View Full Version : Jack Byrne (M Shamrock Rovers b.1996)
Pages :
[
10]
samhaydenjr
08/12/2018, 4:35 PM
Didn't MON mention him when asked about Crowley lately?
Something along the lines of them being similar personalities - also not meant in a complimentary fashion.
I think it was just meant to pour cold water on the calls for immediate inclusion of Crowley - something along the lines "last time everyone wanted me to call up a confident, ball-playing midfielder at one of the less famous Eredivisie teams, it was Jack Byrne... and look how that turned out"
Olé Olé
16/03/2019, 6:08 AM
https://twitter.com/ShamrockRovers/status/1106713432190058496?s=20
Scored an utter peach and apparently played very well last night with Mick in the stands.
Could this be a move that actually works out for him?
Bungle
16/03/2019, 7:26 AM
The lad was one of the best young players in Europe. The issue has never been talent, but attitude and desire.
Playing in Ireland may give him a rocket up his arse, but my gut is that it brings him right back to part of the problem.
Diggs246
16/03/2019, 7:38 AM
[QUOTE=Bungle;1995106]The lad was one of the best young players in Europe.
Happy St Patricks weekend everybody
liamoo11
16/03/2019, 1:03 PM
https://twitter.com/ShamrockRovers/status/1106713432190058496?s=20
Scored an utter peach and apparently played very well last night with Mick in the stands.
Could this be a move that actually works out for him?
Lovely to see really hope he can stay consistent for the season. It's a tough midfield to stay in with the midfielder s rovers had on the bench last night. Bradley was an equally talented youngster in his day
Olé Olé
16/03/2019, 1:19 PM
He ran to Bradley immediately after scoring. Hopefully Bradley can influence him positively on the plights of relishing success too young.
Bungle
17/03/2019, 7:04 AM
He was magnificent in the Uefa Youth League. Not a stretch to say he was a top class teenager at all and as I saw a lot of those games, in my opinion he was among the most talented. Sane when he was at Schalke youths was probably the best I recall.
Anyhow, it means little. He's not achieved what he was capable of.
Olé Olé
17/03/2019, 12:46 PM
He was magnificent in the Uefa Youth League. Not a stretch to say he was a top class teenager at all and as I saw a lot of those games, in my opinion he was among the most talented. Sane when he was at Schalke youths was probably the best I recall.
Anyhow, it means little. He's not achieved what he was capable of.
Nowhere near it. Which is one of the saddest indictments of anyone, no matter what their gift.
17/03/2019, 4:39 PM
SQUAD NEWS | @ShamrockRovers midfielder @Jackb_8 is drafted into Ireland squad for #EURO2020 qualifiers
Read More ➡️ https://t.co/nNdRnAJtsZ #COYBIG https://t.co/qlatHwVCx6
samhaydenjr
17/03/2019, 7:01 PM
SQUAD NEWS | @ShamrockRovers midfielder @Jackb_8 is drafted into Ireland squad for #EURO2020 qualifiers
Read More ➡️ https://t.co/nNdRnAJtsZ #COYBIG https://t.co/qlatHwVCx6
Wait... What... Why!!?? His career has been drifting badly: Man City to Blackburn to Oldham to Kilmarnock to Shamrock Rovers (with a half-decent loan spell at the smallest Eredivisie side). I know none of the following options are outstanding but surely they have more pedigree than Byrne:
1. McGeady - tearing it up for Sunderland in League One (should really be in the Championship) and we know what he can do against Georgia.
2. Shaun Williams, Ryan Manning and Richie Towell - all playing regularly in the Championship
3. Jake Mulraney and Daryl Horgan - SPL regulars this season
4. Cyrus Christie - Premier League right-back, could probably be moved to a more advanced midfield role if required
backstothewall
17/03/2019, 7:27 PM
I think it's a great move bringing in Byrne and Cullen. They are both talented young footballers.
Whatever mistakes he has made Byrne probably has the talent. If he has that everything else can worked on over time, and time is on his side.
Wes Hoolahan was home playing for Shels at his age. We could have gained so much by involving him years earlier than we did.
triggsrevenge
18/03/2019, 3:10 AM
Great to see him included in the squad, and josh cullen too, both of which can get the ball down and play.
Olé Olé
18/03/2019, 12:45 PM
With my mindset probably impacted by his past experiences, I think it's too early for him. He has very little even evidence in our league.
eitoof
22/03/2019, 1:41 PM
Can't understand how he wasn't in the extended squad yet passes out the 4 or 5 guys who were.
22/03/2019, 1:48 PM
Can't understand how he wasn't in the extended squad yet passes out the 4 or 5 guys who were.
Manager watched him. He put in one of the most outstanding individual performances I've ever seen in the League of Ireland. Manager added him to squad. He displayed the type of vision and range of passing that tends to be invaluable at unlocking teams with 11 behind the ball. I wouldn't be surprised if he gets some game time tomorrow.
CraftyToePoke
22/03/2019, 2:52 PM
Neither was Cullen.
22/03/2019, 3:19 PM
Neither was Cullen.same answer. Mick saw both players after the first squad was announced. I think he saw Cullen twice. I'm excited by both call ups.
22/03/2019, 3:24 PM
Georgia are a bit different to what he will face in the LOI. Lets see vision is vision but its all relative to who has it with you and who sees it against you.
Always felt reid and keane had good vision, few spotted keanes runs, most often wondered why he was making the wrong runs - yes he did sometimes but others he wasnt waiting for that pass that no one could play into him.
Olé Olé
22/03/2019, 3:31 PM
I think he won't be far off a run tomorrow.
And he's managed to charm the media this week. David Sneyd, Ken Earley and Richard Barrett have all swooned over his entrance to the press conference the other day when he shook the hand of all of the journalists and introduced himself. They all spoke glowingly of him too - Sneyd and Dion Fanning were on the Second Captains podcast and seemed to have lapped up what he had to say.
He spoke quite well also. I'm sure that doesn't mean he has addressed all of his behavioural issues but hopefully he is on the right track.
Olé Olé
18/07/2019, 9:30 PM
Goal and assist in a 2-1 win to SK Brann, 3rd in the Norwegian league. Can he make it yet?
liamoo11
18/07/2019, 9:56 PM
Goal and assist in a 2-1 win to SK Brann, 3rd in the Norwegian league. Can he make it yet?
Hopefully. Will he move in this window? Would rovers want half a million?
Olé Olé
26/07/2019, 3:02 PM
'Unless he is doing that he has no chance for me' - McCarthy on how Jack Byrne fits into his Irish team https://the42.ie/4741240
Fair enough by Big Mick. Byrne was awesome again last night for Rovers but Mick doesn't want him at 6. He wants to see him at 10 or 8. Given Byrne's skillset and stature, that makes a lot of sense.
IsMiseSean
26/07/2019, 6:51 PM
“And if he plays there then he is never ever ever going to have a chance of playing for me"
Anyone else think this is a ridiculous comment to make?
irishfan86
26/07/2019, 6:56 PM
Mick’s comments do seem a bit weird. It’s one thing to say — I’d never play him as a deep lying playmaker and another thing to say: if he’s playing as a deep lying playmaker at club level I’ll never select him.
Maybe just clumsy wording? The fact Mick continues to watch Byrne play shows he has interest, especially if the player is being deployed in an advanced role.
Olé Olé
26/07/2019, 7:24 PM
Ah, yeah, it's a silly comment but I'm putting it down to clumsy wording. He's capable of hyperbole too so it could be either. I reckon he just doesn't want a Pirlo-type at the base of his midfield.
Olé Olé
02/11/2019, 8:50 AM
'When he was dying he said to me: ‘Jack is going to play for Ireland, he’s special’' https://the42.ie/4875481
Articles in the Indo and 42 today. Lovely reads.
03/11/2019, 12:37 PM
That's a very good article, though I found it a bit odd that the 2nd toilet in the family home was chosen as the location to set up a shrine to Jack's career. Perhaps there's something I am unaware of, as in Dubs sentimental relationship with their toilet. That once upon a time in Dublin (1960s?), having a toilet in-house was a huge sign of advancement and now the 2nd toilet can be regarded as an appropriate location to celebrate Jack's career.
Philly
03/11/2019, 2:17 PM
I guess after the Cup final the rumour mill will start about Byrne moving on to the UK. It will be interesting to see what happens. He seems genuinely happy at Rovers. Maybe he'd be more likely than others to go to the component given his previous experiences?
tommy_c12000
03/11/2019, 7:16 PM
Over 33,000 is an excellent attendance for the FAI cup final, most since 2010 by my quick research. Hopefully a sign of continued growth of national league, buoyed on by the optimism of the upcoming Kenny era
DeLorean
04/11/2019, 8:33 AM
Over 33,000 is an excellent attendance for the FAI cup final, most since 2010 by my quick research. Hopefully a sign of continued growth of national league, buoyed on by the optimism of the upcoming Kenny era
More likely a sign that Rovers have more fans than most.
marinobohs
04/11/2019, 11:12 AM
More likely a sign that Rovers have more fans than most.
Shams have a big support but the fact it was a change from the annual Dundalk V Cork game probably helped too. Good to see the big crowd, whatever the reason.
marinobohs
04/11/2019, 11:14 AM
That's a very good article, though I found it a bit odd that the 2nd toilet in the family home was chosen as the location to set up a shrine to Jack's career. Perhaps there's something I am unaware of, as in Dubs sentimental relationship with their toilet. That once upon a time in Dublin (1960s?), having a toilet in-house was a huge sign of advancement and now the 2nd toilet can be regarded as an appropriate location to celebrate Jack's career.
that's why we call it the Jacks :D
DeLorean
04/11/2019, 12:09 PM
Shams have a big support but the fact it was a change from the annual Dundalk V Cork game probably helped too. Good to see the big crowd, whatever the reason.
There was 30,000+ at Dundalk v Cork last year, up 5,000 on their first instalment. I was more referring to the fact that Tommy highlighted it was the biggest crowd since 2010, when Rovers just happened to make the final last.
05/03/2020, 8:40 AM
Seems like Byrne and Parrott keep the same company. Dublin really is a very small place.
seanfhear
05/03/2020, 8:57 AM
Why are gangsters cosy-ing up to young footballers = I suppose they have the money to do so. Perhaps the Gardaí should be giving these Drug Dealers more to be worrying about ?
Olé Olé
05/03/2020, 10:31 AM
Seems like Byrne and Parrott keep the same company. Dublin really is a very small place.
Where is this coming from?
Byrne and Parrott live almost right beside each other.
ColourfulPeanut
05/03/2020, 10:57 AM
He was at a 21st of a known Kinehan associate and that Byrne lad Parrott is buddies with was in the photo too.
05/03/2020, 12:41 PM
Where is this coming from?
Byrne and Parrott live almost right beside each other.
Never knew North London and Dublin was so close.
Olé Olé
05/03/2020, 3:43 PM
Never knew North London and Dublin was so close.
Good man.
Olé Olé
18/09/2020, 9:53 PM
I thought Jack looked the part against AC Milan last night. Showed a good range of passing- be it a switch of play, a through ball or just a pass forward. Retained possession. Took it in tight areas. And carried it in tighter areas. There were times when there would be 2-4 Milan lads on his case and he'd still progress and retain the ball. Beautiful set pieces too.
One thing I must say is that he looks so slight against full time players like the Milan lads. He was always doomed in League One and The SPL. It's not just his height- it looks like he has never been on a strength programme.
Either way, he's got so much going for him. It's going to be an interesting few months.
Olé Olé
18/09/2020, 9:54 PM
And he 100% looks like what Ireland need. He did the Conor Ronan role for the 21s last night. I would love to see him in a midfield with McCarthy and Hendrick.
Eirambler
19/09/2020, 10:50 AM
He does need to move leagues though, that slightness isn't going to go away when he plays international football. He will need to develop his physicality if he is going to reach his potential.
His next transfer will be the making or breaking of his career.
seanfhear
19/09/2020, 10:54 AM
Not saying he shouldn’t move, but is there No One fit to Build Up a Man in Ireland ! ! Is Ireland gone too Woke to Build up a Man ? ?
19/09/2020, 1:42 PM
I genuinely can't tell whether that post is serious or not.
Razors left peg
19/09/2020, 2:54 PM
Was talking about Byrne with a mate the other day. He would need to go to a club that would play through him and not stick him out on wing. He wouldn't move straight to a Premiership Club so who in the Championship would be the right fit for him? I struggled to come up with answer. Move to continent would be ideal but hes never even linked with a move anywhere so I'd say he's happy enough being the big fish in LOI.
24/09/2020, 3:09 PM
Interviewed on Off The Ball last night: https://www.otbsports.com//podcasts/otb-football/jack-byrne-facing-zlatan-rovers-title-tilt-ireland-aspirations-dominic-fifield-chelsea-squad-headaches-west-ham-mutiny
Fixer82
24/09/2020, 7:17 PM
Was talking about Byrne with a mate the other day. He would need to go to a club that would play through him and not stick him out on wing. He wouldn't move straight to a Premiership Club so who in the Championship would be the right fit for him? I struggled to come up with answer. Move to continent would be ideal but hes never even linked with a move anywhere so I'd say he's happy enough being the big fish in LOI.
Agree. Would love to see him playing in the continent again.
Olé Olé
24/09/2020, 7:27 PM
He was really good on the interview. Really balanced and mature. I know it's 6 years since the run in with O'Neill but not many players would speak in such a balanced way regarding Kenny omitting him. He said Kenny didn't pick him because he wasnt going to play a 10 in the two games. Byrne stated he feels he can play anywhere- even on the right like at Oldham. And he said if he's not in the next squad he'll be supporting Ireland like always.
He wasn't pushed on whether he was sticking with Shams.
Olé Olé
27/09/2020, 10:22 PM
This is world class. Very few strikers in the world could do this:
DeLorean
28/09/2020, 9:04 AM
This is world class. Very few strikers in the world could do this
Incredible goal. Reminded me of this...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=371VVIaTEIc