View Full Version : Jack Byrne (M Shamrock Rovers b.1996)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

06/01/2017, 11:02 AM
loan spell offically ended: https://twitter.com/ManCity/statuses/817339948512604160

We can confirm that Jack Byrne has returned to #mcfc (https://twitter.com/hashtag/mcfc?src=hash) from his loan spell at Blackburn Rovers.

Olé Olé
06/01/2017, 11:35 AM
Better get over this blip in his career at City with the under-23 side or move onto another loan? This is a fairly important juncture in his career. He wasn't long settling in in Holland. If he's going abroad for half a season maybe that's a good option. He went across last season to Cambuur with a fellow City reserve (Berisha?) and City have players on loan at Twente, Heerenveen, NAC Breda and PSV Eindhoven at present.

06/01/2017, 12:29 PM
I was thinking it might not be the worst idea to go on loan to New York city fc, under Vieira, who coached him in the u23's at city. New MLS season will be starting soon too.

Olé Olé
06/01/2017, 1:55 PM
Interesting idea. They both spoke glowingly of one another. How about being a midfielder under the daily tutelage of Andrea Pirlo and Patrick Vieria...

07/01/2017, 12:49 PM
I was thinking it might not be the worst idea to go on loan to New York city fc, under Vieira, who coached him in the u23's at city. New MLS season will be starting soon too.

That's actually a great shout in fairness. Hopefully that comes to pass.

12/01/2017, 12:24 AM
Manchester Evening News say hes heading back out on loan but no mention of where.

Scottish Sun linking him with Dundee
https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/421061/dundee-trying-to-tempt-manchester-city-midfielder-jack-byrne-into-making-a-loan-switch/amp/

Loi transfers Twitter account linking him with Heerenveen but can't find anything to back that up.

Time will tell.

TheOneWhoKnocks
15/01/2017, 1:59 PM
Looks like a loan to the Eredivisie has been ruled out.

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/425115/jack-byrne-will-not-be-returning-to-holland-as-manchester-city-wait-for-the-right-loan-option/

Olé Olé
15/01/2017, 2:12 PM
Strange article. "but that is not on the cards for Byrne".. you think they'd state why it isn't and what is on these secret cards.

15/01/2017, 2:15 PM
there's one line in that entire article that says he won't be going to Holland. No quotes, no sources, not even a rumour.

31/01/2017, 11:19 PM
signed a three and a half year deal with Wigan: http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/news/article/2016-17/jack-byrne-signs-for-wigan-athletic-3548918.aspx
Looks thrilled in the photo.

They're in the relegation zone in the Championship at the moment, three points behind Burton, albeit with a game in hand. Their game against Sheffield Wednesday on Friday night is on Sky Sports.

zero
31/01/2017, 11:44 PM
signed a three and a half year deal with Wigan: http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/news/article/2016-17/jack-byrne-signs-for-wigan-athletic-3548918.aspx
Looks thrilled in the photo.

They're in the relegation zone in the Championship at the moment, three points Burton albeit with a game in hand. Their game against Sheffield Wednesday on Friday night is on Sky Sports.

initially seems like a bad move as wigan look DOOMED but they have made a lot of signings this window. gabriel obertan, matt gilks (whose career seemed to fall apart after leaving blackpool) and (the admittedly awful) alex bruce perhaps being the most high profile.

at least they are having a go...

liamoo11
31/01/2017, 11:47 PM
Fantastic gives him stability somewhere he can be loved . We have seen kelly thrive this season and Ronan do well recently. Both similar players to Byrne physically and technically

DeLorean
01/02/2017, 7:24 AM
Yeah, I think I'm happy enough too but hard to know. From his own point of view it's must be nice to have a proper contract and the chance of playing regular football (a bit of stability as Liamoo says). Are Wigan still a good footballing side does anybody know, in terms of their style of play? I haven't seen that Roberto poster here in a long time, wasn't he a Wigan fan (or was he just a Martinez fan?).

01/02/2017, 9:43 AM
He was a wigan fan.

I think its a terrible move. its a long contract too. He obviously didn't have much options though, and not much love at City for him. Still I hope he didnt have a choice to go to the continent.

01/02/2017, 9:46 AM
He was a wigan fan.

I think its a terrible move. its a long contract too. He obviously didn't have much options though, and not much love at City for him. Still I hope he didnt have a choice to go to the continent.
turned down a loan move to Heerenveen in January

01/02/2017, 9:50 AM
Ya, even a loan move would have been better than Wigan, he excelled there before. I thought though given his profile when in holland some of the bigger clubs might have taken a punt on him.

Time and again you hear hard luck stories, the cut throat nature of relegation football particularly so from the Championship, means players are bought and sold by managers who move on - generally sacked - and then new ones come in and replace them, and the player was bought or a favourite of the old manager and said player doesn't get his chance etc and so on and so forth.

Young manning being the inverse of that ; )

DeLorean
01/02/2017, 9:57 AM
He needs to rebuild a little bit. Getting relegated to League One with Wigan didn't do James McClean any harm and he was at a far more critical juncture (granted a little more proven too). Once he nails down his place I'll be happy enough for now.

01/02/2017, 10:01 AM
Ah thats comparing apples and oranges. Mclean had 3 PL seasons at that stage and had proven himself a good player, with international caps.

Byrne is a young lad relatively unproven in England and who didnt have a successful loan spell either.

DeLorean
01/02/2017, 10:56 AM
Note the bit in brackets!

Anyway, it is different but I think the situation was more worrying for McClean to be honest. Once an established player starts dropping the divisions there's usually less chance of a way back. The most important thing for Byrne is to be playing football right now.

CraftyToePoke
01/02/2017, 11:09 AM
I'm very dubious of the move, and if as said above he turned down Heerenveen only to turn up at Wigan then that's poor advice or decision making, or both. Its all in the hands of his manager now till he gets established, its imperative that guy keeps his job and hopefully a by product of that will be staying in that division. Good luck to him, though. That's O'Hanlon & Byrne now both moved on without ever coming near first team at their sides, I suppose McAuley is our only other guy presently on the horizon at a regular CL side is he ?

01/02/2017, 11:24 AM
Tyreke Wilson at City, injured at the moment, but highly rated. U17 captain Lee O'Connor is playing well at United's academy by all accounts. Although they're not a "CL regular" these days!

DeLorean
01/02/2017, 11:47 AM
Was there an actual offer from Heerenveen or was that just speculation in that Sun article? They're going pretty well in the Dutch league, no guarantees he'd have seen much game time. Hopefully he will at Wigan.

01/02/2017, 2:27 PM
He needs to rebuild a little bit. Getting relegated to League One with Wigan didn't do James McClean any harm and he was at a far more critical juncture (granted a little more proven too). Once he nails down his place I'll be happy enough for now.

Yeah I have to say I agree with this. It is good for him to have some certainty and a manager that sees him as part of long term plans and not just a loan arrangement.

The one caveat I'd place on that optimism would be that it's hard to think that a relegation fight in the Championship will be the best showcase for his talents. Hopefully it will be the making of him. He's still young enough to have a terrific career.

kennedmc
01/02/2017, 7:03 PM
I'm very dubious of the move, and if as said above he turned down Heerenveen only to turn up at Wigan then that's poor advice or decision making, or both. Its all in the hands of his manager now till he gets established, its imperative that guy keeps his job and hopefully a by product of that will be staying in that division. Good luck to him, though. That's O'Hanlon & Byrne now both moved on without ever coming near first team at their sides, I suppose McAuley is our only other guy presently on the horizon at a regular CL side is he ?
Define on the horizon?! McAuley is only 16/ 17 and hasn't even played for the Liverpool u23 yet which in itself is full of young lads, not to mention the like of Woodburn in first team squad.

Wigan is a ok move. If Byrne is good enough in training he will get a chance and then it is up to him to take it.

There is no conspiracy against Irish players and the opportunities they get , as some ( not you) think on here ;)

CraftyToePoke
01/02/2017, 7:21 PM
Define on the horizon?!

On the horizon ... doing well in his age group to an extent that gives, albeit usually misplaced and inevitably false, hope, and in a fashion that has people speaking highly of his ability and chances presently ..... on the horizon :)

DannyInvincible
02/02/2017, 7:39 PM
Byrne says James McClean played a big role in his decision to join Wigan: http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/news/article/2016-17/jack-byrne-discusses-his-deadline-day-move-to-latics-from-man-city-3549387.aspx

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sep0YKzydBA

It’s been a long day but I’m delighted to get it over the line and I’m looking forward to getting started under Warren.

He played a huge part in me joining this club. His record at Manchester United speaks for itself and when I spoke to him I got a really good feel for the club.

I moved over to Manchester City when I was only 15 and I enjoyed a loan spell over in Holland the year before last. I went to Blackburn Rovers earlier this season now but I’m here now and I’m happy.

I know James McClean very well and I spoke to him before coming here. He couldn’t speak highly enough of the club and he gave me a good feel when I spoke to him.

johnnyc
03/02/2017, 7:00 PM
Not in the squad for tonight's game. Probably not match fit?

03/02/2017, 7:07 PM
They haven't included any of their nine new signings in the first 11 so some of them had to miss out off the bench. They're on a three game winning run in the league so I guess he doesn't want to tinker.

KrisLetang
03/02/2017, 7:42 PM
Wiggie have 20 games in 14 weeks coming up and Jack is sure to feature in a tremendous amount of them according to reports.

03/02/2017, 8:41 PM
Although I'm underwhelmed by this move, I think Byrne could have fun with this team. They really did a lot right vs SWFC and more control of the ball in the middle and final third would have paid dividends.

Razors left peg
21/02/2017, 7:10 PM
Any word on why he hasnt been involved since the move, has he been injured?

21/02/2017, 8:22 PM
no idea, but I did notice that there's no mention of him on their website since the transfer announcement, and an interview the day later.

Razors left peg
21/02/2017, 9:11 PM
Too early to write him off yet but can help but feeling that he is going to be looked on as too small for English football, or some crap like that.

CraftyToePoke
21/02/2017, 9:23 PM
This is the concern definitely, and hopefully he isn't Conor Cliffords age before he changes course if it starts going arseways. Meanwhile, Heerenveen are still in with a shout of Europe.

Razors left peg
21/02/2017, 9:31 PM
Or Wes, who was in his late 20s before he was given any credit.

DeLorean
21/02/2017, 9:33 PM
Asked this before but do we know if that Heerenveen link was actually a real thing? It sucks if he's not injured and still not even making the Wigan bench, even at this early stage.

Razors left peg
21/02/2017, 9:40 PM
Seems to come across as a good fella so Id be surprised if its an attitude problem with him like so many other young lads ( not working hard enough in training etc). I just think players like him can been seen too much of a luxury player in the lower divisions of English football so a move to the Continent would from the outside seem to be what he should have gone after.

Then again, he could be a little ****** to deal with and drinkin every second night of the weeks, so who knows :)

CraftyToePoke
21/02/2017, 9:53 PM
That’s part of the reason why I came here and didn’t go back to Holland. I had options in France, I had options in Israel, I had options everywhere. Maybe people don’t know me that well in England, but because I played in Europe, a lot of people know me around Europe.”

Don't know which clubs in truth but from joining Blackburn to be in MONs plans to his present Wigan predicament is a real test of his belief, and good luck to him - http://www.the42.ie/jack-byrne-turned-down-offers-abroad-bid-impress-oneill-2856638-Jul2016/

gastric
21/02/2017, 11:38 PM
Self belief, tenacity and the ability to overcome hurdles would seem to be what Byrne needs now. From the interviews I have read and watched, he seems to be someone who has the qualities and outlook to do everything in his power to be his best. Will be an interesting and hopefully successful journey to observe.

23/02/2017, 3:46 PM
Wiggie have 20 games in 14 weeks coming up and Jack is sure to feature in a tremendous amount of them according to reports.

Wiggie ? Have you got the English habit of seemingly just having every nickname ending in ie or y ? In our club we had a "Lardars*, Biggles, Sumo, Anto (of course), CaptNemo, P'Oh, Bushy, Twinkle, Chucker, Hector (name was John), Big Al etc etc - not one had a Y added to his surname. If you ever hear Morgan talking about the English cricket team, it's Cooky, Belly (no pun there), Rooty, Halesy, Stokesy....totally devoid of imagination.

Anyway, I hope Byrnesy gets more game time soon.

Razors left peg
23/02/2017, 4:16 PM
Asked Emmet Malone on twitter if he had heard anything about Byrnes situation at Wigan and why he wasn't getting a look in. He didn't know immediately but said he would look into it.

He got back to me today having spoken to someone and said that Byrne was felt not to be 100% match fit after the move but is getting there and should feature soon.

DannyInvincible
11/03/2017, 6:43 PM
Wigan manager, Warren Joyce, provides an update on Jack Byrne: http://www.wigantoday.net/sport/football/latics/joyce-challenges-byrne-colclough-and-co-1-8432816

Joyce says the door remains open for Jack Byrne - a January signing from Manchester City - who has been working behind-the-scenes on his fitness.

“Jack’s not that far away,” Joyce told the Wigan Post.

“If you look at his talent, he’s an unbelievable passer of the ball.

“I love watching him in the training games - his touch and awareness is different class.

“It’s just he hasn’t really played football for six months, before that he was away in Holland, so he’s had quite a long break.

“He’s been working his socks off behind the scenes to get up to speed.

“I spoke to all of the players who’ve been out of the side on Thursday, and told them I was looking for someone from that group to springboard into the side, with a freshness, and they could be the ones who make the biggest impact in what we want to achieve.

“They’ll get opportunities, and they’ve got to be ready to take them when they crop up.”

CraftyToePoke
11/03/2017, 7:17 PM
So was he not training / reserve games at Blackburn ?

Strange comment re Holland also, as thought it doesn't count fully either.

11/03/2017, 7:47 PM
it would tie in with this recent post on twitter, when asked if he was fit: https://twitter.com/Jackb_8/status/834504827065479169

Feeling a lot fitter mate can't wait to get going

Olé Olé
11/03/2017, 9:03 PM
So was he not training / reserve games at Blackburn ?

Strange comment re Holland also, as thought it doesn't count fully either.
Haha. The Holland comment was probably just awkward wording. It comes across as though he was away in Amsterdam, stuck down in the Red Light. The reality was he was playing regular senior football.

Owen Coyle has a lot to answer for. Between stunting Byrne's development and those comments about playing for Ireland when the Scotland job was last available, he's not wearing his one Irish cap around the place much.

Fingers crossed on Jack. There are a couple of months left for him to get a good run.

seanfhear
13/03/2017, 2:43 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/39255049

A new manager at Wigan.....As a player you have to keep an open mind on managers because like a box of chocolates that you have never seen before and there is no explainey thingy.....you don't know who you are going to get next....

DeLorean
13/03/2017, 2:49 PM
That's true Forrest. :D

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/03/2017, 11:56 PM
Noel King's reasoning for excluding Byrne from the U-21 squad.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/byrne-needs-gametime-at-wigan-to-regain-place-in-u21-squad-35560826.html

"We have lots of competition in midfield. Ryan Manning is doing well at QPR, our new captain Josh Cullen is a regular on loan at Bradford City from West Ham United and Connor Dimaio is getting games for Chesterfield."

Dimaio has started a total of two games since the turn of the year for Chesterfield, who are a league below.

Absolutely ridiculous reasoning.

It's poor man management and another knock for the lad's confidence.

This is the same person who dished out U-21 call-ups to several lads who haven't so much as made the bench at senior level let alone made an appearance.

01/04/2017, 1:12 PM
On the bench for Wigan today: https://twitter.com/LaticsOfficial/status/848159250362888193

01/04/2017, 1:45 PM
Noel King's reasoning for excluding Byrne from the U-21 squad.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/byrne-needs-gametime-at-wigan-to-regain-place-in-u21-squad-35560826.html

Dimaio has started a total of two games since the turn of the year for Chesterfield, who are a league below.

Absolutely ridiculous reasoning.

It's poor man management and another knock for the lad's confidence.

This is the same person who dished out U-21 call-ups to several lads who haven't so much as made the bench at senior level let alone made an appearance.
Criticising a manager for not picking a player who has played no football whilst also criticising the same manager for picking players who have played no football. Classic.