View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2015
ger121
02/07/2015, 7:56 PM
Looking at the stats and matchtracker on UEFA, Cork lucky to be level. Hope they can get the win just so we don't have to listen to Geysir ****ting on about how amaze balls Icelandic sides are.
City seem well on top at the moment, Dan Murray coming on seems to have made a big impact. Just had a goal disallowed for a foul on the keeper and a couple of half chances.
Another few chances and sounds like City denied a stonewall penalty.
02/07/2015, 8:23 PM
It'd be some craic if UCD end up the only Irish side with a win this week.
ger121
02/07/2015, 8:24 PM
UCD hit the post. What a bizarre game
02/07/2015, 8:24 PM
Much better this half. Just hit the bar. They just got booked for a dive in the area. Nerves shot but there's a second in this for us now
White Horse
02/07/2015, 8:29 PM
A lot of humble pie to be eaten following UCD's performance?
1075 at the UCD Bowl according to Goal.ie
4641 for Cork V KR i seen also.
02/07/2015, 8:34 PM
Result!
Result!
Well done you....... and UCD of course ;) .Enjoy
ger121
02/07/2015, 8:37 PM
Result!
Enjoy. That win was a long time coming. Decent record in Europe:)
CuanaD
02/07/2015, 8:39 PM
Great result for UCD - congrats!
Cork & Pats - not so much, but like Shamrock Rovers they are still in their ties
02/07/2015, 8:40 PM
UCD making a big contribution to Irelands coefficient today. Fair play to them, and fair play to the fair play league that has enabled them to play in the first place!
Dalymountrower
02/07/2015, 8:41 PM
Result!
Ad astra! A heartening win , congratulations.
CuanaD
02/07/2015, 8:55 PM
Any guesses what the headlines will be?
"Fair Play to the Students"
"Student's Lux holds out"
"Students Pass First Test"
UCD Bowl over the Dudes"
Any more?
02/07/2015, 9:05 PM
We deserved it in the end too. Much better second half - maybe could have gotten a second which would have given us a proper advantage. But it's far from over; next week will be tough. If we can just snatch an away goal though...
L.T.F.C.
02/07/2015, 9:39 PM
I am delighted for UCD.
Was quite disappointed with that's Pats breakaway that Forrester fluffed, would have buried Skonto. A shame. Still, not a bad result away either. The tie I'd be most worried about is Cork. Hard to go back to Iceland and score. No ties lost just yet!
02/07/2015, 10:19 PM
Cork Fans; Story with the photos of Dennehy fighting with O'Sullivan post match tonight.Photos are all over Twitter.
Wtf happened?
patrickccfc
02/07/2015, 10:35 PM
Don't know what happened tbh but you don't want to see that. A few ****s outside the dressing room chanting **** off back to rovers(dennehy I'd imagine) idiots I'm telling ya
patrickccfc
02/07/2015, 10:38 PM
Will be tough going over there next week obviously would've preferred to not concede the away goal but look it is what it is and we'll have to go over there needing to score at least 1 but I reckon we'll need 2 which isn't ideal. Congrats to ucd by the way
MeathDrog
02/07/2015, 10:50 PM
Was at the UCD game. I must say it was a very enjoyable game. UCD played very well. Were never shaky at the back bar one or two moments and cleared their lines well. Their keeper made a top save second half and a wonderstrike hit the bar too, so it could have been 2 or 3.
Also a mention to the few UCD fans who were chanting. Some very good ones. My favourite was in response to a Dudelange player receiving a yellow for diving: "Same old Dudelagne, always cheating!"
02/07/2015, 11:00 PM
"We love you fair play, we do!"
7 away fans in the end. And fair dues to them for making the trip. Maybe 30 going to Luxembourg, which may well be a record!
Real ale Madrid
02/07/2015, 11:01 PM
Didn't see it myself but Mark O'Sullivan and Billy Dennehy squared up at the end of the game (after Billy made a balls of a late set-piece) squared off, some pushing and shoving, before Darren came in and stuck up for his bro and there was supposedly depending on what you hear punches thrown on the pitch at that stage before broken up.
It was the first tackle I've seen either Dennehy make this season.
Not nice to see but we had a lot of possession in the second half and it was a very frustrating evening all round - hopefully an isolated incident which will cost them all a few bob no doubt.
02/07/2015, 11:07 PM
Was at the UCD game. I must say it was a very enjoyable game. UCD played very well. Were never shaky at the back bar one or two moments and cleared their lines well. Their keeper made a top save second half and a wonderstrike hit the bar too, so it could have been 2 or 3.
Also a mention to the few UCD fans who were chanting. Some very good ones. My favourite was in response to a Dudelange player receiving a yellow for diving: "Same old Dudelagne, always cheating!"
Thanks to the other League of Ireland fans for turning up to lend their support. It's a strange one, a win in Europe but it should have been more. Dudelange really faded in the last thirty minutes and were there for the taking. They felt Premier Division in quality but lacked sharpness. It would be a shame not to go through after such a great start. It'll be a nervy next Thursday.
MeathDrog
02/07/2015, 11:09 PM
Thanks to the other League of Ireland fans for turning up to lend their support. It's a strange one, a win in Europe but it should have been more. Dudelange really faded in the last thirty minutes and were there for the taking. They felt Premier Division in quality but lacked sharpness. It would be a shame not to go through after such a great start. It'll be a nervy next Thursday.
I think they have a great shout. Nick a goal and I don't think they have the quality to score three.
02/07/2015, 11:12 PM
I think they have a great shout. Nick a goal and I don't think they have the quality to score three.
They certainly lacked a cutting edge but whether that's down to lack of guile or lack of sharpness it remains to be seen. To me Benson was the classiest player on the pitch for either side and getting him on the ball is our best chance of nicking something.
02/07/2015, 11:32 PM
Yeah, that's how I see it.
Our defence has almost inherited the knowledge of legions of UCD defenders who've gone beforehand and were entirely comfortable throughout in the air.
Also, though it's 36 degrees in Dudelange tomorrow, the heatwave is to break, and it's forecast to be 18 next Thursday. Handy for us.
Plus, we've now scouted them, so we're even. Before tonight, they'd scouted us, but I don't think we'd seen them - no chance to really.
And we know we can play them now. There's not much to fear, even with 250-odd international caps between them.
Lots of positives, though we may well be outsiders still.
oriel
02/07/2015, 11:45 PM
Is this the first ever win by a FD side in Europe?
02/07/2015, 11:48 PM
LoI First Division? Must be. Did Bray play once after winning the Cup but being relegated? I don't think any other LoI First Division team has played in Europe? Fingal won the Cup as a First Division side, but also got promoted, so were a Premier Division side when playing in Europe (and lost home and away anyway)
In overall terms, Tromso of the Norwegian second flight won 12-1 or something last year - against an Estonian third division team.
Also, Go Ahead Eagles drew 1-1 with Fenerbache tonight. Zoltan Gera scored for Fenerbache. Probably a better result than ours in fairness!
02/07/2015, 11:54 PM
Dundalk did.2002 v Varteks? Dundalk won the cup that year but got relegated.
Varteks beat us 9-0 on agg,home leg was played in Tolka(just checked it)
03/07/2015, 12:25 AM
Don't know what happened tbh but you don't want to see that. A few ****s outside the dressing room chanting **** off back to rovers(dennehy I'd imagine) idiots I'm telling ya
We'd take him back. Most fans didn't want him to go. Some scrotes tried to boo him the first time he came back with Cork and were firmly told to knock it off.
Which only goes to show how heavily they've bought into Cork's strict no fouls policy.
They certainly lacked a cutting edge but whether that's down to lack of guile or lack of sharpness it remains to be seen. To me Benson was the classiest player on the pitch for either side and getting him on the ball is our best chance of nicking something.
They looked like they lacked sharpness but they also looked like they could have gone all night and not scored a goal. With less than an hour gone I was thinking to myself the only way they'll get on the scoresheet is if someone scores an own goal.
Before tonight, they'd scouted us, but I don't think we'd seen them - no chance to really.
Collie said on the radio the other day they'd gotten some DVDs of their last games from last season, but I don't know how much their squad has changed since.
03/07/2015, 12:33 AM
Is this the first ever win by a FD side in Europe?
By a LOI 1st Division team, yeah.
Bray drew 1st leg v Trabzonspor in 1990 but lost 2nd leg
Bray lost twice to Grasshoppers in 1999
Dundalk lost twice to Varteks in 2002
UCD were 4th club to qualify
ATFC-1887
03/07/2015, 12:34 AM
Video of that here
https://www.facebook.com/794855770592670/videos/884000691678177/
TheBoss
03/07/2015, 3:37 AM
Some "Stats for Nerds" after this weeks games: [*Cork City includes data from its previous incarnation]
Cork City
Cork City v KR was the 500th match involving a LOI Side.
Thursday's 1-1 draw was the 30th 1-1 draw at HOME for a LOI side, the most common scoreline at HOME for all LOI sides.
In knockout format, when playing first leg at HOME, Cork City have qualified on 2 occasions ([I]Malmö [SWE] [2004], Apollon Limassol [CYP] [2006]) and been eliminated 6 times.
Cork City's previous trip to Iceland resulted in a 2-0 victory against Valur in 2007, which proved enough to qualify as they lost 1-0 in Turner's Cross in the second leg.
Shamrock Rovers
Shamrock Rovers have now drawn 5 games AWAY, 4 of which have been 0-0.
By failing to score, Shamrock Rovers become the first LOI side not to score in Luxembourg.
This was Shamrock Rovers 12th clean sheet in Europe which now puts them 2nd among LOI sides, they now trail Bohemians. ([I]16 clean sheets)
In knockout format, when playing first leg AWAY, Shamrock Rovers have qualified on 3 occasions (Fram [ISL] [1982], Linfield [NIR] [1984], Odra Wodzisław [POL] [2003]) and been eliminated 9 times.
Since returning to European football in 2010, Shamrock Rovers have only won 3 games from 19, scoring 11 and conceding 30. Their only victory at Tallaght Stadium was a 1-0 win against Flora [EST].
The last occasion on which Shamrock Rovers scored 2 goals in a 90 minute match in Europe was in 2003 against Odra Wodzisław [POL].
St. Patrick's Athletic
St. Pat's defeat ended a run of 5 consecutive matches unbeaten to Latvian opposition, last defeat was in 2008 when Riga [LVA] beat Bohemians 1-0.
On the previous occasions that Latvian teams won either first or second leg against LOI sides, they qualified.
In knockout format, when playing first leg AWAY, St. Pat's have qualified on 6 occasions (Rijeka [HRV] 2002, Olimps [LVA] 2008, Elfsborg [SWE] 2008, IBV [ISL] 2011, Shakhter Karagandy [KAZ] 2011, Široki Brijeg 2012) and been eliminated 10 times.
St. Pat's last victory in Europe was against Široki Brijeg in 2012, they have now gone 7 games without a win in Europe, which is their second worst run, current record is 11 games between 1960 and 2002.
[B]UCD
UCD produced their very first victory in European competition and also became the first ever 2nd Tier LOI side to win a match in Europe.
They now remain unbeaten at HOME in Europe (3 Games).
Currently the only LOI side that concedes on average less than a goal a game in Europe. (0.80; 4 goals in 5 games; 3 clean sheets)
Like its other games in Europe, they played the HOME leg first. (0-0 v Everton [ENG], 3-3 v Velbazhd [BUL])
Also, UCD become the first LOI side to stop a team from Luxembourg scoring in Ireland, as in the previous 3 games they scored 1 goal in each.
[B]
Other
LOI sides have now conceded 999 goals from 501 matches in European competitions, at a rate of 1.99 goals conceded per game.
Since the Europa League began in 2009, LOI sides have scored 38 goals at HOME and 38 goals AWAY.
03/07/2015, 7:16 AM
UCD
UCD produced their very first victory in European competition and also became the first ever 2nd Tier LOI side to win a match in Europe.
They now remain unbeaten at HOME in Europe (3 Games).
Currently the only LOI side that concedes on average less than a goal a game in Europe. (0.80; 4 goals in 5 games; 3 clean sheets)
Like its other games in Europe, they played the HOME leg first. (0-0 v Everton [ENG], 3-3 v Velbazhd [BUL])
Also, UCD become the first LOI side to stop a team from Luxembourg scoring in Ireland, as in the previous 3 games they scored 1 goal in each.
Random other fact - in each of our three European campaigns, we've been drawn against a side from the then or former Czechoslovakia in round 2 (in 1984 I don't think the draw was made before round 1, but in the other two, it had been made). Inter Bratislava in 1984, Sigma Olomouc in 2000 and Slovan Bratislava this time.
In the two previous campaigns, we've hit the woodwork late on in the second leg, which was the difference between qualifying or not in the end.
Nugget
03/07/2015, 8:08 AM
Our defence has almost inherited the knowledge of legions of UCD defenders who've gone beforehand and were entirely comfortable throughout in the air.
That was it for me. The UCD players seemed a lot bigger, yet Differdange kept pinging balls into the box with very little hope of anyone actually getting on the end of them. It took until about 60/70 minutes in for them to start being a bit more clever with the corners. When they worked the ball on the ground they looked alright. Good defensive display from UCD overall though.
That was my first trip down to the Bowl. Great to see them come away with a win.
El-Pietro
03/07/2015, 8:12 AM
Very frustrating night. We started reasonably well but KR gradually started to get control of the game, then we scored almost out of nothing and KR were shell-shocked. It took them a while to deal with the fact that we'd scored but then they got their goal and for the next 5 minutes or so we were under the cosh. They had 3 or 4 chances that just flashed wide
Second half they started bright but didn't do much with it, and then we made some changes, Sully on for Flynny and bizarrely Dan for Colin Healy, needless to say this shocked everyone, even those of us who have seen him play there before away to Bray and Derry. Sully was bulling for a fight almost right away and he got in a few elbows and that when going for headers. Dan was outstanding. He was breaking up play, winning interceptions, and getting attacks started.
Then he went up for a corner, there was somewhat of a scramble and he got his head to it, not a great connection but it looped towards the keeper who made the catch but was struggling for balance. I've seen this a thousand times and as he fell I just assumed he was gonna be able to keep it out of the net, but slowly he fell towards the net and brought the ball with him, we heard the whistle and started to go mad before we realsied the ref was pointing for a free. I have no idea if this was warranted or not, a friend of mine suggested that hed fallen over his own defender.
Not long later a ball comes into the box from the right hand side, and a KR defender blatantly shoves Sully into his back with no regard for the ball. I've seen photographic evidence taken from behind that goal, theres no way it was anything but a penalty.
Overall I'd say we left it behind us, and they will take us in Iceland. But we're still in the tie. KR are a serious team, they are as strong and physical as us but they have two or three really good footballers. Schoop (20) and another player 22 who scored really stood out.
Just to clarify, I of course meant a LOI FD side. Knew it had to be a first. I was at tolka in 2002 to watch a terrible Dundalk side complete an aggregate hammering against Vartecks. It was hard to believe we won the FAI Cup 4 months earlier in the same ground.
Massive well done again to UCD last night.
Very frustrating night.
Overall I'd say we left it behind us, and they will take us in Iceland. But we're still in the tie. KR are a serious team, they are as strong and physical as us but they have two or three really good footballers. Schoop (20) and another player 22 who scored really stood out.
Sounded like you had a right go, with a disappointing result, how would you rate this outfit compared to a side in our league EP? Would they be top 4, or was it more you just couldn't break them down?
Straightstory
03/07/2015, 9:17 AM
Truly a great result fro UCD. When you consider they're a first division side and the Luxembourg team have three internationals, it's remarkable. Really well done.
Real ale Madrid
03/07/2015, 9:36 AM
Sounded like you had a right go, with a disappointing result, how would you rate this outfit compared to a side in our league EP? Would they be top 4, or was it more you just couldn't break them down?
Defo top 4 because we didn't win. :( Think Shamrock Rovers without the fans.
El-Pietro
03/07/2015, 9:55 AM
They'd be a solid LOI side. They wouldn't dominate the league but they'd be competing for trophies. They weren't as comfortable against us as Dundalk were earlier this season like. I feel like we could take them on our day whereas after that Dundalk game I felt like there was nothing we could have done on that night to get a victory.
03/07/2015, 9:59 AM
Looking at the stats and matchtracker on UEFA, Cork lucky to be level. Hope they can get the win just so we don't have to listen to Geysir ****ting on about how amaze balls Icelandic sides are.
First division Thor 5 Bohs 1 should have answered any questions in an emphatic manner. What does it take for that penny to drop?
Just humbly accept your lot couldn't pass mustard, then you won't have to listen to me rubbing it in :) and you won't be waiting in vain, hope against hope that an outdated, dying LOI club model can overcome a modest club who have spent years painstakingly overhauling and developing their academy and have successfully blended in the technical with the valued traditional character qualities. When they come here, will anyone from Cork City be remotely interested in how this extended academy structure functions, the quality of the coaching, how it's financed and see what they can learn from it?
It was a reasonable result for KR. Cork still have a flicker of hope. The return game will be played at the club "stadium" which has about 1700 seats. That's what the membership want, instead of playing it at the 10,000 seater national stadium. But usually all visiting fans are catered for, even if their numbers are greater than the minimum allocation.
No fighting on the pitch please, we bring our women and kids to games and don't like to expose them to that sort of langer activity.
Real ale Madrid
03/07/2015, 10:20 AM
First division Thor 5 Bohs 1 should have answered any questions in an emphatic manner. What does it take for that penny to drop?
Thats like saying LoI > Scottish Prem because of Derry 5 Super Gretna 1
The return game will be played at the club "stadium" which has about 1700 seats. .
Johnny C. won't be happy with that - he is on record saying that we struggle in places like limerick in front of a few hundred to raise our game after big nights at the cross!
disgruntled
03/07/2015, 10:25 AM
Didn't see it myself but Mark O'Sullivan and Billy Dennehy squared up at the end of the game (after Billy made a balls of a late set-piece) squared off, some pushing and shoving, before Darren came in and stuck up for his bro and there was supposedly depending on what you hear punches thrown on the pitch at that stage before broken up.
Not nice to see but we had a lot of possession in the second half and it was a very frustrating evening all round - hopefully an isolated incident which will cost them all a few bob no doubt.
Disgraceful behaviour from the players concerned.
Pity some of them couldn't show the same level of aggression against the KR players during the game.
Hope the manager comes down on them hard.
Yes we had a lot of possession in the second half but we have no creativity at all in midfield.
The only time any of our central midfielders got into the KR box was when Healy headed the ball back to O'Flynn in the second half.
We're slow & predictable right throughout the team.
We have too many players living on past glories.
Well done to UCD on a great win for them.
El-Pietro
03/07/2015, 10:26 AM
Just humbly accept your lot couldn't pass mustard,
Firstly, its "muster", not mustard, I think we have the ability to pass mustard, I don't know what dietary issues you have.
https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/pass_muster
KR are a decent side, I think we realsied that before the game, but they aren't spectacular by any stretch of the imagination. If we played 10 times Id expect them to beat us maybe 6 out of 10. They wouldn't beat Dundalk I don't think, though Dundalk are a special team.
We've now played Icelandic opposition 3 times, we have one win, one draw and one loss. And we should have had a clear penalty in the draw, so on balance theres not much of a difference between us and the Icelandic league. Theres no need to be so condescending.
Spudulika
03/07/2015, 10:35 AM
LoI First Division? Must be. Did Bray play once after winning the Cup but being relegated? I don't think any other LoI First Division team has played in Europe? Fingal won the Cup as a First Division side, but also got promoted, so were a Premier Division side when playing in Europe (and lost home and away anyway)
In overall terms, Tromso of the Norwegian second flight won 12-1 or something last year - against an Estonian third division team.
Also, Go Ahead Eagles drew 1-1 with Fenerbache tonight. Zoltan Gera scored for Fenerbache. Probably a better result than ours in fairness!
I have to check, but a few years ago I was working at a game when we played a Swedish 2nd Division team in the Europa League. They wore black and yellow and had been awarded a Fair play place also. Were pretty poor though, but they'd won a couple of rounds to meet us.
Solid results from 3 of the Irish sides and even Pats are well in with a shout. Just annoying to see a former client play well against Pats (Smirnovs). He's a bit of a headcase and had trials in England, Germany and here in Russia, but being a giant of a man had him thinking he just had to turn up and stand in one position. played well last night.
PartySaint
03/07/2015, 10:50 AM
Went down to the Bowl last night. Great game. UCD had their backs to the wall at times but Dudelamge didn't create too many clear cut chances, especially in the second half. The 2 UCD centre halves were fantastic.
Even tho Swan scored he was chasing shadows all night, I felt a bit sorry for him up there with no real support most of the time. I fear for UCD in the second leg but hopefully they can nick a goal and see what happens.
oriel
03/07/2015, 11:18 AM
They'd be a solid LOI side. They wouldn't dominate the league but they'd be competing for trophies. They weren't as comfortable against us as Dundalk were earlier this season like. I feel like we could take them on our day whereas after that Dundalk game I felt like there was nothing we could have done on that night to get a victory.
Fair enough, that was probably one of the best display by us in two years in April. Just on your euro match, it's still not over, you'll have a chance, just need to score first over there though, however the advantage is unfortunately with them for now.
Hibs4Ever
03/07/2015, 11:22 AM
I have to check, but a few years ago I was working at a game when we played a Swedish 2nd Division team in the Europa League. They wore black and yellow and had been awarded a Fair play place also. Were pretty poor though, but they'd won a couple of rounds to meet us.
Hacken? Thay qualified for Europe a few years ago, same season they got relegated