View Full Version : FAI Cup 2013

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15

MiniMourinho
07/10/2013, 8:41 PM
Dundalk statement is pure cringe! The back slapping is getting fowl! Yes, lads you have had a great season. It's been done before and will happen again!

Although Mr. Bond was probably the one who decided to post the statement. Classy!

White Horse
07/10/2013, 8:53 PM
Dundalk FC communicating with their own fans. Perhaps they couldn't care less what anonymous internet trolls think?

07/10/2013, 9:02 PM
Ack, it's not that bad. The thing about the tickets was somewhat petty but not the level of crazy I was hoping for :(

SeanDrog
07/10/2013, 9:08 PM
Ack, it's not that bad. The thing about the tickets was somewhat petty but not the level of crazy I was hoping for :(

Lol I was thinking the same thing.

MiniMourinho
07/10/2013, 9:42 PM
No matter how small our support is there was more home than away fans on Sunday. Not sure what is being referred to there! :-)

07/10/2013, 10:31 PM
Little wrong with the statement! Basically a thanks for the support and the efforts(an ackowledgement that bar a miracle the season is trophyless), we were unfortunate in the semi but put it in context of the season, Europe is bonus territory and there are still 3 league games to go. Good luck to Sligo and Drogheda in the final. We will speak to the FAI about refereeing standards. We will move on and continue to try and build and improve. Even though tempers were up fans remained well behaved so another thanks. Wow hilarious stuff??? A little snipe on ticket sales but what about it?

Fair call on the Rafter booking, looked like a peno and not a dive though at least it was a comprehensive win - as Drogs fans have been saying since yesterday 'lucky but we shall take it'.

07/10/2013, 10:34 PM
No matter how small our support is there was more home than away fans on Sunday. Not sure what is being reffed there! :-)

Tweaked yer post there for the purpose of accuracy ;p

White Horse
08/10/2013, 7:11 AM
No matter how small our support is there was more home than away fans on Sunday. Not sure what is being referred to there! :-)

Do Drogheda give out free tickets? Perhaps he was referring to actual sales as opposed to attendance. In any case it doesn't matter.

Drogheda have a cup final to look forward to, good luck in that and I hope ye enjoy it.

Dundalk have to keep the spirts of everyone up and make sure that the season doesn't drizzle out. The club is at a crucial stage of renegotiating player contracts for next season and the 500 club has recently been launched. In both cases, it is important that fans see the positives of season and not the negative of Sunday. The statement is with both of those two things in mind. It is intended to be a morale booster for the fans to keep morale high.

The clubs needs fans to sign up for the 500 club to give Stephen Kenny the budget to compete at a higher level next season.

Some of the comments of fans of other clubs regarding the statement were ridiculous and completely ignorant of the who the audience was and why.

08/10/2013, 8:39 AM
Some of the comments of fans of other clubs regarding the statement were ridiculous and completely ignorant of the who the audience was and why.

So you think your club should communicate with the FAI over the referee's performance? Should Derry do the same for having Rafter booked for diving when he was clearly fouled by Cherrie on Monday?

No harm in "we're in this together" type statements but it comes across as playing the poor victim. Seems you're happy with that, so fair enough, but that doesn't mean others can't comment on it

Spudulika
08/10/2013, 9:07 AM
Good statement, good communication. Don't see much wrong with it other than the bit of guff over tickets, not needed really.

MiniMourinho
08/10/2013, 9:28 AM
Do Drogheda give out free tickets? Perhaps he was referring to actual sales as opposed to attendance. In any case it doesn't matter.

Drogheda have a cup final to look forward to, good luck in that and I hope ye enjoy it.

Dundalk have to keep the spirts of everyone up and make sure that the season doesn't drizzle out. The club is at a crucial stage of renegotiating player contracts for next season and the 500 club has recently been launched. In both cases, it is important that fans see the positives of season and not the negative of Sunday. The statement is with both of those two things in mind. It is intended to be a morale booster for the fans to keep morale high.

The clubs needs fans to sign up for the 500 club to give Stephen Kenny the budget to compete at a higher level next season.

No free tickets because it was an FAI cup game. Absolutely everyone paid in the other day including most usual volunteers and even board members! So there is nothing to it other than a cheap little dig.

It appears the powers that be in Dundalk now feel they are a big club and can comment on other clubs home gates and liaise with the FAI when refereeing decisions they think are wrong and need to be addressed. The usual old-school were now a big club again mentality. The type that can lead to a downfall. This is the first time your new club administration has come under public scrutiny. For me theyve been exposed as unprofessional.

White Horse
08/10/2013, 10:30 AM
No free tickets because it was an FAI cup game. Absolutely everyone paid in the other day including most usual volunteers and even board members! So there is nothing to it other than a cheap little dig.

It appears the powers that be in Dundalk now feel they are a big club and can comment on other clubs home gates and liaise with the FAI when refereeing decisions they think are wrong and need to be addressed. The usual old-school were now a big club again mentality. The type that can lead to a downfall. This is the first time your new club administration has come under public scrutiny. For me theyve been exposed as unprofessional.

I see nothing wrong with their statement.

As for "unprofessional", you should look closer to home and consider the way Mick Cooke is being hounded out of your club.

You're great at dissecting other clubs but blind when it comes to your own.

White Horse
08/10/2013, 10:31 AM
So you think your club should communicate with the FAI over the referee's performance? Should Derry do the same for having Rafter booked for diving when he was clearly fouled by Cherrie on Monday?

No harm in "we're in this together" type statements but it comes across as playing the poor victim. Seems you're happy with that, so fair enough, but that doesn't mean others can't comment on it

Communication in private is a good thing, much better than ranting publicly in blogs and tweets.

oriel
08/10/2013, 10:49 AM
I probably would have preferred if they hadnt published a statement. Some of it reads too angry for my liking. The bit about the league title for example, could have said 'taken this to the last few weeks' etc instead. Also dont like the end 'this season isnt over' , again should have focused on the 3 remaining games, aim to finish as high as possible. However it is their website, so they are free to pubish what they want, and others are also free to comment.

The whole semi final just turned into a very disapppointing turn of events for the club, but its over now, that ship has sailed, time to move on.

MiniMourinho
08/10/2013, 10:52 AM
I see nothing wrong with their statement.

As for "unprofessional", you should look closer to home and consider the way Mick Cooke is being hounded out of your club.

You're great at dissecting other clubs but blind when it comes to your own.

Most level-headed people realise that Drogheda's silence over the Mick Cooke issue is nothing but professional, despite his media campaign to warp the situation. Those who are lazy and dont look any closer choose to select the obvious 'incompetant board' excuse! Label the club like incompetant politicians or the FAI who dont know what they are doing. But they know full well what they are doing. In the past 3 years they have taken the club from bankrupcy to four of the six major finals available, 2nd in the league and Europe and made a small profit each year. This is all based on a budget of 600-700 fans at home games. Believe me they know what they are doing! Granted that success absolutely couldnt have happened without Mick Cooke, but a manager can only work off the platform, steady finances and stability that the board bring to the club. Im confident in our future without Mick. When I look at his football on the pitch, i kind of see him as the replaceable party.

Micks contract is up at the end of the year and wont be renewed, big deal. Any hounding out there is on his behalf.

In any case come back to me when dundalk have maintained this years success again at the end of next year.

mcgonigle
08/10/2013, 11:00 AM

Were you in the stand on Sunday MM?

08/10/2013, 11:00 AM
Communication in private is a good thing, much better than ranting publicly in blogs and tweets.

or posting on a website even? :rolleyes:

dejadem
08/10/2013, 11:41 AM
Im confident in our future without Mick.

Good, because I'm not. The lads have done a great job turning the club around from broke to profit, but don't credit them for results on the pitch on that budget.

MeathDrog
08/10/2013, 11:45 AM
"exemplery" behaviour from the Dundalk fans, aside from the countless flares that went off during the game and the throwing of missiles onto the pitch at full time.

White Horse
08/10/2013, 11:53 AM
Please please tell me the rumour that Buttimer has been appointed to ref Dundalk's next game against Bohs is untrue!

MiniMourinho
08/10/2013, 12:27 PM
Good, because I'm not. The lads have done a great job turning the club around from broke to profit, but don't credit them for results on the pitch on that budget.

I didnt. I indicated that was Micks work, but that both could not have succeeded without each other. And that in the grand scheme of things i feel Mick Cooke is the more expendible party.

08/10/2013, 12:43 PM
Of course he has. Ideal opportunity for Stephen Kenny to apologise to him.:p

08/10/2013, 12:44 PM
Please please tell me the rumour that Buttimer has been appointed to ref Dundalk's next game against Bohs is untrue!
There's been no announcement but as a rule, they don't appoint refs to the same team twice in a row

White Horse
08/10/2013, 12:45 PM
Of course he has. Ideal opportunity for Stephen Kenny to apologise to him.:p

Ant for Buttimer to apologise to Chris Shields. I expect that he acknowledged his mistake in sending him off and that he is free to play on Saturday.

White Horse
08/10/2013, 12:46 PM
There's been no announcement but as a rule, they don't appoint refs to the same team twice in a row

Makes sense, probably an internet rumour.

Now is the time to put this to bed and get on with the football.

mcgonigle
08/10/2013, 1:21 PM
Looks like it'll rumble on for a while yet, from the LOI Blog Facebook page:

BUTTIMER: The FAI are to officially review Anthony Buttimers performance as referee in Sundays controversial Louth derby. The Governing body will wait for the assessors report before taking any further action.

Dundalk FC have confirmed they are in communication with the FAI and will update the public of any more developments.

Don't know how true it is, they may be putting 2 & 2 together from Dundalks statement.

08/10/2013, 1:23 PM
If Dundalk make a submission to the FAI, they have to at least consider it and all ref's reports are read/reviewed. They're not going to invite himm in to explain himself or anything like that IMO

poster
08/10/2013, 1:24 PM
Adt for Buttimer to apologise to Chris Shields.

Shouldn't Shields have to apologise to Buttimer for screaming obscenities at him?

A referee got a decision wrong. Get the f over it. Darren Meenan is as much to blame as anyone.

08/10/2013, 1:24 PM
Makes sense, probably an internet rumour.

Now is the time to put this to bed and get on with the football.

The referees appointments list isn't released until Wednesday or Thursday usually so can't see it being true.

peterpan
08/10/2013, 1:32 PM
It's not true although technically he could ref it as the rule states that you can't referee the same team in the same competition two weeks in a row.

GCdfc
08/10/2013, 1:52 PM
Shouldn't Shields have to apologise to Buttimer for screaming obscenities at him?

I could clearly make out that he called him a prk when watching MNS. That was tame compared to what everyone else was thinking! :p

gormacha
08/10/2013, 2:03 PM
A general observation being made on this thread is about the poor officiating in the LOI. I wouldn't disagree, But at the same time I'm amazed there are any refs at all. I coach an u15 team, and the stuff I see week in week out is almost unbelievable. Why would anyone put themselves in that position?

TopperHarley
08/10/2013, 3:06 PM
A general observation being made on this thread is about the poor officiating in the LOI. I wouldn't disagree, But at the same time I'm amazed there are any refs at all. I coach an u15 team, and the stuff I see week in week out is almost unbelievable. Why would anyone put themselves in that position?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

True....where are all these amazing refs gonna come from?what type of crazy person would want to be a ref??...all the training in the world is not going to stop a lad bottling it when under intense pressure.....If its true the FAI is investiagting the refs performance then they are playing a very dangerous game as there was nothing in this game that the ref got 100% wrong!

08/10/2013, 3:09 PM
They're not investigating it. They're reviewing it, as they do with all ref's performances. Sensationalist nonsense to suggest Buttimer is being targeted

gormacha
08/10/2013, 3:13 PM
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

True....where are all these amazing refs gonna come from?

Exactly. That's my point.

People often don't see the connection between them roaring at their kid's game's ref and the lack of decent elite refs. Everyone has to start at schoolboy level, but why would you even bother? I've often thought of doing it - I really am attracted to the challenge of refereeing - but there's just no way I'm subjecting myself to that kind of abuse.

SeanDrog
08/10/2013, 3:19 PM
They're not investigating it. They're reviewing it, as they do with all ref's performances. Sensationalist nonsense to suggest Buttimer is being targeted

I tend to agree

White Horse
08/10/2013, 3:24 PM

True....where are all these amazing refs gonna come from?what type of crazy person would want to be a ref??...all the training in the world is not going to stop a lad bottling it when under intense pressure.....If its true the FAI is investiagting the refs performance then they are playing a very dangerous game as there was nothing in this game that the ref got 100% wrong!

I very much doubt there is any "investigation". Buttimer's performance was not out of character. They know what he is capable of and appear to accept it.

The real question is how do we improve the general quality of officiating. Not an easy one to solve.

TopperHarley
08/10/2013, 3:25 PM
Should see the abuse at junor/schoolboy level the refs get here in Limerick....fair play to the lads that do it

bluewhitearmy
08/10/2013, 3:26 PM
Exactly. That's my point.

People often don't see the connection between them roaring at their kid's game's ref and the lack of decent elite refs. Everyone has to start at schoolboy level, but why would you even bother? I've often thought of doing it - I really am attracted to the challenge of refereeing - but there's just no way I'm subjecting myself to that kind of abuse.

There is none. If they were that damaged by what was being roared at them while doing kids games then they wouldnt continue all the way on to LOI.

Is it a reason why people dont start reffing yes. Is it a reason for refs that do go through it and carry on through it being poor quality no.

08/10/2013, 3:33 PM
Clearly they're all motivated by unyielding urge to one day screw over Dundalk in a cup semi-final.

TopperHarley
08/10/2013, 3:35 PM
I think the good ones are damaged and pack it in, seems the robots with no personality only make the LOI and we can see how good they are, normal lads that finish up playing never take up reffin as they know exactly what abuse the ref takes.

08/10/2013, 3:47 PM
Bit harsh. Some good refs there; Kelly, Tuite, Sutton. SOme young refs coming through too like Harvey.

Some clearly aren't good but it is possible to be a good ref and now Kelly has shown people can make a living out of it, more might be inclined to keep at it

Yossarian
08/10/2013, 3:49 PM
Clearly they're all motivated by unyielding urge to one day screw over Dundalk in a cup semi-final.

Finally someone gets to the truth....

wonder88
08/10/2013, 5:25 PM
The ref of the cup final last year was good; Doyle I think. Any game which Buttimer did which I have attended he was poor. Also I found out that the so-called big clubs seem to get the decisions from a lot of refs in the LoI, a good example would be Shelbounre in Ollie Byrne's day. I was at one of their games this year and a lot questionable decisions went against them.

gormacha
08/10/2013, 7:00 PM
There is none. If they were that damaged by what was being roared at them while doing kids games then they wouldnt continue all the way on to LOI.

Is it a reason why people dont start reffing yes. Is it a reason for refs that do go through it and carry on through it being poor quality no.

Of course there's a link. If refs weren't subjected to abuse then more people would take it up. The law of averages would then mean that more good refs would be in the system and stay in it. I can't see how that's controversial or even arguable to be honest.

JC_GUFC
11/10/2013, 6:53 AM
I remember I was refereeing a well-known Dublin schoolboys side u14s second team the manager was giving me dogs abuse after because the first goal was offside.
I pointed out to him that if there wasn't such level of abuse that I may well have had assistants who'd have been better positioned to make the call.
The worst of it was the team had lost 7-0!

I continued reffing and would more than
likely be on the LoI panel but for work commitments but the point is a valid one that a lot of potentially good referees have their careers cut short because of this.

Most of the referees are a good standard, everyone makes mistakes and it's easy to highlight these but it's more about how a referee controls a game that they should be judged on.

Buttimer is the worst for this in my view. He's like a dictator, stamping his authority with cards and not willing to engage with players about decisions. This infuriates players. Whereas look at how Alan Kelly deals with players.

There seem to be a lot of young refs coming through which is positive but it will take a while for them to get to Kelly's level but let's hope none have Buttimer's attitude.

NeverFeltBetter
28/10/2013, 6:02 PM
Quick question lads. Thinking of heading to this on my own, is it worth paying the extra tenner for the BLK311 tickets? That's the second tier in the SE corner.

28/10/2013, 6:33 PM
Quick question lads. Thinking of heading to this on my own, is it worth paying the extra tenner for the BLK311 tickets? That's the second tier in the SE corner.

As in extra for premium level? Then as a neutral yes. Headed up last year and for 20 euro it was well worth it.

NeverFeltBetter
28/10/2013, 6:44 PM
Yeah, as a neutral, never been in that tier myself. Other choices are 511 left of centre in the highest tier, and then I think 112 in the North-west corner near the pitch. Still plenty of seats for sale if anyone else is thinking about it.

28/10/2013, 8:13 PM

Was up there for the 2010 & 2011 finals. Not really worth it, IMO. The seats are cushioned and you have more legroom.
Real advantage is that you can grab a pint and watch the match from behind the window in the bar area.