View Full Version : FAI Cup 2013
Pages :
[
8]
WindmillWarrior
17/09/2013, 6:00 PM
This game will sell out I reckon. All the lapsed fans will come out for this one. And more. Won't they? Surely they will. If not I would also truely worry for the future of the club.
We hate you more than you don't hate us. I know some Dundalk fans in their 30's and 40's who might disagree with that but ho hum. We all know historically you have had bigger run ins with Rovers and Bohs, I suppose we should have known better than for you to have moved on from those glory glory black and white days ;-)
For what its worth I've found the atmosphere at a lot of the United park derbies down the years to be red hot, home and away ends. But maybe all those away fans thought we were rovers or bohs (or shels!!!) in disguise! The atmosphere is never as good in oriel, but its always been a bit open for creating an atmosphere there anyway
Anyway, enjoy the queues for your 800 tickets :-)
White Horse
17/09/2013, 6:31 PM
This game will sell out I reckon. All the lapsed fans will come out for this one. And more. Won't they? Surely they will. If not I would also truely worry for the future of the club.
We hate you more than you don't hate us. I know some Dundalk fans in their 30's and 40's who might disagree with that but ho hum. We all know historically you have had bigger run ins with Rovers and Bohs, I suppose we should have known better than for you to have moved on from those glory glory black and white days ;-)
For what its worth I've found the atmosphere at a lot of the United park derbies down the years to be red hot, home and away ends. But maybe all those away fans thought we were rovers or bohs (or shels!!!) in disguise! The atmosphere is never as good in oriel, but its always been a bit open for creating an atmosphere there anyway
I enjoy games at United Park, even if the viewing position for away fans is crap. There will be a great atmosphere.
It's a nightmare for the club is decide who gets the limited number of tickets though. They're talking about running a lottery system.
Wait until you have that 3,500 seater stadium ;)
Enjoy your non queues ;)
mcgonigle
17/09/2013, 6:39 PM
I enjoy games at United Park, even if the viewing position for away fans is crap. There will be a great atmosphere.
It's a nightmare for the club is decide who gets the limited number of tickets though. They're talking about running a lottery system.
Wait until you have that 3,500 seater stadium ;)
A lottery should only happen after season ticket holders and patron scheme members are offered first refusal.
White Horse
17/09/2013, 6:52 PM
A lottery should only happen after season ticket holders and patron scheme members are offered first refusal.
Agreed.
dundalkfc10
17/09/2013, 8:36 PM
Tony Curtis's buses will also be giving a number of tickets id imagine.
He will know the people who usually attend on his bus (buses latley)
Dillonman
17/09/2013, 10:29 PM
Tony Curtis's buses will also be giving a number of tickets id imagine.
He will know the people who usually attend on his bus (buses latley)
problem is...tony is out of the country for this match.
Nailor
18/09/2013, 10:15 AM
Fantastic planning for the times of the semi's. To have the Rovers semi as the late game really shows how in touch and mindful of fans the FAI / RTE really are.
The fact it won't be over until 10 or 5 to 6 and Hoops fans will be held back for 10 - 15 minutes and the last train out of shligo is at, yes you've guessed it 6PM :(
Coupled with the fact you cannot book the 9.05 that morning (the only train that will get you to sligo in time) on the web site, makes things interesting
oriel
18/09/2013, 10:42 AM
Yep good point, could easily have put our game on second, its now 20 mins, prob less from some parts of DLK to Drogs on the M1.
Even for coaches, Rovers fans not getting back to Dubs until 9pm at the very earliest, even longer journey with a defeat!
White Horse
18/09/2013, 10:45 AM
You would have thought that the FAI would think of the fans who have to travel furthest and schedule the ties accordingly.
As oriel says, Drogheda is so easy to get to, it doesn't matter when our tie is on.
18/09/2013, 12:21 PM
Fantastic planning for the times of the semi's. To have the Rovers semi as the late game really shows how in touch and mindful of fans the FAI / RTE really are.
The fact it won't be over until 10 or 5 to 6 and Hoops fans will be held back for 10 - 15 minutes and the last train out of shligo is at, yes you've guessed it 6PM :(
Coupled with the fact you cannot book the 9.05 that morning (the only train that will get you to sligo in time) on the web site, makes things interesting
Get a bus ye lazy b0llocks.
18/09/2013, 12:38 PM
Nailor, we shall endeavour to facilitate you by making sure the game is over at half time.:rolleyes:
Nailor
18/09/2013, 1:05 PM
Get a bus ye lazy b0llocks.
What's lazy about getting the train????? Ya mad yoke.
I would get the bus , but the first over is not until 11 am, so I wouldn't get there 'til 3 ish, and coming back it's a near four hour job, so fook that.
I'll be staying over anyway now.
Just saying surely to fook the early option would have been the logical outcome....oh wait
18/09/2013, 1:30 PM
Ara twas a joke. Better off making a weekend of such a thing anyway. Although Sligo wouldn't be my first choice for a weekend away..
Bus from Sligo to Dublin is a horrible journey anyways. Especially the stop in Longford. No one should ever be made to wait in Longford.
18/09/2013, 7:25 PM
Ara twas a joke. Better off making a weekend of such a thing anyway. Although Sligo wouldn't be my first choice for a weekend away..
Bus from Sligo to Dublin is a horrible journey anyways. Especially the stop in Longford. No one should ever be made to wait in Longford.
Nor in the First Division.
Yeah, perverse logic at work there. Even for RTE, you'd imagine if they are bringing an OB crew from Dublin (which I assume will be the case) it would also suit them to have that game as the early kick off. I wonder if they did have a hand in the decision ?
dublinred
19/09/2013, 10:51 PM
Looks like both semis will be sold out all ticket games , final should have at least 25k based on any combination of teams left.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/09/2013, 11:02 PM
Based on Droghedas attendance I wouldn't say 25k if they get through but Dundalk against either of the Rovers should get that number hopefully.
As an aside the Sligo GAA have decided to push the date of the senior county final back a week as it clashed with the semi final in The Showgrounds. Massive credit due to them over that I must say.
Straightstory
20/09/2013, 9:43 AM
Drogs would bring a big crowd to the final - as they did in 2005. It's like GAA crowds at that stage - no aesthetic appreciation of sport, but a nice day out for the family.
White Horse
20/09/2013, 10:28 AM
Drogs would bring a big crowd to the final - as they did in 2005. It's like GAA crowds at that stage - no aesthetic appreciation of sport, but a nice day out for the family.
How many did they bring to the Setanta cup final? How many will they bring to the EA Sports Cup Final tomorrow?
dejadem
20/09/2013, 11:49 AM
I doubt it, that was a one off. Last season showed that there is no bandwagon for football in Drogheda at the moment.
dejadem
20/09/2013, 11:52 AM
How many will they bring to the EA Sports Cup Final tomorrow?
No too many unfortunately.
I'd say that the Setanta Cup final performance did serious damage to the day trippers numbers tomorrow, it certainly impacted on the Malmo match.
oriel
20/09/2013, 12:13 PM
Based on Droghedas attendance I wouldn't say 25k if they get through but Dundalk against either of the Rovers should get that number hopefully.
As an aside the Sligo GAA have decided to push the date of the senior county final back a week as it clashed with the semi final in The Showgrounds. Massive credit due to them over that I must say.
Possibly the only county in the country to do this, 100% fair play.
oriel
20/09/2013, 12:15 PM
I'd say that the Setanta Cup final performance did serious damage to the day trippers numbers tomorrow, it certainly impacted on the Malmo match.
Why wasnt Richmond Park considered for the Setanta, I know there is a game tonight, but the date could have been worked on. Tolka will never work, and not sure about Dalymount, but Richmond should have been at least an option, was it?
wonder88
20/09/2013, 12:33 PM
Fair play to the Sligo county board for putting their final back.
dejadem
20/09/2013, 12:34 PM
Why wasnt Richmond Park considered for the Setanta, I know there is a game tonight, but the date could have been worked on. Tolka will never work, and not sure about Dalymount, but Richmond should have been at least an option, was it?
Good point, I don't know. It just seems that the Setanta cup has defaulted to a home ground final like the League Cup.
It been Rovers in Tallaght for the 3rd final in a year has a touch of fatigue about it for some people.
Sean South
20/09/2013, 12:51 PM
Massive credit? HA. They are €1.5m in debt, they can't afford to loose out so they moved the game. It's not for Sligo Rovers benifit the game was moved, it's that they need every penny they can get their greasy paws on.
shellyriver
20/09/2013, 1:12 PM
Massive credit? HA. They are €1.5m in debt, they can't afford to loose out so they moved the game. It's not for Sligo Rovers benifit the game was moved, it's that they need every penny they can get their greasy paws on.
Yeah - this game would be a sell-out with or without GAA's move.
If they played their Gah championship during summer months and get it over it would free up Junior soccer cross-over, this would have being more sensible.
The fact that Tubbercurry are in Co Final is probably a consideration, re Raf etc - but seriously, how many people does this effect?
Basically, it shows the GAA in Sligo is very much in doldrums and whilst Bit-a-Red are not attracting as many as last season, Shams v Rovers in a semi-final will bring out the punters - I think its fair to say we would love to get one over Jayo, Quigley, Richie Ryan and McCabe etc.
20/09/2013, 1:58 PM
Well, its fair to say that 500/600 who will be at the Shams match would be lost to the GAA final.
White Horse
20/09/2013, 2:17 PM
If that happened in Louth, the GAA would go ahead with their game no matter how big the negative impact would be for them.
The GAA in Sligo are being congratulated for action rationally. That is big progress.
Straightstory
20/09/2013, 2:41 PM
I agree. Plus third final in recent years against Rovers at their ground has feeling of deja vu and over-familarity. Still expect much bigger crowd for FAI game(s), though. Much bigger competition and attraction of Aviva.
WindmillWarrior
20/09/2013, 2:46 PM
We had 1,000 at last years ea final. Not much over half that at this years Setanta, which shows how far our crowds have dropped even from last year. Tallaght fatigue has a lot to do with it as well though
We had 13,000 at that famous fai cup final, over 5,000 at a Setanta final in Tolka and over 2,000 at a Setanta final against linfield in Windsor gives further indication of the serious decline in our support.
No idea on what kind of crowd will travel tomorrow but I'd imagine it'll be in the hundreds again unfortunately...
dejadem
20/09/2013, 2:59 PM
If that happened in Louth, the GAA would go ahead with their game no matter how big the negative impact would be for them.
Too true.
Yossarian
20/09/2013, 3:29 PM
Too true.
I think I'm right in saying the Louth SFC semi final replay is scheduled for tonight.
20/09/2013, 4:18 PM
Blues v St Patricks so Drogheda v Cooley
Yossarian
20/09/2013, 4:23 PM
Blues v St Patricks so Drogheda v Cooley
To be fair,plenty of people in the peninsula actively support Dundalk.
redobit
20/09/2013, 5:16 PM
Lost all respect for them when they turned down an invitation to be VIP guests at a Rovers game when they won the Connaught Championship a few years back. And the year before that Rovers brought the whole squad to see a big Sligo GAA game to support. They care nothing but for themseleves and make no mistake thats the reason behind the change in fixture.
Straightstory
20/09/2013, 5:34 PM
Lost all respect for them when they turned down an invitation to be VIP guests at a Rovers game when they won the Connaught Championship a few years back. And the year before that Rovers brought the whole squad to see a big Sligo GAA game to support. They care nothing but for themseleves and make no mistake thats the reason behind the change in fixture.
Very interesting. A nasty, nasty organization.
markc1184
20/09/2013, 5:57 PM
I think I'm right in saying the Louth SFC semi final replay is scheduled for tonight.
Am I right in saying they reduced entry fees for this too and have been very active in pushing it on different social media sites. I've seen it advertised a lot more than usual on twitter. Presume they were hoping it would attract people away from the Dundalk/Pats game.
dundalkfc10
25/09/2013, 4:54 PM
Am I right in saying they reduced entry fees for this too and have been very active in pushing it on different social media sites. I've seen it advertised a lot more than usual on twitter. Presume they were hoping it would attract people away from the Dundalk/Pats game.
Was only €5 in I heard.
Regarding the Drogheda game, Should Dundalk be giving their away fans (fans who go to all away games) 1st choice on tickets or season ticket holders (many who never go away from home)
The man who runs the "Clubs unoffical" away bus has a book with every name who attended each game this year so wont be too hard to figure out who deserves one.
Just looking other LOI fans opinion on this?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/09/2013, 7:40 PM
What about the people who make their own way?
i think it should be all season ticket holders. They give as much money to Dundalk as those who go to away games.
dundalkfc10
25/09/2013, 9:03 PM
What about the people who make their own way?
i think it should be all season ticket holders. They give as much money to Dundalk as those who go to away games.
Someone who pays into every game puts more money in than someone who buys a season ticket.
Pity we cant have an away game scheme like many clubs have in England but that would be impossible as very rarely are away ticket numbers an issue
redron
25/09/2013, 9:20 PM
Someone who pays into every game puts more money in than someone who buys a season ticket.
This is technically true.
But the season ticket holder is giving the club a lump sum up front at a time when there is often very little other income for the club (during the off season). So this helps even out the club's cashflow over the whole year. Or, if business is going so well that the club doesn't need to spend this money straight away, it can sit in a bank account for a while and earn a little interest.
dundalkfc10
01/10/2013, 10:09 PM
Limited tickets on sale outside Oriel tomorrow from 10am and People are queuing up already.
Lots of folk around the town have tickets for the home end and more are going up on the day to try and pay in
Could see serious problems at this unfortunately
Limited tickets on sale outside Oriel tomorrow from 10am and People are queuing up already.
http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5044/5269558397_64406aeb94_z.jpg
White Horse
02/10/2013, 8:15 AM
Lots of folk around the town have tickets for the home end and more are going up on the day to try and pay in
Could see serious problems at this unfortunately
This is the problem with such a small allocation. Many people I know didn't bother to wait to see if there would be any tickets left over for the general sale. They just drove to Drogheda, went into a shop that has "home" tickets on general sale and bought them.
Drogheda's "home" end will be a fun place on Sunday.
MiniMourinho
02/10/2013, 5:08 PM
Jesus you dundalk lads are whining gits this year! You got the entire away allocation plus more. The same for any game. Your not special and we don't move our fans for any other clubs. Yes we might lose a few quid, but we have a proven track record of stable financial management over the last few years so its obviously not an issue.
So it is what it is, please build a bridge!
dundalkfc10
02/10/2013, 5:14 PM
Jesus you dundalk lads are whining gits this year! You got the entire away allocation plus more. The same for any game. Your not special and we don't move our fans for any other clubs. Yes we might lose a few quid, but we have a proven track record of stable financial management over the last few years so its obviously not an issue.
So it is what it is, please build a bridge!
I havnt seen anyone on here winge, Im just pointing out that the "Home End" is going to have at least 100 Dundalk fans prob more
Did Dundalk fans really queue overnight for tickets? That seems pretty mad.
dundalkfc10
02/10/2013, 5:51 PM
Did Dundalk fans really queue overnight for tickets? That seems pretty mad.
Yeh Sevens (local taxi/bus company) left a double decker bus outside Oriel and people slept in it. Think their was about 15 of them on it, and was a good crowd their before went on sale at 10am. Where all gone before 10.40