View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2011/12
Hibs7772
10/05/2012, 7:15 PM
Team of the season was out in last nights leader anyone know the 1a team?
I know davy wall, gavin o donnell and Darren whelan got on it from hibs
Hibs7772
10/05/2012, 7:18 PM
Don't think Newtown are still recruiting players are they;)?
You mean Park Afc buddy...:p we need good cover for bj at full back ;)
Second
10/05/2012, 7:33 PM
I know davy wall, gavin o donnell and Darren whelan got on it from hibs
you must be taking the absolute mick.. Gavin o donnell made team of the year..in front of Darren Ryan and Derek Byrne .. Ha ha that's just stupidity .. The other two lads deserve it..
old git
10/05/2012, 8:14 PM
you must be taking the absolute mick.. Gavin o donnell made team of the year..in front of Darren Ryan and Derek Byrne .. Ha ha that's just stupidity .. The other two lads deserve it..
derek byrne & darren ryan only joined hibs late in season so maybe the powers who picked team based it on performances over the whole season .. also have you seen some of the performances by darren ryan over the last few weeks .. thats probally why he never made team. :confused:
old git
10/05/2012, 8:16 PM
You mean Park Afc buddy...:p we need good cover for bj at full back ;)
no park afc either these days all one big happy family under shannon hibernians
Hibs7772
11/05/2012, 1:04 AM
Are you joking me?? you say you go to hibs matches...then you obviously have no clue about the game at all as Gavin o donnell was one of hibs outstanding performers this year and was for the whole year, unlike the other lads who were only there for 3-4 months.
Hibs7772
11/05/2012, 1:09 AM
no park afc either these days all one big happy family under shannon hibernians
Yeah I know:)... me and bayern munchies were just talking about the old days:D
Second
11/05/2012, 7:42 AM
Are you joking me?? you say you go to hibs matches...then you obviously have no clue about the game at all as Gavin o donnell was one of hibs outstanding performers this year and was for the whole year, unlike the other lads who were only there for 3-4 months.
I've seen two or three games and he has been average at best..but hey that's just my opinion
the lobster
11/05/2012, 7:50 AM
Second, your taking the mick, Ryno & Byrnsy played maybe 5 game each all year so your post is complete rubbish. Any game i watched Gav has been the player who stud out to me for Hibs, This is a fella that has played B-team football for a long time and NEVER looked out of place in this his first year with the A-team. Ask any of the Hibs lads and they'll tell you the same. Not to sure if the other two shud have made it but then again they did so fair play. Rob Wall had a good season too.
lankyboy26
11/05/2012, 3:19 PM
Congratulations to the 5 teams on promotion this season : Geraldines, Park Rangers, Park F.C., Newtown and Shannon Hibernians :)
AC Melon
11/05/2012, 10:35 PM
Congratulations to the 5 teams on promotion this season : Geraldines, Park Rangers, Park F.C., Newtown and Shannon Hibernians :)
Thanks lankyboy on behalf of all 4 teams we wish you the best of luck next season..bring on the premier :)
Hibs7772
12/05/2012, 2:04 AM
I've seen two or three games and he has been average at best..but hey that's just my opinion
Second, your taking the mick, Ryno & Byrnsy played maybe 5 game each all year so your post is complete rubbish. Any game i watched Gav has been the player who stud out to me for Hibs, This is a fella that has played B-team football for a long time and NEVER looked out of place in this his first year with the A-team. Ask any of the Hibs lads and they'll tell you the same. Not to sure if the other two shud have made it but then again they did so fair play. Rob Wall had a good season too.
Thats true it is your opinion Second and you are entitled to that.
Lobster i agree with you completely, everything you said was spot on and rob wall did have a good season too as did alot of players, hence the promotion:D:p
Bravo Sir. :D
Ok boys and girls, here is next seasons line up:
Star Rovers
Summerville Rovers
Shannon Town
Balla B
Pike B
Fairview Rangers B
Mungret F.C
Caherconlish
Moyross F.C
Dromore Celtic
Caherdavin Celtic
Granville Rangers
Only 15 weeks to kick-off!!! Should be a cracking division and easier on the car juice compared to this season too.
old git
14/05/2012, 9:55 AM
Star Rovers
Summerville Rovers
Shannon Town
Balla B
Pike B
Fairview Rangers B
Mungret F.C
Caherconlish
Moyross F.C
Dromore Celtic
Caherdavin Celtic
Granville Rangers
Only 15 weeks to kick-off!!! Should be a cracking division and easier on the car juice compared to this season too.
easier on the car juice !!!!!!!!!! it was not that far out to geraldines or shannon :p
Zizou
14/05/2012, 10:14 AM
easier on the car juice !!!!!!!!!! it was not that far out to geraldines or shannon :p
Shannon, Croom and Charleville gone. In comes Dromore, Moyross, Star and Summerville! I could get to those four with around the same amount of Petrol as one trip to Shannon my old chum! No comparison. :D
lankyboy26
14/05/2012, 11:36 AM
Star Rovers
Summerville Rovers
Shannon Town
Balla B
Pike B
Fairview Rangers B
Mungret F.C
Caherconlish
Moyross F.C
Dromore Celtic
Caherdavin Celtic
Granville Rangers
Very much a city league next season, with the exception of Shannon Town. Caherconlish is only ten minutes out the road. Playing in 1A is definitely a money-saver!
old git
14/05/2012, 12:02 PM
Shannon, Croom and Charleville gone. In comes Dromore, Moyross, Star and Summerville! I could get to those four with around the same amount of Petrol as one trip to Shannon my old chum! No comparison. :D
but you still have 1 trip to shannon this year ... amazing you never hear shannon teams moan about the mammoth journey they have to make every 2nd game into town ;)
TopperHarley
14/05/2012, 2:39 PM
Star Rovers
Summerville Rovers
Shannon Town
Balla B
Pike B
Fairview Rangers B
Mungret F.C
Caherconlish
Moyross F.C
Dromore Celtic
Caherdavin Celtic
Granville Rangers
Strongest 1A in years
lankyboy26
14/05/2012, 3:39 PM
The pitches in Clare are better than what we have in Limerick. Look at this division, Caherconlish, the Greenhills, Shelbourne Park, Portland Park, Moyross. All these pitches are poor in fairness!
dirtfree
14/05/2012, 8:06 PM
The burren have a super pitch and facilities , the fairgreen is a decent pitch corofin don't play in the premier but I'll give you mountshannon but they won't be in premier after next week IMO
deadly man
15/05/2012, 1:07 AM
Charleville will be nowhere near relegation pal
Where did it all go wrong Lankyboy?how come all the guys who travelled out from limerick left half way through the season?
gaidin
15/05/2012, 7:54 AM
The pitches in Clare are better than what we have in Limerick. Look at this division, Caherconlish, the Greenhills, Shelbourne Park, Portland Park, Moyross. All these pitches are poor in fairness!
Shelbourne park isnt a bad pitch. Portland would be grand if it never rained.
Zizou
15/05/2012, 12:50 PM
Shelbourne park isnt a bad pitch. Portland would be grand if it never rained.
That made me laugh. :D
lankyboy26
15/05/2012, 1:17 PM
Where did it all go wrong Lankyboy?how come all the guys who travelled out from limerick left half way through the season?
There was 3 of us who were travelling out from Limerick to play. I did all the pre-season with them and played in a pre-season friendly v Moyross where I tore my hamstring badly so i missed the entire first half of the season. My brother played one match I think before deciding he didn't want to play anymore because he had no way of getting out there for training etc. (he didn't drive at the time). Mark Danaher joined Balla B for personal reasons. That was 3 of the starting 11 gone. And in addition to that, the manager, Scott Haworth, left the club around Christmas time and they had to get the Charleville B manager to take over. It was a mess really, totally upset the whole team. I decided to sign for Athlunkard then at Christmas, because I was too busy with work and family commitments to train for Charleville, plus the injury kept niggling at me. In the end I didn't end up even playing one game for Charleville last season, and played about 4 for Athlunkard. As for the rest of the Charleville lads, the team was way too young in my opinion to survive in 1A, hardly any experienced lads were on the team, and that's what cost them in the end
lankyboy26
15/05/2012, 1:32 PM
Shelbourne park isnt a bad pitch. Portland would be grand IF it never rained.
That's a pretty big "IF"??? Shelbourne Park is as bobbly as Portland!
the lobster
15/05/2012, 1:49 PM
There was 3 of us who were travelling out from Limerick to play. I did all the pre-season with them and played in a pre-season friendly v Moyross where I tore my hamstring badly so i missed the entire first half of the season. My brother played one match I think before deciding he didn't want to play anymore because he had no way of getting out there for training etc. (he didn't drive at the time). Mark Danaher joined Balla B for personal reasons. That was 3 of the starting 11 gone. And in addition to that, the manager, Scott Haworth, left the club around Christmas time and they had to get the Charleville B manager to take over. It was a mess really, totally upset the whole team. I decided to sign for Athlunkard then at Christmas, because I was too busy with work and family commitments to train for Charleville, plus the injury kept niggling at me. In the end I didn't end up even playing one game for Charleville last season, and played about 4 for Athlunkard. As for the rest of the Charleville lads, the team was way too young in my opinion to survive in 1A, hardly any experienced lads were on the team, and that's what cost them in the end
That brought a tear to my eye, very sad story altogether, and you having a go at Hibs at every chance, give it a break.
lankyboy26
15/05/2012, 2:15 PM
That brought a tear to my eye, very sad story altogether, and you having a go at Hibs at every chance, give it a break.
I said nothing about the Hibs team! I was having a mess about the name of the club??? I didn't even see Hibs this season. Played against them twice last year and found them to be average so obviously they improved a lot and deserve to go up, you happy now??? Ye have no sense of humour out in Clare :)
Planners
15/05/2012, 2:45 PM
scond what was your view on shannon towns best players you spend a lot of time down watching there games
gaidin
15/05/2012, 10:09 PM
I probably should have put a :) after that sentence...your own pitch isn't too bad either, again if it didn't rain :)
maroonandwhite
19/05/2012, 8:54 PM
Portland will hopefully be sanded and re-done to improved stardards in the next few years.. And hopefully we will get the second pitch right before that.
Zizou
21/05/2012, 12:10 PM
Portland will hopefully be sanded and re-done to improved stardards in the next few years.. And hopefully we will get the second pitch right before that.
Excellent news. The set up you guys have is top drawer, only to be let down by the pitches at the moment. Get them right and you'll attract even more players I think. I have great time for Summerville and almost signed for them several times! Mr Manahan was on to me with a form most Summers. A great bloke and a fantastic clubman. I'm sure ye miss his influence a lot.
booster 03
21/05/2012, 12:27 PM
Excellent news. The set up you guys have is top drawer, only to be let down by the pitches at the moment. Get them right and you'll attract even more players I think. I have great time for Summerville and almost signed for them several times! Mr Manahan was on to me with a form most Summers. A great bloke and a fantastic clubman. I'm sure ye miss his influence a lot.
now u said it... wer doin a 50km cycle durin july in his honour to raise money for a Defibulator(mind the spelling).. total legend and is missed by everone up here. He coached my generation at under 10 level and followed to group up to junior level where most of us played under him, just an absolute gentleman.
Zizou
21/05/2012, 12:40 PM
now u said it... wer doin a 50km cycle durin july in his honour to raise money for a Defibulator(mind the spelling).. total legend and is missed by everone up here. He coached my generation at under 10 level and followed to group up to junior level where most of us played under him, just an absolute gentleman.
Thats great news. Best of luck with that booster.