View Full Version : Jack Byrne (M Shamrock Rovers b.1996)
Pages :
[
1]
Bungle
23/10/2013, 10:26 PM
Lots of talk about Jack and with all the doom and gloom around the place, it's nice to read about a genuine talent. If he keeps it up, he may get a few games before the end of the season.
Just hope he doesn't start wearing superman pants.
http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/cska-moscow-1-manchester-city-6229717
Crosby87
24/10/2013, 1:26 AM
Looks patient.
https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRUtrhjhXtmbay6ltExAZ1wL1uPTOgil xcsJgLbVLQfq6I6N7-nWQ
back of the net
24/10/2013, 9:30 AM
Lots of talk about Jack and with all the doom and gloom around the place, it's nice to read about a genuine talent. If he keeps it up, he may get a few games before the end of the season.
Just hope he doesn't start wearing superman pants.
http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/cska-moscow-1-manchester-city-6229717
great to see from Jack but surely he will be loaned out before pelligrini considers taking a look at him
hopefully the likes of Byrne and Grealish can live up to their potential - boasts well for an exciting future irish midfield....hopefully
DannyInvincible
24/10/2013, 11:02 AM
Looks patient.
https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRUtrhjhXtmbay6ltExAZ1wL1uPTOgil xcsJgLbVLQfq6I6N7-nWQ
Has Dokter given him a check-up?
Crosby87
24/10/2013, 11:24 AM
Two fingers today, young man.
http://ts3.mm.bing.net/th?id=H.4545008627943258&w=277&h=172&c=7&rs=1&pid=1.7
30/10/2013, 3:00 PM
interview with him on Man City's site today: http://www.mcfc.co.uk/citytv/Interviews/2013/One-to-Watch-Jack-Byrne
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/07/2015, 8:15 PM
I thought Jack was being encumbered by his association with Alex O'Hanlon so I decided to post here.
http://inesteemedkompany.blogspot.co.uk/2015/07/confirmed-loans-jack-byrne-angelino.html
However, it's been speculated by others that his long-term future may be in a more Xavi-esque role and that could be true. He spreads the play exceptionally well, twisting and turning, possessing that almost La Masia-esque sixth sense. And he passes with a real purpose too, not simply just sideways, repeatedly, as most midfield playmakers have the knack of doing these days. There was times last season where he was consistently fantastic, exerting his authority on games, demanding the ball at his feet or simply timing a run perfectly behind the defensive line to make himself free for a ball through on goal.
The Eredivise should be a good experience for him. The league has a knack for producing incredibly talented attacking midfielders, and he’ll have the space to express himself and pass the ball without the fear of being physically over-crowded - while at the same time learning what its like to play against people much bigger and older than him. Cambuur seem a good club and it says a lot about his character that he’s willing to move abroad, with most players based in England often unwilling.
TheOneWhoKnocks
29/07/2015, 2:06 PM
Appears to be injured again, going by his Twitter page.
29/07/2015, 2:13 PM
don't think so, this could mean anything https://twitter.com/Jackb_8/statuses/626381053318537220
I've said goodbye to people in the past I cant see again and that broke my heart,Today for the first time I feel like I'm 11 all over again
TheOneWhoKnocks
29/07/2015, 2:21 PM
These tweets are a bit more ominous.
https://instagram.com/p/5o-9PVE1Z_/
https://twitter.com/Jackb_8/status/625354987271536640
29/07/2015, 2:59 PM
don't think so, this could mean anything https://twitter.com/Jackb_8/statuses/626381053318537220Sounds like the death of a loved one and this photo https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_banners/563139195/1385690480/1500x500 would suggest something similiar happended when he was 11.
29/07/2015, 3:35 PM
His dad died when he was young, he mentioned that in the short documentary from Man City earlier this year
Olé Olé
29/07/2015, 9:01 PM
Had a good look at his twitter there. He's one determined and emotional young lad. That much was stated in that documentary, that Tets refers to, by the owner of the digs he stayed in originally. Seems to have the ability combined with the work ethic. There are obviously a lot of able and willing young footballers that come out of Ireland but his talent is lauded by those in the know in City where there is a hugely talented and large pool of teens. Probably why I'm optimistic about him.
29/07/2015, 9:19 PM
Had a good look at his twitter there. He's one determined and emotional young lad. That much was stated in that documentary, that Tets refers to, by the owner of the digs he stayed in originally. Seems to have the ability combined with the work ethic. There are obviously a lot of able and willing young footballers that come out of Ireland but his talent is lauded by those in the know in City where there is a hugely talented and large pool of teens. Probably why I'm optimistic about him.
City EDS lost 3-2 to Pats tonight :o
TheOneWhoKnocks
30/07/2015, 7:25 PM
http://www.dehuisaanhuis.nl/sport/49671/byrne-mist-competitiestart-cambuur/
Set to miss start of season.
30/07/2015, 7:30 PM
Well three weeks out is a great deal better than the ominous sounds of his tweets.
TheOneWhoKnocks
31/07/2015, 12:29 PM
The two things to consider are the fact that he has already accrued two injuries that will - all things told - keep him out for approximately a month since his signing, and the possibility that he will struggle to get back into the starting lineup if Cambuur begin the season well. It's not an ideal start to his preparations at the club. I hope he doesn't become injury prone. What started as niggling injuries have fairly eaten into Reid, Gibson & Ireland's playing time over the years.
http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/man-city-jack-byrne-keane-9764598
Byrne "nuts" like Keane - Vieira.
TheOneWhoKnocks
13/08/2015, 7:30 PM
Ruud Gullit on Jack Byrne move.
http://www.the42.ie/ruud-gullit-jack-byrne-ireland-canbuur-2267541-Aug2015/
Crosby87
13/08/2015, 8:37 PM
Holland won't have a shout if Ruud Gullit might be out.
03/09/2015, 3:56 PM
Byrne was back on the pitch today for a behind closed doors game against PEC Zwolle: https://twitter.com/LwdVoetbalClub/statuses/639444411076714496
(translated)
Jack Byrne plays his first minutes for Cambuur this afternoon in a private friendly match against PEC Zwolle with the final score 2-2.
Should be fit for Cambuur's home game on Saturday week against PSV
Olé Olé
13/09/2015, 6:26 PM
Doesn't look like Byrne played against PSV. Must have picked up another knock or strain: https://twitter.com/Jackb_8/status/642763250367635456
Looking forward to watching the lads hopefully get a good result vs PSV tonight https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v1/72x72/1f44d.png feeling good and hoping to be back on the pitch soon https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v1/72x72/1f44c.pnghttps://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v1/72x72/26bd.png
Not having much luck there but a long season ahead.
Just checked the result, his side were stuffed 6-0 at home by PSV so he might have been better off!
19/09/2015, 9:52 AM
Looks like he'll be involved today against Twente: https://twitter.com/Jackb_8/status/645161633371832321
Game day vs fc twente 😃⚽️
taken off after 61 with the game scoreless.
22/09/2015, 11:13 PM
Supposedly had an excellent game as Cambuur lost 3-2 to PSV tonight.
Nagger
26/09/2015, 10:59 AM
Jack Byrne has been interviewed bij the AD, which is a big newspaper in Holland. Title of the article: I want to be the best player in the Eredivisie. I ran it trough google translate. Hope it makes sense :)
It mentions he was the best player on the field against PSV last week.
After a difficult start of the season there is a glimmer of Cambuur new perspective in the run-up to tonight's away game with FC Utrecht . First, FC Twente were held to a goalless draw on Tuesday and the Frisians were close to a cup stunt against PSV (3-2). The best player in Eindhoven? Jack Byrne , a 19-year loan from Manchester City.
It was early in the preparation, and Jack Byrne walked across the training ground of Manchester City, on the way to his mentor for wise advice. ,, Cambuur, a club from the Eredivisie league wants to hire me, '' said Byrne. ,, What do you recommend? "
Also, more than four months later, when Byrne on the tribune of the Cambuur Stadion tells the anecdote, a smile breaks through on his face. ,, Patrick Vieira told me I had to take this step. Not only because I now among the big men football, but also because it would be good for my personality. ''
Manchester City has great confidence in the Irish midfielder, who at fourteen was included in the footballschool. City ,, sometimes buys youth soccer players for two million pounds, '' says Byrne. ,, It's bizarre, but also fantastic - because that they have the best players in the world in their training. I got there five years incredibly learned. And the club has rewarded me because just before I went to Cambuur, I got a new, three-year contract. ''
He was allowed to stay in Manchester, to learn during training of the world stars. Or rented to a club from the Championship. ,, But both options you do stay in your comfort zone, '' Byrne said. ,, And to grow as a footballer and as a man, you should just get out. I knew no one in the Netherlands. Speak the language either. That's not always easy, but I see it as a part of the experience that I can only get better. ''
Yet Byrne made only Saturday at home against FC Twente debut . He got into the preparation injuring his ankle. When he recovered it, a thigh injury kept him the first games on the side . ,, I wanted the team to help, but could do nothing. And meanwhile, we lost a lot of games with big numbers , '' sighs Byrne.
,, PSV - off marked the level that I want to get every week. I felt I was better in the race than the midfielders PSV . I do not mean arrogant , but I'm confident and that requires a professional footballer. I want not only the best player Cambuur , but are quite the Eredivisie. And I truly believe that I can. ''
Nagger
26/09/2015, 10:59 AM
Here's the article
http://www.ad.nl/ad/nl/5610/Eredivisie/article/detail/4150543/2015/09/26/Byrne-Ik-wil-de-beste-speler-van-de-Eredivisie-worden.dhtml
DeLorean
28/09/2015, 10:09 AM
He came off after 63 minutes in a 3-3 draw away to Utrecht on Saturday.
triggsrevenge
06/10/2015, 9:52 AM
Once this campaign is settled, we should call this lad up and have a look at him.
He obviously has something about him, lets get him out of the u21s before noel king falls out with him!
Olé Olé
06/10/2015, 11:20 AM
Quick list of the youngest players in third placed sides across this qualifying campaign using current standings:
Turkey- 20
Israel- 20
Ukraine- 22
Slovenia- 21
Hungary- 19
Sweden- 22
Croatia- 19
Albania- 21
Might be a bit soon for our Jack but he definitely ought to be considered for the next campaign. If we fail to qualify then the next round of friendlies would be ideal. If we qualify then those friendlies will be restricted to those travelling to France so he might have to wait to be blooded.
Whilst the average of our squad hasn't decreased under MON, I think it's worth bearing in mind that Christie, Brady and Hendrick have really established themselves in the squad (and the latter pair in the starting line-up) under his tenure. And, in fairness, there hasn't been anyone jumping out of the under-21 set-up demanding senior inclusion.
IsMiseSean
06/10/2015, 1:39 PM
If we fail to qualify then the next round of friendlies would be ideal. If we qualify then those friendlies will be restricted to those travelling to France so he might have to wait to be blooded.
If we fail to qualify then I'd hope to see a big over-haul of our squad preferably with a new management team.
samhaydenjr
06/10/2015, 7:23 PM
If we fail to qualify then I'd hope to see a big over-haul of our squad preferably with a new management team.
I don't think we have enough depth to talk about "a big over-haul of our squad" - right now, we can only hope that enough of our younger players have good seasons that we can cover for the players who could potentially retire before the next campaign - Given, Forde, O'Shea, McShane, Whelan, Hoolahan, Keane, Doyle, Walters, Murphy
I wouldn't even necessarily change the management team if we fail to qualify - remember that we limped into the play-offs for the 1998 World Cup, where we lost and threw away a great chance to qualify automatically for Euro 2000 before going out in the play-offs and still kept Mick McCarthy and we know what happened a couple of years later.
When you analyse how this group has turned out, we haven't done so bad thus far - I mean it was a tougher group than we would have liked, with the World Champions, a very decent Polish side, a resurgent Scottish side and a major banana skin in Georgia and here's how we've done:
- We battled hard to snatch a very creditable away draw against Germany
- We dominated Poland in the second half in Dublin, and probably deserved to win, hitting the post twice before getting our late equaliser
- OK, our results against Scotland were a little disappointing, but we're roughly evenly matched with them and those games could have gone either way
- We got our full six points against a tricky Georgian side, which Scotland failed to do under Gordon Strachan, who Martin O'Neill has been unfavourably compared to on this forum.
So if we do get into the play-offs, but go out to a decent side, I would be willing to give O'Neill another bite at the cherry
IsMiseSean
06/10/2015, 7:30 PM
I can't see the likes of Hoolahan, Murphy & McShane retiring. Especially Wes having just got a regular place in the squad.
I think out of the names you mentioned, Given, Forde, O'Shea, Keane & Doyle are the most likely. I'd hate to see Walters retire.
samhaydenjr
06/10/2015, 8:17 PM
I can't see the likes of Hoolahan, Murphy & McShane retiring. Especially Wes having just got a regular place in the squad.
I think out of the names you mentioned, Given, Forde, O'Shea, Keane & Doyle are the most likely. I'd hate to see Walters retire.
I think I jumped the gun on McShane as he's only 29 yet. You may be right on Hoolahan and hopefully he can keep his late-blooming career going at his current level, but on the other hand he will be 34 when qualifiers start and 36 when the finals tournament start and that might be a bit much for a player who seems to rely a lot on movement in his play. But even if both of them and Walters stay on, we're going to struggle to replace the others with youngsters coming through (although there are a few), so while there will be a bit of an overhaul of the squad come next September, it will be more an overhaul of necessity not choice and we have to cross our fingers that we have three or four real breakthroughs this season just to maintain the current level of quality.
samhaydenjr
06/10/2015, 8:36 PM
Just to get back to Jack, he played 63 minutes on Saturday as Cambuur drew 1-1 with Roda JC. Not entirely sure how he did as this is the Google translate of his only mention on the club's game report:
"After half time the teams were unchanged from the dressing rooms and the game picture remained unchanged. Cambuur had many violations needed to stay afloat. This is among other things led to Jack Byrne at the beginning of the second half was hurled on the receipt." Does this mean he was thrown forward, was fouled, or offered as payment for Cambuurs "many violations"? I don't know
Jesus, it's like reading a Paul O'Shea review of an Irish game!! ;) ;)
dr_peepee
07/10/2015, 10:25 AM
Ah, the days!! I used to do things like that to keep tabs on Wavey Davey Connolly when he was at Excelsior.... Back when I had time.
Olé Olé
08/10/2015, 10:24 PM
https://twitter.com/SetantaSports/status/652226976535572480
Byrne's words ringing true somewhat this evening.
EDIT: Quite funny to underage international Jack Tuite with this: https://twitter.com/JackTuite2/status/652233069806657536
In all the hysteria of tonight's result, twitter is really providing an outlet for some of our underage players to express delighted and it's great to see.
See also recent England international and current Irish underage international Connor Ronan:https://twitter.com/ConnorRonan10/status/652222339933978624
Daniel Cleary: https://twitter.com/DanoCleary/status/652216566587785216
08/10/2015, 10:41 PM
The Trevor Sinclair Twitter page tonight made me pine for what might have been once upon a time...
https://mobile.twitter.com/trevor8sinclair?lang=en
(worth a visit just for the Carlton Cole retweet hahahaha)
08/10/2015, 10:53 PM
What's that about?
08/10/2015, 10:59 PM
Ah, I deleted it. Thought somebody was making a cheeky joke but they were actually just saying they loved Trevor's Irish mum. I didn't know his Irish links were so close though.
08/10/2015, 11:04 PM
Oh yeah, I'd read it before. Definitely in the "ones that got away, like really" camp. I think he was victim to the previous rules (tied by a u21 cap). Not sure though.
08/10/2015, 11:08 PM
Could have been another Grealish affair though (not drawn out for 100 years, but that he might have still preferred England).
09/10/2015, 12:31 PM
Any Twitter action from JG last night?
09/10/2015, 1:08 PM
Any Twitter action from JG last night?
no, but he's been taking absolute pelters: https://twitter.com/search?f=tweets&vertical=default&q=to%3AJackGrealish1
Olé Olé
09/10/2015, 2:14 PM
no, but he's been taking absolute pelters: https://twitter.com/search?f=tweets&vertical=default&q=to%3AJackGrealish1
I've spent 15 minutes reading and laughing at that. Between the numbskulls posting abuse and the genuinely funny tweets, it's too gas. A lot of people forgetting the work we have to do to actually make the Euros. Also, as someone mentioned last night was the shot in the arm Irish football needed. We needed a monumental win to remind us how great it is to support to Ireland so it's no harm to show to all dual-eligible internationals awesome supporting and playing for Ireland can be, even if England and NI have qualified for Euro 2016 with comparative ease.
Decent interview with our Jack from the Herald: http://www.herald.ie/sport/dutch-loan-move-works-out-for-man-city-irish-starlet-jack-byrne-31591938.html
samhaydenjr
09/10/2015, 9:20 PM
That's terrible to see - there's some good-natured banter in there but it's mostly crude, nasty, vicious insults - puts a bit of a dent in the "best fans in the world" reputation, sadly
09/10/2015, 9:22 PM
But we don't have that reputation. That's just a stick the haters use to beat us with.
IsMiseSean
09/10/2015, 9:38 PM
Also, Queen visits Dublin. No football figure invited to the dinner at Dublin Castle.
Wasn't Seamus Coleman at some dinner with herself? I remember seeing it on TV.
OwenGoal
10/10/2015, 7:20 PM
Interesting life story. Missed the part relating to Jack Byrne - I'll try re-reading it.