View Full Version : FAI Cup 2013

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

White Horse
15/09/2013, 8:42 PM
Gavin Brennan and Michael Daly out for the replay tomorrow night for Drogs.
Ciaran Coll out for Harps but have joint top goal scorer Sean McCarron back.

Looks like a big Harps crowd travelling down. Hopefully we don't live to regret the missed opportunities from Friday night.

A few people from Dundalk will be there lending their support to Harps.

15/09/2013, 8:48 PM
declan devine must surely be let go from derry city by the end of the season if this continues..

16/09/2013, 12:08 AM

Might be some of the same Dundalk flags down that were in Finn Park on Friday

Straightstory
16/09/2013, 8:26 AM
That's a bit odd. Surely the possibility of a semi final (or even final) against Drogheda would be attractive for a Dundalk fan? As a Drogs fan, a Louth derby semi final or final would be something to look forward to.

Ezeikial
16/09/2013, 9:35 AM
That's a bit odd. Surely the possibility of a semi final (or even final) against Drogheda would be attractive for a Dundalk fan?
Personally, I see very little thats attractive in that possibility

90 minutes plus of hoofball is certainly not appealing
Because of low Drogs fan base there is also little possibility of banter normally associated with derbies (I have long felt that the "rivalry" is largely a media creation, fueled by the dwindling number of Drogs fans)

The only positive I can see is that apart from Haprs, Drogheda are the lowest ranked team remaining

Duffman
16/09/2013, 10:00 AM
Conspiracy theorist in me says that the 2 Rovers will be scheduled for the final so can't see Dundalk getting Drogheda/Harps in the semis draw!

MiniMourinho
16/09/2013, 10:27 AM
The newly formed superiority complex of some Dundalk supporters is hilarious!

Louth4sam
16/09/2013, 10:36 AM
Newly formed??? We've always felt superior

Mad Moose
16/09/2013, 1:40 PM
Anyone know of any coverage available for tonights replay at Hunky Dory's. Could be a great old night and Harps in the Semi Final Draw looks good.

Thanks

Brendan

Finlay Harp
16/09/2013, 3:53 PM
Anyone know of any coverage available for tonights replay at Hunky Dory's. Could be a great old night and Harps in the Semi Final Draw looks good.

Thanks

Brendan

Highland Radio and the Harps twitter account are your best bet Brendan. UTH

Straightstory
16/09/2013, 4:39 PM
Personally, I see very little thats attractive in that possibility

90 minutes plus of hoofball is certainly not appealing
Because of low Drogs fan base there is also little possibility of banter normally associated with derbies (I have long felt that the "rivalry" is largely a media creation, fueled by the dwindling number of Drogs fans)

The only positive I can see is that apart from Haprs, Drogheda are the lowest ranked team remaining

Last time Dundalk in Cup Final (2002) attendance: 10,000

Last time Drogheda in Cup Final (2005) attendance 24,000 - (largely from Drogheda).

Drogs league crowds are rubbish (and indeed 'dwindling'), but a Cup semi or final v Dundalk would have a healthy attendance.

dejadem
16/09/2013, 4:43 PM

Last time Drogheda in Cup Final (2005) attendance 24,000 - (largely from Drogheda).

Drogs league crowds are rubbish (and indeed 'dwindling'), but a Cup semi or final v Dundalk would have a healthy attendance.

I admire your optimism on both fronts.

El-Pietro
16/09/2013, 4:48 PM

largely from Drogheda?! There was a huge crowd up from Cork for that game, we had just won the league title and expected to win the double. Expectation of course did not become reality.

Mad Moose
16/09/2013, 5:18 PM
Highland Radio and the Harps twitter account are your best bet Brendan. UTH

Thanks,

I think i'll stick with Twitter again then. Can't see Highland doing live coverage.

markc1184
16/09/2013, 5:36 PM
Drogs Live Radio are doing coverage. Not sure of a link for it but if you search for their twitter it should be there.

16/09/2013, 6:01 PM
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/drogs-live

Kiki Balboa
16/09/2013, 6:09 PM
Pats should have had more sent off

16/09/2013, 6:36 PM
Some cracking goals this weekend!

Mad Moose
16/09/2013, 6:59 PM
Jesus it's windy in Drogheda tonight.

Any coverage is better than none. Not a big crowd by the sounds of it.

White Horse
16/09/2013, 7:22 PM
If Drogheda get passed Harps, I wonder will they move the semi final to Tallaght?

There'll be a bigger crowd wanting to see that game that the Europa League tie.

16/09/2013, 7:29 PM
As many Harps fans as Drogs tonight?

markc1184
16/09/2013, 7:45 PM
Not a great 1st half.

16/09/2013, 7:56 PM
1-0 Drogs after 50. Fabio.

dundalkfc10
16/09/2013, 8:14 PM
As many Harps fans as Drogs tonight?

Theres about 120 Harps fans according to one my mates from Dundalk who is at it

About 400 altogether he said

16/09/2013, 8:19 PM
Mental attendance for a cup quarter final.

White Horse
16/09/2013, 8:23 PM
Mental attendance for a cup quarter final.

120 from Donegal on a Monday night is not bad. Drogheda, unfortunately, have hardly any fans.

16/09/2013, 8:35 PM
All over. 2-0 as Harps push everyone forward looking for an equaliser in injury time.

16/09/2013, 8:50 PM
FT in Drogheda.

Drogs v Dundalk in the Semi.

Utterly sickening knowing that we were robbed on Friday night.

16/09/2013, 9:23 PM
Conspiracy theorist in me says that the 2 Rovers will be scheduled for the final so can't see Dundalk getting Drogheda/Harps in the semis draw!

You really have the FAI sussed, haven't you?

Dillonman
16/09/2013, 9:47 PM
Was in with the Harps lads tonight. Was a terrible match, plenty of hoofball, Drogs have learned nothing from the howler they made against us last week at the back, kept messing across the back four with the ball. Harps offered little as well. Fair play to the 100 odd of them that came down. Poor home attendance tonight and they were fairly quiet. Ref was poor as well (nothing new there)

16/09/2013, 10:11 PM
Had heard it was a shocker of a match alright. Drogheda make it very difficult for any team looking to get the ball down and play it. Harps don't offer very much past midfield. Hutton is very negative and defensive minded, if we'd worked on being able to actually attack this season we might have got somewhere.

jinxy lilywhite
16/09/2013, 10:38 PM

you should include the venues in there

Dundalk 2002 Tolka Park - Capacity 10,000 or so

2005 was in Lansdowne Rd and capacity was far more than 24,000

I was disappointed with the draw. I am sick and tired of playing Drogheda now. the Louth derby is a non entity created I think by LMFM and drog fans with an inferiority complex. I cringe when I hear younger Dundalk fans call them our main rivals who are really Rovers, Bohs & to a lesser extent Shels. The thoughts of going to united park and give them money turns me tummy.

anyhoo its a semi final, 90 minutes from a first proper final in 11 years excluding setanta cup. Should be good but the game is a long way off and I am more concerned with Richmond park on Friday night

Ezeikial
17/09/2013, 9:30 AM
There are major question marks over how the FAI Cup Semi-final can be safely staged in HD Park without a re-think on the usual arrangements.

The normal arrangements of away fans in the hospital side terrace is unlikely to work - with demand from Dundalk fans likely to be at least twice the available capacity, while based on recent attendances, the home demand is likely to be significantly less then the available space on the opposite side.

It also raises the dangerous possibility of visiting fans looking to access the home section - or hundreds of fans locked out of a half empty ground!

White Horse
17/09/2013, 9:37 AM
It would have to be all ticket and ticketless fans kept well away from the ground.

Is this practical though?

Derry
17/09/2013, 9:38 AM
Can anyone tell me the capacity of the large stand at Sligo's ground?

dong
17/09/2013, 9:44 AM
Can anyone tell me the capacity of the large stand at Sligo's ground?

1800 approx.

Ezeikial
17/09/2013, 9:51 AM
It would have to be all ticket and ticketless fans kept well away from the ground.

Is this practical though?

I doubt if that would ensure segregation?
I think it would be relatively easy for Dundalk fans to access tickets in Drogheda after the allocation was sold out

Would the Gardai be content with dealing with ticketless fans while plenty of capacity remained inside the ground?

MiniMourinho
17/09/2013, 10:39 AM
Lads no amount of knicker-twisting is going to change the fact that the game will be in HDP and Dundalk will get 800 tickets. It's just another game despite your new Harlem Globetrotter status!

White Horse
17/09/2013, 11:08 AM
It's just another game despite your new Harlem Globetrotter status!

That is the problem. Just another game means 400-500 home fans.

It would make more sense to put the home fans in the Windmill Road end.

Ezeikial
17/09/2013, 11:23 AM
Lads no amount of knicker-twisting is going to change the fact that the game will be in HDP and Dundalk will get 800 tickets. It's just another game despite your new Harlem Globetrotter status!

A more progressive or innovative approach could double the visiting support. Finance may not be a major issue for some, but another 800 through the gate can give Drogheda an additional €7,000 income

Straightstory
17/09/2013, 11:34 AM

I was disappointed with the draw. I am sick and tired of playing Drogheda now. the Louth derby is a non entity created I think by LMFM and drog fans with an inferiority complex. I cringe when I hear younger Dundalk fans call them our main rivals who are really Rovers, Bohs & to a lesser extent Shels. The thoughts of going to united park and give them money turns me tummy.

anyhoo its a semi final, 90 minutes from a first proper final in 11 years excluding setanta cup. Should be good but the game is a long way off and I am more concerned with Richmond park on Friday night

You seem to be suggesting that a similar crowd might have turned up in Tolka if the capacity was over 10,000. I doubt it very much.
Anyway - hope there's a good crowd for the semi. In previous years, 3,000 Drogs fans would have been reasonably expected to turn up. I expect about 1,000 this time. If it's less than that, I really will despair - and make the sad prediction that the club's days in senior football are numbered.

MiniMourinho
17/09/2013, 12:04 PM
Like I said..let it go. Yes money is great but there isn't a snowballs chance in hell that we will move our own support for Dundalk. Sometimes it's not worth it. This is that time.

Yossarian
17/09/2013, 12:12 PM
If I was a Drogheda fan I would be disgusted if the game or the home fans were moved to get more away fans in. It defeats the advantage of being drawn at home. I would be shocked if there are any significant changes made to the staging of this game.
This looks like it will be one of those rarest of rare things, more people wanting to attend a league/cup game than can be accommodated.

White Horse
17/09/2013, 12:16 PM
If I was a Drogheda fan I would be disgusted if the game or the home fans were moved to get more away fans in. It defeats the advantage of being drawn at home. I would be shocked if there are any significant changes made to the staging of this game.
This looks like it will be one of those rarest of rare things, more people wanting to attend a league/cup game than can be accommodated.

A sell out would be fantastic for the league.

Once it can be safely managed and Drogheda can sell out the home section. I'd hate to see Dundalk fans excluded while there are empty seats.

Duffman
17/09/2013, 12:26 PM
Wouldn't it be financially beneficial for Drogheda to switch it to Oriel? :p

MeathDrog
17/09/2013, 1:46 PM

Remind me who Dundalk played against for your biggest gate at home this season.

17/09/2013, 2:13 PM
Remind me who Dundalk played against for your biggest gate at home this season.

Touché!

Matches with Shamrock Rovers do count more with Dundalk fans than Drogheda. This would undoubtedly change if Drogheda were to close the gap on our roll of honour!

dundalkfc10
17/09/2013, 2:19 PM
Touché!

Matches with Shamrock Rovers do count more with Dundalk fans than Drogheda. This would undoubtedly change if Drogheda were to close the gap on our roll of honour!

100% agree, Shamrock Rovers games matter more than games Vs Drogheda to the majority of Dundalk fans

17/09/2013, 3:03 PM
the Louth derby is a non entity created I think by LMFM and drog fans with an inferiority complex. I cringe when I hear younger Dundalk fans call them our main rivals
Of course you'd never fall for such transparent parlour tricks, jinxy.

The thoughts of going to united park and give them money turns me tummy.

Oh.

Overthemoon
17/09/2013, 3:59 PM
Running order sorted

http://www.fai.ie/domestic-a-grassroots/competitions/fai-ford-senior-cup/103533-order-decided-for-fai-ford-cup-semi-finals.html

(http://www.fai.ie/domestic-a-grassroots/competitions/fai-ford-senior-cup/103533-order-decided-for-fai-ford-cup-semi-finals.html)The Louth derby between Drogheda United and Dundalk at Hunky Dorys Park will start at 1.45pm and will be followed by the clash of Sligo Rovers and Shamrock Rovers at The Showgrounds which will kick-off at 3.55pm.
Both matches will be all-ticket and will be shown live on RTE Two.
Any replays will be played on Wednesday, October 9, with a 7.45pm kick-off if there is a replay at Oriel Park and 8pm if Tallaght Stadium is hosting a replay. Any replays will be played to a finish with extra-time and penalties if required.