thing, keeping them when it's sustained is the tricky part.

Dalymountrower
16/04/2016, 7:23 AM
3627 official number in Dalymount.Hundreds more through players entrance.
Full of foreign visiting fans and hooligan day trippers. Shameful and embarrassing scenes at the end, idiot ran from Bohs crowd and got as far as Rovers crowd, cue more idiots. Robo cops belatedly intervene and throw the Bohs idiot into the Rovers crowd..
Meanwhile about 100 Rovers fans sit peacefully among the home fans in section A of the Jodi.

ger121
16/04/2016, 7:49 AM
And by many reports, people couldn't get into the ground. Even those with tickets. Great crowd but beyond that a bad night for the club on and 'off' the pitch.

disgruntled
16/04/2016, 10:08 AM
3627 official number in Dalymount.Hundreds more through players entrance.
Full of foreign visiting fans and hooligan day trippers. Shameful and embarrassing scenes at the end, idiot ran from Bohs crowd and got as far as Rovers crowd, cue more idiots. Robo cops belatedly intervene and throw the Bohs idiot into the Rovers crowd..
Meanwhile about 100 Rovers fans sit peacefully among the home fans in section A of the Jodi.

Isn't that where he wanted to go ?
I'm sure he won't be doing it again, at least not until he comes out of hospital :rolleyes:

Jokes aside, fantastic crowd for Bohs.
Pity a few idiots had to spoil it once again.
The fact the robo cops were there showed they expected something to kick off beside the match.

Dalymountrower
16/04/2016, 1:08 PM
No sympathy for anyone attacking other fans.
We have a small enough community within the LOI and giving the likes of the Indo, who normally ignore LOI Fo ot ball in their on line edition, the opportunity to lead off on the stupid and potentially dangerous actions of a few, is bad for us all and particularly, at Bohs .

16/04/2016, 1:48 PM
And by many reports, people couldn't get into the ground. Even those with tickets. Great crowd but beyond that a bad night for the club on and 'off' the pitch.
If you add in the 20,000 Gardai they had to draft in for their not in the least bit amateurish security operation, you can see why space was limited. Except for the space between the two stands.

16/04/2016, 4:35 PM
If you add in the 20,000 Gardai they had to draft in for their not in the least bit amateurish security operation, you can see why space was limited. Except for the space between the two stands.

And not one of them was needed:rolleyes:

thomas72
16/04/2016, 7:44 PM
Limerick v Cabinteely

Attendance 1,348

disgruntled
16/04/2016, 9:55 PM

Maybe they thought Rovers might bring more than the team bus to the game :o

ger121
16/04/2016, 10:13 PM
Limerick v Cabinteely

Attendance 1,348

The crowds are still coming through the turnstiles at The Market's Field. Great to see!

trevy
18/04/2016, 12:12 PM
354 at Waterford v Shelbourne.

oriel
18/04/2016, 3:56 PM
Happened with Rovers and probably every team that has a bit of success. Getting people in when success is new is one thing, keeping them when it's sustained is the tricky part.

Yeah its a tough nut to crack keeping the figures high and consistent, last season we only had 2 or 3 crowds, possibly 4 under 3k, this season 2 out of the 4 games have already dipped to that level, with respect to teams, maybe the attraction wasn't there to come out in big numbers and away support has been low so far, but you can't be depending on away support to boost the gate.

So far this is how Dlk have fared in attendances:

Harps 3,200
Cork 3,500
Derry 2,100*
Sligo 2,400

* Live on tv, but no reason why Sligo game should have dropped so much.

Facilities are maybe a problem but the fans didn't seem to mind last 3 seasons, more cover though might make a difference, OP only have cover for around 2.5k, on a wet day people might think, I don't fancy standing in that, and hard to blame them.

Its early days though, a lot of big games to come, but not over the next month.

19/04/2016, 8:30 PM
705 at First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC v wexford

bluewhitearmy
19/04/2016, 11:43 PM
705 at First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC v wexford

I know this is always said but it looked a lot more.

Market's Field
20/04/2016, 4:34 PM
Definitely a lot more

gufcfan
23/04/2016, 12:29 AM
Any attendance from Wexford?

23/04/2016, 1:00 AM
ET estimate 500: http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/16396/league-report-wexford-youths-0---2-galway-united/

patrickccfc
23/04/2016, 10:35 AM
2,403 at the cross. Happy with that considering the amount of home games we have, people might've been forgiven for giving priority to the rovers and pats games.

23/04/2016, 11:41 AM
2,403 at the cross. Happy with that considering the amount of home games we have, people might've been forgiven for giving priority to the rovers and pats games.

Don't be so smug about that. There was 20 Harps fans among that.

patrickccfc
23/04/2016, 1:32 PM

Was I being smug?
Fair play to ye though, didn't expect that many to come down.

23/04/2016, 2:03 PM
Was I being smug?

Just because Corks fans wont travel ye shouldn't assume others like Donegal folk wont be making the effort!

disgruntled
23/04/2016, 2:09 PM
Just because Corks fans wont travel ye shouldn't assume others like Donegal folk wont be making the effort!

Won't travel to Oriel Park you mean 😃

23/04/2016, 2:36 PM
Was I being smug?

http://www.listener.co.nz/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/sarcasmdetector.jpg

23/04/2016, 7:11 PM
Won't travel to Oriel Park you mean 

Excuses Excuses!

disgruntled
23/04/2016, 7:46 PM
Excuses Excuses!

:D ;) ;)

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/04/2016, 8:45 PM
1,542 in The Showgrounds

El-Pietro
23/04/2016, 9:03 PM

Where?! I saw a couple of flags but no fans!

23/04/2016, 9:29 PM
Where?! I saw a couple of flags but no fans!

I was counting the flags. They hung themselves up of course.

But, if you must know, there was actually 12 people in that section of away fans by the flags. There was another 8 people in the Donie Forde stand. I'm told there was a group of Donegal folks living in Cork there to support Harps, but I don't know if they actually turned up or not.

El-Pietro
23/04/2016, 10:18 PM
I was counting the flags. They hung themselves up of course.

But, if you must know, there was actually 12 people in that section of away fans by the flags. There was another 8 people in the Donie Forde stand. I'm told there was a group of Donegal folks living in Cork there to support Harps, but I don't know if they actually turned up or not.

I'm sure there were some there, but I didn't see any in the traditional away area. Oddly enough I saw someone in a Derry shirt (the 2008 or so Meteor one I think) walking up the steps into the Shed pre match.

What ever happened the the flourescent shirt flag? One of the most endearing memories I have of Harps. I remember that flag going back to the late 90s. As long as I've been going anyway.

23/04/2016, 11:15 PM
I'm sure there were some there, but I didn't see any in the traditional away area. Oddly enough I saw someone in a Derry shirt (the 2008 or so Meteor one I think) walking up the steps into the Shed pre match.

What ever happened the the flourescent shirt flag? One of the most endearing memories I have of Harps. I remember that flag going back to the late 90s. As long as I've been going anyway.

The flourescent shirt flag is still knocking about. Needed repairing after Derry came to town though.

It's just too big to be bringing around to grounds though, there's very little places we can actually bring it. Would have been grand in Cork up on the away area where there was nobody, but it's just too big to be carting around.

Besides, it also advertises O'Neills and Donegal Creameries. We had talked about updating it to have Legea and McGettigans on it..but...you know...effort.