View Full Version : The John Delaney Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

23/03/2019, 4:57 PM
Dan McDonnell suggesting there's doings a-transpiring too

Cathalsmart
23/03/2019, 5:01 PM
Hoping it’s JD resigning but that feels too good to be true...

23/03/2019, 5:02 PM
Yup. Would be too easy.

Real ale Madrid
23/03/2019, 5:41 PM
https://youtu.be/vrQFBYgwQW8

Cathalsmart
23/03/2019, 6:01 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/TheOpelJersey/status/1109526860206170112

Okay my optimism is increasing by the minute!

23/03/2019, 6:14 PM
my guess is a pre-emptive two fingers to the oireachtas committee with a new contract for jd..

Cathalsmart
23/03/2019, 6:20 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/noriordan/status/1109530940332744704

He might not have much of he scoop but just a warning that we shouldn’t be getting our hopes up!

Deckydee
23/03/2019, 6:23 PM
Is John getting a raise :o)

Real ale Madrid
23/03/2019, 6:33 PM
https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1109537731846262789?s=19

23/03/2019, 6:33 PM
Now...

The Fly
23/03/2019, 6:43 PM
Probably as treasurer.

23/03/2019, 6:50 PM
So he gets to go on even more jollies abroad? Hard life in the 5* hotels, ‘networking’ and blagging all the expenses.

Takes some BALLS but fair play.

23/03/2019, 6:50 PM
Him staying on means nothing will change. It's like Putin resigning as President of Russia

23/03/2019, 6:51 PM
Executive Vice-President:

CEO John Delaney to take up new roleThe Board of the Football Association of Ireland has adopted a review of its senior management structure that will see Chief Executive Officer John Delaney move to a new position of Executive Vice-President with immediate effect.
Chief Operating Officer Rea Walshe has been appointed to the role of Interim CEO by the Board as the recruitment process begins for a new Chief Executive Officer.
The report was commissioned in February and carried out in recent weeks by sports governance expert Jonathan Hall Associates and their principal Jonathan Hall who is a former Director of Governance and Director of Football Services with the English FA.

SwanVsDalton
23/03/2019, 7:10 PM
Just in case anyone's curious as to what this new role is supposed to be...

The report states: “The new role of Executive Vice-President would be a specific defined role with responsibility for a range of international matters and special projects on behalf of the FAI. It is envisaged that the current CEO would step into this new role. This would allow Irish football to continue to benefit from his extensive football experience and contacts across Europe and the rest of the world.”

The responsibilities of the new Executive Vice-President include all FIFA and UEFA matters including membership of the UEFA Executive Committee, all FAI tournament bidding projects, international relations and support, the John Giles Foundation, membership of the Board of the Aviva Stadium, planning for the centenary of the FAI and the 50th anniversary of women’s football in Ireland in 2023 and a bid to host the UEFA Women’s Champions League final in Dublin.
The new Executive Vice-President will also work on special projects as agreed by the Board and the new Chief Executive and will be available to the CEO for assistance.

Also an acknowledgement of a tough fortnight from JD...

This past fortnight has been very difficult for me on a personal and professional level and I would like to thank the Board and my work colleagues across the FAI for their support. In recent days I have received many messages of support from the family of football, from many of the 2,000 clubs I have visited in my role as CEO and from the world of politics and sport which I am grateful for.

23/03/2019, 7:16 PM
Just in case anyone's curious as to what this new role is supposed to be...

Also an acknowledgement of a tough fortnight from JD...

What the hell do we
Need a ceo for then?

23/03/2019, 7:19 PM
Is this going to mean another big salary for a bankrupt organisation?

23/03/2019, 7:25 PM
The job entails him travelling around the world talking ***** with other administrators who are probably paid one tenth what he will be on.

He’ll be put up in 5 star hotels and wheeled out for any photo ops to do with Euro 2020.

A social NETWORKER. God how rotten to the core is the FAI to do this? Create a new post for a guy who should have been kicked to the curb years ago.

23/03/2019, 7:31 PM
All this fannying about with makey-up titles, they should just get it over and done with and make him FAI President for Life, now.

I'm disappointed in John, I thought he'd ride out this storm. Regardless, he'll still want to live the dream of leading his the team out onto the Lansdowne Rd pitch at Euro 2020

Deckydee
23/03/2019, 8:00 PM
Goodbye John. We will always have this > https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1_608jb1RE

and this for that matter > https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=affbvK4UZgc

What a disgrace and good riddance!

Diggs246
23/03/2019, 8:01 PM
If you have seen the movie "casino" then you will understand he is still in charge and his title is irrelevant

23/03/2019, 9:28 PM
so he keeps doing the stuff like dining with fifa and uefa that he loves and is even more removed from his problem areas like the loi. he sees the fai the same way that fingers fingleton and sean fitzpatrick viewed the banks they ran... its just their to serve him

23/03/2019, 10:37 PM
https://static.simpsonswiki.com/images/4/4a/CanaryTree.png

24/03/2019, 8:07 AM
Little excerpt from the Sunday Times article for you all to enjoy.

https://i.gyazo.com/7ff786633d66a128f35b2b06ae082132.png

Image of full article. (https://imgur.com/a/YUd6dGY)

24/03/2019, 12:29 PM
The FAI is now transformed into an association of some disclosure, with a press statement on the goings on being issued on the hour, every hour.

Nathan Murphy saying on Newstalk that in order to have a senior Uefa appointment, you pretty much have to be employed in a senior role with your FA.
That could be one motive to create this new position. It's of some advantage to the FAI to have Delaney appointed at UEFA, where it appears he fits in.

gastric
25/03/2019, 2:27 AM
According to the Indo, his new salary is purported to be 120000 euros and the incoming CEO will not be paid the same salary as John. Probably because no one can work as hard as John. If you were from another country reading this, you would say this is why Irish football could be considered a joke.

25/03/2019, 6:02 AM
So he's completely voluntarily taken a 67% pay cut? And this almost straight after the 100k revelations that he spent 50k in legal fees trying to hide.

Seems legit

25/03/2019, 8:55 AM
It's is the big unknown - why the determined costly effort to cover-up?
Perhaps he believed he had enough evidence to prove his case in court.
But once he threatened legal action against the Guardian about naming him as the man who was filmed singing a dodgy ballad.
He had no case, he was the guy who did the deed, he was filmed, he was shown the evidence.

Whatever Delaney is, it's not borderline.

25/03/2019, 11:14 AM
So he's completely voluntarily taken a 67% pay cut? And this almost straight after the 100k revelations that he spent 50k in legal fees trying to hide.

Seems legit

His FAI fee was €360,000 (plus €36000 for rent :-)). And then there's this

Delaney thus retained the senior position within the FAI without which he would be unable to continue as a member of Uefa’s executive committee, work for which he earned a salary of €160,000 last year.
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/ken-early-john-delaney-s-rolls-royce-running-out-of-road-1.3837230

Meaning Delaney took in €396,000 from the FAI + €160,000 from Uefa in 2018. So assuming his Uefa fee remains as is, he's still bringing in €120,000 + €160,000 (+ rent :-)).

25/03/2019, 11:25 AM
His FAI fee was €360,000 (plus €36000 for rent :-)). And then there's this

Meaning Delaney took in €396,000 from the FAI + €160,000 from Uefa in 2018. So assuming his Uefa fee remains as is, he's still bringing in €120,000 + €160,000 (+ rent :-)).

its not the biggest sum in this whole fiasco but the €36,000 from rent made my blood boil yesterday. Why on earth should this be covered by the FAI? its not as if he was having to live abroad or anything.

on the face of it it looks like he made this grand (pathetic actually) gesture to deduct 40,000 from his 400,000 salary but then effectively got it back through €36,000 in rent. Id love to know when the rent thing came into being. if it was around the time his salary was deducted by approx. the same amount then he, and the FAI, were conning us.

all the while the FAI were letting go of development officers and our women's team couldn't even be given their own tracksuits!!

Diggs246
25/03/2019, 11:32 AM
its not the biggest sum in this whole fiasco but the €36,000 from rent made my blood boil yesterday. Why on earth should this be covered by the FAI? its not as if he was having to live abroad and its not as if he needs to live in a fancy pad in north co. wicklow when its only him and the girlfriend.

on the face of it it looks like he made this grand (pathetic actually) gesture to deduct 40,000 from his 400,000 salary but then effectively got it back through €36,000 in rent. Id love to know when the rent thing came into being. if it was around the time his salary was deducted by approx. the same amount then he, and the FAI, were conning us.

all the while the FAI were letting go of development officers and our women's team couldn't even be given their own tracksuits!!
"
I would be interested to hear from any Tax experts on this forum, as I would wonder is that 36k deemed "benefit in kind" ( they got Al Capone this way!!!)

25/03/2019, 11:42 AM
Lest we forget this nugget from the man himself:
“I’ve been offered salaries above what I’m paid. I haven’t taken them because I love what I’m doing."
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2014/0717/631385-john-delaney-signs-new-fai-contract/

25/03/2019, 11:51 AM
"
I would be interested to hear from any Tax experts on this forum, as I would wonder is that 36k deemed "benefit in kind" ( they got Al Capone this way!!!)
It would be BIKable, and I'm fairly sure I saw somewhere that he was paying BIK on it (@ 52% presumably). So it was really "only" half-price rent. Barely worth talking about at all!

25/03/2019, 12:07 PM

looks like my suspicions were correct. from SIPTU:

"However, it would now seem to be the case that, in 2016, the FAI decided to reimburse the reduction in its CEO's salary through a payment in kind on a large property.

25/03/2019, 12:10 PM
From SIPTU?

25/03/2019, 12:12 PM
From SIPTU?

the context is the FAI employees that SIPTU represent and pay cuts they endured...

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2019/0325/1038411-john-delaney-fai/

25/03/2019, 12:17 PM
Interesting. I'd say there's a lot of people with grudges against Delaney, and this is the perfect time to air them. Someone has to have a smoking gun - otherwise he wouldn't have stepped aside into a makey-uppey role just to keep UEFA role. Whatever he's hiding is sackable and he knows it.

If he survives the next fortnight, he'll survive anything. He'll be there with the cockroaches and Bray Wanderers in the nuclear winter

25/03/2019, 2:44 PM
Did they interview for this new ‘post’? Who just walks into another job like that? I’m sure a number of people would fancy it.

25/03/2019, 3:01 PM
It would be BIKable, and I'm fairly sure I saw somewhere that he was paying BIK on it (@ 52% presumably). So it was really "only" half-price rent. Barely worth talking about at all!
That sounds so tax inefficient to have to pay 52% tax.
If Delaney has a house out in the sticks (Kerry?), is it not more tax practical for the FAI to pay him the flat rate for travel, day money, meal and accommodation expenses which do not fall under taxable income and would easily cover the Wicklow house rent?

25/03/2019, 3:04 PM
Interesting. I'd say there's a lot of people with grudges against Delaney, and this is the perfect time to air them. Someone has to have a smoking gun - otherwise he wouldn't have stepped aside into a makey-uppey role just to keep UEFA role. Whatever he's hiding is sackable and he knows it.

If he survives the next fortnight, he'll survive anything. He'll be there with the cockroaches and Bray Wanderers in the nuclear winter
Well Bray finally went down so there's hope yet.

Diggs246
25/03/2019, 3:06 PM

Do you have a link where he was stating he paid the benefit in kind tax? I dont believe him

25/03/2019, 3:36 PM
Do you have a link where he was stating he paid the benefit in kind tax? I dont believe him
I'm fairly sure it was in one of the Sunday Times articles; the first one I think. Will have a look later.

That sounds so tax inefficient to have to pay 52% tax.
If Delaney has a house out in the sticks (Kerry?), is it not more tax practical for the FAI to pay him the flat rate for travel, day money, meal and accommodation expenses which do not fall under taxable income and would easily cover the Wicklow house rent?
No - you're paid a salary to travel to work; you can't claim mileage for it.

25/03/2019, 4:20 PM
No - you're paid a salary to travel to work; you can't claim mileage for it.
So he would only be entitled to non taxable day/travel/overnight accommodation flat rate expenses if he for example, travelled up to have his photo taken while standing beside the nameplate of the John Delaney Park in Clones?

25/03/2019, 4:29 PM
Yes, that would be fine

Eminence Grise
25/03/2019, 8:43 PM
[Cue sad violin music and voice-over]

John is 51 and living in sheltered accommodation that he can't afford to pay for himself. He's struggling to get by on a reduced salary of only €120,000pa (plus a UEFA top-up of €160,000). This Lenten season, do what you can

and tell the cheating, lying, corrupt, wh*remongering, dictatorial, narcissistic, Sepp Blatter wannabe, to eff out the door marked 'do one' and take all his $*!%ing blazer cronies with him. Please.
[Music fades...]

gastric
25/03/2019, 10:40 PM
[Cue sad violin music and voice-over]

John is 51 and living in sheltered accommodation that he can't afford to pay for himself. He's struggling to get by on a reduced salary of only €120,000pa (plus a UEFA top-up of €160,000). This Lenten season, do what you can

and tell the cheating, lying, corrupt, wh*remongering, dictatorial, narcissistic, Sepp Blatter wannabe, to eff out the door marked 'do one' and take all his $*!%ing blazer cronies with him. Please.
[Music fades...]

A very measured comment IMO. Wouldn't it be good if we could really give our opinion! Quinner is now calling for Delaney to resign. Hopefully, such sustained pressure leads to the whole board resigning.

Cathalsmart
26/03/2019, 5:59 AM
They won’t they will just do what is in their power to keep our mouths shut tonight.

If the FAI were as good at performing their role as they are at keeping the fans silent about their corruption than we would actually be making great progress.

28/03/2019, 9:13 AM
Bit of fun!

http://simondarcyonline.com/delaney/

NeverFeltBetter
28/03/2019, 9:17 AM
I got 14!

CraftyToePoke
28/03/2019, 12:01 PM
I'm on 16.