View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2015

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

ger121
15/01/2015, 10:32 AM
Not sure if there is a thread on this already so mods feel free to merge if so.

Looks like UCD could be in EL this year. You just can't get rid of them. Would they be seeded though due to league's current ranking?http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish/2015/0115/672698-ucd-in-line-for-europa-league-qualifying-place/

15/01/2015, 10:41 AM
:stop: Never mind UCD getting in to Europe, the shocker in that article is that Cork didnt finish top of the fair play league and by a huge amount. It just cannot be possible having hardly made a tackle all season such was their fair play efforts....unbelievable!!

15/01/2015, 10:54 AM
We regularly win this. We've never qualified. Don't expect to this time either.

Funny that we won it even with one player getting sent off three or four times on his own.

PartySaint
15/01/2015, 11:00 AM
How in jaysus name are Cork second on that list?

15/01/2015, 11:06 AM
Im surprised we are not permanently made stay bottom of this table after the Sean Connor season! 1 in 3 chance of getting the place Stu assuming things dont change majorly so decent chance even if not so lucky in the past. Its a bit of a problem balancing a first division side and facing the prospect of Europe. Id ignore Europe, put together a side that will get you up bank the using Europe money and take the potential hammering.

15/01/2015, 11:22 AM
We regularly win this. We've never qualified. Don't expect to this time either.

Funny that we won it even with one player getting sent off three or four times on his own.

You don't regularly win it, and you didn't last year either.

You have a very good chance of qualifying this year. 3 countries qualify and Ireland are top.

15/01/2015, 11:33 AM
We do regularly win it. We won it in 2012, 2010, 2009 (First Division), 2006, 2005 (First Division), 2004... Runners up in 2008 too. (That's from a quick search in the UCD forum here; I'm presuming it's accurate)

I never said anything about last year? But if the above isn't regular (and there's more wins around the late 90s/early 00s too), I don't know what is.

Hadn't realised Ireland were top of the rankings though. That's interesting. Can only imagine we'd get thumped by pretty much anyone tbh though.

seand
15/01/2015, 12:12 PM
The relevant Wikipedia pages are surprisingly good.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2015%E2%80%9316_UEFA_Europa_League
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2015%E2%80%9316_UEFA_Champions_League

UCD (and Cork) would be unseeded, however as club points are picked up nowadays for progression through rounds and for just being there, there's a chance they could draw a seeded team from the likes of Luxemborg (like Dundalk did last year) who have picked up coefficient points by qualifying regularly over the past few seasons

Real ale Madrid
15/01/2015, 12:38 PM
Different set-up this year to last year - I'm finding it difficult to see how Pats or Rovers will be seeded if I'm honest. Maybe someone can show how they will ?

15/01/2015, 1:06 PM
Different set-up this year to last year
No, it's the same.

If you visit cldraw.com you can see how things are likely to play out. They have Sligo as the potential FP winner (the took top non-qualifying team) but Rovers and Pats should be comfortably seeded. They predict the cut off point will be 3.875. As the winter leagues get closer to a finish, this spreadsheet becomes more and more valuable

15/01/2015, 1:29 PM
Is the manager's behaviour taken into consideration?!

15/01/2015, 1:32 PM
How many fecking cards do you have to get before you top this ranking? Am absolutely disgusted Ten Man Harps didn't win this.

Real ale Madrid
15/01/2015, 1:37 PM
No, it's the same.

1st qualifying round is a lot different last year to this year.

2014-15
1st qualifying round
(78 teams) • 20 domestic cup winners from associations 35–54
• 26 domestic league runners-up from associations 27–53 (except Liechtenstein)
• 29 domestic league third-placed teams from associations 22–51 (except Liechtenstein)
• 3 teams which qualified via Fair Play ranking

2015-16
First qualifying round
(104 teams) • 31 domestic cup winners from associations 24–54
• 35 domestic league runners-up from associations 18–53 (except Liechtenstein)
• 35 domestic league third-placed teams from associations 16–51 (except Liechtenstein)
• 3 teams which qualified via Fair Play ranking

I thought that with higher ranking teams entering at rd1 stage it may be more difficult for our teams to be seeded - but that is not the case.

If you visit cldraw.com you can see how things are likely to play out. They have Sligo as the potential FP winner (the took top non-qualifying team) but Rovers and Pats should be comfortably seeded. They predict the cut off point will be 3.875. As the winter leagues get closer to a finish, this spreadsheet becomes more and more valuable

That is a fantastic find - cheers!

15/01/2015, 1:51 PM
Sorry, I thought you meant different in terms of rounds Ireland entered at. My fault there

ROvers and Pats ranking is still fairly high. The difference is that in previous years, that rank would have been good enough to be seeded in QR2, but won't be this year (in all likelihood). ROvers have a slim chance, Pats don't

ger121
15/01/2015, 1:58 PM
Why the change in the number and country rank of teams entering the 1st round stage this year?

Viking
15/01/2015, 2:23 PM
The difference is that in previous years, that rank would have been good enough to be seeded in QR2, but won't be this year (in all likelihood). ROvers have a slim chance, Pats don't

Hi, Swede lurking around, was curious to see what team that you guys were going to send out to Europe if the fair-play standings stay the same. (they usually do from January and forward)
So not Sligo then, as cldraw.com has at the moment?

Anyway, as you say, it's a kind of new format and UEFA doesn't do the smaller nations any favors either. Surprise, surprise...First, all nations down to the 24th rank (Swe) has to start with all their teams in the first round. And further on, as it stands now around the leagues in Europe, you will need close to 7.0 in coeff points to be seeded in the 2nd round. Totally unheard of in previous years. For us, teams like Gothenburg will be unseeded if it stays that way, and all your teams as well. And since unseeded winners in the first round take over the co from the higher rank'd I don't expect it to change all that much, just some small corrections. Last year, you were seeded in the 2nd round with a coeff points of 5.2 - It's quite a difference.

16/01/2015, 1:19 PM
Hi, Swede lurking around, was curious to see what team that you guys were going to send out to Europe if the fair-play standings stay the same. (they usually do from January and forward)
So not Sligo then, as cldraw.com has at the moment?

No, UCD (who will use the national co-efficient as they have none of their own) will take Ireland's fair play spot as they were the highest team in our end of season fair play rankings (that hadn't already qualified for Europe). They could, of course, fail to get a UEFA licence but I'd imagine that's a slim enough possibility

16/01/2015, 7:41 PM
No, UCD (who will use the national co-efficient as they have none of their own) will take Ireland's fair play spot as they were the highest team in our end of season fair play rankings (that hadn't already qualified for Europe). They could, of course, fail to get a UEFA licence but I'd imagine that's a slim enough possibility

Presumably they could refuse the place and it'd go to the next highest ranked side? Who would that be out of curiosity?

Yossarian
16/01/2015, 8:58 PM
Presumably they could refuse the place and it'd go to the next highest ranked side? Who would that be out of curiosity?

Why would they want to refuse a place in Europe and a guaranteed 120k in income??

citybone
18/01/2015, 2:10 AM
Why would they want to refuse a place in Europe and a guaranteed 120k in income??

120,000 in travel expenses depending on who they get and how big of a squad they bring etc.

Yossarian
18/01/2015, 8:38 AM
120,000 in travel expenses depending on who they get and how big of a squad they bring etc.

There is an element of regionalisation to the Europa League draw which means for the first round they are highly unlikely to draw a team that will involve travel expenses of that nature.

18/01/2015, 2:58 PM
Sure we have direct flights to Iceland now anyway, all of our European logistical nightmares are over.

citybone
18/01/2015, 4:22 PM
Pats had a lot of travel a few years ago but the first round trip to Iceland is easier now but a trip to Faroe's would be more difficult. IF they got into the second round they could get Kazakhstan or something like that.

El-Pietro
18/01/2015, 4:36 PM
They could draw Aktobe in the first round potentially. Central Kazakh side

seand
19/01/2015, 9:23 AM
Worst case scenario, which is unlikely, of a Kazakh opponent, surely you can manage tranport for a grand a head? Leave plenty of change from the prize money

19/01/2015, 9:35 AM
Worst case scenario, which is unlikely, of a Kazakh opponent, surely you can manage tranport for a grand a head? Leave plenty of change from the prize money

Pats flights to Russia were about €1,500. Visas, hotels and transfers all added to that. Worst case scenario would cost about €60k IMO so clubs would still benefit financially from being in Europe

19/01/2015, 5:31 PM
Student flights are always cheaper though.

gufcfan
19/01/2015, 6:40 PM
Student flights are always cheaper though.

Ryanair rep: Good afternoon sir. Do you have a student card?

Customer: Yes, why?

Ryanair: Ok sir, that will incur a €30 student travel levy.

seand
20/01/2015, 8:33 AM
Ryanair to Kazakhstan anyone? The mind boggles.

Congratulations to Ryanair for infiltrating both the transfer rumours and European football threads. Michael O'Leary would be proud.

PartySaint
31/03/2015, 11:44 AM
A fairly significant jump in prize money this year. From RTE:

SSE Airtricity League sides competing in Europe are set for a greater financial reward after a new prize money agreement was announced by the European Clubs Association and UEFA today.Clubs have agreed to distribute revenue from the Champions League and Europa League more evenly from next season.
The Europa League prize money will increase by 65%.
The announcement comes amid concerns that the gulf between Europe's richest clubs and the rest is widening, with the result that both domestic leagues and the Champions League itself are becoming increasingly repetitive and predictable.
St Patrick’s Athletic secured €375,000 in prize money last year following their Champions League campaign which ended against Legia Warsaw. This year, Dundalk will now secure a minimum of €550,000.
The participants in qualifying rounds of the Europa League received a minimum of €120,000. Dundalk, Derry City and Sligo Rovers banked €250,000 after progressing to the second round of the qualifying last year.
Entrants this year will receive a minimum of €200,000 and €410,000 if they reach the second round. The third round would yield a total of €630,000.
"ECA and UEFA have together developed a revolutionary distribution mechanism for the Champions League and Europa League, aimed at sharing the competitions' revenue growth more evenly among European clubs," ECA and UEFA said in a joint statement.
"A record funding pot of €2.24 billion (per season) will be divided with a new focus on solidarity," they added following an ECA meeting in Stockholm.
"A greater proportion of funds than ever before will go to UEFA Europa League participants, to participants in the qualifying rounds and to clubs in medium/smaller championships.
"The concept means more funding for all, because the new percentage-based system ensures that every stakeholder will benefit proportionally from the competitions' continued growth."
Dundalk are set to represent the Republic of Ireland in the 2015/2016 Champions League qualifying rounds.
Cork City, St Patrick's Athletic, Shamrock Rovers will enter Europa League qualifying. UCD could also feature through the fair play entry.

White Horse
31/03/2015, 11:56 AM
Great for the clubs involved.

It creates a huge competive advantage for the teams that have qualified for Europe.

seand
31/03/2015, 11:58 AM
Huge money. The difference between finishing third and fourth (or fourth and fifth) is now a minimum 200k. Dunno if it encourages sustainability.... if you're in the mix in July you'd be crazy not to go spending an extra 10-20k on wages chasing Europe!

PartySaint
31/03/2015, 12:00 PM
Over 1 million in prize money alone for getting through 2 rounds. Huge money for a LOI club

Djm1901
31/03/2015, 1:41 PM
The FAI could use this as an opportunity to re weight the domestic prize money, lessening the money they give to the top 4 and instead using it to make the first division cheaper and more accessible.

El-Pietro
31/03/2015, 1:55 PM
The FAI could use this as an opportunity to re weight the domestic prize money, lessening the money they give to the top 4 and instead using it to make the first division cheaper and more accessible.
"Prize Money" is a laughable term regarding the LOI. You can't call it that if it costs the clubs more as a group then they get back. Where does the sponsorship money go?

orielabu
31/03/2015, 2:17 PM
According to the UEFA Statement:

"Furthermore, the distribution to national associations and/or leagues will no longer be exclusively based on their market value, but 60% of the available amounts will be distributed in equal shares amongst all national associations and/or leagues and only 40% will follow the market value. This will ensure a fairer distribution of solidarity amounts to European clubs."

This surely means a big hike in the FAI cut. Surely some of this should be put into the League prize fund, and preferably loaded away from the top clubs.
BTW, where will the LOI Fair Play League be found. Someone post a link?

31/03/2015, 2:29 PM
Mad to think people (not Rovers fans) were predicting we'd dominate the league after the €1m-ish boost from qualifying for the Europa. Now that's the minimum guaranteed total pot.

mcgonigle
31/03/2015, 2:53 PM
Think of all the crisps and soft drinks we can buy :cool:

seand
31/03/2015, 3:04 PM
More importantly we should be able to buy the league title... again ;-)

gufcfan
31/03/2015, 3:58 PM
Anyone have any idea how the payments to clubs who don't qualify for Europe might change?

31/03/2015, 3:58 PM
Great for the FAI, they can start claiming how great a state the league is in and that clubs have made a huge jump in combined profit this season over the league as a whole.

31/03/2015, 3:59 PM
Anyone have any idea how the payments to clubs who don't qualify for Europe might change?

http://gifsec.com/wp-content/uploads/GIF/2014/04/Sick-Laugh-GIF.gif

orielabu
31/03/2015, 4:04 PM
"Anyone have any idea how the payments to clubs who don't qualify for Europe might change?"
From todays UEFA statement:

Solidarity payments to clubs not qualified for UEFA club competitions
The solidarity payments to non-participating clubs via their national associations and/or leagues, formerly amounting to 6.5% of the UEFA Champions League clubs’ share, will now represent 5% of the overall gross revenues of the two competitions. A total of €112m will be distributed to national associations and/or leagues for their clubs, compared to €82.4m in the 2012-15 cycle, thus representing an increase of more than 35%. 80% of this amount will be distributed to national associations and/or leagues with at least one club participating in the UEFA Champions League group stage and 20% to national associations and/or leagues without participating clubs. Only clubs not participating in the group stage of either competition will be entitled to a share of these solidarity payments.
Furthermore, the distribution to national associations and/or leagues will no longer be exclusively based on their market value, but 60% of the available amounts will be distributed in equal shares amongst all national associations and/or leagues and only 40% will follow the market value. This will ensure a fairer distribution of solidarity amounts to European clubs.

gufcfan
31/03/2015, 4:10 PM
From todays UEFA statement:

Will have to wait and see how much it goes up by though. The overall figures obviously show a significant rise, but how it will be shared out in Ireland won't be clear until the time comes. Galway United don't get any of it, but I was just curious.

orielabu
31/03/2015, 4:15 PM
How does a club become a beneficiary? What LOI clubs benefitted last year and by how much? Is there a sticky finger at the FAI level?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
31/03/2015, 5:57 PM
Looks like we picked a bad year to give up qualifying for Europe

gufcfan
31/03/2015, 6:00 PM
How does a club become a beneficiary? What LOI clubs benefitted last year and by how much? Is there a sticky finger at the FAI level?

What I understand is that all clubs benefit in some way, except Galway FC, but I don't have any specifics.

31/03/2015, 7:00 PM
Something to do with clubs' underage structures I believe.

31/03/2015, 7:01 PM
Something with clubs' underage structures I believe.
It'd be great craic if Salthill and Mervue were getting Galway's share. So I hope it's true.

gufcfan
31/03/2015, 7:08 PM
It'd be great craic if Salthill and Mervue were getting Galway's share. So I hope it's true.

Funny you should mention it...