View Full Version : LOI Attendances 2016
Pages :
[
15]
Philosophizer
18/10/2016, 11:28 AM
...once at home and once away, for a total of 22 games.
It's an interesting point, but 22 games seems like a very small amount of games to decide a league. Is there any other league in Europe with such a low number??
I know the Austrian top tier has only 10 teams, but they play each other 4 times, so it's a total of 36 games.
18/10/2016, 11:43 AM
You can't play 22 games. Sure by that logic, we may as well play no games and then we'll be rolling in money!
33 games is still relatively few, and 35 weeks is quite a short season.
Changing the league format won't, of itself, do anything for the league.
18/10/2016, 1:18 PM
Top clubs in the PCA are pushing for ten teams. Playing twice leaves 18 league games a season. Simply not plausible.
18/10/2016, 2:03 PM
Top clubs in the PCA are pushing for ten teams.
And those guys have serious clout.
sbgawa
18/10/2016, 11:56 PM
Top clubs in the PCA are pushing for ten teams. Playing twice leaves 18 league games a season. Simply not plausible.
It couldn't be 18 matches more likely 27 or 36 if that happens.
White Horse
19/10/2016, 10:23 AM
A depressing article in the Irish Times on LOI attendances.
"An Airtricity League title on the line and nobody’s watching . . ."
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/national-league/an-airtricity-league-title-on-the-line-and-nobody-s-watching-1.2834719
JaketheSnake
19/10/2016, 10:29 AM
Play each other 4 times surely???
Philosophizer
19/10/2016, 11:14 AM
A depressing article in the Irish Times on LOI attendances.
"An Airtricity League title on the line and nobody’s watching . . ."
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/national-league/an-airtricity-league-title-on-the-line-and-nobody-s-watching-1.2834719
This article just sums up what many of us have already known for years. Irish ppl are extremely fair-weather supporters. And that applies to every sport, not just football.
Connaught got great crowds last year coz they were doing well, but Munster's crowds were sh!t compared to what they used to be in their successful days.
I think this type of attitude might stem from the GAA Championship. Most counties have a handful (if even that) of big matches a year, so that's all the majority are interested in. The GAA is so deeply ingrained in irish society that maybe this attitude has influenced how the majority follow other sports too.
Ppl follow famous British football teams because they want to be associated with a famous, glamorous club with glittering history. On our own island, crowds will only generally come out in force if the team is doing well or if it's a big game. See Dundalk and Cork fans having big attendances over the last few yrs, and 30K came to Lansdowne to see Dundalk coz it had the glamour of a CL playoff, and they're filling out Tallaght for their other european ties.
The hard fact of the matter is that the majority of Irish ppl only want to see a big match, an EVENT. They don't like trudging along to see a run-of-the-mill league match every week. I see it every day with my family and friends. I went to the euros with a big group, most of whom have only a passing interest in football. They mostly flit in and out of the PL soap opera, depending on how exciting it is, and are pretty much the same about other sports. They might try to go to a big Rugby/GAA match every now and again if it's a big occasion, but other than that they're not too bothered.
19/10/2016, 2:47 PM
This whole 'I dont want to be going to Oriel now just when they are good and be seen as jumping on a band wagon' Yes and yet you sit there in a Leinster jersey!!
gufcfan
19/10/2016, 7:26 PM
1,287 in the Cross tonight for the UEFA Youth League match. (https://twitter.com/CorkCityFC/status/788819492700823552)
This article just sums up what many of us have already known for years. Irish ppl are extremely fair-weather supporters. And that applies to every sport, not just football.
Connaught got great crowds last year coz they were doing well, but Munster's crowds were sh!t compared to what they used to be in their successful days.
Connacht increased their crowds while still relatively crap. They did improve last year but they had been increasing before that. Definitely an example the league and clubs should be looking at closely.
gufc2000
21/10/2016, 10:31 PM
847 at Deacy Park tonight
patrickccfc
21/10/2016, 10:42 PM
1880 at the cross
MeathDrog
21/10/2016, 10:56 PM
This whole 'I dont want to be going to Oriel now just when they are good and be seen as jumping on a band wagon' Yes and yet you sit there in a Leinster jersey!!
This is off topic, but unless you're genuinely into the sport of rugby you have to be a major bellend to jump on the Leinster bandwagon and live anywhere outside of Dublin 4.
ToberonaTornado
21/10/2016, 11:14 PM
The stand in Oriel is already sold out for Sunday and can see the ground also selling out tomorrow when ticket sales re-open there for the v Bohs game
http://www.dundalkfc.com/bohemian-tickets-sale/
EDIT: Also seen on Twotter that Drogs tix v Cobh are also selling well with parts of the ground sold already.Good to see if true.
21/10/2016, 11:17 PM
This is off topic, but unless you're genuinely into the sport of rugby you have to be a major bellend to jump on the Leinster bandwagon and live anywhere outside of Dublin 4.
I see you're familiar with the typical Irish sports fan.
369 at Pats v Cork last night.
I appreciate there was just under 500 at the Longford v Dlk match but the home side were virtually relegated weeks ago, so that was no surprise, even if there was a majority of Dlk fans there, its still not unexpected given the circumstances.
For the Pats game, there is absolutely no excuse for such a ridiculous attendance, Pats may have had a disappointing league season, but they retained the League Cup and got to the FAI Cup semi, it can't be that depressing for at least 500 to chose not to go. I don't point any blame on Cork fans, they had enough long travels last few weeks and Monday night was difficult.
Dundalk got 260 for the last home match of the regular season in 2012, it was either Bray or Bohs, I didn't go to that one, and trust me, it was one depressing season, so you could understand that, and to be fair only for Mons pulling out mid season, I think we would have and should have gone down on merit that year. I attended the next home match though, as 1,500 turned up for the play off v Waterford.
369 for a PD side that won the league in 2013, the FAI Cup in 2014, the League cup in 2015 and 2016 and who are currently 7th is just dreadful, and more so very worrying for the club, as clearly not even near enough is being done to address the slide.
Pablo Escobar
22/10/2016, 6:58 PM
There's a big crowd in Cobh tonight judging by the videos on twitter.
MeathDrog
22/10/2016, 7:10 PM
There's a big crowd in Cobh tonight judging by the videos on twitter.
And no radio coverage..
White Horse
22/10/2016, 7:38 PM
2-0 to Drogheda. Looking good for the Louth men.
legendz
22/10/2016, 8:02 PM
It couldn't be 18 matches more likely 27 or 36 if that happens.
Play each other 4 times surely???
The Premier Division went from 12 teams & 33 games to 10 teams & 36 games back to 12 teams & 33 games. It's unlikely the league would revert back to 10 teams & 36 games.
10 teams & 27 games might be the best fit for both divisions if there is consensus to cut out midweek fixtures with the exception of cup replays and the league cup.
The lower tiers across the water are likely to revert to 20 team leagues. They reckon it'll boost attendances for weekend fixtures amongst other measures.
Johnnie C
22/10/2016, 10:57 PM
Good crowd in Cobh tonight, estimated at 2000 + on Facebook which is about right. Cracking atmosphere too until 2nd went in. Very unsavoury incidents outside ground after though. Drogs brought a few scumbags down with them. Ramblers caught out too with no guards in ground and security insufficient.
Comic Book Guy
22/10/2016, 11:29 PM
I thought there was plenty but if you get scum intent on causing trouble on both sides then it's hard to stop.
The sickening thing is that huge work done on a voluntary basis is put in danger by a collection of pond life.
Johnnie C
22/10/2016, 11:53 PM
Away fans should have been kept back at the end for 10 minutes, would have prevented the major aggro outside. Thought Drogheda had sorted their hooligan problem, obviously not.
22/10/2016, 11:53 PM
Awful awful scenes outside the ground judging by the video I just watched on twitter. Not the first time the lack of stewarding down there has caused issue. We had trouble down there twice previously
White Horse
23/10/2016, 9:14 AM
Away fans should have been kept back at the end for 10 minutes, would have prevented the major aggro outside. Thought Drogheda had sorted their hooligan problem, obviously not.
Very poor organisation. Drogheda have a known hooligan problem. Cobh and the police should have known this and planned accordingly.
MeathDrog
23/10/2016, 1:59 PM
Very poor organisation. Drogheda have a known hooligan problem. Cobh and the police should have known this and planned accordingly.
What sort of operation are they running down there. Cobh fans seemed to have open access at the Drogheda fans down a tight alley way right after the game. There was bound to be a flashpoint.
KeepersBall
23/10/2016, 2:39 PM
Looking at the video it does appear as if the Cobh lot got more than they bargained for when they attacked the Drogs.
Judging by the age profile of the Cobh mob Mammy and Daddy need to keep more of a check on where they are and what they are up to
trevy
24/10/2016, 12:27 PM
Nothing official from Waterford unfortunately. Usually handy enough getting official figures from there.
Thanks for the help folks, coming across these figures gets very difficult at the end of the season.
247 is now up on extra time for Waterford v UCD. Nothing yet for Athlone game.
24/10/2016, 12:50 PM
Forgive for doorstepping onto the conversation, but I'd be curious about something. What's worrying about the Pats Cork attendance is how relatively easy it should be made for a Cork supporter to get to Inchicore, and I don't mean that as a slight on the cork fan either.
A good few times I've gone to matches in Europe, travel either free or reduced rates are included in your ticket price. It is very appealing. Surely the FAI could be working with Irish Rail for the clubs that are based in towns on the rail line? Richmond is literally a 20min walk from Heuston station, Tallaght is 30 mins direct on the Luas. Dalymount will be 15 mins on the Luas from next year.
Bar Harps and Derry, is there any club not on the train line? I know that Irish Rail ran special trains after Ireland matches to a few areas, not subsidised mind, and they were generally a success.
Ease of access is one of the reasons I get to go to so many LoI matches in Dublin. Surely making it easier for the hard-core away fans is something the FAI should be doing to help away attendances and by extension the promotion of the league?
Often matches finish after the last public transport is finished. In many cases it just isn't an option for matches except in the capital or a few other cases like Galway if you're coming from Dublin.
4637 in oriel tonight
4,637 was the highest crowd of the season in OP. The trophy will be presented on Friday night at home to Galway, however I don't see the crowd being close to this, possibly 3k. Last night was the one not to miss.
El-Pietro
24/10/2016, 2:04 PM
Forgive for doorstepping onto the conversation, but I'd be curious about something. What's worrying about the Pats Cork attendance is how relatively easy it should be made for a Cork supporter to get to Inchicore, and I don't mean that as a slight on the cork fan either.
A good few times I've gone to matches in Europe, travel either free or reduced rates are included in your ticket price. It is very appealing. Surely the FAI could be working with Irish Rail for the clubs that are based in towns on the rail line? Richmond is literally a 20min walk from Heuston station, Tallaght is 30 mins direct on the Luas. Dalymount will be 15 mins on the Luas from next year.
Bar Harps and Derry, is there any club not on the train line? I know that Irish Rail ran special trains after Ireland matches to a few areas, not subsidised mind, and they were generally a success.
Ease of access is one of the reasons I get to go to so many LoI matches in Dublin. Surely making it easier for the hard-core away fans is something the FAI should be doing to help away attendances and by extension the promotion of the league?
The train isn't usually an option for us going to Dublin. You can get the train up but its AirCoach back, or else you drive or get a club/fan run coach. Last train to Cork is at 9.
A bigger issue though for City fans is the amount of time off work that is required to get to every game. Some fans do it and fair play to them, but I have to pick and choose which games I get to. I work by the airport in Cork, don't drive and would typically finish work around 6, though my bosses are fairly flexible so I could get out around 5 without any fuss.
If I drove then I'd be able to get to Dublin in 2 and a half hours theoretically but getting out of the city, and into Dublin City between the ours of 5 and 8 would not be extremely easy.
That particular game against Pats was our fourth away game in 15 days. Our second midweek away fixture in 7 days, and our second trip to Inchicore in that same 15 day period. We were also playing Pats at home that Friday, so it was always going to be hard to get a big crowd to that game from Cork. Things may have been different if we felt we had anything to play for.
Ideally every game would be accessible for home and away fans, and travel would be priced reasonably but the Irish rail system isn't a patch on what is available in European countries, and is quite expensive at the same time. I think I'm paying something like 40 euro for my return trip to Dublin for the Cup Final, and I booked my tickets the day we got through to the Final.
One last point, our entire rail system is built around Dublin. Sligo and Galway both have train stations, but to get from one to the other you'd have to go through Dublin. It is possible to get from Cork to Galway by rail, but I don't think its practical. I'll be honest, I've never tried.
White Horse
24/10/2016, 2:12 PM
One last point, our entire rail system is built around Dublin. Sligo and Galway both have train stations, but to get from one to the other you'd have to go through Dublin. It is possible to get from Cork to Galway by rail, but I don't think its practical. I'll be honest, I've never tried.
Same for the motorways. Getting from Dundalk to Sligo, Galway, Longford involves trekking on roads that were built for a horse and cart.
24/10/2016, 2:25 PM
Bar Harps and Derry, is there any club not on the train line?
Derry is on a train line, just not exactly a direct one to Dublin.
Being realistic, if the FAI were to create a public transport partnership, it would probably be best with Bus Éireann. Much cheaper to run a bus than a train, and they run plenty of late night buses anyway.
24/10/2016, 2:50 PM
Often matches finish after the last public transport is finished. In many cases it just isn't an option for matches except in the capital or a few other cases like Galway if you're coming from Dublin.
Exactly, even for Ireland games it's a total disaster for those of us based down the country, last train back to longford from Dublin leaves Connolly at 7.05. Now obviously it's only an hours drive but it's not ideal for anyone wanting to have a few drinks.
24/10/2016, 2:57 PM
Rail is a lot more viable in Europe and the UK in general for reasons of sheer scale. As Brendy said, Bus Eireann would be your man in Ireland, especially given the lack of connections between the two sides of the border.
legendz
24/10/2016, 6:02 PM
Noticeably more "Premier League supporters" took an interest in Dundalk's game last night.
I've said before that the league needed something like 6 weeks of positive coverage for perception to change for the better. Dundalk's great run has naturally created positive headlines over that sort of timescale.
I think Limerick's great escape last year spanned more than 6 weeks. Coupled with their return to the Markets Field, that good run up to before they faltered at the final hurdle has helped build a connect with many who hadn't been going to games.
24/10/2016, 6:43 PM
Exactly, even for Ireland games it's a total disaster for those of us based down the country, last train back to longford from Dublin leaves Connolly at 7.05. Now obviously it's only an hours drive but it's not ideal for anyone wanting to have a few drinks.
Bus Eireann is the best way imo if you are in living in Longford and wanted to go to a match in Dublin. majority of week last bus leaves from Bus Aras at 11pm and goes to either Sligo /Ballina. But if the match is in Tallaght it would be a struggle to make it from Tallaght to Dublin city by luas unless you took a taxi.
24/10/2016, 11:35 PM
Noticeably more "Premier League supporters" took an interest in Dundalk's game last night.
I've said before that the league needed something like 6 weeks of positive coverage for perception to change for the better. Dundalk's great run has naturally created positive headlines over that sort of timescale.
I think Limerick's great escape last year spanned more than 6 weeks. Coupled with their return to the Markets Field, that good run up to before they faltered at the final hurdle has helped build a connect with many who hadn't been going to games.
I agree that sustained positive exposure piques that curiosity of non regulars at games like the examples given. The frustrating thing around Dundalk is that a majority of football fans in the town would follow Dundalk if not all actively support them by turning up to Oriel Park regularly. So it isnt entirely that the increase in last nights gate was the interest of new fans or the curious EPL fan. Ive said it before that if half of those who are lapsed fans that "used to always go up to Oriel back in the day" or the "I didnt go up during the 1st Division days so I dont want to be seen as jumping on the band wagon", are added to the current regulars of 2500 or 3k you would have over 4k at every home game. There is the positive snowball effect especially with kids round town in Dundalk shirts and their friends wanting to be in on the in thing of the moment so hopefully that will create a new generation of regular supporters coming up over the years. My nephew, brought up in a hardcore GAA family from the west of Ireland and now in Dundalk has absolutely no interest in GAA no matter how hard he is pushed but he is never out of his Dundalk shirt which of course I have no complaints about. Id imagine that Sligo would be similar, Derry, Cork(though there are other sports representing the City/County that have success for the sports fan), Dublin areas too but are up against Dublin GAA and Rugby, Limerick and Munster in Thomond, Galways and the new improvement in Connacht rugby but have had Hurling and Gealic Football doing all right at times too). So get a team going in Mayo and other sporting success deprived areas and yer laughing :P
Dundalk have announced €5 into the ground for everyone on Friday night v Galway for the final game as a gratitude to the fans. This is a nice touch, and it might boost the crowd a little, it probably would have been decent anyway for the trophy presentation, but fair play to them for doing this.
26/10/2016, 7:45 PM
Putting that €5k from JD & the lads to great use.
Charlie, that 5k was spent on Sunday & Monday, hence the 'tired and emotional' display on Tuesday night in Richmond.
'No Integrity' really anymore.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/10/2016, 8:47 PM
It's what our glorious leader would spend it on himself
Charlie, that 5k was spent on Sunday & Monday, hence the 'tired and emotional' display on Tuesday night in Richmond.
'No Integrity' really anymore.
I heard the 5k went on Pats to win -2 with the Asians
EatYerGreens
27/10/2016, 1:40 PM
Irish Rail just wouldn't be interested if we're honest. The numbers involved wouldn't be worth the effort and paperwork for them.
Rail deals for an Ireland game which will attract 30-40,000 people you can understand. Most League of Ireland games are lucky to get 5% of that sort of crowd.
ForzaForth
27/10/2016, 6:05 PM
590 or 596 at Wexford Youths v Finn Harps. 590 is mentioned in this week's local papers but I heard 596 at the match itself.
WoodquayBoy
27/10/2016, 10:53 PM
Same for the motorways. Getting from Dundalk to Sligo, Galway, Longford involves trekking on roads that were built for a horse and cart.
What a load of tosh - Dundalk to Galway is, bar a tiny stretch, motorway the whole way. Dundalk to Dublin on the M1, join the M50 southbound, then M6/M4 west to Galway. Just over 3 hours.
jinxy lilywhite
27/10/2016, 11:04 PM
What a ridiculous roundabout way to go and would not be done in 3 hrs and That'd add another 60km to the journey.
Dundalk Ardee millingar then kinegad on the.
It's about 3:45.