View Full Version : The John Delaney Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 10:15 AM
Coppinger tweeted Delaney's statement, he's going to refuse to answer questions on the loan: https://twitter.com/RuthCoppingerTD/status/1115919366871298048

Edit: Suspended again, as the Committee seek legal advice on Delaney's statement.

sbgawa
10/04/2019, 10:29 AM
If Grant thorntan have said there was a need for the 100k , which i think was said there (trying to listen in work) , it kind of must be true as all that would be needed is bank statements to prove it.
Delaney might get out of this yet , but if its that simple why is he refusing to ansewer questions.

Good line by them referring back to the Kirwan case , the committee will be worried about that one.

10/04/2019, 10:30 AM
After all the opening statement's bluster about the glorious FAI and the wonderful football family we are a part of, the illustrious leader of this family drops a 'my lips are sealed' clanger, I am answering no questions about the loan' My legal advice preclude me .....

I wonder why Delaney feels that answering questions about the elephant in the room (and it's a small room) would effect a negative impression about him.

10/04/2019, 10:32 AM
If Grant thorntan have said there was a need for the 100k , which i think was said there (trying to listen in work) , it kind of must be true as all that would be needed is bank statements to prove it.
Delaney might get out of this yet , but if its that simple why is he refusing to ansewer questions.

Good line by them referring back to the Kirwan case , the committee will be worried about that one.
No, the FAI said there was a GT review, full stop. Then the FAI repeated their own account of the circumstances of the loan.

10/04/2019, 10:45 AM
Next question, why did the Fai not ask the bank for temporary extra 100k overdraft?

backstothewall
10/04/2019, 10:46 AM
There we have it. From the horses mouth. The FAI were broke. The 100k was lodged because they were on the verge of bouncing cheques.

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 10:47 AM
Delaney says he sought an injunction on the story because of an issue with the family courts? So it came up during his divorce case then?

10/04/2019, 10:53 AM
Delaney says he sought an injunction on the story because of an issue with the family courts? So it came up during his divorce case then?
Court sealed documents.
His wife's solicitor denied empathically releasing this information.
Was there not a rumour about a FAI deep throat?

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 11:04 AM
FAI President says they knew about JD's attempted injunction, that's it. Certainly doesn't say he approved or disapproved.

Noel Rock tries to bring up Dundalk, think he's trying to imply they were a creditor at the time of the loan, FAI refuse to comment.

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 11:21 AM
FAI delegation can't (or won't) state who approved some of their press releases. Bizarre.

10/04/2019, 11:23 AM
Just who is this FAI employee called Internal Affairs who signed off on the false FAI statement" that the board were kept fully informed"?

10/04/2019, 11:26 AM
Delaney's taken a break, gone outside for a fag and a fart.

10/04/2019, 11:43 AM
Listening to FAI's opening statement, afaiu the accounting review has not confirmed that there was an actual cash flow shortage, why there was a shortage or where the 100k went.
The FAI say that there was a creditor knocking on the door who was paid 100kThe obvious question is who were the FAI's "trade creditors"? It does sound like itd be clubs owed UEFA money, but trade creditors ran into millions in the accounts. I can't understand why the FAI would have so much outsanding to trade creditors. That's what I'd expect in retail or manufacturing.

10/04/2019, 11:49 AM
Creditors would include the bank loan, no?

Delaney talking about outstanding cheques and bank transfers - bank transfers are basically instant. You don't have outstanding transfers; there's money there or there isn't. And you certainly don't lodge a cheque to fix the problem

Then Conway denying insolvency because they've made a profit the last nine years. You can make a profit and still be incident - if, say, you have a huge loan to repay.

It's fun watching Delaney squirm, but what's the possible outcomes here?

10/04/2019, 11:56 AM
Delaney's taken a break, gone outside for a fag and a fart.

That wasn't fair, he went outside to help an old lady cross the road, then drive three 4 year olds to a football training session, followed by inspiring speech to 4 elderly homeless people to get them involved in homeless football, before making it back to the face the drudgery of these tedious ingrates, just how dare they impugn Delaney's honour.

10/04/2019, 11:58 AM
Trade Creditors would be different to bank creditors. A trade creditor is typically another firm (non-bank) from whom you have bought goods or services on credit. When I saw Mark Tighe's first articles I was genuinely surprised that the FAI would have any trade creditors, but UEFA money due to Dundalk would probably be such an item. Maybe payment due for anything related to fixed assets they own at Abbotstown would be another.

10/04/2019, 12:03 PM
Gabby O'Keefe nearly asked a question there, about why not extend the overdraft temporarily instead of all those shenanigans?

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 12:09 PM

Perhaps Delaney will fall on his sword if the furor continues on the basis of things discussed today - and the funding thing of course - but I have a feeling the storm will pass sooner rather than later.

Edit: Conway says the "independent" reviews are paid for by the FAI and the scope is set by the board. Waste of time.

10/04/2019, 12:14 PM
Asked, who decided to hire the accountants?
answer - We were advised by advisors.

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 12:20 PM
Delaney says he hopes UEFA will run an online channel to promote LOI?

10/04/2019, 12:23 PM
Delaney says he hopes UEFA will run an online channel to promote LOI?

Yes and he let it be known he cares about the LOI because in his words, he's from a LOI background.
I hadn't realised before the enormous scale of Delaney's narcissism

10/04/2019, 12:27 PM
Most of those politicians are wafflers, would they ever stop the flow of guff and ask the fcking questiion.
Mark? the smiley suited gobs, has talked gibberish nonstop for his 10 minutes. Not one question.

Trade Creditors would be different to bank creditors. A trade creditor is typically another firm (non-bank) from whom you have bought goods or services on credit.
I know that; I am an accountant. :)

It's a common mistake to make though - maybe Tighe could have made it? Journalists most certainly aren't accountants.

The FAI would have creditors though. Utilities, consultancy report writers, cleaners, programme printers, security, etc, etc - the same stuff that any company would have.

UEFA funds due to Dundalk shouldn't really be a trade creditor; that would be more like a client/interco account.

NeverFeltBetter
Senator Mark Daly praises Delaney for a few minutes, then complains about womens football being underfunded, directing it exclusively at interim CEO Rea Walshe. Coppinger quips that Fianna Fail could do with the similar equality.

brine3
10/04/2019, 12:42 PM
They are talking about... how... to... implement... the... Genesis Report.

brine3
10/04/2019, 12:44 PM
Ah feck, they are stopping for lunch. Was looking forward to a bit of Healy-Rae antics.

10/04/2019, 12:44 PM
I know that; I am an accountant. :)

It's a common mistake to make though - maybe Tighe could have made it? Journalists most certainly aren't accountants.

The FAI would have creditors though. Utilities, consultancy report writers, cleaners, programme printers, security, etc, etc - the same stuff that any company would have.

UEFA funds due to Dundalk shouldn't really be a trade creditor; that would be more like a client/interco account.I don't think so - he simply quoted the accounts.

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 12:45 PM
17 years later and we're still talking about hotel arrangements in 2002.

10/04/2019, 12:48 PM
Yeah, the real question is whether anything will arise that makes his position utterly untenable.

Or will he squirm, get through it, and still be there after the committee have pated themselves on the back and the fuss has died down.

Hopefully, with so many people who have been waiting for this for a long time, the knives will really be out for him.

10/04/2019, 1:00 PM
I don't think so - he simply quoted the accounts.
You'd be surprised what mistakes journalists would make when reading accounts!

But they still would have trade creditors. What level is another question.

And let's be honest here - the whole story is nonsense. The Director of Finance would not suddenly make the CEO aware that the company was hours away from bouncing payments. The report they were looking at would not include outstanding bank transfers (there's no such thing - a transfer is either made or not made). And you don't write a cheque to cover a cashflow issue you have hours to address and then not lodge it until the following day.

placid casual
10/04/2019, 2:00 PM
You'll have to excuse my ignorance of the finer points of this PAC meeting, but in my view the only best to get this greasy charlatan and his cohorts out of power is go starve them of money. Sport Ireland should continue to withhold the money, and Irish fans should boycott the international games until further notice. The various schoolboy and junior League committees won't be long in pulling their support of these FAIlures if they are not getting their hand-outs.

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 2:10 PM
Treasurer Eddie Murray being asked questions now, and clearly doesn't know/doesn't want how to answer anything.

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 2:14 PM
Classic Healy-Rae: "I'm going to say what other people won't find popular" and proceeds to kiss JD's feet for five minutes. When its pointed out that he hasn't asked any questions, he lashes out. "You're an embarrassment" Coppinger mouths.

brine3
10/04/2019, 2:15 PM
wonder what the quid pro quo was there

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 2:25 PM
Jonathan O'Brien absolutely roasting the FAI delegation here.

10/04/2019, 2:27 PM
Classic Healy-Rae: "I'm going to say what other people won't find popular" and proceeds to kiss JD's feet for five minutes.
Well, he wasn't wrong anyway

Love this from Neil O'Riordan on Twitter -

Quick recap:

Eddie Murray wasn't told about a 100,000 loan but doesn't feel undermined by this.

And, without checking with someone else, he does not know if the FAI has always had an active tax clearance certificate and if it has only one bank account.

Treasurer Eddie Murray

This is all looking shockingly bad for the FAI.

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 2:28 PM
There was some argument that Murray wasn't expecting to be asked questions, that he was just there to be a support to the other delegates, but that's mad: he's the treasurer and the issue is FAI finances!

brine3
10/04/2019, 2:31 PM
Loved how they hauled up the new financial guy... and, of course,... he can't answer because, sure, he's only just been hired.

CraftyToePoke
10/04/2019, 2:34 PM
One man show, all around him being put forward for the cannon fodder that they are, while the one man sits just out of range. For now only, hopefully.

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 2:34 PM
I note this Murray guy is the "Honorary Treasurer", so is he just involved in the finances in name only or something? Catherine Murphy is making him look rather foolish.

brine3
10/04/2019, 2:35 PM
Honourary treasurer said 100k wouldn't stick out in the budget, so long as the budget balanced itself.

Oh jaysus, did he just say that...

brine3
10/04/2019, 2:35 PM
I note this Murray guy is the "Honorary Treasurer", so is he just involved in the finances in name only or something? Catherine Murphy is making him look rather foolish.

shows up for dinners and gets box tickets

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 2:49 PM
Troy twisting the knife here, in grandstanding fashion. Speaking cynically, they know this is a great opportunity to get in the news. Will it have any practical result though?

backstothewall
10/04/2019, 3:00 PM
It's important to keep the pressure up. Time for tennis balls at League of Ireland games imho.

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 3:04 PM
It is beyond the pale that Delaney is getting asked so few questions here. The most he's been addressed since his statement was Healy-Rae's fawning. That Kerins issue has really put the scare in Commitees.

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 3:07 PM
Imelda Munster asks JD if he's ever considered resigning. His answer is "I've read my statement." Outrageous. She calls him a disgrace.

brine3
10/04/2019, 3:15 PM
I never knew that Gigi Buffon was from Cork.

10/04/2019, 3:22 PM
It is beyond the pale that Delaney is getting asked so few questions here. The most he's been addressed since his statement was Healy-Rae's fawning. That Kerins issue has really put the scare in Commitees.
I really don't understand that. The questions being asked are largely quite legit - albeit possibly toothless in a practical sense - but why they're not going to Delaney is mad.

I really hope the Revenue step in and decide they want to conduct an audit.

It turns out that though the Treasurer thought the FAI maybe only had one bank account, they have 24.

General picture painted is of a board for the lads, not taking their roles seriously at all, there mainly for the match tickets. Which is a huge surprise of course.

NeverFeltBetter
10/04/2019, 3:26 PM
Evidence of that is the general tone/body language coming from them as well: Conway clearly feels affronted, outraged at being asked these questions. Delaney looked at Munster like she was something he just scrapped off his shoe.

brine3
10/04/2019, 3:26 PM
They wouldn't even answer a straight up question from Cork Gigi Buffon about whether there are only certain types of payments that can cause cashflow problems to the FAI.

There's no reason for UEFA prize money to be having a good rest at the FAI before being paid on to the clubs, is what he was getting at.