View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27

Zizou
25/03/2012, 8:07 PM
Granville 0-2 Geraldines
A closer game than this scoreline suggests, we were a match for the Dines in most areas, but they buried two of their chances in the game, whilst we were denied by great defending and poor finishing. A tough game played out in the sunshine and on a fine pitch at Glenbrook. Credit goes to the groundsmen for their work in the last fortnight. A nice crowd watched us set about Geraldines early on and we had a few shots just over their bar. Then a powerful drive from distance was too hot for our keeper to handle, and they mopped up the crumbs. We were very unhappy going in a goal down at half time. We had our best spell for the opening 15 mins of the second half, and only for a superb block on the line would have drawn level. We missed several other half chances before being punished for slack marking on a corner. 2-0 and we still had time to blow another chance, or rather I did, late on.
A hard defeat to take, but congratulations to Paul and Geraldines on securing promotion to the Premier League next term. For us its back to the grind Tuesday night.
Best for us: Olly Kenny.

25/03/2012, 8:32 PM
strange shannon town game was off did their b team not play today ?

Ya they did, would have thought both games would be off.

van der wheil
26/03/2012, 5:55 AM
Granville 0-2 Geraldines
A closer game than this scoreline suggests, we were a match for the Dines in most areas, but they buried two of their chances in the game, whilst we were denied by great defending and poor finishing. A tough game played out in the sunshine and on a fine pitch at Glenbrook. Credit goes to the groundsmen for their work in the last fortnight. A nice crowd watched us set about Geraldines early on and we had a few shots just over their bar. Then a powerful drive from distance was too hot for our keeper to handle, and they mopped up the crumbs. We were very unhappy going in a goal down at half time. We had our best spell for the opening 15 mins of the second half, and only for a superb block on the line would have drawn level. We missed several other half chances before being punished for slack marking on a corner. 2-0 and we still had time to blow another chance, or rather I did, late on.
A hard defeat to take, but congratulations to Paul and Geraldines on securing promotion to the Premier League next term. For us its back to the grind Tuesday night.
Best for us: Olly Kenny.

This was a good game.Have seen geraldines a few times this season and this was the worst i seen them play by a long shot but i suppose you have to credit granville for that.On this showing they surely will not get relegated.Always felt watching the game that Geraldines would win and bar one good chance which was blocked it never really looked to me like the Geraldines back 4 were in trouble.Thought Madden at center back was excellent as was the right full.Thought granvilles left full did well and also there 2 boys in the middle as Geraldines have some very good players in there that granville stopped from playing.If Granville mantain that level then i cant see them being relegated.

booster 03
26/03/2012, 8:09 AM
This was a good game.Have seen geraldines a few times this season and this was the worst i seen them play by a long shot but i suppose you have to credit granville for that.On this showing they surely will not get relegated.Always felt watching the game that Geraldines would win and bar one good chance which was blocked it never really looked to me like the Geraldines back 4 were in trouble.Thought Madden at center back was excellent as was the right full.Thought granvilles left full did well and also there 2 boys in the middle as Geraldines have some very good players in there that granville stopped from playing.If Granville mantain that level then i cant see them being relegated.

hope he gives it a good crack next yr in the premier league, one of the better centre halves in town when he puts his mind to it.

hotspur
26/03/2012, 6:23 PM
jaysus you don't half love yourself madden,haha

van der wheil
27/03/2012, 4:17 PM
jaysus you don't half love yourself madden,haha

Your only about 20 years out ;-)

abbeyvale
27/03/2012, 4:51 PM
Div 1A P W D L F A Pts
Geraldines 18 14 3 1 47 19 45 (PROMOTED)
Shannon Hibs 18 11 2 5 43 18 35
Caherconlish 18 9 3 6 32 31 30
Ballynanty Rs 17 9 3 5 34 32 30
Pike Rvs B 16 8 3 5 42 27 27
Shannon Tn 17 7 4 6 28 20 25
Mungret Reg 18 7 4 7 30 28 25
Caherdavin Cl 16 7 3 6 31 37 24
Charleville 18 6 3 9 29 44 21
Granville Rgs 18 6 2 10 26 37 20
Fairview B 15 4 2 9 24 41 14
Croom Utd 22 1 2 11 18 50 5 (RELEGATED)

Fixtures
Thur 29/03/12
Fairview Rgs v Ballynanty Rvs, 6.15, M Weldon

Sun 01/04/12
Caherconlish v Shannon Hibs, 10.30, G Clancy
Caherdavin v Mungret Reg, 10.30, M Kavanagh
Pike Rvs v Fairview Rgs, 10.30, T Duggan
Charleville Rvs v Shannon Town, 10.30, M Kiely

Tue 03/04/12
Granville Rgs v Pike Rvs, 6.15, D Power

Zizou
27/03/2012, 10:26 PM
Predictions:

Fairview Rgs 1 v 2 Ballynanty Rvs

Caherconlish 3 v 1 Shannon Hibs
Caherdavin 2 v 2 Mungret Reg
Pike Rvs 3 v 1 Fairview Rgs
Charleville Rvs 1 v 1 Shannon Town

hotspur
28/03/2012, 4:49 PM

Don't think so,

Hibs7772
29/03/2012, 12:38 AM
Div 1A P W D L F A Pts
Geraldines 18 14 3 1 47 19 45 (PROMOTED)
Shannon Hibs 18 11 2 5 43 18 35
Caherconlish 18 9 3 6 32 31 30
Ballynanty Rs 17 9 3 5 34 32 30
Pike Rvs B 16 8 3 5 42 27 27
Shannon Tn 17 7 4 6 28 20 25
Mungret Reg 18 7 4 7 30 28 25
Caherdavin Cl 16 7 3 6 31 37 24
Charleville 18 6 3 9 29 44 21
Fairview B 15 4 2 9 24 41 14

Fixtures
Thur 29/03/12
Fairview Rgs v Ballynanty Rvs, 6.15, M Weldon

Sun 01/04/12
Caherconlish v Shannon Hibs, 10.30, G Clancy
Caherdavin v Mungret Reg, 10.30, M Kavanagh
Pike Rvs v Fairview Rgs, 10.30, T Duggan
Charleville Rvs v Shannon Town, 10.30, M Kiely

Tue 03/04/12
Predictions:

Thur 29/03/12
Fairview Rgs 1-2 Ballynanty Rvs, 6.15, M Weldon

Sun 01/04/12
Caherdavin 2-1 Mungret Reg, 10.30, M Kavanagh
Pike Rvs 3-1 Fairview Rgs, 10.30, T Duggan
Charleville Rvs 3-3 Shannon Town, 10.30, M Kiely

Tue 03/04/12
Granville Rgs 4-2 Pike Rvs, 6.15, D Power

Second
29/03/2012, 7:47 AM
Lads anyone got hibs and caherconlish remaining fixtures ... If hibs lose Sunday they might not get 2nd.. After all the talk

the lobster
29/03/2012, 8:13 AM
Lads anyone got hibs and caherconlish remaining fixtures ... If hibs lose Sunday they might not get 2nd.. After all the talk

quote the posts with all the talk......... if they lose on sunday they'll still be 2 points ahead of lish.

Lev Yashin
29/03/2012, 12:21 PM
Seeing as there is no thread for it...Shannon Town v. Geraldines tonight in Jackman..

champs09
29/03/2012, 8:53 PM
Any result in the cup match

footymad
29/03/2012, 9:08 PM
Haha about 22 years i'd say is'nt that right M-C . 8-)

Hibs7772
30/03/2012, 1:12 AM
Seeing as there is no thread for it...Shannon Town v. Geraldines tonight in Jackman..

Shannon Town 0-4 Dines

Lev Yashin
30/03/2012, 9:20 AM
Well and truly hammered last night. Geraldines are very strong and have improved massively since we played them last. If they keep that squad they Will do well in the premier.

AC Melon
30/03/2012, 6:01 PM

Hibs remaining 4:
Caherconlish (A)
Fairview B (H)
Granville (A)
Charleville (A)

abbeyvale
30/03/2012, 11:46 PM
Did the View B v Balla B game finish 1-1 last night?

Zizou
31/03/2012, 7:26 PM
Did the View B v Balla B game finish 1-1 last night?

Yep..

abbeyvale
01/04/2012, 12:25 PM
Div 1A P W D L F A Pts
Geraldines 18 14 3 1 48 19 45 (PROMOTED/CHAMPIONS)
Shannon Hibs 19 11 2 6 44 22 35
Caherconlish 19 10 3 6 37 31 33
Ballynanty Rvs 18 9 4 5 36 32 31
Shannon Town 18 8 4 6 33 22 28
Pike Rvs B 17 8 3 6 42 28 27
Mungret Reg 19 7 5 7 36 33 26
Caherdavin Celtic 18 7 4 7 37 43 25
Charleville 19 6 3 10 31 48 21
Granville Rgs 18 6 2 10 27 37 20
Fairview Rgs B 17 5 3 9 26 42 18
Croom Utd 22 1 2 19 18 58 5 (RELEGATED)

Results
Sun 01/04/12
Caherconlish 4-0 Shannon Hibs,
Caherdavin 5-5 Mungret Reg,
Pike Rvs 0-1 Fairview Rgs,
Charleville Rvs 2-3 Shannon Town,

Fixtures
Tue 03/04/12

Sun 08/04/12
Fairview Rgs v Shannon Town, 10.00, K Gorman

old git
01/04/2012, 7:28 PM
Div 1A P W D L F A Pts
Geraldines 18 14 3 1 47 19 45 (PROMOTED/CHAMPIONS)
Shannon Hibs 19 11 2 6 43 22 35
Caherconlish 19 10 3 6 36 31 33
Ballynanty Rs 18 9 4 5 35 33 31
Shannon Tn 18 8 4 6 31 22 28
Mungret Reg 19 7 5 7 35 33 26
Caherdavin Cl 17 7 4 6 36 42 25
Charleville 19 6 3 10 31 47 21
Fairview B 17 5 3 9 26 42 18

Results
Sun 01/04/12

Fixtures
Tue 03/04/12

going to be a tight finish to the season for teams chasing 2nd place and promotion hibs having a bad couple of weeks and caherconlish seem to be finishing strongly and shannon town not out of it with a game in hand also makes for a very intresting few weeks

Hollywood Hogan
01/04/2012, 7:47 PM
Shannon looked to have promotion wrapped up a few weeks ago, some job done in caherconlish by paudie and lads. Have they been premier before?

Hibs7772
02/04/2012, 1:29 AM
Div 1A P W D L F A Pts
Granville Rgs 18 6 2 10 27 37 20

Results
Sun 01/04/12

Fixtures
Tue 03/04/12

Sun 08/04/12
why the lack on fixtures on Sunday the 8TH? they trying to drag the league out as long as possible?

02/04/2012, 8:04 AM
why the lack on fixtures on Sunday the 8TH? they trying to drag the league out as long as possible?

They said with the Heineken Cup Quarter Final that day kicking off at 1:45pm they would try avoid as many matches as possible. Fair enough I say. Not many game to go and plenty of time to play them.

booster 03
02/04/2012, 10:45 AM

and if ye'd a fixture you'd be giving out about commutin to limerick with traffic over the munster match, missing the munster match etc.... complainin for the sake of complainin.

Hibs7772
02/04/2012, 3:27 PM
They said with the Heineken Cup Quarter Final that day kicking off at 1:45pm they would try avoid as many matches as possible. Fair enough I say. Not many game to go and plenty of time to play them.

and if ye'd a fixture you'd be giving out about commutin to limerick with traffic over the munster match, missing the munster match etc.... complainin for the sake of complainin.

Heineken Cup?? This is junior SOCCER...stupid if thats the reason.....and i wouldnt be complaining about playing any match, would rather get the matches played than drag the season out for no reason, we've already had enough breaks between matches for my liking

Bayern Munchies
02/04/2012, 3:31 PM

Exactly booster, some people are just never happy regardless of weather they have a match or not.

Hibs7772
02/04/2012, 3:34 PM
Exactly booster, some people are just never happy regardless of weather they have a match or not.

Aboy Big Dad:D

Bayern Munchies
02/04/2012, 3:41 PM
Aboy Big Dad:D
Think you must have me mistaken for somebody else, I'm not a dad(as far as I'm aware) or am I big. Think you should stick to the moaning rather then playing Sherlock Holmes pal, you're clearly better at the first.

Second
02/04/2012, 4:22 PM
Looks like the pressure is starting to frustrate the hibs crew.. After signing the likes of Darren Ryan Davy wall Derek Byrne Jamie Cullen Ye should be getting promoted easily..Ye even have a lad from mervue utd coaching Ye.. I hope Ye do get promoted but will be tough for Ye after losing last couple of games

02/04/2012, 4:28 PM
Heineken Cup?? This is junior SOCCER...stupid if thats the reason.....and i wouldnt be complaining about playing any match, would rather get the matches played than drag the season out for no reason, we've already had enough breaks between matches for my liking

But the season won't drag out. Most teams only have a handful of games left as a big chunk where played at the start of the season and games can be played Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday an Sunday. It may be junior soccer but like it or not a huge chunk of people playing junior soccer will either be attending the match or watching it somewhere.

old git
02/04/2012, 9:41 PM
But the season won't drag out. Most teams only have a handful of games left as a big chunk where played at the start of the season and games can be played Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday an Sunday. It may be junior soccer but like it or not a huge chunk of people playing junior soccer will either be attending the match or watching it somewhere.

and a huge chunk of people who would rather be playing soccer than watching rugby after all it is a junior soccer league and to re-arrange / postpone fixtures because of another sport is crazy,,, and i bet alot of teams out there would rather be playing weekend games as alot of teams may struggle to get full strenght teams out for midweek games due to work commitments etc , i also think the big problem is even though some teams only have a handful of games left they still may go a week or even two without a game .

02/04/2012, 11:47 PM
and a huge chunk of people who would rather be playing soccer than watching rugby after all it is a junior soccer league and to re-arrange / postpone fixtures because of another sport is crazy,,, and i bet alot of teams out there would rather be playing weekend games as alot of teams may struggle to get full strenght teams out for midweek games due to work commitments etc , i also think the big problem is even though some teams only have a handful of games left they still may go a week or even two without a game .

But there is loads of games still on this weekend, 14 on Saturday and 3 Sunday meaning 34 teams still get to play this weekend with the majority of those being Cup. I don't see anything wrong with that. It's not like they do this every week.

Long weekend, big game on, people want to go away the Sunday and Bank Holiday Monday possibly or watch the match, not many games to go, plenty of time to play them (a month and a half to 2 months) and common sense has prevailed I think.

With the midweek games back the chances of a team not playing for a few weeks is pretty slim I would think.

Its a case of your dammed if you do, your dammed if you don't.

Hibs7772
03/04/2012, 2:45 AM
Yeah that's true I suppose there is plenty of time left to play out the fixtures remaining. As for the rugby match I wont be one of those attending or watching the match :p

xpskid
03/04/2012, 7:35 AM
Yeah that's true I suppose there is plenty of time left to play out the fixtures remaining. As for the rugby match I wont be one of those attending or watching the match :p
Well if you love soccer so much why not take a trip to Jackman Friday night for the top of the table clash.

van der wheil
03/04/2012, 9:41 PM
Granville 5-0 Pike.Scoreline says it all.Granville totally dominated.

footymad
03/04/2012, 9:54 PM
Granville 5-0 Pike.Scoreline says it all.Granville totally dominated.

What happened Pike ?

old git
03/04/2012, 10:12 PM
But there is loads of games still on this weekend, 14 on Saturday and 3 Sunday meaning 34 teams still get to play this weekend with the majority of those being Cup. I don't see anything wrong with that. It's not like they do this every week.

Long weekend, big game on, people want to go away the Sunday and Bank Holiday Monday possibly or watch the match, not many games to go, plenty of time to play them (a month and a half to 2 months) and common sense has prevailed I think.

With the midweek games back the chances of a team not playing for a few weeks is pretty slim I would think.

Its a case of your dammed if you do, your dammed if you don't.

only 3 games on a sunday and some kicking off at 10am... might as well have called everything off than asking teams to travel for 10am starts, we had a long weekend not so long ago which included st patricks day / mothers day and i would say most lads would have prefered games to be called off that weekend , i will guarantee you some teams will still not kick a ball again since last match 1st april untill possiblly 15th april or later crazy stuff when teams trying to get a run of games at this time of year to win leagues/ promotion or even avoid relegation .

abbeyvale
03/04/2012, 11:11 PM
Div 1A P W D L F A Pts
Pike Rvs B 18 8 3 7 42 33 27
Granville Rgs 19 7 2 10 32 37 23

Results
Tue 03/04/12
Granville Rgs 5-0 Pike Rvs,

Fixtures
Sun 08/04/12

Hibs7772
05/04/2012, 1:42 AM
Well if you love soccer so much why not take a trip to Jackman Friday night for the top of the table clash.
what top of the table clash would that be now?? and "if I love soccer so much"?? This is a Junior Soccer forum after all:confused:

xpskid
05/04/2012, 8:23 AM
what top of the table clash would that be now?? and "if I love soccer so much"?? This is a Junior Soccer forum after all:confused:
Limerick v Longford was just an idea for your soccer fix for the weekend.

old git
05/04/2012, 9:38 AM
Limerick v Longford was just an idea for your soccer fix for the weekend.

would rather watch fairview b v shannon town ;)

Lev Yashin
05/04/2012, 9:58 AM

I wouldn't...ten in the morning! :eek:

xpskid
05/04/2012, 10:39 AM

Good on ya. True die-hard :ball: ;)

Zizou
05/04/2012, 2:10 PM
What happened Pike ?

Granville 5-0 Pike B
A superb team performance and one that was badly needed. We did dominate the game throughout, but Pike never stopped playing their football in fairness and it was a hard earned clean sheet. Our goals came from P. Coffey, Joe Horan (2) and man of the match D. Henehen (2).
3 games left and we'll be aiming to win all 3 and finally pull away from the relegation zone.

champs09
05/04/2012, 4:52 PM
Has anyone got their teams remaining fixture's its goin to be a close finish at the bottom of the table

booster 03
05/04/2012, 5:35 PM
Granville 5-0 Pike B
A superb team performance and one that was badly needed. We did dominate the game throughout, but Pike never stopped playing their football in fairness and it was a hard earned clean sheet. Our goals came from P. Coffey, Joe Horan (2) and man of the match D. Henehen (2).
3 games left and we'll be aiming to win all 3 and finally pull away from the relegation zone.

imo... however useful it is.. Granville need to stay up, more so than fairview b team, by all accounts there wont even be a b team next season anyway

van der wheil
06/04/2012, 12:57 AM
imo... however useful it is.. Granville need to stay up, more so than fairview b team, by all accounts there wont even be a b team next season anyway

No one can say that now as that's for the incoming committee to decide.

Hibs7772
06/04/2012, 12:58 AM
Div 1A P W D L F A Pts
Pike Rvs B 18 8 3 7 42 33 27
Granville Rgs 19 7 2 10 32 37 23

Results
Tue 03/04/12
Granville Rgs 5-0 Pike Rvs,

Fixtures
Sun 08/04/12
anyone have the result of View B vs Shannon town???