View Full Version : Jack Byrne (M Shamrock Rovers b.1996)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

Irish_Praha
11/12/2017, 8:42 PM
Byrne will end up in the Premiership without a doubt, just needs to have the right manager who isn't afraid of having a smaller guy in midfield. Hes very good.

He'll probably end up at Burnley ;)

seanfhear
12/12/2017, 4:03 PM
He'll probably end up at Burnley ;)We wish . Particularly if Sean Dyche is still there .

Olé Olé
30/12/2017, 12:09 PM
Young Irish midfielder Jack Byrne criticised by Oldham boss http://the42.ie/3774074

Couldn't this have just all gone swimmingly for a change? It looks to me as though Wellens know Byrne has had his head turned by a bigger club and is a bit sour over it.

DeLorean
30/12/2017, 1:04 PM
Those comments seem unnecessary alright. I'd be more worried if he questioned his commitment or attitude.

johnnyc
30/12/2017, 2:55 PM
Strange alright. Given the timing of the comments (loan ending, offers elsewhere) it comes across as very childish by the manager.

Olé Olé
30/12/2017, 6:28 PM
Those comments seem unnecessary alright. I'd be more worried if he questioned his commitment or attitude.

I'm probably reaching a bit and looking on the positive side in my interpretation. What you're saying above is what would worry me.

30/12/2017, 11:24 PM
Linked with a move to Hearts in January

samhaydenjr
31/12/2017, 12:10 AM
Linked with a move to Hearts in January

Hmm... I guess it would be a move up, assuming he breaks into the first team, but you'd still have to say he'd be behind our Championship midfielders in the international pecking order, unless he single-handedly leads Hearts to the SPL title next season

04/01/2018, 9:41 AM
confirmation he's returned to Wigan from Oldham at the end of his loan spell: https://www.oldhamathletic.co.uk/news/2018/january/03012018-loanees-return-to-parent-clubs/

Seems Hearts have ended their interest in him as well, but may sign Jake Mulraney from Inverness Caledonian Thistle: https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-pull-the-plug-on-deal-for-wigan-s-jack-byrne-1-4652709

12/01/2018, 1:26 PM
Rumours going around he's signed a permanent deal with Oldham.

samhaydenjr
12/01/2018, 10:54 PM
Rumours going around he's signed a permanent deal with Oldham.

Probably worth his while taking it as he could do with some stability. Manager seemed a little unimpressed with some of his later performance so he'd be well advised to up his game. To paraphrase Martin Luther King, if he's going to be a League One midfielder, be the best League One midfielder he can be

15/01/2018, 3:34 PM
Two and a half year contract with Oldham confirmed: https://www.oldhamathletic.co.uk/news/2018/january/15012018-jack-byrne-signing/

16/01/2018, 8:30 PM
video of Byrne's goals so far for Oldham

irishfan86
16/01/2018, 8:47 PM
I appreciate it's only League 1 but seven goals in half a season is a great return for a midfield player. A bit disappointed he's not playing at a higher level at this stage but if he keeps that up surely at least a Championship team will come in for him.

Olé Olé
17/01/2018, 7:28 AM
Yeah, it's no harm for him to have a full season there. It might teach him the importance of deferred gratification and that he's not just destined to move back up the ranks.

17/02/2018, 12:35 PM
Interviewed in today's independent: https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/other-soccer/if-i-live-up-to-the-hype-then-great-ill-give-it-my-best-shot-irelands-jack-byrne-36613148.html

Olé Olé
17/02/2018, 1:11 PM
Maybe it's just me but I think he says a bit in that interview without saying anything at all. The most insight I got was that he reckons he has the ability to get back to the top and is you get enough to do so. But that wasn't even insightful.

rebelmusic
20/02/2018, 8:11 PM
That's the first time i've seen Byrne coming across as mature and it's made me more confident for the lad. What happened with Blackburn & Wigan might turn out to be the best thing thats happened to him. The one positive about league one is with it being so physical, he will have more opportunity to adapt his game to "height" issue. I'm quietly confident for him at this point.

28/07/2018, 8:28 PM
According to a few posts on Twitter, Byrne has been suspended by Oldham. It's not clear why, but it looks like he was trying to engineer a move away from the club. Anthony Gerrard has been suspended too

liamoo11
28/07/2018, 10:46 PM
According to a few posts on Twitter, Byrne has been suspended by Oldham. It's not clear why, but it looks like he was trying to engineer a move away from the club. Anthony Gerrard has been suspended too

god I thouggt oldham were in such a mess tgey woukd be delighted if he could get himself a move similiar tto the mceleney situation

Olé Olé
28/07/2018, 11:20 PM
Wouldn't it be a fright to do it a natural way. Maybe spend half the season until January demonstrating that he's capable a few rungs up the ladder from League Two.

colonelwest
04/08/2018, 2:20 PM
Oldham are an absolute basket case the last year or two, Byrne's not had much luck the last few years with his moves since doing so well on loan in Holland. As mentioned above Paddy McEleney went over in the winter on a free and signed back for Dundalk there this month, said it's a basket case of a club. Wages unpaid, dodgy transfers in on big money relative to the division they were in who didn't give a fiddlers, new owner being shady to put it politely. Not heard much since on Oldham but the PFA and FA were getting involved plus the tax man was owed a few quid.

Byrne not even on the bench for Oldham today and they could only name 6 subs as well. He's as well getting out of dodge and hopefully can get even a decent loan move before the window closes. If he's still there come January he'd nearly be as well coming home for a season or two to try get himself back on track and get a move back across then.

Diggs246
04/08/2018, 9:02 PM
" we need to talk about Jack"
lads he isnt good enough. I hope he can carve out a good living from football, but I sorry to say it looks unlikely, which is a real shame

seanfhear
05/08/2018, 4:33 AM
lads he isnt good enough. I hope he can carve out a good living from football, but I sorry to say it looks unlikely, which is a real shameThats life , probably , possibly , maybe .

IsMiseSean
05/08/2018, 11:08 AM
lads he isnt good enough. I hope he can carve out a good living from football, but I sorry to say it looks unlikely, which is a real shame

Seems to be following in Conor Clifford's footsteps. He should head back to Holland.

mark12345
05/08/2018, 8:59 PM
Seems to be following in Conor Clifford's footsteps. He should head back to Holland.

I think someone on here said that about a year ago.

IsMiseSean
06/08/2018, 11:27 AM
I think someone on here said that about a year ago.

He might listen this time.

Siberian
07/08/2018, 9:20 AM
Or maybe a change of career? Unsuccessful stints at Blackburn, Wigan and Oldham can't all be the clubs' faults??

CraftyToePoke
15/08/2018, 12:52 AM
Free Jack Byrne is the hashtag up Oldham way after his mysterious, and as yet not fully explained suspension in pre season, and not a sign of him since.

- http://www.the42.ie/free-jack-byrne-4180017-Aug2018/

The fans want him back in their team, which is something I suppose, at least. He is never far from the news, Jack, but equally its never for the reasons you would hope.

CraftyToePoke
24/08/2018, 3:36 AM
An update of sorts, from firstly the Oldham manager

"It's been an ongoing saga. Jack has breached a couple of discipline rules and is no longer training with the first team squad. He's training with the youth team for the foreseeable future," said Bunn."It's been since the early days of pre-season. There have been a couple of issues but it's out now. We don't like what happened and this is how we've dealt with it.

"You can't have people going against the tide. We're trying to produce a family atmosphere and a good working relationship with everybody and this is what we need.

"There has been no distraction for the players at all. There have been no ifs or buts, it's just something we needed to keep a lid on until now.

And chairman / owner

"Ultimately, who plays in the team is down to the manager and his staff. If a player is not loyal, shows no discipline or shows a total lack of professionalism towards the club or any of their colleagues then I am 100 per cent behind our manager to make the correct decision on them," said Lemsagam.

"Any player that isn’t committed to this club will not feature for Oldham Athletic. I am pleased that our dressing room is now totally behind our management team; the players give total respect and dedication to Frankie Bunn and Andy Rhodes and, more importantly, Oldham Athletic."

- https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/jack-byrne-oldham-athletic-latics-15038255

But Bunn is quoted in another article as saying he doesn't see anyone going out on loan, so who knows how this will end up

- https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/jack-byrne-sam-surridge-oldham-15064533

Looks a lot like a new manager in his first league job, needing to show he's in charge, to me, and JB ended up on the wrong side of that.
Meanwhile, Byrne linked again with Peterborough on loan on that clubs forum this evening, a rumour that keeps coming back round.

CraftyToePoke
01/09/2018, 1:30 AM
Released / contract cancelled by Oldham and joins Kilmarnock in the SPL on a one year deal, one last, one last chance. Again.

- https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45372402

Olé Olé
01/09/2018, 4:12 AM
Released / contract cancelled by Oldham and joins Kilmarnock in the SPL on a one year deal, one last, one last chance. Again.

- https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45372402
Two Wiley old pro's and centre midfielders there in Lee Power and Gary Dicker. They've managed to carve out long careers varying levels of the game with much less ability than Byrne. Hopefully they can help guide him in the right path.

rebelmusic
06/12/2018, 1:19 PM
Rumours abound on Twitter that he's after walking away from Killie

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Rumors that Jack Byrne has left Kilmarnock after a few months <br><br>Byrne was such a promising player at Cambuur but a couple of bad moves around the UK has really held his career back <br><br>Coming home to Ireland for a year or two &amp; heading back to Europe would be a good option for him <a href="https://t.co/9yEnOvqAoY">https://t.co/9yEnOvqAoY</a></p>&mdash; Kieran (@The_Irishkieran) <a href="https://twitter.com/The_Irishkieran/status/1070280159570350081?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 5, 2018</a></blockquote>

<script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

[

[tweet]value[/t

seanfhear
06/12/2018, 1:22 PM
He certainly could do with a Year or Two in the League of Ireland .

It could be the makings of the Lad .

Maybe if he is a very naughty boy then maybe Irish clubs won’t want him .

rebelmusic
06/12/2018, 1:29 PM
Seems odd that the old dutch team he played for hasn't come back in for him. He seemed to fit in there.
Then again, considering the "career ending" tackle he made on some fella in training at Oldham coupled with not being patient at Killie/being late all the time (so i've read) - he's not in a good negotiating position.

Still seems to have buckets of talent - just needs a solid mentor figure and a kick up the arse

CraftyToePoke
06/12/2018, 1:34 PM
Seems odd that the old dutch team he played for hasn't come back in for him. He seemed to fit in there.
Then again, considering the "career ending" tackle he made on some fella in training at Oldham coupled with not being patient at Killie/being late all the time (so i've read) - he's not in a good negotiating position.

Still seems to have buckets of talent - just needs a solid mentor figure and a kick up the arse

Its not just that though, Blackburn didn't put him in, Wigan after giving him a three year deal didn't put him in and hinted at a fitness issue. There are too many 'its not me its them' episodes around this guy now to keep backing him, but hopefully this Kilmarnock thing doesn't come to pass, as I think it is his last chance at a good level.

Olé Olé
06/12/2018, 3:53 PM
Utterly bonkers if true. Hints at something that it's even rumoured. When will the penny drop? Maybe never. And what will he have to show for it then? Eff all. Christ.

Diggs246
06/12/2018, 3:57 PM
He certainly could do with a Year or Two in the League of Ireland .

It could be the makings of the Lad .

Maybe if he is a very naughty boy then maybe Irish clubs won’t want him .

He could certainly do with a kick in the hole

Fixer82
06/12/2018, 5:45 PM
Is he the new Anthony Stokes?

Diggs246
06/12/2018, 6:14 PM
Is he the new Anthony Stokes?

Stokes was a much better player, but a bigger bellend

rebelmusic
06/12/2018, 7:36 PM
Is h
e the new Anthony Stokes?

I haven't heard any stories about him going mental with the nightlife. The impression I get is that he's one of those fellas that people love to hate - he's clearly a smartass. I've been managing people for years (granted their techheads) - but, if i'm deducing his character correctly, they're the type i'd want to get rid of as soon as HR-ally possible as they're Basically, smart-alec arseholes. Most important to note, they are pure-poison in a team.
I hope i've completely read him wrong and even if not, it's easily coachable, but needs a solid mentor.

Stokes ,in my view. is a fella that wants to be half-a-gangster. He's got the full whack: violence, sex tapes, the Reals etc.To that end I would argue that's got some serious psychological issues and was never going to change unless he underwent some major therapy (I mean this in a genuine way)

I wouldn't put Gibson anywhere near these two. He was doing grand for the most part until he did his cruciat. That's when it looks like he started hitting the bottle. We should all be rooting for him imo. He always seemed to be a moody gruagach but there's not too much plamas from him before 2014.

rebelmusic
06/12/2018, 7:40 PM
And there we have it = Rovers

https://www.the42.ie/jack-byrne-shamrock-rovers-kilmarnock-football-4380512-Dec2018/

Ultimately he's the perfect example of the FAIs despicable handling of the LOI.
If this kid even got 3 or 4 more years with a local club then he's still going over younger than 20, but has been able to finish growing up around family and friends, But that simply wont happen until the clubs in Ireland start to have academies.

Fixer82
06/12/2018, 8:02 PM
I remember him training with the Irish seniors and there’s was a couple of comments from MON/Keane about him not lacking confidence. It wasn’t said in a hugely complimentary way, reading between the lines

rebelmusic
06/12/2018, 8:20 PM
I remember him training with the Irish seniors and there’s was a couple of comments from MON/Keane about him not lacking confidence. It wasn’t said in a hugely complimentary way, reading between the lines

Aye, in an interview during that week he directly said he's better than half the players in the squad. Dunno why Keano didnt rip him a new one

CraftyToePoke
07/12/2018, 3:11 PM
He's coming home
Jack Byrnes coming home .....

- https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/1207/1015845-jack-byrne-moves-to-shamrock-rovers/

liamoo11
07/12/2018, 4:42 PM
Rovers seem a bit overstocked now in midfield. Hopefully he doesn't hold back playing time for the young bolger and kavanagh.

Diggs246
07/12/2018, 5:47 PM
Rovers seem a bit overstocked now in midfield. Hopefully he doesn't hold back playing time for the young bolger and kavanagh.

Truth be told, he wont even make it at rovers.

backstothewall
07/12/2018, 8:27 PM
It's beginning to feel like i'll come out of Connolly Station one day and get into his taxi

seanfhear
08/12/2018, 7:59 AM
It's beginning to feel like i'll come out of Connolly Station one day and get into his taxi
He has been around bit and will have plenty of a geographical nature to discuss .

IsMiseSean
08/12/2018, 1:02 PM

Didn't MON mention him when asked about Crowley lately?

Something along the lines of them being similar personalities - also not meant in a complimentary fashion.