View Full Version : FAI Cup 2013
Pages :
[
6]
PartySaint
27/08/2013, 8:10 PM
Pats-Rovers at Richer. Oh my.
Even tho we are a better team than Rovers, it's still not the draw I wanted.
It will probably end up going to a replay and that's the last thing we need with a title challenge to take care of.
Although in saying that, I'd rather you beat us in the QF than the final, every cloud and all that.
27/08/2013, 9:52 PM
I watched the MNS cup thing on RTE playback, that commentary style which tells you what happens before it happens, is a big irritation.
Whoever sews Dolan's jacket button, deserves special mention.
27/08/2013, 10:04 PM
I watched the MNS cup thing on RTE playback, that commentary style which tells you what happens before it happens, is a big irritation.
I suspect they aren't watching the footage while they record the voiceovers. It's like they're reading a news report at some times.
27/08/2013, 11:57 PM
Well, they obviously just read it off a piece of paper. If you listen carefully, you can hear the hesitation in the voice of John Kenny (I think it was him) as he is explaining what happens in Harps goal against Cobh.
Was about to say Kevin McHughs name, but instead hesitated over the name Ciaran Coll, and ended up calling him Kevin Coll, who passed through to Kevin McHugh...
http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/10193356/
At 28 minutes.
The "commentators" write their own scripts AFAIK (with team sheets provided)
GCdfc
28/08/2013, 11:54 AM
The "commentators" write their own scripts AFAIK (with team sheets provided)
Surely all the team sheets can't have errors in them.....
No, and if youwatch carefully it's usually the same commentators who make the same mistakes.
28/08/2013, 8:07 PM
watched mns earlier and it was John Kenny 100% that said that!
redron
28/08/2013, 10:27 PM
Surely all the team sheets can't have errors in them.....
Quite a few of the images of teamsheets that I've seen posted online do contain a lot of errors.
Match programmes often get players' names wrong too (and clubs' names and crests for that matter!).
:bad:
13/09/2013, 12:03 PM
http://www.sportsfile.com/more-images/1309144/
No show from Derry City for the press launch?
13/09/2013, 12:09 PM
Croly and Bucko look like they're having great craic together.
13/09/2013, 12:13 PM
Buckley is prob loving it to be fair.
13/09/2013, 12:36 PM
No show from Derry City for the press launch?
Ah sure we do feck all promotion of our own club, why would we bother with the Cup?
oriel
13/09/2013, 12:56 PM
Why is the Sligo v Derry game on at 5pm on Sunday, thats no TV is it?
How come its moved from Sligo's regular Sat night slot?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/09/2013, 6:56 PM
Why is the Sligo v Derry game on at 5pm on Sunday, thats no TV is it?
How come its moved from Sligo's regular Sat night slot?
Only reason I heard was that it was a better time to get more Derry fans but don't know how true that is
Mad Moose
13/09/2013, 7:04 PM
C'mon Harps!!!!
Mad Moose
13/09/2013, 7:44 PM
Finn Harps 1 - 0 Drogheda Utd
I hear, I believe.
C'mon the Harps!!!!
13/09/2013, 8:00 PM
Shels 0-5 Dundalk at half time!
Good God.
Pat's not going to win the cup again, it seems.
Mad Moose
13/09/2013, 8:16 PM
Ciaran Coll sent off for Harps. Cracking wee player. That's a big big loss to Harps. It might galvanise them.
NeverFeltBetter
13/09/2013, 8:27 PM
ET reporter really hammering Harps' players for diving.
Mad Moose
13/09/2013, 8:28 PM
Peter Hutton sent off too I think for protesting at the sending off of Ciaran Coll.
Mad Moose
13/09/2013, 8:48 PM
Finn Harps 1-1 Drogheda Utd.
Got to be finished now. Michael Daly's equaliser after 85 mins.
harry crumb
13/09/2013, 9:13 PM
Did Liam Buckley just sacrifice the Cup for the league tonight with that team selection?
Yossarian
13/09/2013, 9:30 PM
Did Liam Buckley just sacrifice the Cup for the league tonight with that team selection?
Hardly, with Bolger sent off and Brennan off injured that leaves them with their starting midfield missing for our game depending on Brennans injury but at the least Bolger is out for next week.
Great night for Dundalk. Terrible second half but with that lead at half time it was always going to be a quiet second half. Roll on Inchicore next week.
harry crumb
13/09/2013, 9:42 PM
Ok, I have John Russel and Chris Forrester as Pats best players and both started on the bench.
Gutted for Harps. Would have been great to have seen them in the semi's again.
13/09/2013, 10:11 PM
Ok, I have John Russel and Chris Forrester as Pats best players and both started on the bench.
Both on the bench against us last week also. Found Forrester particularly strange but I suppose I don't see him regularly enough to know what his current form is like.
13/09/2013, 10:28 PM
ET reporter really hammering Harps' players for diving.
That reporter would want to look at Damian McNulty to see about his dive.
Gavin Brennan punched him in the mouth, knocking out his 2 front teeth, in front of the 4th official and nothing happens.
Ciaran Coll shoulders a guy and gets a straight red.
Also, the one who got the most hammering on Extratime was Mickey Funston who has a broken nose to show from the game.
We left that behind tonight, missed 2 glorious chances in the first half to put the game out of sight. Gutted.
13/09/2013, 10:32 PM
Whatever about the cup, Pat's blew the league with this result. All the old fatalism is going to come flooding back, just when they needed to keep it at bay. And you can take that to the bottle bank!
jinxy lilywhite
13/09/2013, 10:32 PM
I would find it very hard to accept that pats sacrified a cup tie against their big rivals for a league clash with Dundalk. irregardless of who wins or loses next week there are plenty of games left for either side to slip up on.
if it was the case and if I was a Pats fan I would be livid at buckley
White Horse
13/09/2013, 10:33 PM
Both on the bench against us last week also. Found Forrester particularly strange but I suppose I don't see him regularly enough to know what his current form is like.
Buckley doesn't know his best 11. Pat's crumbling once again. Predictable.
wonder88
13/09/2013, 10:53 PM
Crazy decision to leave Russell out, did the same in the cup final last year. Should be some game next friday.
13/09/2013, 11:18 PM
Gavin Brennan is a dirty pr!ck and should never be let onto a football pitch again. Damien McNulty was out on the field at the end of the match looking for the two teeth he had knocked out.
Tomas Connolly and Rob Rodgers should never be let near a football pitch again similarly. Most disgraceful officiating performance I've ever, ever seen in a football ground. Gardaí had to escort them off the field at the end of the match as there was about 200 Harps fans waiting to pounce on them and Peter Hutton had to be held back from Rodgers on the side of the field when Coll was sent off.
On the match itself, it was a proper old slog, a real cup tie. Not the most magnificent football you'll ever see, but both teams really battled hard. Harps are very unfortunate not to be looking forward to a semi final now, rather than a replay, which I fear is a step too far.
Drogheda were rattled by what will certainly be a contender for goal of the season, McHugh really rolled back the years with a class performance.
poster
14/09/2013, 11:38 AM
Grrrr!!
poster
14/09/2013, 11:39 AM
Only reason I heard was that it was a better time to get more Derry fans but don't know how true that is
Ya, it was to accommodate Derry supporters. Great club that we are.
Candystripe
14/09/2013, 12:23 PM
Ya, it was to accommodate Derry supporters. Great club that we are.
I'm heading down but the way Derry have been playing recently plus the crap record against you's I don't see much more than 400 travelling.
MeathDrog
14/09/2013, 12:52 PM
Tomas Connolly and Rob Rodgers should never be let near a football pitch again similarly. Most disgraceful officiating performance I've ever, ever seen in a football ground. Gardaí had to escort them off the field at the end of the match as there was about 200 Harps fans waiting to pounce on them and Peter Hutton had to be held back from Rodgers on the side of the field when Coll was sent off.
Brave men.
14/09/2013, 12:56 PM
Surely you mean, to try and win the league?
Once the wobble sets in, it's contagious, permeates the squad.
Mad Moose
14/09/2013, 4:17 PM
Any coverage of Sligo Rovers and Derry City available?
Mad Moose
14/09/2013, 6:14 PM
Sorry. I realise I've gone an evening too early on this one. Sunday 5pm.
Only keeping an eye out on the potential semi final opponents. You'd hate to go into the game not having sussed out the opposition.
danthesaint
14/09/2013, 8:14 PM
I would find it very hard to accept that pats sacrified a cup tie against their big rivals for a league clash with Dundalk. irregardless of who wins or loses next week there are plenty of games left for either side to slip up on.
if it was the case and if I was a Pats fan I would be livid at buckley
Why? Id say alot of the fans would rather we win the league than win the cup. We have waited this long now, another couple of years wont make much of a difference. At the end of the day, you lads have 1 possibly 2 more games now.
Buckley doesn't know his best 11. Pat's crumbling once again. Predictable.
haha based on what? Russell is only coming back from injury hence why he didnt play, Forrester hasnt been at the races since the summer so he was dropped, Mahersy got a broken leg up in Derry so he couldnt play.
Bucko does know his best team if everyone was fit and available.
14/09/2013, 8:18 PM
MahersySeriously?
danthesaint
14/09/2013, 8:26 PM
Seriously?
Seriously what?
White Horse
14/09/2013, 8:51 PM
Bucko does know his best team if everyone was fit and available.
At this stage of the season that does't happen. Someone is always missing.
Buckley is Pats weak link. He will lose Pats the title.
danthesaint
14/09/2013, 9:00 PM
Yeah but you said he doesnt know his best 11.
Whatever about the cup, Pat's blew the league with this result. All the old fatalism is going to come flooding back, just when they needed to keep it at bay. And you can take that to the bottle bank!
How? If we do blow the league it would have been with the 2 draws against Bohs, the draw against Derry earlier in the season when we should have beat them, the draw in sligo when we were minutes from beating them, probably the 2 dundalk games (probably deserved something from those games, despite what Dundalk fans on here will say)
14/09/2013, 10:56 PM
(probably deserved something from those games, despite what Dundalk fans on here will say)
If ye deserved the points ye would have got the points!
15/09/2013, 10:40 AM
Don't be silly. He built the squad that has us top of the table, had us challenging last year until near the end and got to the cup final(In his first season with a brand new squad). If that's our weakest link we're not doing too bad.
Mad Moose
15/09/2013, 4:07 PM
Coverage of the Final FAI Cup Quarter Final.
8 mins. 0-0
http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/player/bbc_radio_foyle
Mad Moose
15/09/2013, 4:12 PM
1-0 Sligo Rovers
Raf Cretaro 15 Mins
15/09/2013, 8:23 PM
Finished one nil. Rovers a class above in first half but brutal in second. Derry woeful all through.
15/09/2013, 8:34 PM
Gavin Brennan and Michael Daly out for the replay tomorrow night for Drogs.
Ciaran Coll out for Harps but have joint top goal scorer Sean McCarron back.
Looks like a big Harps crowd travelling down. Hopefully we don't live to regret the missed opportunities from Friday night.