View Full Version : FAI Cup 2013

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

CrowdedHouse
14/05/2013, 5:04 PM
It's rumoured that its on fri 31st in Deacy Pk Terryland as Salthill s ground at drom isn't suitable
Its listed here http://www.galwayfa.ie/news/251013/Cup_Finals_for_Deacy_Park

Someone should tell the GFA that they're no longer called SD Galway or maybe Aertel does their website

Pablo Escobar
14/05/2013, 5:08 PM
Apologies-Mon Aug 12th.
I love our first round in the cup when we get novelty home fixtures. Plus, we tend not to put teams to the sword too badly, with the exception of beating Dundrum 9-0 a few years ago.

Dillonman
21/05/2013, 3:02 PM
Dates, venues and times finally confirmed:

Date

Fixture

Venue

Time

Friday, 31st May

Bohemians v Drogheda United

Dalymount Park

7.45 pm

Friday, 31st May

Bray Wanderers v Mervue United

Carlisle Grounds

7.45 pm

Friday, 31st May

Finn Harps v Wexford Youths

Finn Park

7.45 pm

Friday, 31st May

Phoenix v Dundalk

Oriel Park

7.45 pm

Friday, 31st May

St. Patrick’s Athletic v U.C.D.

Richmond Park

7.45 pm

Friday, 31st May

Salthill Devon v Shamrock Rovers

Eamon Deacy Park

7.45 pm

Friday, 31st May

Tolka Rovers v College Corinthians

Frank Cooke Park

7.45 pm

Friday, 31st May

Shelbourne v Bandon

Tolka Park

8.00 pm

Saturday, 1st June

Blarney United v Derry City

O’Shea Park

3.00 pm

Saturday, 1st June

Glenville v Limerick

Home Farm FC

3.00 pm

Saturday, 1st June

Bluebell United v Athlone Town

John Hyland Park

7.45 pm

Saturday, 1st June

St. Patrick’s CY v Cobh Ramblers

Frank Cooke Park

2.30 pm

Saturday, 1st June

Waterford United v Sligo Rovers

R.S.C.

7.00 pm

Saturday, 1st June

Longford Town v Pike Rovers

City Calling Stadium

7.30 pm

Sunday, 9th June

Avondale United v Sheriff YC

Avondale Park

2.00 pm

Monday, 5th August

Cork City v Kilbarrack United

Turner’s Cross

7.45pm

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/10323/fai-ford-cup-second-round-fixtures-finalised/

adamd164
21/05/2013, 4:33 PM
The reason for our game being the Monday 5th August, if anyone is interested (for whatever reason!), is because Kilbarrack have some junior cup tie around that time. Also why Sheriff's game is on the 9th.

I am in favour of the switch to starting in August because last year there was a massive gap between the rounds. Still bizarre the gap between ties.

22/05/2013, 9:32 AM
The reason for our game being the Monday, if anyone is interested (for whatever reason!), is because Kilbarrack have some junior cup tie around that time. Also why Sheriff's game is on the 9th.

It's the FAI Junior Cup final in the Aviva (before ireland/Georgia).

adamd164
22/05/2013, 11:33 AM
Still, only in Ireland would ties in the same round of a cup be scheduled for over 2 months apart!

KUFCMan
24/05/2013, 2:21 PM
Monday, 5th August
Cork City v Kilbarrack United
Turner’s Cross
7.45pm

Why in the world is the game ona bank holiday at 745pm.We were hoping to get a train return but can if the game goes ahead that late.We want it at about 400pm or 500pm so we can get a train home.Also if its early we can bring a decent crowd of maybe 100-200 but if its at 745 we get only about 20-25 diehards.Who wants to go to a game that late on a bank holiday anywhere be it Cork or Dublin!

adamd164
24/05/2013, 4:01 PM
Our crowd would usually be higher for an evening game, which I'd say is why they've opted for it. Having said that our crowds are dwindling this season anyway so I can't imagine it'll make much difference.

trevy
30/05/2013, 12:44 PM
FAO Sligo Rovers fans. How many do you expect will travel to Waterford for Saturday nights game?

30/05/2013, 12:52 PM
FAO Sligo Rovers fans. How many do you expect will travel to Waterford for Saturday nights game?

Hard to say. There'll be two of us, anyway. Bank Holiday weekend and glorious weather in The North West so mightn't be too many.

poster
30/05/2013, 12:54 PM

We'll have about 50 or so anyway. Long aul haul.

bullit
30/05/2013, 9:20 PM
Any potential upsets?

Best odds betting basket -

.http://www.oddschecker.com/football/other/ireland/fai-cup

Outright-

http://www.oddschecker.com/football/other/ireland/fai-cup/winner

NeverFeltBetter
30/05/2013, 9:23 PM
Pike I'd say.

31/05/2013, 1:05 PM
Pike I'd say.

Great value bet there. And the 13/2 about the draw makes it even better. Saw Pike in The Showgies in one of our cup winning years and they came the closest to beating us that year.

31/05/2013, 5:28 PM
Great value bet there. And the 13/2 about the draw makes it even better. Saw Pike in The Showgies in one of our cup winning years and they came the closest to beating us that year.

One of their fans on our forum reckoned they'll be missing loads of players due to injuries and lads going away. Not sure how true that is but I'd agree the odds are way too high if they put a first choice side out. We lost to Cherry Orchard last year and Pike are probably better than them.

bullit
31/05/2013, 8:25 PM
tweet of the fai cup night from mns

Jason McGuinness gas a sh1t from a corner cleared off the line
@salthilldevonfc 0-0 @ShamrockRovers still #rtemns

gufcfan
31/05/2013, 10:14 PM
Jason McGuinness gas a sh1t from a corner cleared off the line
@salthilldevonfc 0-0 @ShamrockRovers still #rtemns
I suspected the catering in Terryland of being capable of such side effects all right.

bullit
31/05/2013, 10:32 PM
Sack race, Manager Watch-

Aaron Callaghan-Bohs.

oldfan
31/05/2013, 10:34 PM
A grand total of 356 in tolka tonight.:(

Dalymountrower
01/06/2013, 7:25 AM
Sack race, Manager Watch-

Aaron Callaghan-Bohs.

Sadly we are stuck with Callaghan for another year after this, even if we get relegated.

Bawnville Hoop
01/06/2013, 11:35 AM
Sadly we are stuck with Callaghan for another year after this, even if we get relegated.

But you got a point in Tallaght.

Ezeikial
01/06/2013, 11:41 AM

Getting a point against a mid table team is rarely enough

01/06/2013, 1:28 PM
A fine win for Harps last night against a GAA defence minded Wexford team. Nice to be in the next round of the cup for once.

dundalkfc10
01/06/2013, 1:55 PM
Getting a point against a mid table team is rarely enough

:cool:

SwanVsDalton
01/06/2013, 3:55 PM
Derry beat Blarney 4-0. Three goals in the last five minutes, Patterson gets a hat-trick, Ryan Curran with the other.

adamd164
01/06/2013, 3:58 PM
Looks like St Pats CY v Cobh was a good game. Cobh were 4-0 up and it ended 4-3. Almost an epic comeback.

01/06/2013, 11:56 PM
Pat's are quite good.

Quite, quite good.

bullit
02/06/2013, 12:48 AM
For those not on twittter

Monday Night Soccer ‏@RTEMNS (https://twitter.com/RTEMNS)
Just to let everyone know the draw for the next round of the FAI Ford Cup will take place on the show on Monday 17th of June. #rtemns (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23rtemns&src=hash)

Dalymountrower
02/06/2013, 7:55 AM

If we could play you every week we would be fine, unfortunately every other club in the league has figured out how to beat us other than yourselves and Shels ( Bray Unmentionables have just been unlucky in the games against us so far)

adamd164
02/06/2013, 8:51 AM
For those not on twittter
The draw for the next round is about 2 months before we play our game in the current round. Yet I was told we asked to play the game midweek (presume last week) and were told no. Junior clubs have too much power in the FAI. Can you imagine a junior English club dictating to a premier league club?!

JC_GUFC
02/06/2013, 10:05 AM
The draw for the next round is about 2 months before we play our game in the current round. Yet I was told we asked to play the game midweek (presume last week) and were told no. Junior clubs have too much power in the FAI. Can you imagine a junior English club dictating to a premier league club?!

It's possibly because Kilbarrack players have arranged holidays etc.

The scheduling of the matches is terrible for non league teams as most have finished their seasons a few weeks before these matches. Apart from Bluebell there wasn't anything close to an upset by any non league club.

**FrOsTy**
02/06/2013, 12:30 PM
Very impressed with Sligo last night. First time I've seen them live since 2009 and I have to admit they are a well oiled machine. Keep the ball very well and work hard to win it back. Tough to take the defeat last night due to the manner of the goals- first one was never a corner the ball had crossed the line before the player attempted to cross and the second looked offside, that's not to say we were robbed or anything beaten by a far superior side. Delighted with our performance much better In recent weeks and a new found sense of belief is around the RSC. We were unlucky not to at least score one. From our point of view the result didn't matter it was all about performance and we certainly got that. We're 13/2 to win the league- get on!!!

jinxy lilywhite
02/06/2013, 1:54 PM
imo junior clubs make a mockery of the FAI cup. at this stage they offer really nothing.

gufcfan
02/06/2013, 4:03 PM
Salthill in the FD is a far bigger joke.

It's great to give Junior/Intermediate teams the carrot of an FAI Cup place. The out of synch seasons do nobody any favours though. Would be great if juvenile/junior/intermediate/senior seasons ran concurrently, but I don't see it happening any time soon. I'd rather have the LOI playing summer football though, than going back to winter football to fix the aforementioned problem, as it is a big improvement over winter football.

02/06/2013, 4:59 PM
I know in limerick the junior teams don't see it as a carrot to get into the FAI senior cup, it's more of a hassle for them. Pike yesterday had injuries so only had two subs, rested a few and played a lot of players out of position. Next weekends local game is of much more importance to them so they had one eye on that.

02/06/2013, 8:25 PM
I saw on the news Keith Dunne of Sheriffs YC interviewed after winning the FAI junior cup. is this the same fellow that played against us in the fai cup final ten yrs ago?

Ezeikial
02/06/2013, 9:09 PM
I saw on the news Keith Dunne of Sheriffs YC interviewed after winning the FAI junior cup. is this the same fellow that played against us in the fai cup final ten yrs ago?
Thats the same chap all right.

Played for Dundalk and Shels as well.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keith_Dunne

luiz
02/06/2013, 10:26 PM
Since everyone is talking about junior clubs doing bad stuff: I work as one f those venue scouts, for companies who update the live scores for betting companies. So, I often go to as unattractive matches as Bluebell United and Athlone Town.
When I arrived to the pitch, a bloody pitch with cows eating around hidden in the outskirts of the outskirts of Dublin, there was some fuzz in the turnstiles. They wanted to charge a group of Athlone Town supporters outrageous 15 quid for the match. No discount for students, OAP's and even children would have to pay that. Their excuse was that this was a flat rat imposed the FAI
The supporters were already complaining, and when I came and said that I've just been to Glenville X Limerick and paid 5 quid to get in, they got seriously mad. And this because this match was in Home Farm Park, a ground with proper seats, bar, toilets, hot food for sale and a Premier Division side involved. John Hyland Park is just a grass pitch with a wall around it to lean on, and one of the sides covered with a shed.
After the guys from Athlone heard it and threatened to go back to the bus and head to a pub, some guy that I don't know who was accepted, if it was from the board of Bluebell or from the club who owns that "stadium" very grumpily to charge "only" 10 euro for the ticket, and without any discounts for the categories mentioned above. All that they did was giving 3 tickets for free for the most young looking of the Athlone supporters. I only had 7 euro in my pocket, turned my back and left, having to explain the Swiss guys I work for that some junior club who pays the players with sandwiches decided to charge the same as a ticket for a Bundesliga match, since the ground is miles away from any sign of civilization and there was nowhere I could get money from.

Question is: Is that legal? Aren't they obliged to give discounts to OAP's, Children and Students? If they have the right of charging 15 euro for such a ridiculous match, why don't they say straight away? I cannot imagine what difference would make in Bluebell's budget milking a few quid out of 20 Athlone Town supporters but this is ridiculous.

trevy
03/06/2013, 7:05 AM
It was only 10 euro same as for a league match for Waterford United v Sligo Rovers and there were the usual concessions so they are making it up if they said 15 euro was a flat rate from the FAI. That's ridiculous to be looking for 15 euro for a game involving a non league club in first round of the Cup.

poster
03/06/2013, 10:53 AM
Very impressed with Sligo last night.

Jesus, the First Division must be horrific these days!

blue til i die
03/06/2013, 1:06 PM
Jesus, the First Division must be horrific these days!

It is ;)

Wouldn't say ye were impressive to be honest. Came, did what was needed and left, nothing special, nothing spectacular. The fact Rogers had to make a few pretty decent saves showed holes aplenty in the team imo.

03/06/2013, 2:35 PM
It is ;)

Wouldn't say ye were impressive to be honest. Came, did what was needed and left, nothing special, nothing spectacular. The fact Rogers had to make a few pretty decent saves showed holes aplenty in the team imo.

Christ, we were awful and if we were playing a half decent team we would have been out of the cup instead of two up at half time. Waterford were desperate bad and that saved us. He gave Danny North five, yes five minutes, when it was a game wher he could have had half an hour.

churchtownroad
03/06/2013, 2:39 PM
I attended the same two games on saturday. 10 Euros for Glenville v Limerick and 15 Euros to watch Bluebell v Athlone. we had a seat in Whitehall but nothing in Baldonnell. I had paid the 15 Euros when the Athlone supporters arrive and complained. I go to Limerick home games in Thomond Park and its 15 Euros for a seat with a great view...terrible price that Bluebell charged and they blamed FAI for setting the price....still it was a good game of football.

03/06/2013, 6:35 PM
Ye're not allowing for the fact that the Athlone game had the added attraction of the presence of one, Roderick Collins MBE.

03/06/2013, 7:37 PM
Pat's are quite good.

Quite, quite good.

Ummmmmn, yes, yes we are. Long may it continue. I'm really hopeful for a seriously good season at this stage.

BTW thought Waterfords pitch looked fantastic on MNS. Like a billiard table. Is it that good close up ?

04/06/2013, 9:50 AM
Yes it is. Lovely set up there. Running track doesn't help atmosphere but parking, grub etc., all good. Ready for premier league everywhere except on the pitch. get going, lads.

Señor Willy
04/06/2013, 10:48 AM
Yes it is. Lovely set up there. Running track doesn't help atmosphere but parking, grub etc., all good. Ready for premier league everywhere except on the pitch. get going, lads.

Hi lads, I'm a noob. Who do ye think will get the Waterford job? Players are there I think just need a good man at the helm.

04/06/2013, 11:35 AM
Question is: Is that legal? Aren't they obliged to give discounts to OAP's, Children and Students? If they have the right of charging 15 euro for such a ridiculous match, why don't they say straight away? I cannot imagine what difference would make in Bluebell's budget milking a few quid out of 20 Athlone Town supporters but this is ridiculous.

There's nothing illegal about being ridiculous. Can charge what they like.

I have every faith that some from St Francis (who own the ground) were there collecting money. Pats played a friendly against Kilmarnock there in (our) pre-season 2003. Kilmarnock had a free weekend and were glad of a kick-about in Dublin, Pats having a look at trialists etc. You couldn't find a lower profile game. St Francis, as hosts for the game, had all their committee out in club blazers and were acting like they were hosted Champions League.

KUFCMan
04/06/2013, 1:54 PM
Kilbarrack Uniteds latest schedule

SUN 25TH MAY-Leinster Junior Cup Final -Kilbararck Utd 1-2 Sheriff YC
SUN 2ND JUNE-FAI JUnior Cup Final - KIlbarrack 4-5 Sheriff YC
THURS 6TH JUne-AUL PREM A -ST Kevins v Kilbararck Utd
SU JUNE 9tH-IRISH Juniors V N Ireland Juniors-Friendly-3 Kilbararck players in squad
TUES 11TH JUNE-AUL Nivea Cup semi Final-Kilbararck Utd V Sheriff YC
THURS 13TH JUNE-AUL Prem A-Kilbarrack Utd V Ayrfield
TBA-AUL Prem A - O Devaney V Kilbarrack Utd
TBA - AUL Prem A- Kilbararck Utd V Ballymun
TBA - AUL Liddy Cup Semi Final-Kilbararck Utd V Ayrfield
SUN JULY 7TH - Oscar Traynor Final-AUL V Innishowen-8 Kilbararck players in squad
2 Possible AUL finals

The FAI in their infinite wisdom pencilled in JUNE 2ND for FAI Senior Cup weekend knowing full well that the 4 FAI Junior Cup Semi Finalists would be involved thus couldnt play that weekend.Sheriff play Avondale this Sunday as Avondale are finished their season so no probs.We Kilbararck have to go to Cork and because of our schedule as listed above could nt play last weekend.Because Corks fixtures are sorted there was no available weekend to play the game,and in fairness to the FAI,they were very helpful and pencilled in Mon August 5th 745.Weve asked the FAI and Cork to bring the kick off forward so we can get the train down and back and bring a decent support but as of yet weve heard nowt.People on bank holidays will go to football early and have their few scoops after game IMO.Ive talked to some Shels and ST Pats fans and they always say the same thing-Play the games early on Bank Holidays as very few go the games when theyre on at 745pm/800pm.
Cork reckon they get a bigger crowd at night so it looks like 745pm so!

04/06/2013, 8:45 PM
Athlone 2-2 Bluebell.

Going into extra time now. Trevor Molloy with both goals for Bluebell.