View Full Version : FAI Cup 2013
Pages :
[
9]
MiniMourinho
02/10/2013, 6:22 PM
Yeh Sevens (local taxi/bus company) left a double decker bus outside Oriel and people slept in it. Think their was about 15 of them on it, and was a good crowd their before went on sale at 10am. Where all gone before 10.40
This has to be the greatest bandwagon ever! Sleeping over night for tickets! FFS!
We've a small home crowd an know the faces, so thank those dundalk fans for me for their 15 euro despite the fact that they won't get in! :-)
02/10/2013, 6:26 PM
Those Dundalk fans must be very exciting about playing their fierce local rivals if they're camping out overnight for tickets.
dundalkfc10
02/10/2013, 6:32 PM
This has to be the greatest bandwagon ever! Sleeping over night for tickets! FFS!
We've a small home crowd an know the faces, so thank those dundalk fans for me for their 15 euro despite the fact that they won't get in! :-)
Says the club who brought 20,000 odd to a cup final yet cant get 1000 at a home game!
MiniMourinho
02/10/2013, 6:44 PM
20,000 - ever so slight exaggeration there!
Yeh Sevens (local taxi/bus company) left a double decker bus outside Oriel and people slept in it. Think their was about 15 of them on it, and was a good crowd their before went on sale at 10am. Where all gone before 10.40
Is this really true? I drive past oriel park every night and I saw a bus there last night, assumed it was for bingo or something, that's mental. I was going to ask what was stopping people going up at 8am and buying them, but this obviously.
Crazy stuff
White Horse
02/10/2013, 8:56 PM
I went up to Oriel this morning and turned back when I saw the length of the queue.
I have "home" tickets and am going to the game with 10 lads who are in a similar position. We'll go in in ones and twos. There will be plenty of other Dundalk fans there.
Yossarian
02/10/2013, 8:57 PM
I don't know how true the queuing overnight is but if it is isn't it nice to see something like this for the game here. We're always giving out about poor attendances so it's a change to see a bit of demand for tickets.
As for your point on the stewards recognising all the home crowds, I doubt they'll stop anyone who isn't wearing colours into the home side. I've sat in with home crowds at plenty of grounds without any bother and I imagine this will be the same.
MiniMourinho
02/10/2013, 9:47 PM
Ok but if you stand there with a 15e ticket with home written on it and don't get in, don't say ye werent warned! :-)
Yossarian
03/10/2013, 10:42 AM
Ok but if you stand there with a 15e ticket with home written on it and don't get in, don't say ye werent warned! :-)
Doesn't affect me as I have my away ticket but I honestly don't see how a steward at the gate will be able to tell if someone isn't from Drogheda.
White Horse
03/10/2013, 11:23 AM
Is that area where your ultras used to be still free? Seemed empty during our last league match.
Kiki Balboa
03/10/2013, 12:31 PM
If this actually happens it would be utterly completely ridiculous.
Been to plenty of fiercer derby's on the Continent and there is always away fans in the stadium outside the away end. As long as no fans are making or looking for trouble who are drogheda to reject them.
I would expect a response from anyone who was told no even though they paid 15 euro.
Quayman
03/10/2013, 12:42 PM
Doesn't affect me as I have my away ticket but I honestly don't see how a steward at the gate will be able to tell if someone isn't from Drogheda.
it will all come down to how you say "maaaaaassss baaaaaaa" and "staaaaaaaa baaaaaaa". If you say it correct, your out of the ground.
03/10/2013, 1:06 PM
it will all come down to how you say "maaaaaassss baaaaaaa" and "staaaaaaaa baaaaaaa". If you say it correct, your out of the ground.
I hear they'll be asking all entrants at the gate to recite a passage from Steve Staunton's autobiography.
dundalkfc10
03/10/2013, 1:19 PM
The guards wont allow Drogheda to keep 100/150 plus Dundalk fans outside the ground as this would most def lead to trouble.
White Horse
03/10/2013, 1:23 PM
I hear they'll be asking all entrants at the gate to recite a passage from Steve Staunton's autobiography.
Drogheda's most famous son?
mcgonigle
03/10/2013, 1:54 PM
The amount of rubbish you come out with is staggering. First saying that more than 600 Dundalk fans wanting to go to a cup semi-final against their nearest neighbours is a bandwagon!!!
And then saying that Dundalk fans who have home tickets won't get in is ridiculous, how can the stewards know where they're from and who they support?
You said you have a small home crowd and know the faces, so I assume that there will be about ~400 Drogheda fans at the game? Not possible that people from Drogheda who haven't been to a game all season will attend (is that a bandwagon as well?)?
In fairness to you, you are entertaining!
DaveyPats
03/10/2013, 2:07 PM
Dundalk people are notoriusly ugly anyways, shouldn't be hard to spot them.
White Horse
03/10/2013, 2:14 PM
Dundalk people are notoriusly ugly anyways, shouldn't be hard to spot them.
True. Drogheda fans are beautiful people.
http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h311/MarkJM/Hobancelebrates.jpg (http://s67.photobucket.com/user/MarkJM/media/Hobancelebrates.jpg.html)
Should be a cracker anyway,hopefully common sense prevails and most who travel get in.A cup final would be a great way to end a fantastic season
Overthemoon
03/10/2013, 6:01 PM
True. Drogheda fans are beautiful people.
http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h311/MarkJM/Hobancelebrates.jpg (http://s67.photobucket.com/user/MarkJM/media/Hobancelebrates.jpg.html)
+1
well that sums it up!!!!!
MiniMourinho
03/10/2013, 6:26 PM
The amount of rubbish you come out with is staggering. First saying that more than 600 Dundalk fans wanting to go to a cup semi-final against their nearest neighbours is a bandwagon!!!
And then saying that Dundalk fans who have home tickets won't get in is ridiculous, how can the stewards know where they're from and who they support?
You said you have a small home crowd and know the faces, so I assume that there will be about ~400 Drogheda fans at the game? Not possible that people from Drogheda who haven't been to a game all season will attend (is that a bandwagon as well?)?
In fairness to you, you are entertaining!
Ground regulations and all. No mixing of opposition supporters!
Relax yourself I'm only messing! :-)
03/10/2013, 6:33 PM
People will be asked to come to the game barefoot and if you have 6 toes on each foot, you're free to go into the home end. Otherwise, you'll be refused entry.
WindmillWarrior
03/10/2013, 7:00 PM
Jaysus H, the wit levels truely are pathetic on this site these days. Though in saying that, the picture is very funny!
mcgonigle
03/10/2013, 7:46 PM
Ground regulations and all. No mixing of opposition supporters!
Relax yourself I'm only messing! :-)
I'm very relaxed sure didn't I even pay you a compliment ;-)
You're right about the regulations in theory but in reality there will be Drog fans there that aren't regulars, impossible to tell the difference between them and Dundalk fans.
Anyway this could all have been avoided if ya's had just built that new stadium a few years back!
dundalkfc10
04/10/2013, 3:56 PM
We got more tickets today, 150 Ive been told. On Sale in Oriel in last half an hour until 6pm
05/10/2013, 12:44 PM
Would like to see a Dundalk/Sligo final.
05/10/2013, 1:26 PM
Missing Peersie and Dave McMillan. Don't see us doing it against Shams the way our midfield is/isn't playing.
Real Rover
06/10/2013, 12:55 PM
I know it's unlikely, but if anyone comes across a stream that works in the UK I will be forever grateful!
PartySaint
06/10/2013, 12:56 PM
Just not another Drogs vs Sham Rovers final is all I ask
06/10/2013, 12:57 PM
I know it's unlikely, but if anyone comes across a stream that works in the UK I will be forever grateful!
Try aertv.ie
Real Rover
06/10/2013, 12:59 PM
Doesn't work in the UK either, but thanks.
06/10/2013, 1:15 PM
Fun times in Drogheda! Dundalk down to 9 men.
Dundalk absolutely imploding. 2 reds in a few minutes and penalty to come..
Scored.. Drogheda in a great position now.
That's 4 reds against Drogheda in their last three cup games.
06/10/2013, 1:36 PM
I can understand the refs decision but in real time both tackles looked like yellow to me. Very interesting second half to come
06/10/2013, 1:36 PM
On first look the first was harsh but by the replay it was a red, studs up and flying in.
The second never a red.
Dundalk FM must be pretty funny right now. Can't get the stream working unfortunately.
Fester
06/10/2013, 2:32 PM
First was a Yellow, second was not a peno or a red.
Candystripe
06/10/2013, 2:40 PM
Brilliant performance from Dundalk. Buttimer takes another big cup game and ruins it!
Quite an unbelievable game. Ist red was just messy, had to go. 2nd wasn't even a penalty.
Ref ruined the game, simple as that.
If that's the standard or reward for a side getting to the FAI cup final, with less than 1,000 home fans bothering to turn up, I give up.
I didn't think either decision was that bad to be honest. First was a stupid, dangerous tackle and the second denied a shooting chance in the box.
Candystripe
06/10/2013, 3:24 PM
Mr A, the 2nd was a brilliant piece of defending.
06/10/2013, 3:34 PM
What the story with ballboys throwing extra balls on the pitch?
Yossarian
06/10/2013, 3:41 PM
Well no matter what,it'll be an easy win for Sligo or Rovers in the final. Drogheda had an hour with 2 extra men and were woeful. I thought we deserved a draw out of it.
I've not felt so deflated after a defeat for a long time. The first red was a silly challenge but it was a joke for the second, shields won the ball brilliantly.
WindmillWarrior
06/10/2013, 3:56 PM
, with less than 1,000 home fans bothering to turn up, I give up.
Where you getting that number from? Not a bitter mind I hope!
As I understand it the game was as good as sold out on saturday night. Capacity was 2,400. Most of the crowd on the home side were standing on the terracing at the back of the stand, avoiding the rain soaked seats further down.
White Horse
06/10/2013, 4:00 PM
Where you getting that number from? Not a bitter mind I hope!
As I understand it the game was as good as sold out on saturday night. Capacity was 2,400. Most of the crowd on the home side were standing on the terracing at the back of the stand, avoiding the rain soaked seats further down.
Home side was at least 1/3 empty. The terrace area you mention must be included in the capacity figures.
Anyway, good luck in the final. It is not Drogheda's fault that the ref ruined the game.
No way was the 2nd red a sending off.
Dundalk can feel hard done by in the way they went out. But to be fair to them they put in a decent effort given they had 9 men.
peterpan
06/10/2013, 4:10 PM
1st was a red card defo but second wasn't even a foul, poor decision. Stephen kenny and Stephen o Donnell could be in hot water also for the comments during and after the game.
legendz
06/10/2013, 4:27 PM
Congrats to Drogheda on making the final!
NeverFeltBetter
06/10/2013, 4:35 PM
All kicking off now.
Very disappointing result, but of course this is not Drogs fault.
Just a pity the game was not allowed to continue as a fair contest, but Buthead saw to that. I watched the pen a few times, Shields got the ball, contact was made with O'Brien, but after the ball was won. Another mistake was the red, there was another defender infront of Shields.
Shocking display by Buthead as felt we would have got a replay with even 10 men on, and a cup final appearance would have been a decent reward for this seasons efforts.
Good luck to the teams left, Drogs and looking like Sligo.