View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2015
10/07/2015, 10:54 AM
Fair play to the Rebel Army who sat through the game in Iceland.
Caulfield and the players should club together and refund the money it cost them.
Caulfield should assume full responsibility for the muck that was on display in Iceland last night and issue an apology to every fan that travelled. The players can only do what their told really, and it was clear that even they were frustrated with how things were going.
paykanti
10/07/2015, 1:16 PM
http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/news/newsid=2263993.html
:cool:
10/07/2015, 3:32 PM
Just getting back my senses now after a half decent sleep. That 4 hours, and a bit, early train back to Basel from Lux this morning was a killer!
But it was worth all the effort. The moment the ref blew the final whistle was fantastic, great craic, immense joy and what a relief. That was a very long second half, plus the 5 added on as well!
Cracking start for UCD, but the game plan went astray once Coyne was sent off. His tackle was a bit reckless, but I think a red card was very harsh. With him UCD would have coasted this game, without him it was a struggle
Both goals near the end of the first half were very disappointing. The first Dudelange goal was like in slow motion, he got so much space and got to pick his spot, the second was comical, from a throw in where everyone for UCD fell asleep, a simple free header.
Wasnt looking good for the second half.
But they held out, I dont know how they did, but they did.
The UCD support was great too, for a small bunch they made a lot of noise.
Would love to go to Slovakia, but 1) wife would kill me, and 2) a tall ask to get more time off work!
But I will have a quick look for Bratislava or Odd to at least see if its doable!:)
Edit: some photos
http://www.footballfans.eu/img?f=5400731&w=600&h=275http://www.footballfans.eu/img?f=5400739&w=1410&h=714
PartySaint
10/07/2015, 3:56 PM
Delighted for UCD.
The less said about Pats the better
cestlavie
10/07/2015, 10:17 PM
Cork were just awful. 1 nil up against ten men. Terrible management, only started to play in second half of extra time when they should have been well beaten at that stage. It was an embarrassment for the league. Negative, hopeless tactics, horrible defending. I was sorry to have sat through it. They owe the fans who travelled an apology. Bennet & Murray were brutal.
Obviously one of two of the players were nowhere near match fit. You take boys like Healy & Garnor out of that team & it is a pretty ordinary team. You could through the Dennehy's in their but we wont go into that. O'Sullivan & Morrisey worth a mention too.
Real ale Madrid
10/07/2015, 11:14 PM
Cork were just awful. 1 nil up against ten men. Terrible management, only started to play in second half of extra time when they should have been well beaten at that stage. It was an embarrassment for the league. Negative, hopeless tactics, horrible defending. I was sorry to have sat through it. They owe the fans who travelled an apology. Bennet & Murray were brutal.
Obviously one of two of the players were nowhere near match fit. You take boys like Healy & Garnor out of that team & it is a pretty ordinary team. You could through the Dennehy's in their but we wont go into that. O'Sullivan & Morrisey worth a mention too.
Well that's life I suppose cestlavie.
10/07/2015, 11:32 PM
Ahh lads this is very good.
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/14664/postcard-from-the-students-trip-to-luxembourg/
Also congrats to UCD boss Collie O'Neill who made it back to Holles Strret hospital at 5am in time to see his son born.What a day that man had.
Collie @collieoneill (https://twitter.com/collieoneill) 17h (https://twitter.com/collieoneill/status/619396347972685828)17 hours ago (https://twitter.com/collieoneill/status/619396347972685828)
Carl O'Neill born at 5:40am, so good of my wife to hold on till I got back from Luxembourg
11/07/2015, 7:51 AM
Ahh lads this is very good.
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/14664/postcard-from-the-students-trip-to-luxembourg/
Also congrats to UCD boss Collie O'Neill who made it back to Holles Strret hospital at 5am in time to see his son born.What a day that man had.
This has made the BBC now:
http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/33482889
11/07/2015, 12:44 PM
Dont know what t make of this BATE lot. 5-0 up then collapsed, ended 5-3 but they could have chucked that lead away compeletly.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HV2AqgFVJRw
11/07/2015, 1:03 PM
This has made the BBC now:
http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/33482889
Oh really? Made the BBC you say?
https://c1.staticflickr.com/7/6167/6178224175_568b4890d8_b.jpg
11/07/2015, 3:08 PM
https://41.media.tumblr.com/93efb13cbfd09ddba0bd54be3a8ef218/tumblr_nrbwjbw8KP1sjrwvho1_r1_540.jpg
Made an auld UCD thing for the week that's in it..
D24Saint
11/07/2015, 3:38 PM
Will tickets for the UCD game go on general sale.
11/07/2015, 5:03 PM
Will tickets for the UCD game go on general sale.
Students and lecturers only.
El-Pietro
12/07/2015, 1:31 AM
Just home in the last hour or so.
At 1-0 up, with an away goal in the bag, and the opposition down to ten men we were through. At half time we had it in the bag, and I was glad I had told my dad to book my flights to Norway if it came to it. Sure they were better than us, but they had 10 men and had to chase the game. Thats the easiest situation in the world to face. Get the ball down, pass it wide and stretch them while looking for a second goal to kill the tie completely. Then, even if they do get a goal back you have them run ragged and getting the winner should be easier.
I don't know did he sent them out to sit on the edge of the box, is that what they heard, or are they ignoring him but in all three scenarios John Caulfield is responsible.
Its devastating, and we were all extremely angry on Thursday. Still, its an improvement on our last away trip....
A few thoughts from the game. We were vocal for most of the game, and spent that time supporting our team, occasionally asking the home support if they were going to wake up and do the same. Gary Martin however seemed to take this personally and decided to celebrate their winner vehemently right in front of us for no real reason. It was as if we had spent the previous 2 hours berating him. We were all perplexed as to where this vitriol had come from but never mind.
It must be extremely easy to support KR. They have 26 titles and 4 cups. They were as silent as any team I've come across, bar the occasional chant, and a minute or two of noise after each goal. Yet despite this lack of support, the home players gave them a standing ovation after the final (final) whistle. Odd.
Edit: I'm the bearded idiot in the puffin hat in the second picture. I think I'm lying on the ground with my foot stuck in a seat in the first. Ended up 5 or 6 rows forward of my starting position.
Very honest summing up EL P, you said it, these guys were indeed there for the taking and your manager has to take full responsibility for not dealing with the situation, never mind exploiting it. Very disappointing.
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/07/2015, 1:55 PM
At 1-0 up, with an away goal in the bag, and the opposition down to ten men we were through. At half time we had it in the bag, and I was glad I had told my dad to book my flights to Norway if it came to it. Sure they were better than us, but they had 10 men and had to chase the game. Thats the easiest situation in the world to face. Get the ball down, pass it wide and stretch them while looking for a second goal to kill the tie completely. Then, even if they do get a goal back you have them run ragged and getting the winner should be easier.
I don't know did he sent them out to sit on the edge of the box, is that what they heard, or are they ignoring him but in all three scenarios John Caulfield is responsible.
Its devastating, and we were all extremely angry on Thursday. Still, its an improvement on our last away trip....
A few thoughts from the game. We were vocal for most of the game, and spent that time supporting our team, occasionally asking the home support if they were going to wake up and do the same. Gary Martin however seemed to take this personally and decided to celebrate their winner vehemently right in front of us for no real reason. It was as if we had spent the previous 2 hours berating him. We were all perplexed as to where this vitriol had come from but never mind.
It must be extremely easy to support KR. They have 26 titles and 4 cups. They were as silent as any team I've come across, bar the occasional chant, and a minute or two of noise after each goal. Yet despite this lack of support, the home players gave them a standing ovation after the final (final) whistle. Odd.
Edit: I'm the bearded idiot in the puffin hat in the second picture. I think I'm lying on the ground with my foot stuck in a seat in the first. Ended up 5 or 6 rows forward of my starting position.
When 10 Scandinavians act professional and respectful always trust the Englishman to let the side down.
disgruntled
12/07/2015, 3:30 PM
Very good summing up of the game El P.
It was soul destroying watching it.
I felt very sorry for the fans who made such a great effort to get there to support the team.
They must feel rightly let down.
Martin has probably waited for the chance to celebrate a goal in front of English or Irish fans since he left Middlesbrough.
He has the typical story that a lot of young professionals in the UK could tell. Plenty of money & too much time on their hands.
He's had an excellent scoring record since moving to Iceland. Over 50 goals in 90 games.Wish we had someone like that.
Voted best foreign player in Iceland last season.
He claims the KR fitness coach is a genius.
I think that showed the other night.
So much talk about being JC fit :rolleyes:
12/07/2015, 9:52 PM
Just back in the door from Luxembourg now.
I don't think any post as yet has captured the sheer impossibility of what we achieved on Thursday.
Almost a dream start - booking for them for a foul on the edge of the box in the first minute; could even have been a red. But we skied the free.
On 15, our keeper had a brain fart - came for a through ball and then retreated. F91 rounded him, and rolled the ball right along the face of goal, narrowly missing both posts. A minute later, we were ahead.
Coyne's challenge was silly - a bad touch and he lost possession, then went in too recklessly to make amends. Didn't see the ref had any choice. Up to then, it had been similar to the first leg - they were better, but we were ahead and coping well.
Off comes a mid, on comes a defender. Sit and clench for an hour. Then they seemed to elbow Langtry in the face - only a yellow. Team furious. I thought it might have been accidental and maybe a yellow was correct - but they were a physical team, shall we say. There was another potential red card for them later in the half.
To concede two goals just short of half time - 42nd and 47th minute - was sickening. First a 30-yard thunderbolt. Then we collapsed. Long throws into the box were bouncing in the area. We couldn't clear our lines. A second came with a short-range header. Half time and still ahead - but clearly we weren't going to score, and clearly they were. All over really.
They hit the bar on 50, and then just kept coming at us in waves. We had literally no outlet up front. Heck, we could barely reach their half. Our clearances were rushed and panicky. But Corbet in nets was playing an absolute blinder. Saving everything that came his way. One of their players was even giving out about it. Told him he was too good; should be a professional. Though he got booked on 52 for time-wasting. It started early!
But it was attack v defence. Literally. We'd clear - Swan flicked on to nobody, and they started again. We had nothing. It was utterly incessant. But around 65/70 minutes, we suddenly saw the end. And they were running out of ideas. Their crosses were awful - we cleared everything. Their shots were all from distance - and Corbet was on fire. They split the defence once and once only - Corbet saved one-on-one. There was scrambles and blocks and everything you could imagine - but no goal.
Then disaster - we won a corner. Got a bit ahead of ourselves; put people up for it. Boyle got a header, put it wide, injured himself. I think Dudelange should actually have kicked the ball out for a corner just to entice us forward and create a chance of a counter. And we spent about five minutes of the second half down to nine men - injuries to Boyle, Leahy and Swan. Swan went off with cramp - ran himself into the ground. Leahy went off after being cleaned out by a Dudelange player again.
But by 80 minutes, some of the locals were cheering for us. There was a growing sense in the whole ground that this was an exceptional performance. It was still attack v defence, but every time we cleared, a cheer went up. Every time they shot wide, it was like a goal. We actually got forward a slight bit more, but we were playing a 6-3-0 formation - both wingers were basically full-backs.
5 minutes of injury time - got through them safely. Then a sixth. They got past both our left backs and pulled a shot back - shot was blocked, scrambled and eventually cleared. Final whistle.
Never seen a game like that. Ever. We were dead and buried after they scored twice just before half-time. Yet we won. That 62 v 38 possession stat is nonsense btw. At least 80 v 20 in the second leg. And 90 v 10 in the second half of the second leg. Not exaggerating.
The maddest thing is that their budget is €2m a year. Their top-paid player is on €7,500 a week. There's no way we should have been able to get a draw off them in either leg, let alone knock them out with 10 players.
Looking at Slovan - and they ain't great. 1500 average crowds. Easily beaten by BATE last year. Beat Rovers' record for the worst ever Europa League group stage performance last season. Finished third in the league with a GS of +7 and 20-odd points off the top. There's a lot harder draws we could have gotten. You never know. :)
disgruntled
12/07/2015, 10:42 PM
Sometimes fairy tales come true & guts & bravery are rewarded.
All I can say is very well done & good luck in the next round.
I wish we had the same application in our games against KR.
There's a huge difference between defending because you have to as against defending because your manager wants to.
TheBoss
13/07/2015, 1:14 AM
In case people are wondering, BATE v Dundalk (Wednesday, July 15) will be shown Live on БЕЛАРУСЬ 5 (Belarus 5), coverage starts at 18:25
gufcfan
13/07/2015, 1:37 AM
In case people are wondering, BATE v Dundalk (Wednesday, July 15) will be shown Live on БЕЛАРУСЬ 5 (Belarus 5), coverage starts at 18:25
What channel is that on UPC?
13/07/2015, 7:12 AM
Last few seconds of the Dudelange game on Thursday.
Includes one last chance for them, after which the final whistle goes.
FKWvvZSeRkw
13/07/2015, 11:34 AM
Second leg of Slovan v UCD confirmed for the UCD Bowl with a 6pm kick off - maybe to avoid using floodlights?
First leg this Thursday at 8:15 local time.
D24Saint
13/07/2015, 11:49 AM
I'd be surprised if Setanta didn't pick up the Dundalk game from local TV.
13/07/2015, 1:27 PM
Second leg of Slovan v UCD confirmed for the UCD Bowl with a 6pm kick off - maybe to avoid using floodlights?
First leg this Thursday at 8:15 local time.
Probably to guarantee the use of the Bowl, floodlights might not meet UEFA standard for this round. Tickets available for the second leg? At a 6pm kick-off, I may make a trip up to that.
Yossarian
13/07/2015, 1:31 PM
Probably to guarantee the use of the Bowl, floodlights might not meet UEFA standard for this round
Were the floodlights used in the 1st round? The ground requirements are the same for the first two rounds in Europe. It only changes from the 3rd round.
13/07/2015, 1:44 PM
Were the floodlights used in the 1st round? The ground requirements are the same for the first two rounds in Europe. It only changes from the 3rd round.
Just shut up.
13/07/2015, 2:21 PM
Well if its not to do with floodlights it may have Slovak TV in mind, which might earn an extra few quid for UCD? Bratislava is an hour ahead so maybe.
13/07/2015, 2:35 PM
As an aside I see that Slovan were beaten by BATE is the CL play-off round last season.
Yossarian
13/07/2015, 4:09 PM
Just shut up.
No need to be narky, it was a genuine question.
13/07/2015, 4:23 PM
No need to be narky, it was a genuine question.
Sometimes hard to type sarcasm. :ball:
I got it if that's any consolation? :cool:
13/07/2015, 4:53 PM
I got it if that's any consolation? :cool:
Yay! My faith in Dundalk and it's people has somewhat been restored.
13/07/2015, 5:10 PM
As an aside I see that Slovan were beaten by BATE is the CL play-off round last season.
Yup; I mentioned that above. They don't seem any better than LoI champion standard tbh. So for us, that's tough (because we're not at title level obviously), but it gives us a genuine chance (because we've caused plenty of problems for top LoI teams, even in recent years - granted, more often than not, we've been soundly beaten)
Get an early away goal, a red card for them, a slice of luck (have we any left?), and you never know...
I think we could then be seeded for the third round draw, which would make that a piece of cake.
Final's in Basel, yep?
Yossarian
13/07/2015, 6:02 PM
My sarcasm detector is on the blink at the minute!
ger121
14/07/2015, 7:11 PM
Crusaders pull one back in Albania. 2-1 to Skėnderbeu.
MeathDrog
14/07/2015, 7:31 PM
Fc Midtjylland only beat the Gibraltar champions 1-0 at home.
Dundalk fan having visa problems at Lithuania/Belarus border.Dont know the full details,anyone hear what happened ?
14/07/2015, 10:16 PM
Dundalk fan having visa problems at Lithuania/Belarus border.Dont know the full details,anyone hear what happened ?
Fan or Fans? It wouldnt surprise me if at least one didnt realise a visa was necessary. At least the team got going after an initial delay.
14/07/2015, 10:18 PM
Fc Midtjylland only beat the Gibraltar champions 1-0 at home.
Grrrrr what a draw that would have been and in a lovely city!
14/07/2015, 10:20 PM
Fan or Fans? It wouldnt surprise me if at least one didnt realise a visa was necessary. At least the team got going after an initial delay.
Just searching around having a look to see what i can find;
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96239724&postcount=350
15/07/2015, 12:41 AM
Im sure it was an entirely sobering experience for the fan involved! Back to Vilnius and watch on the box...
Cant work out what exactly you're saying here Nesta but should we be looking for some cryptic message hidden in your reply?
Conroy
15/07/2015, 7:20 AM
Big day for Dundalk FC.
BATE Borisov are a massive test, their record speaks for itself. Hopefully the tie is still alive come 8pm this evening!
colonelwest
15/07/2015, 10:38 AM
It was Danny, Dundalk heads would know him well. No mention of if he had a visa or not but border control wouldn't let him into Belarus, tore a page out of his passport and he's ended up staying in Lithuainia before getting a flight home tomorrow. He had travel issues getting to Luxembourg last year, barely getting there for the game! By the sounds of it either he had no visa or his passport was in bits/ out of date or something. A pity for the lad but jaysus, rule one if you're heading away is you make sure all your bits and bobs are in order!
15/07/2015, 1:39 PM
By the sounds of it either he had no visa or his passport was in bits/ out of date or something. A pity for the lad but jaysus, rule one if you're heading away is you make sure all your bits and bobs are in order!
Obviously a bit late at this stage, but he could have flown to Minsk and got a visa at the airport instead. Few of us done that last year when we had Soligorsk.
Whole handling of a process and six hours of my life I'll never get back, mind.
15/07/2015, 3:07 PM
Rule Number One:
Spell check before printing.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CJ9pawTUkAAuPuE.jpg
15/07/2015, 3:11 PM
Cant work out what exactly you're saying here Nesta but should we be looking for some cryptic message hidden in your reply?
I may have been a bit unfair in my smart a*sed comment. I could though have envisaged gang of lads quite beered crossing in to Belarus after the trip from Vilnius, cans of harp and flares in every pocket. Its a pity for Danny as one thing is for sure is that he is a passionate and dedicated Dundalk fan if maybe a bit naive at times. There are probably a few not so likable chaps who will be at the game with no bother at all. If they tore a page out of his passport its likely that he did have a visa and they took the page that was stamped. Either the passport was falling apart or it is that it is old enough he was about Ten in the photo and it wasnt accepted. Either way I probably shouldnt have been so presumptious!
15/07/2015, 3:15 PM
Rule Number One:
Spell check before printing.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CJ9pawTUkAAuPuE.jpg
Oh dear! Y'ed think the printers would have pickedd that up...
15/07/2015, 3:25 PM
I hope those two typose were as intentional as that one! :eek:
Was going through the Slovak squad and saw no-one of any great concern - then it pointed out to me that Europeans like their big squad numbers, so I now see they've a guy who scored twice against Italy and once against Holland in the 2010 World Cup, and another guy who has 16 goals in 48 games for Hungary.
So the defence will be busy again tomorrow!
Still, believe...
whdbkDA251g