View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

Hibs7772
12/09/2011, 7:09 PM
Well we have been missing alot of chances all season. But it kind of clicked yesterday Gerry Kelly scored 4 and Brian Keane got 1.

well done shannon town. yer season really starts here so :p

booster 03
12/09/2011, 7:16 PM
Granville 1-2 Caherdavin
Poor defeat and a game we had more than enough chances to win. Nobody more guilty of missed chances than myself, should have bagged at least a brace. Alan Daly did manage to score a fine solo effort but we conceded two sloppy headers and failed to take advantage of massive possession in the 2nd half.
Best for us: Czech.

relegation contenders at the minute!!

Bayern Munchies
12/09/2011, 7:22 PM
Granville really struggling so far this season, the loss of all but one of it's Youth team from last year seems to be taking it's toll, hopefully they can turn it around though

Lev Yashin
12/09/2011, 7:27 PM
well done shannon town. yer season really starts here so :p

No. Season started weeks ago. It'll take more than one win to kick start us but it is something to build on.
Still have a few players to come back into the squad so hopefully we can start to improve.

Hibs7772
12/09/2011, 7:31 PM
Granville really struggling so far this season, the loss of all but one of it's Youth team from last year seems to be taking it's toll, hopefully they can turn it around though

donal why you commenting on a 1A thread?? shouldnt you be concentrating on winning the league with lifford?? :p

Hibs7772
13/09/2011, 12:52 AM
predictions for Tuesdays matches

Shannon Hibs 4-0 Croom
Mungret Reg 1-2 Caherconlish

AC Melon
13/09/2011, 1:35 AM
predictions for Tuesdays matches

Shannon Hibs 4-0 Croom
Mungret Reg 1-2 Caherconlish

Shannon Hibs 8-0 Croom
Mungret 3-1 Caherconlish

Hibs7772
13/09/2011, 2:16 AM
Pos Team P W D L F A Pts
1 Geraldines 8 8 0 0 26 4 24
2 Pike Rvs B 8 6 1 1 29 12 19
3 Ballynanty Rvs 8 5 1 2 21 14 16
4 Shannon Hibs 7 3 2 2 13 9 11
5 Caherconlish 7 3 1 3 10 13 10
6 Charleville 8 3 1 4 11 18 10
7 Caherdavin Celtic 8 3 1 4 12 20 10
8 Shannon Town 8 2 3 3 13 11 9
9 Fairview Rgs B 8 2 1 5 10 15 7
10 Mungret Reg 7 1 2 4 10 12 5
11 Granville Rgs 8 1 2 5 13 20 5
12 Croom Utd 7 1 1 5 8 27 4

Results
Sun 11/09/11
Shannon Town 5-1 Charleville,
Granville Rgs 1-2 Caherdavin Celtic,
Geraldines 2-0 Fairview Rgs B,
Ballynanty Rvs 2-1 Pike Rvs,

Fixtures
Tue 13/09/11 @ 6.15
Shannon Hibs v Croom Utd, M Weldon
Mungret Reg v Caherconlish, R Hennessy

Sun 18/09/11 @ 10.30
Caherdavin Celtic v Fairview Rgs B, 10.30, T Duggan
Ballynanty Rvs v Geraldines, 10.30, K Gorman

why dont Geraldines or caherdavin have fai matches sunday??

Zizou
13/09/2011, 2:53 AM
relegation contenders at the minute!!

Given our position at present I can't argue with your logic, however I fully expect us to turn this around, and have 100% faith in our squad. Hard work and heart needed now, and a splash of luck maybe aswell. Nothing comes handy in this division.

abbeyvale
13/09/2011, 8:01 PM
why dont Geraldines or caherdavin have fai matches sunday??

Caherdavin have no game in the FAI as they are in round two and await the winners of Croom v Meanus from round one.
Geraldines have drawn Prospect in round one and why they dont play is beyond me, the only reason I can think of is that Prospect have a free weekend pre booked, as they have no league game either.

abbeyvale
13/09/2011, 8:07 PM
Pos Team P W D L F A Pts
4 Shannon Hibs 8 4 2 2 18 10 14
5 Charleville 8 3 1 4 11 18 10
6 Caherconlish 8 3 1 4 10 17 10
9 Mungret Reg 8 2 2 4 14 12 8
10 Fairview Rgs B 8 2 1 5 10 15 7
12 Croom Utd 8 1 1 6 9 32 4

Results
Tue 13/09/11
Shannon Hibs 5-1 Croom Utd,
Mungret Reg 4-0 Caherconlish,

Fixtures
Sun 18/09/11 @ 10.30

abbeyvale
13/09/2011, 8:11 PM
Have to say Shannon Hibs have been tipping away quietly and currently sit in the 2nd promotion spot 4pts clear of any challengers, its really going to be a fight for 2nd spot, cant see The Dines being caught now, as they sit 10pts clear of 2nd promotion chasing team and are 14pts clear for promotion.

Have to say that this league is crazy when you consider a team could finish 5th and still be promoted to the Prem.

My question is:
How on earth is a team that finish 5th in 1A (which is almost mid table) going to compete in the Prem the following season, considering over the past number of years teams that have finished first and second in 1A have struggled in Prem the following season.

On The Ball
13/09/2011, 8:24 PM
Pos Team P W D L F A Pts
4 Shannon Hibs 8 4 2 2 18 10 14
5 Charleville 8 3 1 4 11 18 10
6 Caherconlish 8 3 1 4 10 17 10
9 Mungret Reg 8 2 2 4 14 12 8
10 Fairview Rgs B 8 2 1 5 10 15 7
12 Croom Utd 8 1 1 6 9 32 4

Results
Tue 13/09/11
Shannon Hibs 5-1 Croom Utd,
Mungret Reg 4-0 Caherconlish,

Fixtures
Sun 18/09/11 @ 10.30
Having Croom travel in from there on a tuesday game kicking off at 6.15 is madness to me.People would struggle to get there from Limerick city for 6.15 kick off.

old git
13/09/2011, 9:15 PM
Having Croom travel in from there on a tuesday game kicking off at 6.15 is madness to me.People would struggle to get there from Limerick city for 6.15 kick off.

part of the madness in the limerick league fixtures but check through all divisions and you will see teams having to travel for crazy midweek fixtures you just have to grin and bear and hope you are at home. hopefully this week should see the end of midweek games.

Hibs7772
13/09/2011, 10:26 PM
that is a mystery so, thanks abbeyvale

Hibs7772
13/09/2011, 10:31 PM
Shannon Hibs 5-1 Croom

Goals from Brian mc Gorrrian (3), Julio and Jamie Egan.

Hibs went 1-0 down in this but even so never looked like losing to a very poor Croom team. Mc Gorrian soon leveled the scores and then soon after the break made it 2-1 and then soon after julio tapped one in from 6 yards to kill off Croom, jamie egan and brian mc gorrian adding 2 more late on for a comprehensive Hibs victory.

Croom looking very poor tho and if they continue to play like that will go down no doubt about it.

magicman
14/09/2011, 12:49 AM
Have to say Shannon Hibs have been tipping away quietly and currently sit in the 2nd promotion spot 4pts clear of any challengers, its really going to be a fight for 2nd spot, cant see The Dines being caught now, as they sit 10pts clear of 2nd promotion chasing team and are 14pts clear for promotion.

Have to say that this league is crazy when you consider a team could finish 5th and still be promoted to the Prem.

My question is:
How on earth is a team that finish 5th in 1A (which is almost mid table) going to compete in the Prem the following season, considering over the past number of years teams that have finished first and second in 1A have struggled in Prem the following season.

Its a strange one but are the rules set in stone that its only one team per division? I remember a couple of years ago Corbally had a B and C team in the same division. Could be wrong but think at some stage Mungret had their B and C team in the same division too. This subject raised its head too about 5 or 6 years ago when Balla B were running away with 1A. I remember talking to some of the committee at the time and they were of the opinion it would work the same way as the Munster junior. Both teams would be considered seperate clubs and both teams would play each other on the first two games of the season. Which is all well and good in theory, but the only problem would be if a club had a C team. Who would be able to call up those players?
Its wrong to think a team who could lose as much as a third of their games could find themselves in the Premier.
Would the team who finishes 11th in the Premier have a case to play off against the highest finishing team in 1A?(assuming Pike and Balla finish 2nd and 3rd).

I suppose the LDMC are lucky that Geraldines have such a strong team this season. Can you imagine if it was a Balla and Pike 1st and 2nd!

Roadend
14/09/2011, 8:24 AM
Its a strange one but are the rules set in stone that its only one team per division? I remember a couple of years ago Corbally had a B and C team in the same division. Could be wrong but think at some stage Mungret had their B and C team in the same division too. This subject raised its head too about 5 or 6 years ago when Balla B were running away with 1A. I remember talking to some of the committee at the time and they were of the opinion it would work the same way as the Munster junior. Both teams would be considered seperate clubs and both teams would play each other on the first two games of the season. Which is all well and good in theory, but the only problem would be if a club had a C team. Who would be able to call up those players?Its wrong to think a team who could lose as much as a third of their games could find themselves in the Premier.
Would the team who finishes 11th in the Premier have a case to play off against the highest finishing team in 1A?(assuming Pike and Balla finish 2nd and 3rd).

I suppose the LDMC are lucky that Geraldines have such a strong team this season. Can you imagine if it was a Balla and Pike 1st and 2nd!

C players can only go up to the A team, not the B team.

Forever Red
14/09/2011, 11:45 AM
Mungret 4 - 0 Caherconlish

At last a comprehensive win our play deserved! We went won up through Des O Donoghue after good work by Brian Aherne. Missed a glorious chance to double lead. 1-0HT. Second half was easier than expected and we added two further goals from Des O Donoghue (one pen) & one from Barry Danagher. Could easily have got a couple more with play blown up a few minutes early. We are starting to creep up the table now and with the bottom three teams to play hopefully we might collect a few points - that said i suppose we were at the bottom for most of the season so far so i don't think we cant count on anything!!

abbeyvale
14/09/2011, 1:35 PM
Its a strange one but are the rules set in stone that its only one team per division? I remember a couple of years ago Corbally had a B and C team in the same division. Could be wrong but think at some stage Mungret had their B and C team in the same division too. This subject raised its head too about 5 or 6 years ago when Balla B were running away with 1A. I remember talking to some of the committee at the time and they were of the opinion it would work the same way as the Munster junior. Both teams would be considered seperate clubs and both teams would play each other on the first two games of the season. Which is all well and good in theory, but the only problem would be if a club had a C team. Who would be able to call up those players?
Its wrong to think a team who could lose as much as a third of their games could find themselves in the Premier.

Could you imagine the 3 B teams finishing in the top 3, its a joke of a set up to be fair, and in fairness, The Boro B could easily get promoted from 1B also this season, so you could have 4 B teams in 1A next season, which effectively means Division 1A next season would become an 8 team league..............

lankyboy26
14/09/2011, 1:44 PM
Barcelona's B team finished in the promotion places in the Spanish second division last season and couldn't go up. It happens everywhere is my point, not just Limerick. And fair play to teams like Fairview, Pike, Balla for having strong B teams, its a credit to those clubs. Don't know what people are giving out about. That's the way it has always been and always will be

Hibs7772
14/09/2011, 4:16 PM
Barcelona's B team finished in the promotion places in the Spanish second division last season and couldn't go up. It happens everywhere is my point, not just Limerick. And fair play to teams like Fairview, Pike, Balla for having strong B teams, its a credit to those clubs. Don't know what people are giving out about. That's the way it has always been and always will be

bit of a difference between the Spanish second division and 1A in limerick hahahaha

gaiscíoch
14/09/2011, 4:19 PM

It takes 15 minutes to get from Shannon to Annacotty via the tunnel? so if people are struggling to get from Limerick City to games in Shannon then there is something wrong.

If the 4th or 5th place team gets promoted then I honestly think they will be little more than cannon fodder for the premier teams.
From what I have seen it's been a poor standard so far.

theboywonder8
14/09/2011, 8:22 PM
Pike,fairview,balla and boro should be allowed enter teams into the Lawson cup as well,they were allowed up to a few years ago until it became a one team per club comp,after all they are allowed enter the mj,can't see any reason why they shouldn't be allowed,opinions anyone?Sorry forgot to mention their b teams,

lankyboy26
14/09/2011, 9:14 PM
bit of a difference between the Spanish second division and 1A in limerick hahahaha

No i think they are the same, actually the standard in Limerick would be better, especially in 1A

Hibs7772
14/09/2011, 11:39 PM
No i think they are the same, actually the standard in Limerick would be better, especially in 1A

sure that goes without saying :cool:

abbeyvale
15/09/2011, 12:00 AM
Lads just a thought but do ye think this would work?

At present there are 91 junior teams playing in Limerick including 3 C teams.

If the C teams were omitted from the league, and there was a few added to make 90 teams, then the following could happen.

Prem A, 1A, 2A, 3A & 4A, all consisting of 12 teams per league (A teams only)

Prem B, 1B & 2B, all consisting of 10 teams per league (B teams only)

No B team can go any higher than Prem B, which would be the highest postion within the B section.

So for arguments sake, lets say Pike B won the Prem B league, then they would be crowned Premier B champions of Limerick and teams within both sections (A & B) can get promoted and relegated without having the issue of being held back from promotion incase their A team is in the higher division etc;;;

That way B teams actually have something to play and show for their efforts for a season, instead of being held back.

All B teams should be allowed to enter all other comps shuch as MJC, FAI & Lawson also.

Like I said, its just a thought...........

lankyboy26
15/09/2011, 1:01 AM
That's some good inventive thinking there Abbeyvale, but would you be guaranteed to have the exact amount of B teams each season, like what happens when clubs decide not to bother entering a B team etc. Could get messy then.

I admire players who play for their club's B team, it shows loyalty to their club, whatever about getting promotion, you can still win medals

Zizou
15/09/2011, 10:51 AM
B's and A's, A's and B's, B's taking on A's and A's relegating B's... Jesus lads, lets get back to the friggin footie, eh??

Hibs7772
15/09/2011, 4:15 PM
B's and A's, A's and B's, B's taking on A's and A's relegating B's... Jesus lads, lets get back to the friggin footie, eh??

agreed! its always been the way it is and will never change, just get on with it!

Zizou
15/09/2011, 4:38 PM
You and me seeing eye to eye on something...... Whoda thunk it.. :D

Hibs7772
15/09/2011, 4:50 PM
You and me seeing eye to eye on something...... Whoda thunk it.. :D

hahaha there's a first time for everything :D

AC Melon
15/09/2011, 5:24 PM
hahaha there's a first time for everything :D

Trying seeing eye to eye with eachother on sunday ;)

Bayern Munchies
15/09/2011, 7:55 PM

Where and what time is that on?

Might go and give it a watch, should be a good game of ball

abbeyvale
15/09/2011, 10:49 PM

Would you still give the same answer if you were still with Pike B?

Hibs7772
15/09/2011, 11:50 PM
Where and what time is that on?

Might go and give it a watch, should be a good game of ball

Its on down the Shannon hibs pitch half 10 ko and yeah dont think we'll see eye to eye this sunday zizou ;)

Zizou
17/09/2011, 11:45 AM
Would you still give the same answer if you were still with Pike B?
Of course I would. Its been this way for years, its the right way and there's nothing anyone can do about it Al. I don't see the point in debating it. Simple as really.

Zizou
17/09/2011, 11:45 AM
Its on down the Shannon hibs pitch half 10 ko and yeah dont think we'll see eye to eye this sunday zizou ;)

I'll look you in the eye after the game as we shake hands. Hows that?
See you Sunday sweetie.

smellyfeet
19/09/2011, 10:00 AM
Fixtures
Sun 18/09/11 @ 10.30

Any results from these games?

lankyboy26
19/09/2011, 10:08 AM
Caherdavin won 6-1

prawnsandwich2
19/09/2011, 10:15 AM
Caherdavin won 6-1

surprised at that result,or the score should i say.
in fairview defence,a lot of the young lads that would normally play,togged out for the a team in the fai match.

gaidin
19/09/2011, 12:49 PM
surprised at that result,or the score should i say.
in fairview defence,a lot of the young lads that would normally play,togged out for the a team in the fai match.

Why didnt they get the b match off? I thought if you have an fai game and B players are playing with the A team then you are entitled to get the B game off?

prawnsandwich2
19/09/2011, 12:52 PM
Why didnt they get the b match off? I thought if you have an fai game and B players are playing with the A team then you are entitled to get the B game off?

thats true.
i could not honestly answer that.to be honest i did not think the b team had a game until i heard it sunday morning.
i know before that it was automatic that your minors and b team had no fixtures on an FAI weekend.

kalyani
19/09/2011, 1:44 PM

The story i heard is Fairview tried to get the B match off as did Balla B and also Pike B, but the only one that was called off was Pike B, the LDMC told Fairview and Balla there matches would go ahead. so Fairview had to play the match with just 11 players including there manager. Balla B were lucky enough that pitch was unplayable so there match was called off, dont know why there is one rule for one team and another rule for other teams regardless of who you are playing against. i always thought there was a rule there to allow you have a B match called off if your A team are playing in the FAI or Munster Junior.

prawnsandwich2
19/09/2011, 1:52 PM
The story i heard is Fairview tried to get the B match off as did Balla B and also Pike B, but the only one that was called off was Pike B, the LDMC told Fairview and Balla there matches would go ahead. so Fairview had to play the match with just 11 players including there manager. Balla B were lucky enough that pitch was unplayable so there match was called off, dont know why there is one rule for one team and another rule for other teams regardless of who you are playing against. i always thought there was a rule there to allow you have a B match called off if your A team are playing in the FAI or Munster Junior.

it's the first i heard of that story.
could not see the LDMC not awarding the other two teams free week ends if they granted pike b one.
don't think they would be that shortsighted

gaidin
19/09/2011, 2:07 PM

I thought the same thing. once the club are playing in the fai the B/minors have a free weekedn if requested. This allows for the A team calling up players from the B team.

supporter
19/09/2011, 2:32 PM
ya thats true, balla b were told the match goes ahead and thats it.. strange too the time(2pm) balla b played pike b last weekend, heard off a player they had a few lads away at a stag and wouldnt be back until sunday morning

19/09/2011, 3:17 PM
As far as I know there is no actual rule to say if the A team are playing FAI the b team can get their match off. It was always done as an unwritten rule as far as I know but in recent years it hasn't been. I remember the same discussion happening last year.

champs09
19/09/2011, 3:28 PM
ya thats true, balla b were told the match goes ahead and thats it.. strange too the time(2pm) balla b played pike b last weekend, heard off a player they had a few lads away at a stag and wouldnt be back until sunday morning

that stag was last week,as in the week they played balla, it has nothing to do with them having no match this while the fai was on

allab
19/09/2011, 6:26 PM
[/B]
that stag was last week,as in the week they played balla, it has nothing to do with them having no match this while the fai was on
if you read the post again he mentioned it was last week when they played?