View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2015

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

L.T.F.C.
09/07/2015, 5:36 PM
Hold on UCD!

09/07/2015, 5:37 PM
Ah lads, I'm stressed out watching this craic on flashscore, Elfsborg are right below Dudelange in the match list, and they keep scoring.

MeathDrog
09/07/2015, 5:38 PM
Ah lads, I'm stressed out watching this craic on flashscore, Elfsborg are right below Dudelange in the match list, and they keep scoring.
This is torture alright. 10 more minutes...

09/07/2015, 5:40 PM
Exact same! Switched to Bet365 then dangerous attack nearly gave me a heart attack...

09/07/2015, 5:44 PM
Now Gabala, right below Elfsborg scored, ah jeasus, my heart.

paykanti
09/07/2015, 5:46 PM
They'll ****ing concede in stoppage time [/reversejinx]

MeathDrog
09/07/2015, 5:48 PM
Added time. Here we go..

Edit: 5 minutes of added time. Sweet Jesus.

DannyInvincible
Incredible effort. Is it over yet?

What would a Rovers fan know about football:p
Five minutes to be proven right :p

paykanti
09/07/2015, 5:52 PM
Finished. Scenes. Absolute and utter scenes. Sign Damien Duff with your winnings on a 3-month contract, lads.

MeathDrog
They did it!! FT!!

L.T.F.C.
Yessssssss! Come on!

'AV IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Time to get on the cheap Ryanair flights to Bratislava.

SPXcyan
Haha no way!! I must be dreaming haha

DannyInvincible
09/07/2015, 5:53 PM
Phew! UCD through. Brilliant to hang on in light of the circumstances.

09/07/2015, 5:53 PM
41 attempts on goal, 14 blocked and 12 saves from the keeper. Balls of steel, mountain of men, pints will be had tonight, RAHOOOO RAHHOOOOOOOO RAAAAAAAHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOO

09/07/2015, 5:54 PM
Brilliant result for UCD.My heart was in my mouth for every second of that 2ND HALF,just over the moon for yee.
G'wan the STUDENTS!!

ForzaForth
09/07/2015, 5:54 PM
Congrats, UCD.

09/07/2015, 5:55 PM
Yeo! Hon the students! Well done UCD!

MeathDrog
09/07/2015, 5:56 PM
Two teams through out of two. Needless to say it's the first time ever a First Division team has qualified through a round in Europe. Historic day.

Fester
Brilliant result for UCD! Fair play :-) great stuff!

DannyInvincible
Mad stats:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CJfZ9SiWgAAwxxz.png:large

09/07/2015, 5:57 PM
Great stuff. Do we know who they play next?

shep
09/07/2015, 5:57 PM
Well done UCD ...brilliant result considering the circumstances,now best of luck to Pats and Cork

Straightstory
09/07/2015, 5:58 PM
Thrilled. Well done UCD!

ger121
09/07/2015, 6:00 PM
Excellent result to hold on like that with 10 men. Irish clubs never do it the easy way. 2 down, 2 to go!

09/07/2015, 6:00 PM
Great stuff. Do we know who they play next?

Slovan Bratislava. Bit tougher I'd imagine!

They're currently 8-0 on agg, v a Gibraltar team.

09/07/2015, 6:01 PM
Any ideas what that does for the country co-efficient? If all four sides are through after tonight, do we jump up the rankings Wales style?

09/07/2015, 6:01 PM
Fair play to UCD.

09/07/2015, 6:03 PM
Great stuff. Do we know who they play next? Bratislava ? i'm guessing though.

09/07/2015, 6:06 PM
Some people criticise the LoI 'love in' this time of the year. I enjoy the sense of comradery and was genuinely nervous for the second 45 of that game. Dont think my heart would hold out if a similar scenario plays out over the next 2 weeks!!

paykanti
This better produce some Guardian articles on UCD and ****. Well worth it.

Outstanding stuff! Had a quick google on second tier teams getting through rounds. Can't find much; a Europa League first?

Fair play to UCD.

Red Card for that too!!!

09/07/2015, 6:07 PM
UCDs game v Athlone this Sunday has been postponed as a result of their progression.

09/07/2015, 6:09 PM
Any ideas what that does for the country co-efficient? If all four sides are through after tonight, do we jump up the rankings Wales style?

They lost tonight so nothing I assume. Of course they could get points in the next round.

09/07/2015, 6:09 PM
Outstanding stuff! Had a quick google on second tier teams getting through rounds. Can't find much; a Europa League first?

Karl Reilly on Twitter always spot on with stats says:

Karl Reilly ‏@HistoryLOI (https://twitter.com/HistoryLOI) 9m (https://twitter.com/HistoryLOI/status/619204545831391232)9 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/HistoryLOI/status/619204545831391232)
UCD are the first League of Ireland First Division club to win a game and a tie in Europe. Bray Wanderers (twice) and Dundalk both went out

09/07/2015, 6:10 PM

a quarter of the total for what is so far 2 wins (1 point in total i think) and 2 draws (.5) and what happens later so feck all.

.25 + .125 so a whopping .375 I shall assume 2 wins later so could be nearly .6 on the national co-efficient. I am probably entirely wrong!

09/07/2015, 6:17 PM
Does progression into the next round not add to co-efficient at all or is just singular results?

09/07/2015, 6:19 PM
Well done UCD. Brilliant result and effort!!

Giz a lend though would ye?

MeathDrog
09/07/2015, 6:21 PM
It's a shame that the magnitude of this result will go over the Irish public's head. For a very young team with no European experience to hold out like that for over an hour away from home is just something else. Everything was pointed towards UCD going out, we all thought at half time they were going to be battered. Well done to them.

IrishRossi
09/07/2015, 6:22 PM
great result for ucd hopefully more irish progress later this evening

09/07/2015, 6:30 PM
Fantastic. Been reliant on live texts from Pineapple Stu while sitting at work. Went through the full range of emotions from thinking it was in the bag to being certain we'd go out by half time. That nets the club another €210k on top of the €200k for qualifying. Going by the crowd at the 1st leg the Bowl should sell out for the second leg. Thanks for everyone's well wishes and you're all welcome to attend the 2nd round. ;) Hopefully the other Irish sides can follow ourselves and Rovers though.

patrickccfc
09/07/2015, 6:34 PM
Absolutely delighted for ucd, a man down for so long and to hold on is just brilliant to see. Hopefully ourselves and pats get through too, although the closer it's getting to our game the more doubtful of progression I feel but hopefully I'm wrong

placid casual
09/07/2015, 6:39 PM
I got home thinking all games were on at 8 tonight -(I should really pay attention a bit more!) , so hadnt realized the UCD game was already over.
Great aggregate victory for them , and a nice bit of cash to keep the wolf from the door. bratislava will bring a few fans over,thats for sure!

I'll have to try and make it over to the bowl for the 1st leg, as i only live a 10 min walk from the ground.(im assuming it wont be on same night as the Hoops)

Well done again, to the students.

DannyInvincible
09/07/2015, 6:42 PM
Anyone got a stream for the St. Pat's game?

disgruntled
09/07/2015, 6:44 PM
Incredible result for UCD.
Well done. You did the country proud.
Come on City & Pats, follow that :encouragement:

09/07/2015, 6:50 PM
Does progression into the next round not add to co-efficient at all or is just singular results?

Well to lose both legs and go out is 0 points. a draw in Europa league is .25 and a win .5, So for UCD to gain any more points they would have to get a result. UCD have gained .5 for their home win and the league gets .125 or something fairly paltry like that. It rewards individual clubs more rather than a league. So West Ham entering at the same point as UCD etc even though the EPL is a strong league. Celtic were moaning about having to go through 3 rounds in the CL even though they were recently in the last 16. But they are actually complaining about a system that would benefit them as they dont have to heavily rely on the lack or Rangers or other Scottish clubs performing to improve their seeding. It is mainly based on their own results so they can only look to themselves to improve their entry round.

Yossarian
09/07/2015, 7:04 PM

To put it simply, I think that the individual clubs coefficient is based on their progression through a round and the national coefficient is based on actual results of each particular game.

paykanti
09/07/2015, 7:05 PM
Anyone got a stream for the St. Pat's game?

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/st-pats-live-commentary

Not televised I don't think.