View Full Version : FAI Cup 2013
Pages :
[
5]
25/08/2013, 5:54 PM
Agreed fitness levels were telling in the end. Your #27 was running the Drogs lads ragged in the first half, looked a decent player.
Is Tony Cousins always as animated as he was last night? He seemed to be giving out and complaining right from the off, mostly at his own players and I presume it was his assistant beside him.
That's Ryan Connolly on loan from Sligo Rovers his premier division class shows week in week out since he's arrived! Cousins and Keith Quinn were having a running battle all night which is nothing new and as for his assistants don't get me started.
Fivesilver
25/08/2013, 6:56 PM
Again, not slagging, but it shows the gap. Connolly, despite the high hopes we had for him, hasn't been within an ass's roar of a regular starting spot this season. He definitely has ability, but since coming to Rovers, he's flitted in and out of games. Unless he tears things up altogether for the remainder of the Division 1 season, I'd be very surprised to see him back in the Showgrounds.
25/08/2013, 8:00 PM
Agreed fitness levels were telling in the end. Your #27 was running the Drogs lads ragged in the first half, looked a decent player.
Is Tony Cousins always as animated as he was last night? He seemed to be giving out and complaining right from the off, mostly at his own players and I presume it was his assistant beside him.
assistant to tony cousins would be player coach Gary Cronin and I believe Chris Deans too.. Ex no 2 philip coffey is badly missed imo.. his organisational skills have bein missed since he left especially in defence
25/08/2013, 8:47 PM
Again, not slagging, but it shows the gap. Connolly, despite the high hopes we had for him, hasn't been within an ass's roar of a regular starting spot this season. He definitely has ability, but since coming to Rovers, he's flitted in and out of games. Unless he tears things up altogether for the remainder of the Division 1 season, I'd be very surprised to see him back in the Showgrounds.
He's playing centre midfield for us. I believe he was used on the wing for ye? He may not be good enough for Sligo but he could do a good job for someone in the PD from what I've seen of him.
25/08/2013, 8:55 PM
He always makes the first team in Football Manager so I'd be inclined to agree with Longfordian.
Then again, Salthill Devon got taken over by a billionaire and made the Europa League groups too, so who knows.
adamd164
25/08/2013, 9:23 PM
is the paint on the wall in front of the away section? If so it's more anti-lean than anti-climb
Put it this way - no one attempted to go onto the pitch last night and apparently several of our fans got that "non-drying paint" on their clothes by just pressing against the wall.
We should just scrap stewards altogether and paint the walls in every LOI ground with "non-drying paint" following Sligo's lead.:rolleyes:
Anti-climb paint at the away section at the showgrounds...
http://www.corkcityfc.ie/home/2013/08/23/sligo-away-supporter-information/
HTF does that be allowed? Apart from all the other (legitimate) issues with it, surely it's an impediment if they had to evacuate the stand. Why don't they just put back up the barb wire topped fences and be done with it.
poster
26/08/2013, 10:25 AM
Why don't they just put back up the barb wire topped fences and be done with it.
That's the plan for the Tracey (home) Stand.
redron
26/08/2013, 1:22 PM
The toilets were there in the away section, if they weren't open this is no excuse whatsoever even if they thought there would a small turn out.
You should email the club and make a complaint. It's unacceptable.
Are you sure the toilets were there? Where exactly? Were the food and drink kiosks visible from your vantage point too?
They were not visible from the away terrace, or from the route we had to take to gain entry to the away section.
After complaining about the lack of access to toilet and refreshment facilities, lads were allowed controlled access to the bar.
I didn't expect to come across anything worse this season than what we had to tolerate in the away section at Turner's Cross.
People thought Jackman Park was a s***hole, but although facilities were very basic, all fans always had access to toilets and hot and cold drinks and food. (More shelter and better toilets would have made it a much more comfortable place for fans though.)
redobit
26/08/2013, 4:20 PM
Put it this way - no one attempted to go onto the pitch last night and apparently several of our fans got that "non-drying paint" on their clothes by just pressing against the wall.
... and there hasn't been since they put on the 'paint'. Before that nearly every game there was people on the pitch or climbing on the wall. Which means no fines for the club and means its working! Im not saying this paint is right btw, but somthing had to be done, especially when one of your stewards is geting floored by a punch on the pitch. Personally I think the guards should have done more instead of turning up for their overtime that the club was paying them. They are completely reactive to incidents and by then its too late.
26/08/2013, 6:53 PM
Pats-Rovers at Richer. Oh my.
26/08/2013, 7:04 PM
Drogheda at home should we beat Cobh tonight. Could have been worse, but could have been a lot better on a financial aspect as realistically, we're not going to beat them.
Mad Moose
26/08/2013, 8:27 PM
Drogheda at home should we beat Cobh tonight. Could have been worse, but could have been a lot better on a financial aspect as realistically, we're not going to beat them.
2-0 up so looking good. Nice cup progress this season and an extra home gate. Hmmm Drogheda at home. Get a good crowd through the gate and bring some noise back to that old ground. You never know.
26/08/2013, 8:28 PM
2-0 up with 20 minutes to go alright!
Cobh just gone down to 10 as well so that makes things a bit easier.
26/08/2013, 8:59 PM
FT in Cobh.
Cobh Ramblers 0-4 Finn Harps.
Bring on the Drogs.
oriel
26/08/2013, 10:00 PM
Drogheda at home, we're not going to beat them.
Why not? You did the hard work tonight.
Some decent ties, we def got the better draw avoiding any of the other top 5 sides.
Pats v Rovers hopefully has the look of a a few replays about it.:cool:
26/08/2013, 10:08 PM
Do we still do multiple replays? Jesus, I thought they'd have done away with that by now. Both teams more determined not to win the cup than the other...
Comic Book Guy
26/08/2013, 10:56 PM
Good luck to harps but never in my years following loi have I seen a ref display like tonight, first goal from the spot was a good tackle.
How Harps no.5 lasted the game is beyond me. Kynan Rocks taken out in an off the ball challenge by no.5 when on a yellow and incredibly Rocks gets booked for diving.
When you see officials in Cobh get a garda escort off the pitch you know its bad. Ref (andrew mullally) destroyed what was shaping up to be a good tie.
Good luck to harps but I'm seething with rage at the sheer f***wittery of the officials tonight.
26/08/2013, 11:08 PM
Why not? You did the hard work tonight.
Quietly confident of an upset. We've been playing good football for large parts of the season, but 20 minutes of disaster in every game combined with an inabilty to finish has cost us dearly.
Someone remarked to me the other night that Harps would probably have done better in the Premier this season than they have done in the First such is the fact First Division is won by playing hoof football, who has the biggest team and the longest kick.
Good luck to harps but never in my years following loi have I seen a ref display like tonight, first goal from the spot was a good tackle.
How Harps no.5 lasted the game is beyond me. Kynan Rocks taken out in an off the ball challenge by no.5 when on a yellow and incredibly Rocks gets booked for diving.
When you see officials in Cobh get a garda escort off the pitch you know its bad. Ref (andrew mullally) destroyed what was shaping up to be a good tie.
Good luck to harps but I'm seething with rage at the sheer f***wittery of the officials tonight.
You obviously weren't in Finn Park on Friday night....
Kynan Rocks falls over at every opportunity. Someone needs to either buy that young fella a decent pair of boots, or tell him to stay on his feet. Cracking footballer, but shockingly bad for diving.
26/08/2013, 11:16 PM
Kynan Rocks falls over at every opportunity. Someone needs to either buy that young fella a decent pair of boots, or tell him to stay on his feet. Cracking footballer, but shockingly bad for diving.
Would you say it's less a case of Kynan Rocks as... Kynan Rolls?
http://www.forkparty.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/04/horatio-caine.jpg
Comic Book Guy
26/08/2013, 11:17 PM
Nigel, forgot to mention we should have had a penalty ourselves in the second half when no. 5 ( not picking on him) clobbered into the back of rocks. Not sour grapes, far from it but if this ref is what passes for first division standard then god help us.
He really destroyed what would have been a good game. What galls me is that he gets paid for that. Rant over, need to calm down now. ;).
Btw I think you'll give drogs a good game, all on the night and that.
26/08/2013, 11:26 PM
Would you say it's less a case of Kynan Rocks as... Kynan Rolls?
http://www.tickld.com/images/gif/c2348065cbdb9f3792f6643b4980e2ea.gif
Nigel, forgot to mention we should have had a penalty ourselves in the second half when no. 5 ( not picking on him) clobbered into the back of rocks. Not sour grapes, far from it but if this ref is what passes for first division standard then god help us.
He really destroyed what would have been a good game. What galls me is that he gets paid for that. Rant over, need to calm down now. ;).
Btw I think you'll give drogs a good game, all on the night and that.
Standard of refs this season has been the worst I've seen since I started supporting Harps as a young fella. Haven't seen a good refereeing performance all season.
5 was probably Keith Cowan. Good centre half, but is prone to those sort of errors every now and again.
I do think we'll give Drogs a game. We'll just have to make the dressing room particularly horrible for them on that night.
ATFC-1887
26/08/2013, 11:26 PM
Quietly confident of an upset. We've been playing good football for large parts of the season, but 20 minutes of disaster in every game combined with an inabilty to finish has cost us dearly.
Someone remarked to me the other night that Harps would probably have done better in the Premier this season than they have done in the First such is the fact First Division is won by playing hoof football, who has the biggest team and the longest kick.
Ehm, Athlone are top of the first divison, and all we do is play the ball on the ground. Not one game this season have we played "hoofball". So, no the first division is not won by playing Hoofball although most teams in the first just hoof it.
26/08/2013, 11:28 PM
Ehm, Athlone are top of the first divison, and all we do is play the ball on the ground. Not one game this season have we played "hoofball". So, no the first division is not won by playing Hoofball although most teams in the first just hoof it.
I think your six-figure attendances this season are testament to the quality of football on display.
Audacity
26/08/2013, 11:28 PM
Poor refering decision for Harps first goal, never a penalty... Up to that I thought Rams had most of posession. Still no need for them to lose the plot the way they did, lost concentration & focus completely. The free for Harps second was a definate hand ball but I would question the wall & the keeper, knew it was going to be a goal. Credit to the young Kynan Rocks who never lost concentration & kept going 'till the bitter end, my MOM by a long shot. Thought the lino on the Moores place side had an absolute stinker as did the ref. That poor decision for the penalty spoilt what was a very good game up to that point but it was still only 1-0 & the way we were playing that could have easily have been overcome if we just got on with it. Its all a learning process for a very young team who have bundles of ability but lack experience. Good luck to Harps for the rest of the competition.
ATFC-1887
26/08/2013, 11:30 PM
I think your six-figure attendances this season are testament to the quality of football on display.
Oh Charlie, never a dull moment with you is there
26/08/2013, 11:31 PM
Pats-Rovers at Richer. Oh my.
Tasty. :):)
26/08/2013, 11:33 PM
Tasty. :):)
If we can keep it to three goals this time I'll be happy.
27/08/2013, 12:02 AM
Sure thing buddy.
ATFC-1887
27/08/2013, 1:12 AM
So you are saying Athlone play hoofball?????
27/08/2013, 1:28 AM
A Roddy Collins team playing hoofball? Surely not.
ATFC-1887
27/08/2013, 4:04 AM
A Roddy Collins team playing hoofball? Surely not.
Is that meant to be funny or something? You seem to try very hard alot. Roddys teams with Athlone and Mons played the ball on the floor at all times.
Town Legend
27/08/2013, 7:52 AM
Someone is getting a bit hot under the collar!!
EAFC_rdfl
27/08/2013, 8:02 AM
Athlone Harps in Lissywollen the first time round this season was as brutal a match as I have ever sat through, ball spent most of its time 20 yards up in the air. So don't be trying to make out yous are Brazil all of a sudden. Though at that stage of the season, neither side looked like being in with a shot of the title so maybe a lot hadn't climbed onto the bandwagon at that stage....
27/08/2013, 10:26 AM
Himself and Deady are the two worst divers I've ever seen in the LOI, ever!
27/08/2013, 10:30 AM
Is that meant to be funny or something? You seem to try very hard alot. Roddys teams with Athlone and Mons played the ball on the floor at all times.
To be fair to Athlone the football they played in the 1st half against us was the best I've seen all season the ball never left the deck it was a joy to watch.
El-Pietro
27/08/2013, 11:09 AM
Himself and Deady are the two worst divers I've ever seen in the LOI, ever!
worse than Cretaro?
To be fair to Athlone the football they played in the 1st half against us was the best I've seen all season the ball never left the deck it was a joy to watch.
And second half? They were hoofing as good as the best(?) the 1st has to offer when we put them under pressure.
worse than Cretaro?
Not even the worst on that team. That'd be Alan Keane.
Worst I've seen in the leageu include Anto Murphy, Keane, Stephen Geoghegan and Dessie Baker
poster
27/08/2013, 1:53 PM
Not even the worst on that team. That'd be Alan Keane.
Worst I've seen in the leageu include Anto Murphy, Keane, Stephen Geoghegan and Dessie Baker
Surely Sean O'Connor should be in (and) top of that list?
I'd say Gavin Peers is worse than Alan Keane. Keano loves a dive in front of the opposition crowd just to **** them off, Peers is best with his back to a striker trying to shepherd the ball out of play. Any touch on the back and he's on the deck. Every time. He gets away with it too because he's so good at it.
Aye, O'Connor would be there too. Good shout
27/08/2013, 2:41 PM
Sean O'Connor is an angel.
27/08/2013, 4:12 PM
Let us not forget Killian Brennan.
poster
27/08/2013, 4:17 PM
Let us not forget Killian Brennan.
He's probably the worst, ya.
Not this year. Too busy with his charity work and volunteering down at the kids hospice
27/08/2013, 4:28 PM
Our own Derek O'Brien has been a historic diver. Obviously in the last few weeks, since signing for us, he hasn't done any of that but I'm sure he'll become a serial offender again when he moves on.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/08/2013, 7:05 PM
Gary McCabe but he learnt it all in Sligo obviously
CrowdedHouse
27/08/2013, 7:16 PM
And shur while we're at it an honourable mention for Stephen O'Donnell (GUFC days) - got sent off one time (2nd yellow) for diving near the half way line
Sean O'Connor is an angel.
Nah, sadly he's still alive. (Too much ??:D)
27/08/2013, 8:00 PM
Derry are one up on Bluebell into the second half. Reported 400 at the game.