View Full Version : FAI Investigate Alleged Racist Abuse Of Zayed

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

SwanVsDalton
14/06/2011, 2:57 PM
RTE report. (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0614/zayede_derry_racism_shamrock.html)

Know there was a thread on this earlier but think it got binned - Mods feel free to merge/move.

I'm not intending this as a stir, just passing on the report. Know something surfaced earlier about abuse in Richmond Park, but Zayed's now made a formal complaint about an incident in last night's game with Rovers too. With the complaint and mention in the referee's report it appears to be getting the FAI's full attention and will be investigated in tandem with an incident during the St Pats game.

Rasputin
14/06/2011, 3:16 PM
Racist abuse in Tallaght by Shams? Surely not?
Cant wait to see the latest FAI investigation to exonerate the model club.

PartySaint
14/06/2011, 3:24 PM
Has been mentioned (as main sports headline) on 98fm as well, Rovers player being investigated, apparently he just racially abused Zayed out of the blue during the game, Also Pat's fans being investigated, Could be very bad for the club

Jicked
14/06/2011, 3:38 PM

It's to do with comments made by a player, allegedly, not fans. We all know where the last player guilty of such an offence plays his football.

Very strange, didn't seem to be any needle or bad blood in the game yesterday at all bar Stephen Kenny wanting Pat Sullivan sent off for swinging a trailing leg at a Derry player.

14/06/2011, 4:07 PM
Aye PS,

The abuse for the Pat's fans was reported up here yesterday(in the thread that was binned. Paper isn't online, hence the reason we can't link to it).

iceman
14/06/2011, 4:09 PM
FAI investigating their Modal Club?
Cant wait to see the report.

14/06/2011, 4:11 PM
From what I've been told by people in the know, its about comments made by a single Pats fan, rather than by a group of Pats fans (ie not rascist chants).

Obviously not condoning the actions of any one involved, just putting a bit of context on it.

Cuyahoga
14/06/2011, 4:30 PM
FAI investigating their Modal Club?

Cant wait to see the report.
Somebody should investigate your spelling .

14/06/2011, 4:34 PM
Roughly how many players of (chooses words carefully) different ethnicity do we have playing in the league??

Sean South
14/06/2011, 5:15 PM
From what I've been told by people in the know, its about comments made by a single Pats fan, rather than by a group of Pats fans (ie not rascist chants).

Obviously not condoning the actions of any one involved, just putting a bit of context on it.
Can you back this up with some evidence please that only "a single Pats fan" abused him? I assume you heard "him" if you know it was only a single Pats fan and reported it to Police/Stewards or else gave him a slap yourself? Otherwise stop posting up hear say in an attempt to undermine the story

This article here
http://m.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0614/1224298905002.html?via=sport

Says it was a "section" of St Pats fans which would mean more then a single Pats fan

Also this isn't the first time Shamrock have been investigated for racist abuse. They were investigate and cleared after this incident

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fretxesAwI

poster
14/06/2011, 5:45 PM
It was Ryan G***s.

14/06/2011, 5:54 PM
How sad is it in this day and age this crap still goes on, sometimes I dispair at the level of inteligence of these dickwits.

14/06/2011, 6:00 PM
10-25 point deduction is on the cards people are saying, surely not, not making light of the incident or anything though. Anyone know the player involved or can it be mentioned. What does the rule book say on the whole thing?

Red Army
14/06/2011, 6:02 PM
I posted this up earlier and got a ASBO for it from the Hamster. I loved the way in the original thread about the racist element in the St Patrick's support how quick Pats fans rubbished the story. Why didn't the St Pats fans around the racists report it and get them arrested? Maybe they don't mind racism in their support?

DannyInvincible
14/06/2011, 6:11 PM
Can you back this up with some evidence please that only "a single Pats fan" abused him? I assume you heard "him" if you know it was only a single Pats fan and reported it to Police/Stewards or else gave him a slap yourself? Otherwise stop posting up hear say in an attempt to undermine the story

This article here

Says it was a "section" of St Pats fans which would mean more then a single Pats fan

In fairness, the burden of proof should rest with those making the accusations. If it's proven it was a "section", fair enough.

Also this isn't the first time Shamrock have been investigated for racist abuse. They were investigate and cleared after this incident

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fretxesAwI

Christ. How did they explain that one?

placid casual
14/06/2011, 6:12 PM
At present, no official complaint has been lodged with Rovers, and no player has been singled out with the allegation.
lets just wait and see.

No place in society theses days for the alf garnett stuff tho. not very bright at all at all.

Rapsutin -you are doin yourself a disservice with your evident lack of intelligence and forethought.

HulaHoop
14/06/2011, 6:14 PM
Not the first time Zayed has accused Pats fans of racial abuse. This from April 2010 http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/3212/

Was any action taken against Pats that time? We obviouusly have the McGuinness incident as precedent of when a player is accused of racism.

Goes without saying racism has no place in football and shouldn't be tolerated.

DannyInvincible
14/06/2011, 6:15 PM
Why is Zayed being racially abused all of a sudden? He's been playing in the league for years, or has it been a regular thing he's had to endure? Maybe it only dawned on half-wit racists that he wasn't actually of full Irish descent when he declared for Libya? Although that was over half a year ago. These types are pretty slow, mind.

Edit: Sorry, just seeing HulaHoop's post.

Red Army
14/06/2011, 6:17 PM
Because the ref didn't hear it and it was only a couple of young lads win should know better. Anyone have a photo of the Bohs and shams fans giving Nazi salutes for the "craic"?

EDIT. Reply to DI's question on how they got away with it

14/06/2011, 6:18 PM
Immediately before every LOI game, an anti-racism message is read out over the PA. Do people simply not listen to these things or what?

14/06/2011, 6:18 PM

I wasn't at the game. The complaint is about one fan. There may have been more but the complaint lodges is about one fan

However many it was is too many, and I've no problem condemning any Pats fans involved. ANYBODY shouting racist abuse at anybody is a scumbag

horton
14/06/2011, 6:19 PM
This article here

From thon article:

Speaking earlier today, a spokesperson for Rovers said no allegation had yet been put to the club by Derry or the FAI.
“We signed up for the ten-point plan on racism, we have more players from different backgrounds than any other club in the league, like Alan Mannus (Canadian-born goalkeeper), Chris Turner (Derry), Ryan Thompson (Jamaica)," said the spokesperson.
Right, so to show your multi-ethnic you highlight two players who are not from Europe I get, but why mention the fact you've someone from Derry? Unless the abuse to Zayed was "nordie" based, why include him? and despite what Finn Harps fans may say, Derry people don't have that much of a different background from those in Dublin!:confused:

poster
14/06/2011, 6:22 PM
Thought Turner was from Ballymoney in Antrim?

Aaron
14/06/2011, 6:22 PM
From thon article:

Right, so to show your multi-ethnic you highlight two players who are not from Europe I get, but why mention the fact you've someone from Derry? Unless the abuse to Zayed was "nordie" based, why include him? and despite what Finn Harps fans may say, Derry people don't have that much of a different background from those in Dublin!:confused:

Turner isnt even from Derry

horton
14/06/2011, 6:25 PM
My bad. Never heard of the guy so was just going by the quote/article. Still stands though, having someone from North of the border is hardly that big of a deal!

The Lilywhites
14/06/2011, 6:27 PM
10-25 point deduction is on the cards people are saying

If anyone thinks Rovers are going to be deducted points for this, they're kidding themselves.

The Model Club, and don't anyone forget it.

Red Army
14/06/2011, 6:33 PM
I assume it will be Pats who will get the points deduced if found guilty and if Shamrock are found guilty maybe 5 or 6 game ban for the player involved like the scum bag McGuinness got?

Jicked
14/06/2011, 6:40 PM
10-25 point deduction is on the cards people are saying, surely not, not making light of the incident or anything though. Anyone know the player involved or can it be mentioned. What does the rule book say on the whole thing?

Where did you hear anything like that? There's no chance of a points deduction anywhere near that, that'd be unprecedented across Europe. The yardstick will be Bohs/Jason McGuinness last (?) season. Club suspended him pending an investigation, found guilty and was banned for 7 or 8 games, plus possibly a financial penalty too for the player.

Dave_SRFC
14/06/2011, 7:01 PM

Sap...

Cuyahoga
14/06/2011, 7:39 PM
Sap...
My thoughts exactly !

14/06/2011, 7:48 PM
No club will be docked points. If it's fans, it'll be a fine.

If it's a player it'll be a ban and a fine

Just like clubs can't be docked points for players for viciously assaulting another on the pitch, they can't be docked points for verbally abusing another (however wrong it is)

Jicked
14/06/2011, 7:57 PM
From thon article:

I think they're trying to draw attention to the fact Turner might not be of the same, erm, ahem, political background, as erm, some in the League of Ireland. He and Mannus in particular have gotten dogs abuse about it in the past unfortunately.

hoopy
14/06/2011, 8:07 PM
'Racial abuse' to me has always meant someone receiving unwanted comments over their skin colour or religion. It's scandalous for anyone to have to put up with that. But is calling someone 'you dublin junkie', or 'you effin redneck' or 'you (enter City here) c***' regarded as 'racial abuse'? I haven't a clue what went on last night but seeing as Zayed isn't black I'm assuming if someone did say something to him it had to be along the lines of 'you Libyan so and so',even though he was born in Dublin. It's the only thing I can think of what was allegedly said. If this is what was said is it 'racial abuse'? Gary Twigg's called a 'Scottish c***' by opposition fans(and by an opposition manager a few weeks back), is this 'racial abuse'?

CSFShels
14/06/2011, 8:28 PM
'Racial abuse' to me has always meant someone receiving unwanted comments over their skin colour or religion. It's scandalous for anyone to have to put up with that. But is calling someone 'you dublin junkie', or 'you effin redneck' or 'you (enter City here) c***' regarded as 'racial abuse'? I haven't a clue what went on last night but seeing as Zayed isn't black I'm assuming if someone did say something to him it had to be along the lines of 'you Libyan so and so',even though he was born in Dublin. It's the only thing I can think of what was allegedly said. If this is what was said is it 'racial abuse'? Gary Twigg's called a 'Scottish c***' by opposition fans(and by an opposition manager a few weeks back), is this 'racial abuse'?
I'm gonna guess that the ignorant terminology used was calling him a slang term for a Pakistani

hoopy
14/06/2011, 8:36 PM
I'm gonna guess that the ignorant terminology used was calling him a slang term for a Pakistani

I get ya. Don't know why someone would call him that or if he's been called that before. Some people are just stupid.

CSFShels
14/06/2011, 8:45 PM
I get ya. Don't know why someone would call him that or if he's been called that before. Some people are just stupid.
Yeah but the ignorance in the terminology pretty much matches the ignorance of actually doing something like that. It sounds like the only thing that could have been realistically said other than the n word, which is probably too ridiculous to be true.

PartySaint
14/06/2011, 8:55 PM
Jaysus judging by some of the posts here we have already been proven guilty of this, Can we wait and see what the investigation says before some people start making ridiculous comments about some clubs and their players/fans

14/06/2011, 8:56 PM
I suppose this will be all over the national media tomorrow just like when the walk in the carlise collapsed the 2nd time their was a 2 page spread in the Irish Independant basically saying LOI grounds wernt safe, don't you just love how the Irish media work.

Dave_SRFC
14/06/2011, 9:11 PM
If anyone thinks Rovers are going to be deducted points for this, they're kidding themselves.

The Model Club, and don't anyone forget it.

Sap...

The Lilywhites
14/06/2011, 9:32 PM

Good guess.

The Lilywhites
14/06/2011, 9:40 PM
The Shamrock Rovers player at the centre of an FAI investigation into alleged racial abuse aimed at Derry City’s Eamon Zayed during Monday night’s Airtricity League Premier Division match at Tallaght Stadium against Shamrock Rovers has denied the claim, the club have confirmed.

The club have confirmed they have spoken to the player, who has denied the claims, and have vowed to clear the name of the player and the club.

"Shamrock Rovers became aware today of a complaint made by a Derry City player against one of our players after last night’s game", the club statement read. "The club has spoken to the player in question and he completely refutes the accusation that has been made against him."

"The club will of course co-operate with the FAI investigation in a bid to clear the name of the player involved and the club."

"We also regret that our name was publicly associated with such claims on the basis of an accusation and without any investigation taking place."

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/5897/

born2bwild
14/06/2011, 9:43 PM
Rovers' player denies racist insult. This could get ugly. Who does this publicity actually help?

Dave_SRFC
14/06/2011, 9:48 PM
Rovers' player denies racist insult. This could get ugly. Who does this publicity actually help?

Louise Zayed?

14/06/2011, 9:48 PM
Who does this publicity actually help?

You think that matters to Zayed?

It'll boil down to who you believe of 2 people.

If it isn't true then Zayed should be punished IMO.

Jicked
14/06/2011, 9:52 PM
If it wasn't true he should have the bloody book thrown at him by the FAI, and I'd hope private legal action would be taken against both Éamon and Louise Zayed. Whether that's the case or there is a case to answer I guess we'll find out in due course.

Red Army
14/06/2011, 9:52 PM
Did Cork ever get fined when their fans openly displayed banners with fascist symbols on them over the past few years? I suppose this could hardly be classified as racism? I guess every club has a few idiots it would be better to for the FAI to invest in stewards training and security then to fine cash strapped clubs there is only so much you can do with limited resources.

The Lilywhites
14/06/2011, 9:56 PM
If it wasn't true he should have the bloody book thrown at him by the FAI, and I'd hope private legal action would be taken against both Éamon and Louise Zayed. Whether that's the case or there is a case to answer I guess we'll find out in due course.

If it's true who the Rovers player that the claim has been made against is, I know who I'd believe. And I don't know Zayed.

hoops1
14/06/2011, 10:00 PM
If it's true who the Rovers player that the claim has been made against is, I know who I'd believe. And I don't know Zayed.

Thanks for clearing that up.

Jicked
14/06/2011, 10:01 PM
If you knew Zayed you might know him as being an attention seeking git off the field so probably best not to rush in to judgements based on a player's character.

PartySaint
14/06/2011, 10:04 PM
If this turns out not to be true, I hope Zayed gets a severe punishment, They are big allegations to make and could tarnish someone reputation