View Full Version : The John Delaney Thread
24/11/2014, 10:55 AM
The video is an embarrassed to the FAI. They should sack Delaney and replace him with Bono.
24/11/2014, 11:33 AM
Fair point, but probably lots of capable candidates who'd do the job for a quarter of his money...
I would!
quarter of his money is about 75k a year. There's people with similar positions to mine on money like that, I wouldn't trust them as CEO of their own car, never mind the FAI!
ArdeeBhoy
24/11/2014, 12:03 PM
Aye, but would you trust a certain CEO with a car, especially given their certain weaknesses...
24/11/2014, 12:10 PM
It should be a well paid job, just not an extremely well paid job. Sports administration typically isn't a very well paid career, with only the CEO of a decent sports organisation capable of earning what a mid-ranking 35 year old lawyer or banker might earn for example. I saw a sports recruitment (pan-European) salary survey over here a few years ago and JD would have been off the charts. My guess is that your man Regan at the SFA is on about GBP 125k a year.
I think a salary of about EUR 200k p.a. would be a good salary for the CEO position that would attract an experienced sports administrator from the UK, Australia (where sports governance is taken very seriously) or elsewhere in the anglosphere. If JD was to go the FAI CEO role should not go to a FAI insider in my opinion although I suspect Sarah O'Shea is next in line. Rumour has it she does most of the nitty gritty anyway.
I think JD has brown-nosed UEFA well -up to a point* - and winning the Euro games in 2020 was a feather in his cap. The initiatives to bring football to deprived areas and improve relations with the Gardai etc are brilliant. Credit where it's due. But no matter how hard working he says he is, his salary grates at many people's sense of decency especially when the perception is that the institution is an inefficient collective of stale vested interests resistant to progress. Footy is the working man's game and that kind of money is well out of the reach of his constituents. Blazer culture dominates the organisation as evidenced by the extension of the retirement age to 75.
Parts of the game are in crisis. Rightly or wrongly football is overshadowed by other sports. Meanwhile JD swans about town like a Celtic Tiger era property developer socialite, planting PR pieces about his personal life (good luck to him on that front, everyone deserves the right to be happy) and allowing himself to be filmed regularly singing while drunk. It's not so much himself he is letting down, it's us, the guys who have to put up with all kinds of criticism and patronising guff for loving our game and our teams.
* if I was in his shoes and as well connected within UEFA as he is I'd be lobbying hard for a policy unit to be established in UEFA to explore ways of empowering the lesser footballing nations.
ArdeeBhoy
24/11/2014, 12:24 PM
Without demeaning Stutts, for example, you could do a better job, on half the money or less...
25/11/2014, 7:35 AM
Irish Times reports JD singing republican ballad in pub last week.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/fai-silence-on-video-of-john-delaney-singing-republican-ballad-1.2013711
maybe he's just trying to get extra publicity for the England game, to sell tickets?
25/11/2014, 9:16 AM
The depressing banality of a trivial pursuits pc purge.
Perhaps he was also having a drink in said pub.
Did he wash his hands after using the toilet?
kennedmc
25/11/2014, 9:16 AM
Freeing up €300k a year may make a significant change in grassroots level.
it is not just his inflated salary though. Do we know what his annual expense account is? Does he have a pension entitlement?
I dread to think. The letters / words CRC, pensions and sense of entitlement come to mind.
Junior
25/11/2014, 9:24 AM
Front page no less.
This buffoon needs removing from his role. Not for singing a republican song but for his consistent demonstration of his inability to lead our footballing body. If he wants a z-list celebratory lifestyle, then let him have it as the former FAI CEO.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B3PnFLFCEAAKnJy.jpg
kennedmc
25/11/2014, 9:28 AM
On pat kenny you show now with his partner.
25/11/2014, 9:29 AM
As I said elsewhere:
Well down the list of things to criticize him for.
Not really much of a story, but hey, if it gets blown up and causes him trouble and makes him quit, then colour me outraged.
25/11/2014, 10:11 AM
quarter of his money is about 75k a year. There's people with similar positions to mine on money like that, I wouldn't trust them as CEO of their own car, never mind the FAI!
He's one of the highest paid CEO's in world football. Something doesn't sit right with me on that.
He's described the League of Ireland as a 'problem child'. Yet..most people with problematic children actually do something about it. He was nowhere to be seen when Dundalk won the league title, he was nowhere to be seen at the FAI cup final. He doesn't exactly cover himself in glory when it comes to footballing matters, yet he's Mr.Popularity when it comes to away days with the Irish team.
Real ale Madrid
25/11/2014, 10:23 AM
Reports* now that he has "broken down" on the Plank Kenny's radio show on Newstalk ? Anyone listening - is it all getting too much for Poor John?
* - its on twitter like....
ArdeeBhoy
25/11/2014, 10:23 AM
Wouldn't say he was too popular with the vast majority of Ireland fans at away games. More likely someone would try to stick one on him if he dared show his face...
Delaney courts celebrity status in those bizarre pieces in the Sunday Independent and elsewhere and then acts hurt when footage emerges of him singing an IRA song in a pub beside the Aviva on the night of an Ireland game.
None of this reflects very well on his judgement. Meanwhile the Irish game remains a mess, with no proper structure, far too few qualified coaches and a senior game that has lost over 10% of its clubs in recent years. (22 clubs previously but now at 19)
kennedmc
25/11/2014, 10:32 AM
Reports* now that he has "broken down" on the Plank Kenny's radio show on Newstalk ? Anyone listening - is it all getting too much for Poor John?
* - its on twitter like....
I heard it. Of course some cynics out there will say its a pathetic attempt to divert attention from the sing song and to court favourable PR and public opinion regarding the ( in poor taste) comments posted on another forum re his partner.
I wouldn't say that though.
25/11/2014, 10:38 AM
i see he has tried to drag the players into it by reference to the singing of sean south. didn't he also drag another FAI employee into the scotland ticket mess?
a bit pathetic really
Deckydee
25/11/2014, 10:50 AM
Why cant these guys (incl Roy Keane) stay in the back and stay quiet out of the way? Why are they all such attention seekers? Who knows the CEO of the SFA or FA? Why always us?
The FAI is such a sack a sh!t really when compared to the GAA and IRFU.
25/11/2014, 11:28 AM
It's always appeared to me that he liked the idea of a big profile but the only downside with that is that you are then a marked man.
So 'he's going with a young wan' as Dunphy would say. Why the hell was that even mentioned in the news? Who cares? Instead of trying to increase your profile and getting your name in the paper focus on your job. Can you imagine other CEO of other countries slugging pints, singing songs and trying to be mates with fans? It's just not professional.
If his 'partner' has been getting abuse online then that is not on, not sure why she has been targeted?
25/11/2014, 11:28 AM
The FAI is such a sack a sh!t really when compared to the GAA and IRFU.
the GAA and IRFU have their problems too. try dealing with the IRFU for away tickets as a regular away traveller..... would make the FAIs policy look the fairest on earth
Bosco
25/11/2014, 11:31 AM
The most irritating thing is that he is once again in the news for something so trivial yet still refuses to answer any of the questions asked by him of Irish football fans. What was the purpose of his interviews yesterday?To talk about the incident in the Bath?Was there any mention of the protests last week?
I don't have a particular problem with this latest incident but I think the fact that a few hours before that, he got the guards and stewards to kick out Irish fans for trying to have a peaceful protest, only to head to the pub after without a care in the world to belt out a few rebel tunes a bit rich.
I've lost count of how many of these ridiculous interviews he's done recently with journalists that haven't a clue, dodging any potential tough questions by blabbering on about his personal life. He's in the media as he is the CEO of a Football Association but doesn't seem to have any interest in discussing football.
It's quite clear that he craves media attention and seems to have found himself his very own publicist in that clown Barry Egan. His article yesterday is one of the most ridiculous thing I've ever read.
http://www.independent.ie/style/celebrity/celebrity-news/the-edge-john-delaney-and-emma-english-heating-up-marbella-30764240.html
Junior
25/11/2014, 11:37 AM
PR machine in full flow now.....JD looking for the empathy vote.
He never wanted his relationship in the public eye......well apart from the centre page spreads in the weekend supplements.
He then denies singing the song with the full weight of his legal team behind him......Only to then admit to it and apologise with a "sure don't the team sing them as well". He doesn't half like to ensure his team cop the flak as well in true leadership fashion......you know the "someone took their eye off the ball" ticketgate response.....
http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/nov/25/fai-john-delaney-apologises-singing-pro-republic-ballad
The podcasts will be up shortly I imagine with his teary eyed interviews...
http://www.rte.ie/radio1/today-with-sean-o-rourke/podcasts/
http://www.newstalk.ie/player/shows/The_Pat_Kenny_Show
DannyInvincible
25/11/2014, 11:55 AM
He never wanted his relationship in the public eye......well apart from the centre page spreads in the weekend supplements.
Weren't they together on the Brendan O'Connor Show a while back too?
DeLorean
25/11/2014, 11:57 AM
They were, and she called him a big teddy bear. I wouldn't believe it if I didn't witness it.
25/11/2014, 11:58 AM
There are already lots of videos taken with phones of JD singing while drunk in pubs. He has to know to expect that videos will be taken of him, sly or not sly. He is a well known public figure. Part of his job is to portray a good image of Irish football and to manage relations with the IFA over sensitive matters, rspecially when they are accusing us of sectarianism / apartheid. His judgment in the run up to the Scotland game was questionable and his judgment in constantly being seen drunk is also questionable, especially singing songs that have political overtones. He is fully entitled to his political views but he should keep his preferences to himself. Singing republican songs in public with England due to visit Dublin 19 years after a highly politically charged atmosphere is foolhardy.
This incident by itself could be dismissed as a storm in a teacup but when thrown into the mix of his salary, his securing a 6 year contract extension, the increased retirement age for blazers and other catastrophic governance issues and his craving for publicity just adds to the sense of dissatisfaction. The image he portrays of the organisation that represents our game and our interests is regressive to say the least.
Junior
25/11/2014, 1:18 PM
Ah we have it now lads, Brian Warfield on Joe Duffy discussing the meaning behind his song Joe McDonnell...:D I hope he criticises JD for destroying what is a great ballad.
EDIT: he wasn't impressed with the singing but he did give him 10/10 for effort!
IsMiseSean
25/11/2014, 1:38 PM
He is such an embarrassment to Irish football...
DeLorean
25/11/2014, 1:40 PM
John Delaney’s €360,000 Salary More Offensive Than Any Republican Ballad (http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2014/11/25/john-delaneys-e360000-salary-more-offensive-than-any-republican-ballad/)
IRISH football fans have confirmed that John Delaney’s exorbitant salary of €360,000 is far more offensive than any rendition of a republican ballad.
With the Irish national team ranked 61st in the world behind heavyweights such as Cape Verde Islands, Albania, Trinidad and Tobago, Togo, Mali, Panama and Guinea, supporters would sooner question if Delaney is worth the money he is paid than admonish him for a poor rendition of a song in a pub.
More controversial than torturing bar regulars with his shrieking is the fact that fans were kicked out of the Aviva during Ireland’s recent match against the USA for protesting against Delaney’s leadership. Those protesting were seeking answers regarding the FAI’s dysfunctional ticketing policy for away matches.
Delaney had responded to the FAI fiasco which left many season ticket holders without tickets for the Scotland match in Glasgow by choosing to blame the Scottish FA for the FAI’s mistake, labeling them ‘a joke’.
According to the FAI’s latest accounts from 2013, the organisation is as much as €50 million in debt and provides next to no support for the League of Ireland competition.
Some fans have noted their disgust at the fact prize money afforded to the winners of the competition is significantly smaller than Delaney’s salary, despite the serious need clubs have for vital income to pay staff and stave off bankruptcy on a yearly basis. In fact total prize money for the league is less than Delaney’s salary.
Delaney’s level of pay is more unpalatable than a song about hunger strikers when it’s noted the FAI’s youth football policy amounts to handing out last minute free tickets to children when overpriced international match tickets fail to sell to a public unwilling to overpay.
“I don’t mind him singing some ****e song, but it would be great he tried to craft a 23 man squad out of players coached in Ireland in their youth rather than relying on English clubs to bail us out,” explained passionate fan Eddie Grogan.
Delaney, however, has always insisted he is worth his pay, his belief reportedly coming from his desire to not being paid a penny less.
25/11/2014, 2:09 PM
Solicitors were instructed to deny it was Delaney (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/solicitors-were-instructed-to-deny-video-showed-john-delaney-1.2014408)
There is a whole plethora of questions around that. Threaten Guardian(and other outlets....) and then come out and admit it.
GypsyBlackCat
25/11/2014, 2:29 PM
Ah sure didn't he buy us all a pint after Spain hammered us and he was too hung over to deal with the Monaghan United thing the next day!!!
If the man had any pride he'd step down. Not just over the song but the state of game in Ireland.
eekers
25/11/2014, 3:09 PM
He's never gonna leave the FAI.
People need to boycott Ireland games until he resigns.
Income from internationals is only thing the FAI cares about.
Unless someone organises this he'll still be here in ten years.
Junior
25/11/2014, 4:30 PM
Solicitors were instructed to deny it was Delaney (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/solicitors-were-instructed-to-deny-video-showed-john-delaney-1.2014408)
There is a whole plethora of questions around that. Threaten Guardian(and other outlets....) and then come out and admit it.
Another OG by John and the FAI - Come out denying it was him and threatening legal action if it is reported/not pulled - then 48hrs later admitting to it and apologising? I am past caring about what specific issue it is that brings about change in the FAI (all the legitimate areas of concern are ignored by mainstream media, FAI governance, politicians etc..) so if its something as daft as this, so be it.
25/11/2014, 4:47 PM
Was interesting I was listening to something on the radio related to some form political adviser to Gordon
Brown and he was making the point that is it is not usually the initial incident which gets you, rather the
attempted cover up.
However having said that I don't think the attempted cover up here will be his undoing, I don't think
he took it far enough. Had he persisted with the denial he could have dug a really big hole for himself,
however he seem to have avoided that dead end, or so he will hope.
Mr_Parker
25/11/2014, 5:57 PM
Do the FAI normally pay out for their solicitors to work on behalf of their staff for matters arising in the staff members personal life?
Mr_Parker
25/11/2014, 6:04 PM
Football fans in the North are struggling with this bit of the statement:
"and have worked tirelessly through my role at the Football Association of Ireland to strengthen links between communities on this island, north and south."
Anyone throw any light on this tireless work and give some examples of the strengthened links between communities?
25/11/2014, 6:15 PM
Did he buy ye any cans?
Mr_Parker
25/11/2014, 6:21 PM
No but one fan did think the cross community work he was referring to "Taking players born in Northern Ireland, who previously represented Northern Ireland youth teams into the fold?" ;)
25/11/2014, 6:52 PM
Maybe we both dislike him? That's kind of unifying.
(Serious answer of course is nothing springs to mind)
Drumcondra 69er
25/11/2014, 8:06 PM
Few thoughts on the whole debacle. It's been strange watching the swing the last couple of days of the moral high ground for want of a better expression. Obviously as fans we had it following the heavy handed response to the protest at the US game last week. This changed a bit last night with the utterly stupid posts having a pop at his bird, I appreciate it was only a few but they were up for far too long and was an og in terms of the YBIG reputation as our name was dragged through the mud in a lot of the media, especially the O'Brien press. However, Delaney has now scored and even more spectacular og by instructing his legal team to deny it was him, it's embarrassing behaviour and indicative of the arrogance of the man and has completely surrended the initiative despite him still trying to spin the cyber bullying angle every chance he gets in an utterly shameless manner. It was some comments on a message board, it wasn't her Facebook or Twitter account that people were posting on, however stupid it was.
As for the song, I've no issue with rebel songs and anyone who knows me can vouch for many I've sung on trips during the years. However, what I do have a problem with is the consistent oafish behaviour of a man who is pulling in a salary of nearly €400k while running the FAI as a personal fiefdom and overseing debacle after debacle whether that's with the LOI, schoolboy football, issue of tickets etc. A man in his position should not be filmed getting carried shoulder high off a train while full of ****, carried shoeless and shoulder high while full of **** or singing what is clearly a contentious song for someone who has to deal in their job with associations from the North and England, let alone the Scots. If he wants so badly to be one of the lads then fine, jack it in and let someone who can carry themselves with the decorum that the CEO of a major sporting organisation earning his salary should do. He should not be splashing his new relationship all over the media, making documentary's that Alan Partridge would probably reject or having gushing articles from that f**kwit Barry Egan all over the gossip pages in the Sindo. How ironic that it was Egan rabbitting on about that sing song in the Bath that encouraged Emmet Malone to push to get the story published. Fair dues to Emmet by the way, a good journo and has come across very well on the radio today. The Delaney statement is as hamfisted and embarrassing as I'd expect.
I can't see him being sacked over this though, people need to understand that John Delaney IS the FAI these days. He's surrounded himself with cronies and acolytes, all of whom earn their bread through his say so. The only way he's going over this is if he decides the heat has got too much and resigns. He's the same brass neck as his old lad, he didn't lick it off a stone. Now, if another story was to break then it might be a different story but I think he'll ride this out.
As for the usual halfwits on YBIG trying to defend his behaviour, the mind boggles but looking at the posters involved I shouldn't really be surprised.
25/11/2014, 8:13 PM
No but one fan did think the cross community work he was referring to "Taking players born in Northern Ireland, who previously represented Northern Ireland youth teams into the fold?" ;)
Delaney doesn't realise he doesn't have to defend his choice of folk tunes and is all too worked up over how he's perceived in some plastic universe, but not where it matters, the football universe. Yet Delaney on an average day, ran rings around the IFA's finest. For years he represented the FAI on the eligibility issue with a restrained, informed and appropriate dignity, compared to the rabid ignorance, bigotry and downright condescension, emanating with bullhorn amplification from the IFA brethern.
I would have assumed that Delaney's reference to cross community work was ignoring all that overt IFA bigotry and ignorance and focussing on cooperation with the IFA with whatever they cooperate upon :)
Spudulika
25/11/2014, 8:34 PM
LOI over (no club bankrupt), International team signs off on a win (despite the best efforts to cause a fuss), editors tell their hacks to find something to write about other than a 1 team league, and the FAI again deliver. Very depressing.
DannyInvincible
25/11/2014, 9:13 PM
Football fans in the North are struggling with this bit of the statement:
"and have worked tirelessly through my role at the Football Association of Ireland to strengthen links between communities on this island, north and south."
Anyone throw any light on this tireless work and give some examples of the strengthened links between communities?
Well, we are the only cross-border all-island team. ;)
Did he buy ye any cans?
Cans of worms, maybe... :p
Coverage of this on Newstalk from 32 minutes. Both journos raise a lot of questions: http://www.newstalk.com/player/listen_back/10/14522/25th_November_2014_-_Off_The_Ball_Part_1
25/11/2014, 10:25 PM
I think this has mileage. This is different to other JD critical pieces.
25/11/2014, 10:38 PM
Is the cyber trolling of his partner just a deflection / smokescreen?
It is totally moronic that anyone's family should be subjected to abuse.
25/11/2014, 10:40 PM
Is the cyber trolling of his partner just a deflection / smokescreen?
Of course it is. Not that it's in any way justified.
Mr_Parker
25/11/2014, 10:42 PM
Interesting comparison
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sport/football/scottish_premier/357392.stm
Crosby87
25/11/2014, 10:47 PM
I forgot the internet existed in 1999. Must have been the AOL days.
25/11/2014, 10:49 PM
I'm not sure it's really valid at all to compare this situation with one in a culture where violent sectarianism has been endemic for decades. The difference in context between a rebel song being sung in a pub in south Dublin and a Rangers FC function in Glasgow or Northern Ireland is massive. Joe McDonnell isn't a sectarian song in itself, nor is the Sash, but in a specific context it is. And this isn't one.
25/11/2014, 10:50 PM
Interesting comparison
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sport/football/scottish_premier/357392.stm
What's the comparison? what are you alluding to?