View Full Version : Trap Out and/or Delaney Out

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

Duggie
02/04/2013, 10:06 AM
It looks like O'Neill and McDermott are both in the running for the Leeds job... talking of that job we can now add Neil Colin Warnock to the list of recently unemployed managers who might fancy the gig.

i dont think o'neill would want to take on the Leeds job right now. I wonder would he even be thinking about possibly taking over after Trap leaves?? or maybe that wouldnt interest him either. I cant see where he will get another PL job as such. Villa and sunderland are out and most clubs now are looking to younger managers with passing games like martinez or pottichino at southampton. o'neill's type of manager is out of fashion these days. yes he would get a job somewhere but would he want to drop to the weekly grind of the championship?

ArdeeBhoy
02/04/2013, 10:19 AM
Here you go...
http://www.espn.co.uk/football/sport/story/200153.html#

02/04/2013, 10:23 AM
Interesting perspective here:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/kieran-shannon-managers-words-can-either-arm-or-wound-players-227115.html

KIERAN SHANNON: Managers’ words can either arm or wound players

Tuesday, April 02, 2013

By Kieran Shannon
Though we hadn’t enjoyed watching an Irish soccer team so much since 2002, rarely was it more frustrating watching their manager stumble and stutter on than the last couple of weeks.

Enough has been written about Giovanni Trapattoni’s tactical conservatism that cost us a rare home win against fellow mid-tier European opposition: the non-introduction of Wes Hoolohan and the non-substitution of Conor Sammon, the substitution of Shane Long and the introduction of Paul Green.

What alarmed us most was a recent Kevin Kilbane revelation that during his time playing under the Italian, Trap hardly ever spoke at half-time.

I’ve been in dressing rooms all around the country in my other capacity as a performance psychology consultant and one issue that teams and managers constantly review is how effectively they use half-time.

What individual players need is some quiet instruction? Do you keep calm if they’re not playing that well or do they need a jolt of righteous anger? Are you offering them just noise and not enough information?

It doesn’t matter the grade or the sport: Junior B GAA teams or sides that have played All-Ireland finals in September, they nearly all look to make optimum use of that pivotal window.

It is frightening to think so that our national team, with a manager being paid such a massive salary doesn’t engage in the kind of humbling, practical reflective practice that coaches at even grassroots level in any sport would. The more the Trapattoni era was meant to go on, the less a problem the language barrier was supposed to be. The opposite has proven the case.

Even for coaches speaking in their primary language, language is always an issue. The best coaches are hugely conscious of the language they use interacting with their players, knowing words are weapons and that they can either arm or wound a player.

For the last few weeks America has been gripped by March Madness, the NCAA college basketball tournament which concludes next weekend with the Final Four in Atlanta. An increasing number of Irish people have also been following the tournament, now with the availability of ESPN on our Sky boxes.
During the multiple ads any viewer of American sport is invariably subjected to, the channel regularly recalls glorious moments in NCAA history with brief interviews involving the chief actors of the drama. Particularly high on the rotation is a moment from 21 years ago this week when Christian Laettner hit a game-winning shot on the buzzer against Kentucky to send Duke University to the Final Four. Though Laettner was the man who took the shot, Coach Mike Krzyzewski, the man all of America knows simply as Coach K, was just as much a hero. With 2.1 seconds to go his team were down a point and had to inbound the ball from under their own basket. It seemed impossible that they would score. But as Laettner would recall, Coach K in his timeout huddle broke it down into pieces.

First he turned to Grant Hill, the team’s other star player. “Grant, can you throw the ball to here (the opposite free-throw line)?” Hill nodded. Yes.

Then Krzyzewski turned to Laettner. “And Christian, can you catch it?”

Laettner nodded too. Yes, he could. “Well, then,” said his coach, “if we do that, we have a real shot at winning here.”

All of America knows what happened next. If you don’t, just watch it here. (http:// www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uo3G2MfOYeA)

Reflecting on it many years later, Coach K would say that the key to his timeout huddle was using the word “can”. All of a sudden it didn’t sound like an order to his players. It didn’t seem impossible. The optional was suddenly very possible. Yes, they could.

All the best managers create visions for their players with carefully-crafted language. Though Jim McGuinness mightn’t want you reading it, the book This Is Our Year is a testament to his mastery of language. Before Donegal’s landmark 2011 All Ireland semi-final against Dublin, he didn’t tell his players that they “had” to get men behind the ball and “if” they would, Dublin “could” struggle. He told them “when” they got men behind the ball, Dublin “would” struggle.

“They’ll start kicking crazy wides, the Brogans are going to shoot from anywhere. They’re going to get frustrated and they won’t be able to understand why they can’t break you down.”

Soccer is one sport where for awhile you can get away with not even speaking the same language as the players: nearly every club dressing room at the top level is multi-national.

If a foreign coach brings tactical knowledge and structure as Trap did, then on the training ground and the tactical board and the scoreboard, gains can be made and seen.

But, to keep making gains over the years, such subtleties and basics as the language you use count. Trap has been unable – and unwilling – to provide that. Which is another reason why, at the end of this campaign, he’ll have everyone telling him a word everyone will clearly understand. Ciao.

02/04/2013, 10:24 AM
Leeds job is available.

O'Neill & Coyle both mooted as candidates.

02/04/2013, 11:18 AM
Moyes is one of the people mentioned in the same breath as Mourinho when discussing successors to Alex Ferguson. I really doubt international management is in his future.
It's opium induced fantasy to be mentioning Moyes in connection with the Ireland job. He's probably looking at around 15 more good years at club management, earning the big bucks.

02/04/2013, 11:21 AM
I knew he was a big man from seeing him on RTE's coverage of League of Ireland games, but he passed me outside the Aviva before the Austria game, and if anything the camera takes pounds off him. He's built like a warehouse!

You have no idea. I thought he would break the bench at Finn Park on a few occasions.

barney
02/04/2013, 11:22 AM
It's opium induced fantasy to be mentioning Moyes in connection with the Ireland job. He's probably looking at around 15 more good years at club management, earning the big bucks.

I originally brought his name up but it was in relation to Martin O'Neill, not the Irish job. No way that Moyes will take an international job in the forseeable future.

Bungle
02/04/2013, 11:35 AM
I like O'Neill and I think in the past he has shown that he has been a good manager. I would agree with Paul that he could be ideal in many ways for international management where it is more like a cup run with fewer games and he can create a good team spirit. it is also a positive that he knows the Irish players well and I do think he would carry a bit of respect, even if he has just been sacked by Sunderland.

I think tactically he might be limited though and if we are hoping that Ireland at least tries to play good football, we can probably forget about it under Martin. I'd also have concerns that he isn't exactly going to be the most experimental manager out there and I can't see him giving out too many new caps. One thing I loved about Mick was that early in his career with us, he tried to play good football and he wasn't afraid to blood new lads.

Having said that, MON would have to be a strong candidate when Trap leaves.

Crosby87
02/04/2013, 11:46 AM
What about Steve Coppell?

02/04/2013, 12:04 PM
Yes, Coppell would have been a popular choice a few years ago. Where is he now - Crawley or somewhere like that? I think his commitment is questionable. He's walked in the past when things weren't going for him.

Yesterday's Indo had an interview with Ray Treacy saying that Mick McCarthy was the ideal candidate and that he should take Keane as his deputy to groom him for the future. I nearly choked at the prospect of those two working together until I realised he was talking about Robbie, not Roy!

I wouldn't be convinced by Robbie's potential for management myself, though I don't really know. The broader point about grooming retired pros is valid though. I could easily see the likes of Cunningham or Kilbane, both bright, articulate and leaders, stepping into the breach at some point and we should probably do more to utilise them.

Anyway, let's just assume that the candidates are the likes of McCarthy, O'Neill, Coyle, Roy Keane and McDermott. Maybe Noel King as an "internal candidate" or someone like Lagerback from abroad. None completely convinces me, yet all have something going for them. The key thing is that any candidate is a gamble of some sorts. Many a successful managerial appointment has been lucky rather than down to carefully judged consideration. I doubt any of the above would not offer an improvement on communication (internal & external) and man management and other things being equal, that'd already be an improvement. OK, maybe not Keane for man management!

Personally I think our best XI when everyone is fit and available is relatively clear-cut (at least 7 or 8 out of 11) with any serious debates being relatively marginal.

What wasn't even remotely marginal is thinking that Sammon should be thrown into a game like Austria as one of our best forwards. Trap's selection and response to Austrian pressure in the second half were hard to fathom, as have many of his previous decisions. This is the point that Hogan and others are missing. We know we're not a top-tier country, we are impressed by the away record, we know we don't have a glittering past or a tradition of pretty football and we know that individual errors cost us last week. But considered opinion is that Trap is just doing odd things, picking odd players, falling out with players, picking square pegs for round holes, ignoring strong claims from in-form players and rigidly attached to a formation we often struggle with.

02/04/2013, 12:29 PM
Sorry but I can't place all that much faith in an article that relies solely on statistics to say whether or not Moyes has done a good job.

I wouldn't either. I just think it's a great read just for the sake of it. Y'know 'cos we is all nerds here init.

It doesn't (and probably can't) place sufficient weight on the state of the club over the last ten years. When you factor in the shambles that was Everton through Moyes' reign to where it is today, then his record is far more impressive than the simple story the stats tell.

Completely agree!

Also, this myth perpetuates that Everton play an ugly game, they are actually a lovely team to watch most of the time but are able to mix it up as needed.

I would never say they are an ugly team. There have been times this year and in the last few years where they have been one of the teams I look forward to watching because of the football they play. In my eyes they play the game how I want Ireland (and how I set teams up in PES and FM etc) to play. There's purpose to what they do; there's not passing for passing's sake like with Wigan etc.

The game against Man City a couple of weeks ago was a case in point. Excellent stuff.

He is not the perfect manager but he has worked miracles on a shoestring while numerous other clubs spent beyond their means and suffered relegation. I don't see him as a top 4 club manager though. Different set of expectations that he will never have encountered before. I think (and hope) he should stay with the toffees.

I think there's a half truth to the adjustment he'll have to make. But I don't think there's a chasm there. And in fact I think it's more the likes of us and the media who are making that judgement on him rather than I would say his own self-confidence possesses.

I would love him to finish his job at Everton and turn them into a Top-4 ish team that get into the CL and win things like the FA Cup and League Cup etc.

What wasn't even remotely marginal is thinking that Sammon should be thrown into a game like Austria as one of our best forwards. Trap's selection and response to Austrian pressure in the second half were hard to fathom, as have many of his previous decisions. This is the point that Hogan and others are missing. We know we're not a top-tier country, we are impressed by the away record, we know we don't have a glittering past or a tradition of pretty football and we know that individual errors cost us last week. But considered opinion is that Trap is just doing odd things, picking odd players, falling out with players, picking square pegs for round holes, ignoring strong claims from in-form players and rigidly attached to a formation we often struggle with.

BINGO!

This is why I found the debate and discussion on here after the Austria game more informed and sensible than anything in the papers, online and on TV. The "we should be glad to have Trap" brigade ignore his failings.

And when they are that obvious as they were for the second half v Austria then we should be right to question why this man is in charge and why he made the awful decisions he did.

ArdeeBhoy
02/04/2013, 12:29 PM
On the basis of that last statement by Stuttgart 88, he'd quite possibly do no worse than the present incumbent...

Noelys Guitar
02/04/2013, 1:12 PM
It doesn't matter what we think/want. In reality Delaney solely will make the call. I have no doubts that McDermott would be our manager today if we had lost our last two games. I thought something was up when Liam Brady was asked (just before Sweden game) who he believed should be the next Ireland manger. Brady praised Hughton, McCarthy (who has a get out clause in his Ipswich contract according to the Star if Ireland coming calling) and especially Coyle. But dismissed McDermott as being the right man for Ireland. I can't see another coach being appointed from outside Ireland or the UK. McDermotts chance has probably come and gone with our last two draws. Roy Keane has a better managerial record than McDermott but he won't get the job either. Not sure O'Neill would be interested but he is the stand out without a current job. I'm not sure McCarthy can do a whole lot with Ipswich other than top half of championship. The parachute payments for relegated Premiership clubs make it even harder for championship clubs to come up. I would still have McCarthy as slight favourite but not sure of his standing with Delaney.

Fixer82
02/04/2013, 2:38 PM
Does anyone else notice that when Dunphy bangs on about something for long enough (McCarthy, Long, McClean, Hoolahan etc) everyone and their mother follow suit and start banging on about it. I know Trap's substitutions (or lack of, at the right time) were poor but Hoolahan is not our saviour, as good as he is.

I thought Tony O'Donoghue's interview with Trap post-match was a disgrace

02/04/2013, 2:45 PM
Although i agree with your point, those 3 now they are in have made a big difference in the short time they have been involved. Perhaps a 4th would too? By no means a messiah though. But maybe we have all the other parts and he is the final cog.

Closed Account 2
02/04/2013, 2:56 PM
Michael Appleton in the frame for the Leeds too, that would be club number 4 in the last 6 months for him, cant see what the hype about him is at all and wouldnt want him anywhere near the Irish job.

Fixer82
02/04/2013, 2:58 PM
Yeah those players have made a difference.
But maybe because they weren't rushed into the fray.
I'd personally be starting Hoolahan but asking Trap is he going to resign after the last minute draw to Austria was disgraceful

02/04/2013, 4:30 PM
I haven't a clue about McDermott, he was given the short straw to take a promoted team to the epl and expected to survive.
Managing a promoted club with petty cash to spend, has many variables affecting a manager's performance, which don't apply at Intl football level.
Bilic has a deserved reputation with Croatia but isn't exactly setting the world alight at club level (Lokomotiv Moscow).
Being good in one doesn't translate into being successful at the other. We know he's good because we have seen him with Croatia but who would take a gamble on him without that evidence or even just based on his club management record? Belgium are doing well with Marc Wilmots, almost zero experience.
There is no risk free appointment nor any sure bets.
It's also a question of who's available at the time the job becomes vacant, what salary the FAI will pay and who does the interviews. The next manager doesn't need to start until Feb 2014. The FAI did well with Trap's appointment and salary sponsorship, but when you include Tardelli's sizable fee, 50% (€1.25m p/a) of the whole current deal (€2.5m) still seems steep.

We are in 22nd place in the UEFA list and that looks fair enough. I just see one or two teams ahead of us who we might finish ahead of in a qualifier group and there are a few teams below us who could turn us over.

DeLorean
02/04/2013, 4:39 PM
Yeah no appointment is risk free, but surely we have to play the percentages within reason. McDermott could turn out to be excellent and O'Neill could be a major disappointment. We can't tell the future but we should be looking for somebody who ticks the most boxes (I hate that expression but anyway!). O'Neill obviously ticks more than McDermott so would therefore be less of a gamble at this point in time, to use those two as examples.

02/04/2013, 4:40 PM
Stutts likes ticking the boxes.

Yard of Pace
02/04/2013, 4:42 PM
I didn't find any of T O'D's questions to be disgraceful. He might've gotten a little over-excited in asking Trap about his status as manager but pretty much every Irish fan in the stadium at that moment was thinking that our chances of qualifying were practically over so it was a fair question, imo.

I don't think anyone (bar Dunphy maybe) thinks Hoolahan is our would-be saviour, but any fool could see that the players were tiring after about 70 minutes and we were retreating and letting the Austrians come back into the game too easily. In such a situation, I imagine most managers would think "maybe I can bring someone on to freshen things up and keep hold of the ball in midfield a little bit better, ease the pressure on us". Hoolahan is the best equipped to do that and he was on the bench. If Trap called him up, he obviously thinks he can do something for the team. Yet, the thing which so needed to be done, was left undone, Wes stayed on the bench and the Austrian pressure eventually paid off for them.

02/04/2013, 7:32 PM
Agree totally with paragraph 2 above. What's worse is that there were other plausible options too. Of all the possible options the ones Trap chose were among the worst, namely doing nothing for ages then leaving Sammon on, moving Walters upfront and putting Green on the right when we needed a ball winner in the middle. Mystifying.

Could Hoolahan have done anything in Stockholm to give Trap any doubts about bringing him on in Dublin? I don't think so.

Another myth is that Hoolahan is being hailed as sort of messiah. Nobody is saying that at all. He's just very obviously a talented player who's most comfortable playing a role / position that suited the circumstances perfectly.

02/04/2013, 7:40 PM
I suspect Hoolahan would have made it on the pitch had the media not spent the entire 3-day build-up screaming WAT ABOUT HULAHAN???

It reflects badly on Trap that he acts like that but we know that he does, so it's depressing to see the Irish media continually beat the drum for certain players in the safe knowledge it will likely result in the manager being less likely to pick them.

02/04/2013, 7:44 PM
Stutts likes ticking the boxes.
Yes, and I think McDermott would be a very blue sky thought experiment. O'Neill would bring valuable mission critical experience.

02/04/2013, 7:44 PM
I suspect Hoolahan would have made it on the pitch had the media not spent the entire 3-day build-up screaming WAT ABOUT HULAHAN???

It reflects badly on Trap that he acts like that but we know that he does, so it's depressing to see the Irish media continually beat the drum for certain players in the safe knowledge it will likely result in the manager being less likely to pick them.

I totally hear what you're saying but I think it reflects worse on the manager tbh...the sports journalists are really just doing what sports journalists around the world do. If there's a case to be made for inclusion and if results are poor, then it's fair to ask the manager why not...

02/04/2013, 7:50 PM
I totally hear what you're saying but I think it reflects worse on the manager tbh...the sports journalists are really just doing what sports journalists around the world do. If there's a case to be made for inclusion and if results are poor, then it's fair to ask the manager why not...
Totally, and I'm not sure what else the press should do, but their tendency to elect a new messiah every few months makes it very easy for Trap. I really hope that Hoolahan isn't forgotten the same way Andy Reid et al were. Long, at least, has managed to outlive his media kiss of death.

02/04/2013, 7:52 PM
Another myth is that Hoolahan is being hailed as sort of messiah. Nobody is saying that at all. He's just very obviously a talented player who's most comfortable playing a role / position that suited the circumstances perfectly.
Though the (populus horribilis) RTE campaign is embarrassing in its elevation of Hoolahan to messiah status. I already pointed out the RTE montage of Hoolahan's contributions, before the Austria game, the overhit pass to an inrushing Andy Keogh (Sweden game) was interpreted as a perfect pass but Andy was out of position.

02/04/2013, 7:55 PM
Though the (populus horribilis) RTE campaign is embarrassing in its elevation of Hoolahan to messiah status. I already pointed out the RTE montage of Hoolahan's contributions, before the Austria game, the overhit pass to an inrushing Andy Keogh (Sweden game) was interpreted as a perfect pass but Andy was out of position.
Ronnie Whelan nailed it in commentary: Keogh should have stayed out wide, where he is most effective, crossing the ball into an empty box. Hoolahan was forced to overhit his pass by Keogh's ridiculous striker's run into a goalscoring position.

02/04/2013, 7:57 PM
One day Charlie, your wet dream, an Andy Keogh absolute screamer killer goal, will be fulfilled.

02/04/2013, 7:58 PM
I've already lost 50k betting on just such an eventuality, but it will all be worth it when he finally pays out.

03/04/2013, 12:46 PM
How (not) to pick a new manager

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2013/apr/03/paolo-di-canio-sunderland-manager-research

03/04/2013, 1:06 PM
I don't think anyone (bar Dunphy maybe) thinks Hoolahan is our would-be saviour, but any fool could see that the players were tiring after about 70 minutes and we were retreating and letting the Austrians come back into the game too easily. In such a situation, I imagine most managers would think "maybe I can bring someone on to freshen things up and keep hold of the ball in midfield a little bit better, ease the pressure on us". Hoolahan is the best equipped to do that and he was on the bench. If Trap called him up, he obviously thinks he can do something for the team. Yet, the thing which so needed to be done, was left undone, Wes stayed on the bench and the Austrian pressure eventually paid off for them.

Didn't he bring on Hoolahan against Sweden who created a very similar chance with the last shot of the game. Pressure almost paid off for them as well except they fluffed it, Austria scored. And all that with Hoolahan on the pitch.

03/04/2013, 3:52 PM
Objection!

Keogh gave away a totally dumb (I mean really really really thick) free kick which led to Sweden's chance. The defence then got caught under a high ball.

Totally unfair to blame Hoolahan.

03/04/2013, 5:03 PM
Overruled!

I am not blaming Hoolahan. My point is that there is a huge ground swell of opinion that IF Hoolahan was on the pitch, we wouldn't have given up that chance in the 92nd minute. He was on the pitch against Sweden. We gave up a chance even if it was Keogh's fault. The team was in such a nervous state at that stage he would have been running around like a blue ars*d fly trying to get hold of the ball.

But we'll never know...

03/04/2013, 5:07 PM
That's not really what's being said. More that it is more likely that with Wes on the pitch we would have been able to retain the ball a bit better and would have been more likely to slow the game down and see it out. Well always give up chances, its about keeping the ball long enough to reduce the amount of chances you give up.

Closed Account 2
03/04/2013, 5:10 PM
Reports on the radio that McLeish is after the Ireland job once Trap goes...

03/04/2013, 5:12 PM
Reports on the radio that McLeish is after the Ireland job once Trap goes...
Trap in!

03/04/2013, 5:17 PM
This article might be better suited to the eligibility thread. CTP sent it onto me, got me annoyed again about the Austria result...

http://www.irishpost.co.uk/news/am-i-english-or-irish-the-second-generation-question

ArdeeBhoy
03/04/2013, 5:24 PM
Let's hope he hangs on for another decade then...if he's the alternative.

Crosby87
04/04/2013, 11:39 AM
Article about Marty replacing Trap:
http://www.irishcentral.com/story/sport/cathal_dervan/time-for-ireland-to-dump-giovanni-trapattoni-and-hire-former-celtic-manager-martin-oneill--201227961.html

04/04/2013, 12:38 PM
Article about Marty replacing Trap:
http://www.irishcentral.com/story/sport/cathal_dervan/time-for-ireland-to-dump-giovanni-trapattoni-and-hire-former-celtic-manager-martin-oneill--201227961.html
more about Di Canio replacing O'Neill than Trapattoni

DeLorean
04/04/2013, 2:15 PM
The draw with Austria – when luck ran out finally for our lucky manager Giovanni Trapattoni – means the World Cup is already a foregone conclusion for this Irish team – with the emphasis on the gone part of foregone!

No matter how much Trapattoni and his players pretend it will all come down to the autumn games against Sweden and Austria, we will not be going to Brazil next year.

We might get to the playoffs, by a miracle, but that is as much as Ireland’s fans can hope for now as long as Trapattoni stays in charge.

If we do get to the playoffs we'll obviously picked up a couple of decent results, so I'm not sure how anybody could totally rule out qualification at that point. Talk about covering himself just in case we happen to make the top two. Terrible article overall anyway.

04/04/2013, 2:28 PM
If we do get to the playoffs we'll obviously picked up a couple of decent results, so I'm not sure how anybody could totally rule out qualification at that point. Talk about covering himself just in case we happen to make the top two. Terrible article overall anyway.

The aftermath of the Austria game has given me the clarification that there is more informed discussion on Foot.ie than within the pages of our papers.

That's just drivel.

4tothefloor
04/04/2013, 3:29 PM

Cathal Dervan is a t**t. Martin O'Neill is an even bigger one. I don't think I could bring myself to following a MON team. Depressing stuff.

04/04/2013, 4:22 PM
Interesting perspective here:

Enough has been written about Giovanni Trapattoni.

What alarmed us most was a recent Kevin Kilbane revelation that during his time playing under the Italian, Trap hardly ever spoke at half-time. I’ve been in dressing rooms all around the country in my other capacity as a performance psychology consultant and one issue that teams and managers constantly review is how effectively they use half-time.............

Trap has been unable – and unwilling – to provide that. Which is another reason why, at the end of this campaign, he’ll have everyone telling him a word everyone will clearly understand. Ciao.

Kevin Kilbane has had the hump ever since Trap got rid of him for younger full backs. His views should be seen in that context.

A few weeks ago, he went on a rant on how Trap was in Milan during a EPL weekend. In fact, Trap was in Dublin announcing the squad and attending a LOI game.

There have been times this year and in the last few years where they have been one of the teams I look forward to watching because of the football they play. In my eyes they play the game how I want Ireland (and how I set teams up in PES and FM etc) to play.

This is the World Cup, a 15-month serious business with emotion and excitement involved, it's not PES where you can play it again 10 minutes later.

The "we should be glad to have Trap" brigade ignore his failings.

He is our most successful coach since Mick, and has a proven record here and elsewhere, of getting the job done. The Trappasceptics fail to see that.

And when they are that obvious as they were for the second half v Austria then we should be right to question why this man is in charge and why he made the awful decisions he did.

Austria had little to offer in the second half, in the end it took a 30-yard potshot to go in via a deflection in injury time. Another 2 minutes, and what happened in the second half wouldn't have mattered.

I didn't find any of T O'D's questions to be disgraceful. pretty much every Irish fan in the stadium at that moment was thinking that our chances of qualifying were practically over so it was a fair question, imo.

We are level with second place with 5 games to go. Our chances of qualification are far from over.

04/04/2013, 5:29 PM
Austria had little to offer in the second halfDo you seriously believe that? Everyone I was sitting with saw a good chance coming, if not a goal. We disappeared for the last 20 minutes.

Like you, I don't think our chances are over though. We have to win the mini-group of ourselves, Austria and Sweden, including all our results against Kazakhstan & Faroes.

We have got the necessary 6 points away to the latter two, and I think Austria have failed to do that. I expect we'll get 6 at home too.

We are arguably 3 points up on Sweden who I'm sure expected to beat us. But that's a hypothetical 3 points. The table says we have a point each from that game. Sweden have a point from Germany that I doubt we'll get, and they may get at least one more in the last game.

I also think that Sweden could well get 6 points from Austria, and I expect at least 4. I don't think they'll drop a point to the "minnows". Therefore, although 4 points from Sweden and Austria might well put us in a good place, I really do expect we'll need 6, and we absolutely will have to beat Sweden. I suppose the key is the two Sweden vs Austria results. If Sweden win both we're goosed.

I don't think we'll be the worst r'up if we come second.

04/04/2013, 6:18 PM
Do you seriously believe that? Everyone I was sitting with saw a good chance coming, if not a goal. We disappeared for the last 20 minutes.

We are arguably 3 points up on Sweden who I'm sure expected to beat us. But that's a hypothetical 3 points. The table says we have a point each from that game. Sweden have a point from Germany that I doubt we'll get, and they may get at least one more in the last game.

I also think that Sweden could well get 6 points from Austria, and I expect at least 4. I don't think they'll drop a point to the "minnows". Therefore, although 4 points from Sweden and Austria might well put us in a good place, I really do expect we'll need 6, and we absolutely will have to beat Sweden. I suppose the key is the two Sweden vs Austria results. If Sweden win both we're goosed.

I don't think we'll be the worst r'up if we come second.

It's all hypothetical. I couldn't see Austria scoring from 30 yards in injury time, but they did.

What matters is where we are and we have the same points as them and Sweden now. We got 3 points from our games against Russia and Slovakia last time and it was enough. We may need more than that this time, we may not. We'll only know that at the end of the campaign.

04/04/2013, 6:18 PM
It's grating me hearing we lost to a 30 yard wonder goal. Alaba's standing foot is on the arc of the "d" when he shoots. So 20yd's then.

In the context of results against the other teams, Sweden are a point up over ourselves and Austria with a point gained against Germany, with a home game to come.
Austria are down two points against Kazakhstan compared to ourselves and Sweden.

Austria have the toughest run-in I reckon, while there is a much-of-a-muchness whether ourselves or Sweden have the easier run in.
The next round of games, with us all but certain to beat the Faroes, means the pivotal game at the moment is the Austria-Sweden game on the same night. I think the Austrian's have to go for the win, because I don't see them winning again until the final night. I base that on a very good away record (statistically speaking - we've been awful in some away games) Trapattoni is on at present, and the fact that Austria won't be Sweden or the Mannschaft away.
In conclusion, go Osterreich!

DeLorean
04/04/2013, 6:52 PM
I suppose we can be a little bit more optimistic about Sweden's mediocrity than at the start of the campaign. There's no point in predicting the results for the rest of the year really without knowing the circumstances, but I'm pretty sure we'll take three points from the Faroes game and I'd be hopeful that Sweden won't win in Vienna. The table will have a nicer look to it then with Sweden coming to Dublin. If Sweden do win in Vienna it could be game over ball burst.

Fixer82
04/04/2013, 7:28 PM
Austria had little to offer in the second half, in the end it took a 30-yard potshot to go in via a deflection in injury time. Another 2 minutes, and what happened in the second half wouldn't have mattered.

Austria were all over us for the last half hour.

I thought Tony O'Donoghue's interview was awful but to say Austria had little to offer is just wrong.