View Full Version : Jack Byrne (M Shamrock Rovers b.1996)
Pages :
[
3]
DeLorean
08/03/2016, 7:55 AM
Cambuur's game away to Feyenoord is on sky sports 5 today, kick off at 3:45
Independent.ie - Ireland U21 star continues to push for senior cap after making Eredivisie team of the week (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/other-soccer/ireland-u21-star-continues-to-push-for-senior-cap-after-making-eredivisie-team-of-the-week-34518610.html)
Betweters Team of the Week (http://betweters.nl/blog/elftal-van-de-week-speelronde-26)
TheOneWhoKnocks
08/03/2016, 11:33 AM
Sheridan is maybe worth another look too. Has had the best season of his career goalscoring wise.
Sadly, I think the fact they have decided to look beyond Britain to play their football will mean they won't be considered.
As if O'Neill or Keane could be arsed to go to rural Holland.
TheOneWhoKnocks
13/03/2016, 1:06 PM
Heracles Almelo playing with fire and they got Byrned.
3rd of the season for Jack.
https://twitter.com/AJPake/status/709022379582877700 (http://twitter.com/MCFClnfo/status/709019972119433218)
15/03/2016, 7:07 PM
Good to see he's (hopefully) starting to bring his goalscoring form at underage level into the senior game.
TheOneWhoKnocks
15/03/2016, 7:43 PM
http://forums.bluemoon-mcfc.co.uk/threads/jack-byrne.305397/page-15
Interesting discussion on the Man City forum as to whether Byrne's lack of height will restrict his chances at City, with the likes of N'Golo Kante and Nigel De Jong put forward as examples of why height doesn't matter.
A few think he would be a "Guardiola player".
Whatever that is.
DeLorean
23/03/2016, 10:16 AM
Manchester Evening News - Jack Byrne proves he has the self-belief to be new Roy Keane - only better! (http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/man-city-jack-byrne-keane-11079025)
hoops1
23/03/2016, 11:05 AM
Its understandable that he's full of beans at the minute but some of his comments are silly.
DeLorean
23/03/2016, 11:07 AM
Yeah, comes across a bit immature but lets hope he can back it up regardless!
Olé Olé
23/03/2016, 11:25 AM
What about it? He's a young lad giving his opinion and has worked hard enough to get to where he is and looks like he'll continue working even harder. Fair play to him, I say. Dutch football is known to be on a different technical level and he's the first young player we've had to go over there and make an impression so maybe his comments are justified.
23/03/2016, 11:30 AM
Yeah, comes across a bit immature but lets hope he can back it up regardless!
He's 19. At the same age the only thing I didn't know was how much I didn't know. Maturity will come.
DeLorean
23/03/2016, 11:34 AM
What about it? He's a young lad giving his opinion and has worked hard enough to get to where he is and looks like he'll continue working even harder. Fair play to him, I say. Dutch football is known to be on a different technical level and he's the first young player we've had to go over there and make an impression so maybe his comments are justified.
Nobody's slating him. And I think David Connolly would be very hurt by your comments.
hoops1
23/03/2016, 11:58 AM
Listen his comments re Keane are silly. Nobody is having a go at him he just needs to watch what he's saying. He hasn't done a tap in the game yet, there will be enough pressure to come his way without him adding to it.
Olé Olé
23/03/2016, 12:00 PM
I'm not saying you are slating him I was just responding to assertions he's coming across as a bit immature and making silly comments. He could be doing worse is all I'm saying, especially at 19.
Forgot about all about Connolly! He did make quite an impression at Excelsior, if I remember correctly, but they were in the division below the top one.
TheOneWhoKnocks
23/03/2016, 12:03 PM
I haven't seen anything to contradict my belief that the lad has anything but a good attitude towards being a professional footballer - in an era of Berahino's, Delph's and Sterling's.
It's refreshing to see an Irish footballer with a swaggering confidence in his own ability.
Olé Olé
23/03/2016, 12:06 PM
Listen his comments re Keane are silly. Nobody is having a go at him he just needs to watch what he's saying. He hasn't done a tap in the game yet, there will be enough pressure to come his way without him adding to it.
I know what you're saying but I can see what his point was re Keane. Byrne is a more attack-minded midfielder who likes an assist and a through ball. Keane was the engine from the base of the midfield. I thought that was where he was coming from. I don't think he managed to articulate his point well and it did leave him open when the comments were put to print.
DeLorean
23/03/2016, 12:08 PM
I haven't seen anything to contradict my belief that the lad has anything but a good attitude towards being a professional footballer
Most confusing sentence ever.
23/03/2016, 12:11 PM
I didn't read anything silly or immature in any of his interview. All I read was a determination to succeed. Really impressed by that interview.
DeLorean
23/03/2016, 12:18 PM
Saying he can influence a game at any level, that he knows he's as good as the players in the senior squad, that he's like Roy Keane except he plays the final pass instead of the first pass.... look, it's harmless enough but I completely agree with Hoops take on it.
TheOneWhoKnocks
23/03/2016, 12:27 PM
He sounds like a suppressive person, like Delaney & Westwood.
Wangball
23/03/2016, 12:46 PM
Not sure if anyone else thinks this but what I think we're seeing with Byrne is maybe the 1st example we're seeing of the "Conor McGregor Factor" influencing other sportsmen. McGregor is the most popular/well known Irish sportsmen of right now and youngsters are beginning to not only dress and "groom" like him (Byrne has a very McGregor-esque look) but are beginning to cast off the more familiar humble approach Irish athletes have tended to take in the past (Keane & a few others are exceptions to this) and talk themselves up. Can only hope that Byrne has the same impact on Soccer as McGregor had on his sport so more power to him.
Olé Olé
23/03/2016, 1:00 PM
Not sure if anyone else thinks this but what I think we're seeing with Byrne is maybe the 1st example we're seeing of the "Conor McGregor Factor" influencing other sportsmen. McGregor is the most popular/well known Irish sportsmen of right now and youngsters are beginning to not only dress and "groom" like him (Byrne has a very McGregor-esque look) but are beginning to cast off the more familiar humble approach Irish athletes have tended to take in the past (Keane & a few others are exceptions to this) and talk themselves up. Can only hope that Byrne has the same impact on Soccer as McGregor had on his sport so more power to him.
McGregor popped into my head a few times when I made my point above. I do think he's paved the way for talented young sportspeople to actually talk themselves up. Maybe I wouldn't have been as agreeable towards Byrne's interview in the pre-McGregor era. And I'll admit that because I do like McGregor. I can also understand why he isn't everybody's cup of tea.
23/03/2016, 1:10 PM
Saying he can influence a game at any level, that he knows he's as good as the players in the senior squad, that he's like Roy Keane except he plays the final pass instead of the first pass.... look, it's harmless enough but I completely agree with Hoops take on it.
of course, and we're not arguing (babe), but I think the type of midfielder that Roy Keane was (version 1) is more on the verge of extinction, rather than the midfielder Keane became (defensive midfielder as Stutts would say) which is all the rage.
DeLorean
23/03/2016, 1:40 PM
The McGregor stuff should be chalk and cheese really as fighters/boxers have talked themselves up since the beginning of time, even the Irish ones. It's not the norm for young footballers I don't think (to that extent) but that's not to say McGregor's not becoming an influence, he may well be.
Roy Keane has always been very humble when it came to self assessment, if fact, I don't think he gives himself enough credit at all for the technical side of the game he possessed. He obviously had that winning mentality though believed being Irish wasn't a handicap.
Wangball
23/03/2016, 1:51 PM
McGregor popped into my head a few times when I made my point above. I do think he's paved the way for talented young sportspeople to actually talk themselves up. Maybe I wouldn't have been as agreeable towards Byrne's interview in the pre-McGregor era. And I'll admit that because I do like McGregor. I can also understand why he isn't everybody's cup of tea.
I think its great. I really do. As much as I love a guy like Seamus Coleman - a consummate pro, does his job at the highest level week in / week out and is humble and quietly spoken to go with it - I think its refreshing to see a young Irish guy step up to the plate and announce himself like this. More guys should do this!
23/03/2016, 4:45 PM
He was interviewed on OTB last November and he came across as intelligent and confident, not cocky at all. There is a difference between cocky and confident.
Cocky is some two-bit brash lad who thinks he's all that but can't back it up. The likes of McGregor and Byrne are backing it up.
There's no harm in talking ourselves up because if we don't, who will?
https://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/The_Off_the_Ball_Football_Show/113776/Martin_ONeill_Jack_Byrne_and_planning_for_France
Interview starts with about 15min to go. Martin O'Neill is interviewed for the first 40 as it happens. It was a good interview too.
We're not here just to take part, we're here just to take over! (https://youtu.be/CQiG_9yUOA4?t=2m41s)
09/04/2016, 5:52 PM
Playing against Ajax on the red button on Sky Sports at the moment
TheOneWhoKnocks
10/04/2016, 12:16 PM
Playing in an awful Cambuur side v Ajax. Best player on the pitch imo. Commentators said he's miles ahead of the others on the Cambuur team & outshone Bazoer, the Ajax kid we've been linked with.
Some of his first time passing was DeBruyne-like. He really is coming on excellently. Looks stronger physically & very sharp mentally. On that showing he is sharper right now, than Silva in his current form, seeing passes much faster. Whether he has it in him to be at the same level as Silva at his best, we have to wait & see, but he already takes a better corner & free kick.
If he keeps up that level, he must surely be good enough to at very least be a squad player. The side he's playing in is truly awful & he's still able to cause problems.
All he has to do, is keep it going & Pep will like what he sees.
http://forums.bluemoon-mcfc.co.uk/threads/jack-byrne.305397/page-19
When pigs fly.
14/04/2016, 2:39 PM
highlights of his performance against Ajax last weekend
JySkquVshmA
kennedmc
14/04/2016, 6:01 PM
Ye gotta play Byrne Pep - he's the new Iniesta and Xavi rolled into one!!
Fixer82
15/04/2016, 12:35 AM
I'm not saying you are slating him I was just responding to assertions he's coming across as a bit immature and making silly comments. He could be doing worse is all I'm saying, especially at 19.
Forgot about all about Connolly! He did make quite an impression at Excelsior, if I remember correctly, but they were in the division below the top one.
Don't forget Connolly scored 2 goals V Ajax in the big Dutch derby before being banished to Excelsior where he scored probably more goals than games played
Lovely range of passing
Nice touch
Confident
Great short burst acceleration
Socks down
Let's see what he can do in the May friendlies and blood him for WC qualifying.
TheOneWhoKnocks
15/04/2016, 1:05 AM
August friendly 90 minutes.
DeLorean
15/04/2016, 7:27 AM
Lovely range of passing
Nice touch
Confident
Great short burst acceleration
Socks down
A player who seems to love the football is a rare enough thing these days. Seems a serious prospect, nice to have one where we're not worried about England calling them up. :)
15/04/2016, 7:58 AM
August friendly 90 minutes. no August friendlies any more
DeLorean
15/04/2016, 8:43 AM
no August friendlies any more
The FAI season ticket (http://www.fai.ie/ireland/tickets-membership/season-tickets) offer suggests otherwise.
The FAI Season Ticket includes the following games
Friendly game - August 2016
Georgia - 6th October 2016
Wales - 24th March 2017
Friendly game - May/June 2017
Austria - 11th June 2017
15/04/2016, 9:47 AM
The FAI season ticket (http://www.fai.ie/ireland/tickets-membership/season-tickets) offer suggests otherwise.
either you misquoted the link, or the page has been updated, it says this now
ROI V Friendly TBC Autumn 2016
DeLorean
15/04/2016, 9:59 AM
Yeah it was easier to c&p from elsewhere (https://oss.ticketmaster.com/aps/fai/EN/buy/details/1617SEAS).... but it did say August on the link also. So, by Autumn, that's probably October?
15/04/2016, 10:06 AM
According to the group wiki - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_%E2%80%93_UEFA_G roup_D#Matches - There's two games in October, home against Georgia and away to Moldova, so there could be a friendly September after the Serbia game
it's nice to have a prospect whom we don't have to worry about switching allegiance...
15/04/2016, 2:35 PM
Are we actually sure he won't switch?
It is an ongoing concern.
15/04/2016, 3:03 PM
A player who seems to love the football is a rare enough thing these days. Seems a serious prospect, nice to have one where we're not worried about England calling them up. :)
it's nice to have a prospect whom we don't have to worry about switching allegiance...
Plagiarism!
DeLorean
15/04/2016, 3:24 PM
I chose to ignore it because that guy is nothing to me. :o
dr_peepee
15/04/2016, 8:30 PM
Does Arter and Judges Injuries open the door for him a little ??
backstothewall
15/04/2016, 8:49 PM
I've always been of the opinion that if a kid is good enough he's old enough.
I'd play him v Holland with a view to taking him to France if he looks up to it.
DeLorean
21/04/2016, 7:38 PM
Assisted a goal (http://www.football-oranje.com/cambuur-1-1-willem-ii-draw-puts-hosts-verge-relegation/) tonight but Cambuur could only draw 1-1 with Willem II. They will be relegated if they lose to PSV at the weekend, not that it'll affect Byrne too much.
kennedmc
21/04/2016, 9:49 PM
Assisted a goal (http://www.football-oranje.com/cambuur-1-1-willem-ii-draw-puts-hosts-verge-relegation/) tonight but Cambuur could only draw 1-1 with Willem II. They will be relegated if they lose to PSV at the weekend, not that it'll affect Byrne too much.
From the same website:
http://www.football-oranje.com/man-city-loanee-jack-byrne-open-netherlands-stay/
Olé Olé
22/04/2016, 10:26 AM
From the same website:
http://www.football-oranje.com/man-city-loanee-jack-byrne-open-netherlands-stay/
Wouldn't it be so cool if he joined Ajax?
01/05/2016, 12:57 PM
playing PSV on the red button on Sky Sports 3 at the moment
01/05/2016, 1:16 PM
just scored before half time, Cambuur 3-2 down
TheOneWhoKnocks
01/05/2016, 1:43 PM
https://twitter.com/ConorPacKelly/status/726767701075578880