View Full Version : Limerick Division 1A 2011/12

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

the lobster
29/08/2011, 8:58 AM
Geraldines won this game as a result of a very bad goalkeeping error. Also, we hit the bar, missed a one on one and another good chance. They created very little at 0-0, looked ok at the back in fairness to them, solid enough but the chances we missed were very bad. Should have been 2 up and closed out the win. Bad misses and a bad mistake cost us the 3 points today.

Sign of a good team winning when they shouldn't have.

Saying that, Hibs played well but really have to take chances or it could be a long season of if's and but's.
So far what ive seen from 4 games they only turned up for 2 of them, they were very bad against Pike B, very good against Balla B, extremely poor against Shannon Town and ok against Dines. Really need a goal scorer because some of the chances missed in games are nothing short of shocking.

Zizou
29/08/2011, 9:46 AM
Geraldines won this game as a result of a very bad goalkeeping error. Also, we hit the bar, missed a one on one and another good chance. They created very little at 0-0, looked ok at the back in fairness to them, solid enough but the chances we missed were very bad. Should have been 2 up and closed out the win. Bad misses and a bad mistake cost us the 3 points today.

Your goalkeeper's going to feel a whole lot better now then isn't he??
I take all your points, and can't comment on a game I didn't see, but the Dines just keep posting those clean sheets. I'll have a proper look at them next Thurs week ;)

Zizou
29/08/2011, 9:51 AM
Not to be making excuses for our poor start, but... we've had 4 games, 3 away, next game is home then we're away twice in a row. This makes 5 away games in our first 7 fixtures. Can anyone explain the L.D.M.C's thinking there?? Or have any other club such a tricky start?

Second
29/08/2011, 10:04 AM
Be nice to have all home games near end of season when things are won and lost on midweek games

obi-1 kenobi-0
29/08/2011, 10:12 AM
Your goalkeeper's going to feel a whole lot better now then isn't he??
I take all your points, and can't comment on a game I didn't see, but the Dines just keep posting those clean sheets. I'll have a proper look at them next Thurs week ;)

He knows himself and he is good enough to get over it. In fairness to him, he has won us more games over the years than lost. Geraldines are a solid team but not world beaters. Anyway, best of luck to them for the season.

Forever Red
29/08/2011, 12:07 PM
Mungret 0 Shannon town 0....

Mungret 0-0 Shannon Town

Probably a fair result in the end with both teams failing to get their first vital 3 points! Thought we started the brighter and were on top for the first 25-30mins with plenty of the ball but other than corners never really got a good chance. Shannon shaded the rest of the first half, got balls in behind us but like us never looked like scoring.
Second half was even enough with Shannon hitting the bar from a brilliant lob from the half way line which would of left our keeper fairly embarrassed to say the least. Shannon went down to ten with around 10 mins left and we missed our only real good chance with time nearly up. At least we are up and running!! Big game Thursday away to the dines who by all accounts are flying - what better time to get your first 3 points!!

On a positive note i have to praise the ref (S Rooney), we had him Thursday too against Balla B and i thought both games he was v good.

abbeyvale
29/08/2011, 1:33 PM
Pos Team P W D L F A Pts
1 Pike Rvs B 4 4 0 0 20 8 12
2 Geraldines 4 4 0 0 10 1 12
3 Ballynanty Rvs 4 3 0 1 14 8 9
4 Charleville 4 2 1 1 6 6 7
5 Caherconlish 4 2 0 2 4 5 6
6 Caherdavin Celtic 4 2 0 2 7 13 6
7 Fairview Rgs B 4 1 1 2 6 7 4
8 Shannon Hibs 4 1 1 2 6 7 4
9 Granville Rgs 4 1 0 3 7 10 3
10 Croom Utd 4 1 0 3 5 14 3
11 Shannon Town 4 0 2 2 2 5 2
12 Mungret Reg 4 0 1 3 5 8 1

Fixtures
Thur 01/09/11 @ 6.30
Caherconlish A V Charleville, J McNamara
Caherdavin V Shannon Hibs,, R Hennessy
Fairview B V Pike Rovers B, D Power
Geraldines V Mungret Regional, R Broe
Granville V Ballynanty, J Carey
Shannon Town V Croom Utd, O Hayes

Sun 04/09/11 @ 10.30
Shannon Hibs V Caherconlish A, 10.30, M Kiely
Pike Rovers B V Charleville, 10.30, A Keogh
Mungret Regional V Caherdavin, 10.30, M Kirby
Ballynanty V Fairview B, 10.30, R Peiper
Geraldines V Croom, 10.30, M Weldon
Shannon Town V Granville, 10.30, S Rooney

Thur 08/09/11 @ 6.30
Caherconlish V Pike Rovers B,J Carey
Shannon Hibs V Mungret Regional, K Gorman
Charleville V Ballynanty, S Rooney
Caherdavin V Croom, G Clancy
Shannon Town V Fairview B, O Hayes
Geraldines V Granville, R Broe

dines08
29/08/2011, 2:51 PM
Another clean sheet for the Dines. I have to admit at this level thats outstanding. They must be very well organised and tuned in for whole 90. Anyone name the back 4 plus keeper for me??

Keith McCarthy in goals, Jack Allen right full, Shane Madden and Thomas O Grady centre half, Paul Fitz left full. Eoin O Sullivan then is sub but could play anywhere across the back four

footymad
29/08/2011, 5:25 PM
Keith McCarthy is a very good keeper very important at this level.

footymad
29/08/2011, 5:31 PM
Charleville 2 Fairview B 2

Not a bad result for view considering they were missing their whole backline from the previous game.

lankyboy26
29/08/2011, 7:25 PM
Not a bad result for view considering they were missing their whole backline from the previous game.

I wasn't there pal so i don't know much about the game except that i heard we played poorly and Fairview deserved the draw. We need to start playing better and fast, very tough game away to Caherconlish thursday night

Zizou
30/08/2011, 8:39 AM
I wasn't there pal so i don't know much about the game except that i heard we played poorly and Fairview deserved the draw. We need to start playing better and fast, very tough game away to Caherconlish thursday night

Where you been hiding? No repost from your humbling at Glenbrook?? :D

Roadend
30/08/2011, 10:18 AM

That would be a riposte, young man

Zizou
30/08/2011, 11:04 AM
That would be a riposte, young man

Indeed it would. Forgive my ignorance oh mighty one. It was early and I am mortal.. ;)

Roadend
30/08/2011, 12:11 PM
I shalt forgive thou thine lapse

deadly man
30/08/2011, 11:42 PM
Pos Team P W D L F A Pts
1 Pike Rvs B 4 4 0 0 20 8 12
2 Geraldines 4 4 0 0 10 1 12
3 Ballynanty Rvs 4 3 0 1 14 8 9
4 Charleville 4 2 1 1 6 6 7
5 Caherconlish 4 2 0 2 4 5 6
6 Caherdavin Celtic 4 2 0 2 7 13 6
7 Fairview Rgs B 4 1 1 2 6 7 4
8 Shannon Hibs 4 1 1 2 6 7 4
9 Granville Rgs 4 1 0 3 7 10 3
10 Croom Utd 4 1 0 3 5 14 3
11 Shannon Town 4 0 2 2 2 5 2
12 Mungret Reg 4 0 1 3 5 8 1

Fixtures
Thur 01/09/11 @ 6.30
Caherconlish A V Charleville, J McNamara
Caherdavin V Shannon Hibs,, R Hennessy
Fairview B V Pike Rovers B, D Power
Geraldines V Mungret Regional, R Broe
Granville V Ballynanty, J Carey
Shannon Town V Croom Utd, O Hayes

Sun 04/09/11 @ 10.30
Shannon Hibs V Caherconlish A, 10.30, M Kiely
Pike Rovers B V Charleville, 10.30, A Keogh
Mungret Regional V Caherdavin, 10.30, M Kirby
Ballynanty V Fairview B, 10.30, R Peiper
Geraldines V Croom, 10.30, M Weldon
Shannon Town V Granville, 10.30, S Rooney

Thur 08/09/11 @ 6.30
Caherconlish V Pike Rovers B,J Carey
Shannon Hibs V Mungret Regional, K Gorman
Charleville V Ballynanty, S Rooney
Caherdavin V Croom, G Clancy
Shannon Town V Fairview B, O Hayes
Geraldines V Granville, R Broe

predictions for thursdays games lads
lish X Charleville
Caherdavin 1 Hibs
View b X Pike B
Dines 1 Mungret
Granville 1 balla
Shannon 1 Croom

Lev Yashin
31/08/2011, 4:05 PM
Shannon better team 1st half missed two good chances but dines far better 2nd half missing chances of their own one off the post and a one on one with the keeper..shannon are the best side i have seen the dines play so far knock it about well..but with darren young and ian dore missing and stuart byrnes to come in aswell they look strong..

Did you finish work late to go watch that match too?

Like you did when you went to watch Shannon Town Geraldines?

hotspur
31/08/2011, 7:01 PM
Did you finish work late to go watch that match too?

Like you did when you went to watch Shannon Town Geraldines?

He was playing in both matches.

Lev Yashin
31/08/2011, 7:27 PM

Really?!?!?
I never would have guessed...

Why people feel the need to come on and spoof about who they are beggars belief.

Zizou
31/08/2011, 8:14 PM
Predictions:

The Lish 3-2 Charleville
Caherdavin 2-2 Shannon Hibs of the Park Rangers Associated Football Club from Newtown..
Fairview B 1-5 Pike B
Dines 2-0 Mungret
Shannon 3-1 Croom

lankyboy26
31/08/2011, 10:33 PM

I wasn't there Zizou! But from what I've been told we defended badly and ye deserved the win! I hate playing in Glenbrook, always seem to lose up there! I'm just concentrating on getting my injury sorted, dragging on now

lankyboy26
31/08/2011, 10:36 PM
Caherdavin 3 Park Hibernians 1
Fairview B 1 Pike B 2
Geraldines 1 Mungret 1
Shannon Town 4 Croom 1
Granville 2 Balla 2

AC Melon
01/09/2011, 12:04 AM
Predictions:

The Lish 3-2 Charleville
Caherdavin 2-2 Shannon Hibs of the Park Rangers Associated Football Club
Fairview B 1-5 Pike B
Dines 2-0 Mungret
Shannon 3-1 Croom

Your forgot to add newtown;)

deadly man
01/09/2011, 12:09 AM
:plane:
:plane: he has a jetplane

Hibs7772
01/09/2011, 12:34 AM
Caherconlish A 3-1 Charleville
Caherdavin 2-2 Shannon Hibs
Fairview B 1-2 Pike Rovers B,
Geraldines 3-0 Mungret Regional
Granville 2-3 Ballynanty
Shannon Town 1-3 Croom Utd

old git
01/09/2011, 8:51 AM

jesus lads the same old tired jokes nearly 4 years later getting a bit boring now :D

lankyboy26
01/09/2011, 9:36 AM
jesus lads the same old tired jokes nearly 4 years later getting a bit boring now :D

Still funny though!!!

Planners
01/09/2011, 9:58 AM

4 years and lots to show for it

Second
01/09/2011, 10:08 AM

Agreed, the whole we are going to be biggest team in shannon hasn't worked out yet.. Still 3rd ...

Zizou
01/09/2011, 11:07 AM
I wasn't there Zizou! But from what I've been told we defended badly and ye deserved the win! I hate playing in Glenbrook, always seem to lose up there! I'm just concentrating on getting my injury sorted, dragging on now

Ah my friend, there you are. Pity you missed it but mind that injury and get back soon, I know exactly how it feels.

Zizou
01/09/2011, 11:08 AM

By gum your right, sorted.. Check again!! :D

Hibs7772
01/09/2011, 1:13 PM
Agreed, the whole we are going to be biggest team in shannon hasn't worked out yet.. Still 3rd ...

Hibs the 3rd best team in Shannon?? are you being serious? you'd want to get your eyes checked!!

Second
01/09/2011, 1:33 PM
Obviously your agreeing they are not the best.. So who do you think they are better than

francescoli
01/09/2011, 1:57 PM
At the moment it looks like Olympic are the strongest, then Hibs and then Shannon Town, who look pretty poor this year !

old git
01/09/2011, 2:25 PM

hate to be nasty .. but alot more to show than rineanna rovers now !!

old git
01/09/2011, 2:29 PM

second , take a look back over history of all shannon teams newtown / park / shannon town / olympic they all have a poor record on success over the last 10-20 years so it's just not a hibs problem.. would disagree with you on still the 3rd best team also

White Lines
01/09/2011, 2:40 PM
Why don't Shannon teams just go into the Clare League, is it the fear that they wouldn't come up the leagues.

Second
01/09/2011, 3:01 PM
Ok old git in your opinion who are they better than and why..

old git
01/09/2011, 3:35 PM
Ok old git in your opinion who are they better than and why..

being honest i dont think there is much between all 3 teams in shannon and if being really honest you would even struggle tn get one very good team out of all 3 clubs.. I could only seperate clubs by grounds / changing rooms etc so on that hibs just ahead of shannon town

Second
01/09/2011, 3:56 PM
Good answer but I was talking about on the pitch.. :-) ... I do agree about facilities though . Hibs have great setup

old git
01/09/2011, 4:12 PM
Good answer but I was talking about on the pitch.. :-) ... I do agree about facilities though . Hibs have great setup

on the pitch last week shannon town v hibs finished 0-0 but if going on recent wesley webb shannön town r the best in shannon

Lev Yashin
01/09/2011, 4:21 PM
on the pitch last week shannon town v hibs finished 0-0 but if going on recent wesley webb shannön town r the best in shannon

It's a pointless argument really.
If you want to go on results then Hibs B team are better than their A team.
Which they aren't

Derby matches come down to who wants it more generally.

As for who is the best team/club in Shannon. We'll I'm sure we all have arguments to support our own club but junior soccer in Shannon is on its knees right now for whatever reason. And there is nothing to be proud off apart form the schoolboy set ups of both clubs.

Lev Yashin
01/09/2011, 7:37 PM
Shannon Town 4 Croom 1

champs09
01/09/2011, 7:50 PM
pike 3 fairview 0 another great win for pike

lish were wining 4-2 last i heard dont no the final result any other results

allab
01/09/2011, 8:01 PM
granville 3 balla 3.. granville got the equaliser with time almost up, about 15 yellow cards shown in a game that wasnt very dirty

Goals4fun
01/09/2011, 8:03 PM
It's a pointless argument really.
If you want to go on results then Hibs B team are better than their A team.
Which they aren't

Derby matches come down to who wants it more generally.

As for who is the best team/club in Shannon. We'll I'm sure we all have arguments to support our own club but junior soccer in Shannon is on its knees right now for whatever reason. And there is nothing to be proud off apart form the schoolboy set ups of both clubs.

well said Shannonman....its a sad state of affairs when you look at the lack of quality in the teams in shannon. Long gone are the days when each club had a good A team with decent supporting teams (B's & C's), making wesley webbs a great feature as an end of season tournament. Now it is not worth watching....

Planners likes to get off on slagging those teams, maybe he was jealous he did not get asked to play for them, but through the years not many liked to play the long ball to a big lump of wood up top...with no end result..:D

anyway the argument of hibs/town/olympic needs to be taken off line as it's taking over a decent Limerick 1A thread, which i am sure the lads who follow this league don't fancy reading this dribble.....I am sure with planners obsession he will open a new thread for his favorite topic..

over and out for now...:skywalker:

stevieg
01/09/2011, 8:39 PM
caherconlish 4
charleville 2
back to winning ways tonight very lively game both teams could have had a bagful of goals ,i thought the ref did well brendan hourigan put away 3 tonight

old git
01/09/2011, 8:51 PM
Shannon Town 4 Croom 1

good result for ye tonight who scored ..

Lev Yashin
01/09/2011, 9:15 PM
good result for ye tonight who scored ..

I wasn't there so i could be wrong but i think it was Adi Carew Evin Barry Brian Keane and Chris Lake

Fairkop
01/09/2011, 9:21 PM
caherconlish 4
charleville 2
back to winning ways tonight very lively game both teams could have had a bagful of goals ,i thought the ref did well brendan hourigan put away 3 tonightgood win for the lish after the defeat last sunday,hourigan always gets his share of goals.