View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2015

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

31/03/2015, 7:27 PM
Funny you should mention it...
Never in doubt :)

sulywaterfordfc
31/03/2015, 7:28 PM
Do UCD still have a chance of getting into the Europa qualifiers do anyone know? Haven't heard anything about it in ages.

31/03/2015, 7:28 PM
Yeah I'd heard that before re Salthill and Mervue. Nice little consolation for them.

31/03/2015, 8:50 PM
Do UCD still have a chance of getting into the Europa qualifiers do anyone know? Haven't heard anything about it in ages.
Next update is April 30th. Won't know until then. Nowhere tracks it

orielabu
31/03/2015, 10:16 PM
Party saint..."Over 1 million in prize money alone for getting through 2 rounds. Huge money for a LOI club"
How does over €1 million arise?

gufcfan
31/03/2015, 10:25 PM

If an Irish club got through two rounds of the Europa League qualifiers it would likely top €1m. If Dundalk were to get through in July, it might approach or match that. Rainman above can probably give more specifics.

El-Pietro
31/03/2015, 11:42 PM
If an Irish club got through two rounds of the Europa League qualifiers it would likely top €1m. If Dundalk were to get through in July, it might approach or match that. Rainman above can probably give more specifics.

If St. Pats, Cork City, Shamrock Rovers or UCD were to get through two rounds of the Europa League we would receive €630,000.

01/04/2015, 10:30 AM
Party saint..."Over 1 million in prize money alone for getting through 2 rounds. Huge money for a LOI club"

If Dundalk win their first tie and lose the rest they'll get the following

CL Rd 2 - €300k
CL Rd 3 - €400k
EL Play off - €230k
Payment for not reaching CL groups - €250k

So lose first tie get €550k
win first tie get € 1.18 million

01/04/2015, 10:56 AM
Might even be able to pay for a new pitch.

Sorry, couldn't resist.

orielabu
01/04/2015, 11:12 AM
So, does this mean that a team that advances to CL3 and loses, then moves to the EL Play-offs.

Real ale Madrid
01/04/2015, 11:14 AM
Next update is April 30th. Won't know until then. Nowhere tracks it

The cldraw spreadsheet is after disappearing - have you seen / heard of a replacement?

01/04/2015, 11:16 AM
It's here but without the easy URL

https://onedrive.live.com/view.aspx?resid=4FE4712A1E3EA4FA!175&ithint=file%2cxlsx&app=Excel&authkey=!AOXC9yi0-hN17Z8

orielabu
01/04/2015, 11:17 AM
No, Longfordian, it means we keep the pitch. After all, how else would we get our hands on €550,000 (and maybe €1.2 million)...you don't think it was because we were the best team in the League.

Sorry, couldn't resist.

seand
01/04/2015, 11:29 AM
If Dundalk win their first tie and lose the rest they'll get the following

CL Rd 2 - €300k
CL Rd 3 - €400k
EL Play off - €230k
Payment for not reaching CL groups - €250k

So lose first tie get €550k
win first tie get € 1.18 million

I didn't think you got the 300k for round 2 AND 400k for round 3 for making it to round 3. (I could be wrong) But that'd still be 400+230+250 = 880k for making it through one round

seand
01/04/2015, 11:31 AM
So, does this mean that a team that advances to CL3 and loses, then moves to the EL Play-offs.

Yes. Win one round and you're guaranteed four more games. That was Shamrock Rovers route in 2011... beat Flora CL2, lost Copenhagen CL3, beat Partizan EL playoff

White Horse
01/04/2015, 12:18 PM

We have to replace the pitch for next season so the timing of the increased prize money is great.

This is a purple patch for Dundalk and as the Sligo lads know it doesn't last forever.

Hopefully the club will put the money towards improving Oriel Park and creating a legacy that will last for many years.

01/04/2015, 12:19 PM
The cldraw spreadsheet is after disappearing - have you seen / heard of a replacement?

Mad to see the Welsh Saints almost seeded in the 2nd QR - that would have been some draw (unless you're a Longford fan).

01/04/2015, 12:49 PM
What Dodge said, but just to add that on the Bert Kassies site, there's a list of previous years' Intermediate Rankings (which is what Ireland head at the moment) and the final qualifiers. Generally, it's been the three countries at the top of the Intermediate Rankings that have qualified in the end.

Louth4sam
01/04/2015, 12:53 PM
Mad to see the Welsh Saints almost seeded in the 2nd QR - that would have been some draw (unless you're a Longford fan).

They have the same coefficient as the 17th place team. I wonder how that will work will it be drawing lots to see who is seeded? Would be a fantastic draw for Dundalk with a serious chance of progression and easy trip for fans also

01/04/2015, 2:03 PM
Twas Bohs who lost to TNS, Ted.

01/04/2015, 2:03 PM

Sorry, couldn't resist.
They'll just upgrade to luxury sea salt and cracked pepper crisps.

01/04/2015, 2:08 PM
Probably Dr Pepper or some fancy **** like that for minerals too.

01/04/2015, 2:16 PM
Twas Bohs who lost to TNS, Ted.

Meh! Bohs or Longford look the same to me in my memory, must be the black and red striped jerseys that welsh clubs enjoyed beating. But I will correct myself to Carmarthen, was it 5-1 or 5-0 that loss?

01/04/2015, 3:09 PM
Meh! Bohs or Longford look the same to me in my memory, must be the black and red striped jerseys that welsh clubs enjoyed beating. But I will correct myself to Carmarthen, was it 5-1 or 5-0 that loss?
2-0 at home, 1-5 capitulation away, it's alright, I'm over it by now, keep fishing. :)

01/04/2015, 3:16 PM
I'm bloody well not. Tenth anniversary this year. Must be my lowest single moment following LTFC. Even relegation didn't hurt as much.

01/04/2015, 3:40 PM
I'm bloody well not. Tenth anniversary this year. Must be my lowest single moment following LTFC. Even relegation didn't hurt as much.
Promotion has helped me wipe all the negative bullplop from my former Town supporting life, in saying that, I'd argue the Derry match when someone said that Rovers had scored in the last minute was a pretty horrible experience, much worse than anything the Welsh could throw at us. Sitting in the rain v Cork when we knew we were going to lose the final, and everything else with it, was also much worse..

Look what you've done now, ruined all my progress!

01/04/2015, 4:02 PM
We're going off topic but I'll just say that in hindsight though relegation was a blessing in disguise as there was no way we could have afforded to field a Premier Division side for the next few years without bankrupting the club.

01/04/2015, 4:20 PM
Sorry Longford fans!:p

seand
01/04/2015, 4:39 PM
Don't think TNS will have enough to be seeded this season but it'll be close. I can't see that spreadsheet but I think their 5.575 will be surpassed by 17 others.

Belarus, Croatia, Swe, Fin, Nor, Georgia, Den, Serbia, Azerb [9 teams] already quailfied and higher coef or those teams that can possibly win their league have higher coef. Rom, Bul, Pol, Scot, Israel, Cyprus almost certainly brings it up to 15. I'd expect at least another 2 from Hungary Slovakia Slovenia Moldova Bosnia but it only takes one or two surprise league champions for them to sneak into the seeds.

01/04/2015, 5:59 PM
Impressive Sean knowing the co efficient without the spreadsheet unless you had it stashed elswhere on yer computer.

Celtic Sco1 39.080
APOEL Cyp1 35.460
BATE Blr1 35.150
Ludogorets Bul1 25.350
Legia Warszawa Pol1 24.800
Dinamo Zagreb Cro1 24.700
Maribor Slo1 22.225
Maccabi Tel Aviv Isr1 18.200
Partizan Srb1 14.775
Malmö Swe1 12.545
Qarabag Aze1 11.500
HJK Fin1 11.140
Molde Nor1 10.375
Midtjylland Den1 7.960
Videoton Hun1 7.950
Dinamo Tbilisi Geo1 6.875
Skënderbeu Alb1 5.575
The New Saints Wal1 5.575
Ventspils Lat1 5.350
Dacia Mol1 4.500
Trencín Svk1 4.250
Siroki Brijeg Bos1 4.250
Levadia Tallinn Est1 4.200
Zalgiris Lit1 3.900
Astana Kaz1 3.825
Pyunik Arm1 3.550
Rudar Plevlja Mne1 3.375
Vardar Mac1 3.175
Stjarnan Isl1 3.100
Fola Esch Lux1 2.525
Crusaders Nir1 2.475
Dundalk Irl1 2.150
Lusitans And1 1.666
Hibernians Mal1 1.591

seand
01/04/2015, 6:03 PM
I have my own version cobbled together from Bert Kassies' website to try and see who we might draw. A couple of those below TNS are liable to be overtaken by teams with better coefs. But 1 or 2 could slip behind a team with a lesser coef. TNS have to get through the first round, but that shouldn't be an issue.

01/04/2015, 7:17 PM
I didn't think you got the 300k for round 2 AND 400k for round 3 for making it to round 3. (I could be wrong) But that'd still be 400+230+250 = 880k for making it through one round
You do get that money per round.

seand
02/04/2015, 9:54 AM
You do get that money per round.

So it seems. That's a lot of money to pish away on wages, but we'll give it a go.

colonelwest
02/04/2015, 10:09 PM
So it seems. That's a lot of money to pish away on wages, but we'll give it a go.

Either that or we'll rip up the "plastic" pitch only to pull a swerve and replace it with a Scrooge McDuck vat of €2 coins to annoy everyone even more.

http://31.media.tumblr.com/a6487c623de001bfec9f8fbf88ce6648/tumblr_mlcjmyszR71qjeigjo1_500.gif

legendz
05/04/2015, 9:56 AM
As crazy as it may sound, I think that the Europa League should expand to being a 64 team group stage competition.
CL Q1 Round losers should enter EL Q2.
CL Q2 Round losers should enter EL Q3.
CL Q3 Round losers should enter EL Q4 (as already happens).
CL Q4 losers into EL group stages as already happens.

The national champions of all countries should be guaranteed at least 4 European matches.

Once the group stage starts, no more teams should enter the competition. 3rd placed CL group stage teams should not be parachuting into the EL Round of 32.

Eminence Grise
06/04/2015, 7:53 PM
Nice try, but just not good enough, Legendz.

If only you'd worked 'pyramid' into your thinking, things could have been so different!;)

Nugget
07/05/2015, 11:15 AM
The fair play rankings are expected to be out tomorrow. Would the Europa League spot still be going to UCD? Is it based on last season?

dong
07/05/2015, 7:38 PM
Nice try, but just not good enough, Legendz.

If only you'd worked 'pyramid' into your thinking, things could have been so different!;)

'Pyramid' is soooo Legendz circa 2011.
'Parachute' is the way of the future.

JC_GUFC
07/05/2015, 7:40 PM
The fair play rankings are expected to be out tomorrow. Would the Europa League spot still be going to UCD? Is it based on last season?

Not sure how it works but the hatchet job Ireland did on Poland could well have cost us that place!

07/05/2015, 7:41 PM
The use of invisible hatchets, which seemed to afflict so many of the Poles, was particularly reprehensible.

Real ale Madrid
08/05/2015, 10:21 AM
http://www.uefa.org/social-responsibility/news/newsid=2244170.html

Confirmed that we will have an extra team in the Europa League, UCD look set to benefit.

GCdfc
08/05/2015, 10:25 AM
http://www.uefa.org/social-responsibility/news/newsid=2244170.html

Confirmed that we will have an extra team in the Europa League, UCD look set to benefit.

Incredible that we have an additional place given how many stupid cards referees issue here.

PartySaint
08/05/2015, 10:32 AM
That's brilliant. I fear what might happen to UCD in Europe but feck it

08/05/2015, 10:49 AM
Incredible that we have an additional place given how many stupid cards referees issue here.
I don't think that's relevant - the additional place is on the basis of international games, so not our refs.

Last season of the extra spot for the Fair Play thingy as well. Going to enjoy this one. :)

Slight problem is AC/DC the night before the first game, so if we're away in the arse end of Romania on Thursday evening, it's going to be quite an interesting trip.

We'll get hammered btw. Not really bothered. But the team's gelling the last few weeks, so maybe we'll be able to put up a decent show for a while.

Entirely possible we could play West Ham/Everton or some Dutch team. Possibly even Go Ahead Eagles, the boards.ie adopted "fan" team that inspired the barstool facepalm thread.

Nugget
08/05/2015, 10:51 AM
Great news.

Looks like West Ham are getting the English place. A draw against them would be a real money maker.

08/05/2015, 11:26 AM
Whatever the results for UCD, they'll make a few quid out of it at least. Good to have extra representation in Europe too.

Ezeikial
08/05/2015, 11:49 AM
That's brilliant. I fear what might happen to UCD in Europe but feck it

What will happen.....

UCD get hammered
UCD collect loads of cash
UCD happy

08/05/2015, 12:16 PM
What's the prize money for the first round or the EL?

Can't decide if I want somewhere randomly obscure (in a country I've not been before), a team we could beat (not all that likely, granted...) or a team with a 25000+ all-seater ground.

First world problems, eh? :)

PartySaint
08/05/2015, 1:19 PM
What's the prize money for the first round or the EL?

Can't decide if I want somewhere randomly obscure (in a country I've not been before), a team we could beat (not all that likely, granted...) or a team with a 25000+ all-seater ground.

First world problems, eh? :)

Is the Bowl ok to holder a Round 1 game or will you have to move the game?

08/05/2015, 1:22 PM
We got a UEFA Licence a couple of years ago (we were in the draw to get a Fair Play spot) and we got it on the basis of playing in Richmond Park.