View Full Version : FAI Investigate Alleged Racist Abuse Of Zayed

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10

placid casual
17/06/2011, 1:35 PM
Oh he has a reputation alright...
Do you mean Zayed,or his alleged accuser?

sundance kid
17/06/2011, 1:44 PM
Unlike Jicked linking Bohs keeper to convicted Austrian paedophile in this very thread ? Did your high moral standards miss that ?

SDCC stadium - the home of Irish Hypocracy

Oh dear, the almighty homophobe is digging even deeper

hoops1
17/06/2011, 1:50 PM
[QUOTE=SkStu;1498646]The insinuation being made here is that the gypoweb was homophobic as a result of a couple of ill advised posts. I just want to point out that the posts were deleted and the poster reprimanded by posters and moderators for his comments.
QUOTE]

Sorry to go back to this, Where did i mention Gypoweb. Marinobohs himself was on gypoweb making homophobic remarks. Yet he is on here lecturing about Racism.

bluemovie
17/06/2011, 2:01 PM
It'd be great to take the party politics out of this thread. An accusation of racism shouldn't be a chance for one-upmanship between rival clubs. No fan could guarantee 100% that not one of their club's players or fans would be capable of saying something racist. If there's racism in the league, then it's bad for the league as a whole. While I'd normally criticise the media's negative coverage of the League of Ireland, if this is true then the league deserves some bad PR. The Murphy Report was bad for Ireland's image - that doesn't mean it should have been kept secret. It means we should address it. Same applies here.

Maybe both allegations are unfounded - I don't know - but they should be discussed with a bit of rational perspective rather than trying to nail one club or another. If what's been reported is true, calling Zayed "Gadaffi" certainly is racist. It's a slur based on his ethnic background. In my opinion, there are different levels of racism. I remember being referred to as a 'Mick' once in America. It was annoying, I eventually lost my temper and the guy never said it again. It was what I would call the lower end of racial taunt. Calling Zayed "Gadaffi" is not THE worst thing that could be said, but it is racist. His personal offence would also have been increased due to his present family circumstances. But whether it's the lower or higher end of racism is irrelevant as we supposedly have a zero tolerance approach to racism in our league. If either incident is proven to have happened, then the player and fan in question should be punished severely and it might stop the next idiot from mouthing off (possibly in the ignorant belief that what they said wasn't racist).

Some people are just stupid.

That's arguably the most truthful and appropriate statement in the thread. It's difficult to legislate for the depths of some people's stupidity.

One other point I'd like to make is about the Zayeds in the media. One of the things I like about this league is the accessibility of players and the sense of community. I think it's positive that the likes of Eamon Zayed, Conan Byrne or Stephen Henderson would engage with fans by writing an extratime column. I don't think that makes them "media whores". The next bit might make me sound overly-PC to some people and I'm not saying I'm innocent here (I've cracked my share of jokes), but it's a bit pathetic that as soon as a woman (Louise Zayed in this case) has some involvement in the league, it's ok to taunt her brother about 'how she takes it'. It really sounds like us Neanderthal LoI fans want to run off any woman who might step onto our territory. Not doing us any favours really.

bluemovie
17/06/2011, 2:06 PM
Roughly how many players of (chooses words carefully) different ethnicity do we have playing in the league??

All of them.

marinobohs
17/06/2011, 2:11 PM
[QUOTE=SkStu;1498646]The insinuation being made here is that the gypoweb was homophobic as a result of a couple of ill advised posts. I just want to point out that the posts were deleted and the poster reprimanded by posters and moderators for his comments.
QUOTE]

Sorry to go back to this, Where did i mention Gypoweb. Marinobohs himself was on gypoweb making homophobic remarks. Yet he is on here lecturing about Racism.

Lecturing ? I actually said I didnt know what hapened in Tallaght :confused: Humoured you enough as it is off topic (and a sad attempt at Diversion) so if you want to continue do so via PM or on bohs.com (I dont use alwaysultras site so cant continue there but you are obviously a fan of Bohs.com ;)).

17/06/2011, 2:16 PM
Nice, well intentioned, syrup filled drivel there bluemovie

So now you're saying that ALL women would be offended by a song sung by "Neanderthal" fans about one single lady? Thats pretty patronising IMO, and far more offensive to most women than a song about Louise Zayed

hoops1
17/06/2011, 2:20 PM
I remember the same song was sung about Posh Spice in OT by thousands of fans.
When asked about it later, she replied " I know did you hear it? I wonder how they all know"

horton
17/06/2011, 2:23 PM
So that makes it grand then? How many women do you know that would join in shouting such comments? That's a pretty weak defence if I'm honest.

sullanefc
17/06/2011, 2:27 PM

Very sensible post bluemovie, and I agree with every word that you have said. Some of the posts on this thread of been ridiculously childish. A lot of them coming from people who should know better and some from a moderator.

I found the few pages where posters were bickering over the definition of racism particularly sad. If you can't see that a man of Libyan descent being called "Gaddafi" as being racist then, in my opinion, you are trying to justify it.

I would be shocked if Zayed is making this up. Why would he? People who are calling him an "attention seeker" who is "playing the race card" are being particularly ignorant and are clearly trying to assassinate his character for the sole purpose of defending a player at their club. Grow up will ye.

hoops1
17/06/2011, 2:38 PM
So that makes it grand then? How many women do you know that would join in shouting such comments? That's a pretty weak defence if I'm honest.

Jesus can a man not tell a story without offending someone. I didnt sing the song, ask posh spice the question or give the answer. I didnt sing it in Richmond either and im sorry if Louise Zayed's feelings were hurt. I will even pretend im sorry if Eamon Zayeds feelings were hurt. All I told was a little story

17/06/2011, 2:38 PM
If you can't see that a man of Libyan descent being called "Gaddafi" as being racist then, in my opinion, you are trying to justify it.

It's not racist.

In the slightest.

If I call you a "Roy Keane" (and lets face it he's at least 29 times worse than the good colonel) is it racist??

Is all this nonsense is seriusly over a Rovers player calling him "Gaddafi"?! :D

Rosa Parks levels of heroism on display here.

"It's hard being an easily offended Lybianish man in this white mans world!"

17/06/2011, 2:41 PM

I don't know many men who'd join in, so I fail to see the relevence? If the song said Eamon Zayed takes it up the arse, are all men supposed to take offence?

17/06/2011, 2:42 PM
Is all this nonsense is seriusly over a Rovers player calling him "Gaddafi"?!

No, but thats what the sun reported

sullanefc
17/06/2011, 2:48 PM
It's not racist.
Rosa Parks levels of heroism on display here.

You're having a pop at Rosa Parks now??? Wow.

17/06/2011, 2:52 PM
You're having a pop at Rosa Parks now??? Wow.

http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTu3QdQ71IEwmC2P6AxUhP6ibj6Atdyd PIR8KXgXUoRSZ2r8wx9tg

17/06/2011, 2:56 PM
This thread has gone out the other side of Fail and right back around into Epic.

sullanefc
17/06/2011, 3:04 PM
http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTu3QdQ71IEwmC2P6AxUhP6ibj6Atdyd PIR8KXgXUoRSZ2r8wx9tg
Yes????

bluemovie
17/06/2011, 3:04 PM
Nice, well intentioned, syrup filled drivel there bluemovie

So now you're saying that ALL women would be offended by a song sung by "Neanderthal" fans about one single lady? Thats pretty patronising IMO, and far more offensive to most women than a song about Louise Zayed

No. I'm more saying that if I was Zayed, I'd have done a full-on Cantona into the crowd. I'm also saying that it's rare for a woman to develop any kind of public profile in the League of Ireland and that it was noticeable that when one became somewhat well-known in recent months (largely thanks to some junkie), she seems to immediately be fair game to have "the posh spice" sung about her in order to wind up her brother. It definitely wouldn't encourage some other player's sister to get involved in the league. So while you mightn't care about that, and the song wouldn't offend me personally, you know well it would fall foul of the FAI rules that are supposedly in place at every ground. Again, it's not in the slightest bit a cut at any particular club for doing it (I'm sure it would catch on elsewhere), but it just shows us in a really bad light. Girl steps on LoI territory, girl is accused of *words I'm not allowed say on this site*

17/06/2011, 3:07 PM
Yes????
His comment was sarcasm. He was sarcastically unfavourably comparing what he sees as Zayed's over-sensitivity to a (alleged) comment with the genuine heroism displayed by Rosa Parks. I cannot believe I have to explain this to you.

17/06/2011, 3:08 PM
The Zayeds: a great bunch of lads.

17/06/2011, 3:15 PM
but it just shows us in a really bad light.
Without being facetious, do you honestly believe crowd chants/songs have any real impact? have you heard some of the stuff at English grounds that are pcked solid (by men and women)? I'm not defending it, I'm not saying its clever. I'm saying it doesn't have anywhere near the effect you think it does

Girl steps on LoI territory, girl is accused of *words I'm not allowed say on this site*
She's wasn't the subject of abuse for coming into LOI circles. The abuse was solely to annoy her brother. You know, the way fans of EVERY club in world football abuse opposition players?

Not all fans, but some fans of all clubs. And boo-bleeding-hoo to those who get annoyed by this

17/06/2011, 3:18 PM
His comment was sarcasm. He was sarcastically unfavourably comparing what he sees as Zayed's over-sensitivity to a (alleged) comment with the genuine heroism displayed by Rosa Parks. I cannot believe I have to explain this to you.

I can't believe you explained it to him. And without swearing too. Very dignified. As dignified as Nelson mandela while in a South African prison IMO

17/06/2011, 3:19 PM
thick Paddies the lot of ye, Zayed and all.

sullanefc
17/06/2011, 3:23 PM

And this is the whole problem with this thread. A player is subjected to a racist comment but he is over sensitive because it was only a small bit racist. And anyone who slams racism, no matter how small, is a Rosa Parks wannabe??? Pathetic.

bluewhitearmy
17/06/2011, 3:23 PM
She's wasn't the subject of abuse for coming into LOI circles. The abuse was solely to annoy her brother. You know, the way fans of EVERY club in world football abuse opposition players?

If recent games between us and Shels are anything to go by then Pat Scullys misssus will be brought into a lot of songs like Zayeds sister tonight.

Cant see it as a big deal really they are trying to wind him up.

17/06/2011, 3:25 PM
Dessie Baker - bastion of knowledge and wisdom. Amusing/Scary bits in bold.

Dessie Baker: Abuse endemic in football culture
yesterday at 5:50 pm

The racism scandal surrounding Eamon Zayed is regrettable, but abuse is part and parcel of football and sometimes you just have to take it on the chin, writes Dessie Baker

Obviously, all the talk in recent days has surrounded what happened to Eamon Zayed and I can’t really say too much about it because I don’t know all the facts.

I’ve obviously read about it myself and I find it hard to believe because I know when I was at Rovers, incidents like that never happened. To be honest, throughout my entire playing career, I’ve rarely if ever heard anything like the things that are supposed to have been said to Eamon Zayed.

I don’t know the full story, but from my point of view, knowing what sort of a club Rovers are and the players that are there at the moment, I wouldn’t think that anything was said and if it was, it could well have been taken completely out of context.

I don’t know Eamon personally; I played against him a few times throughout my career. He’s a good player and it’s unfortunate that he’s been caught up in this because he’s been having a really good season so far.

Not only is it unfortunate for Eamon, but it’s unfortunate for whoever is alleged to have abused him because you don’t want to get caught up in something like that. I know if someone accused me of saying something like that and I hadn’t, I wouldn’t be too pleased.

Abuse

I know it’s a big issue, but I think Eamon is better off leaving it all behind him and concentrating on doing what he does best, which is scoring goals. Over the course of my career, I got plenty of abuse from opposition players and supporters and although none of it was racist, it was still pretty bad.

It was probably at its worst when I was playing for Shelbourne a few years back, but it happened at the other clubs I played for as well. To be honest, there’s loads of stuff that goes on on the pitch that nobody knows about and if you heard some of the stories, you’d be shocked, but you just have to block it out and get on with it.

It would be nice if you could stamp out abuse, especially racist abuse, in football but at the same time, it would be nice to stamp out two-footed tackles, elbows and diving.
Players would be calling you names, pinching your arm or your leg or standing on your toes to try and get you riled up and it’s not just players either. Earlier on this year, Michael O’Neill got into trouble for some comments he made, but as he said at the time, it was in the heat of the moment.

Things happen on the pitch during a game, but once the final whistle goes, certainly in my case anyway, you’d shake your man’s hand, have a little chat and forget about it.

Obviously, racism is stronger than some of the run of the mill abuse you’d get on the pitch, but as I said, I rarely encountered it during my career even though I played with a few black players.

Saying that, I know Mark Rutherford used to get a bad time of it up in Derry sometimes. It was funny with Mark, in the days before games when we’d be playing certain teams or in certain places where he used to get a hard time, he’d often turn up to training with an injury just beforehand.

Whenever it did happen, though, you might say to Mark ‘Jaysus Mark, you’re getting an awful time of it’ and he’d just say it was part and parcel of football. I might get slaughtered as much if not more than Mark during some games and personally I used to take it with a pinch of salt which is what a lot of people do.

In fairness to the authorities, they do try and stamp it out but there’s only so much they can do. When I was playing we were often asked to wear anti-racism t-shirts during our warm up and there would be press conferences and stuff like that and to be fair, what happened with Eamon Zayed would have been an isolated incident, certainly in my experience anyway.

That’s not to say that there are not other forms of abuse. I’ve been called all sorts of things and have had my family insulted while I’m on the pitch, but you don’t say anything because at the end of the day the majority of things are said in the heat of the moment and even if you do say something, it’s not as if you mean it; it’s simply to try and rise your opponent and get the better of him.

Take it on the chin

Things like that happen in every sport; if you’re going to be in the public domain, you have to be able to take things on the chin.

Finally, having come back from two weeks holidays, it’s nice to see the way the league is shaping up and to see five teams in the hunt for the title. Also, it’s good to see Bray doing so well at the top half of the table for a change. Pat Devlin has them really well organised, they’re getting the points they deserve and a few lads have been getting their chances in Ireland under-age squads which is good to see.

People have been saying to me that they’re going to more games now because everything is so tight at the top and it makes it that bit more enjoyable. As it stands, there’s only five points separating the top five teams and I’m looking forward to seeing how it goes from here on in.

sullanefc
17/06/2011, 3:26 PM
I can't believe you explained it to him. And without swearing too. Very dignified. As dignified as Nelson mandela while in a South African prison IMO

Top post as always Dodge! Good lad.

SwanVsDalton
17/06/2011, 3:29 PM
Dessie Baker - bastion of knowledge and wisdom. Amusing/Scary bits in bold.

Good to see Dessie Baker, no stranger to being racially abused, speaking out.

17/06/2011, 3:33 PM

He's been subject to countless homophobic/incestuous chants though

hoopy
17/06/2011, 3:37 PM

Really we should get Paul Osam to tell us about all the enjoyable trips to Derry he's had.

peadar1987
17/06/2011, 3:41 PM

The difference is, he's not gay, or, as far as I know, incestuous.

SwanVsDalton
17/06/2011, 3:41 PM

He can tell people to take it on the chin about those subjects then. Nearly every footballer can give their two cents on abuse, but clearly not all of them are qualified to talk about racism. Particularly if they're going to compare it to two-footed tackles and diving...

SwanVsDalton
17/06/2011, 3:44 PM
Really we should get Paul Osam to tell us about all the enjoyable trips to Derry he's had.

Stop the presses - minority of football fans in unsavoury incident sometime in the past shock! Would love to hear what he'd have to say, certainly much more than Baker. BTW I always gave Osam nothing but a hero's welcome, loved him I did.

SwanVsDalton
17/06/2011, 3:45 PM

You saying something about Baker's sister pal?!

17/06/2011, 3:46 PM
Nearly every footballer can give their two cents on abuse, but clearly not all of them are qualified to talk about racism

Listen, Baker's a ****. Always has been, always will. My line was simply an opportunistic barb for a player I've always hated. No one could ever take him for an expert in race relations

I can only go on what the terraces tell me

17/06/2011, 3:46 PM

so youre saying Zayed is Mommar Gaddaffi? ;) just messin.

Heres one that was posted from the ultrasweb. Im sure Eamon will just have to take it on the chin as Dessie Baker might recommend. :)

Yesterday 07:04 #1
killyhoop

Thanks
vCash

ooooooooooooohhhhhhh

Zayed is from Ireland
he wears a libyan hat
but when his country went to war
he didnt fancy that
he wouldnt fight gaddafi
for fear he'd end up dead
he said "ill go to tallaght
and start a war instead!

Repeat to infinity!!!!

Last edited by killyhoop; Yesterday at 07:41.

Quick reply to this message Reply Reply With Quote Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Thanks
The Following 76 Users Say Thank You to killyhoop For This Useful Post:

andy_srfc, Arklow-Hoop, ashbourne, barrytownhoop, Bawnville Hoop, bbhoop, big mac, broadford rover, BUBS, Build me up, CanadianHoop, captaincharisma, Churchtown Hoop, clonsilla hoop, d16hoop, D24_Hoop, DermoMIO, dfx-, Domhnach Bat, DUNNIE, FarmHoop, finehoop, GDHoop, hairy hoop, Heffa, hoop 4 life, Hoop Of The Highest Order, Hoopaholic, hooperdan, Hoopermans No.1 Fan, Hooplife, hoopy daze, i like cake, IHB, irelands no.1, Jam Mat, JMK, karlsruhe hoop, KEVO_THE_HOOP, Leno, Lord Jules, Luke-o Dimech-eo, Matthew Hopkins, mick, Milltown Roader, milltownno1, mountmerrionhoop, Mr Maroon, Newbie, NY Hoop, P'townhoop, patohoop, paulyhoop, Professor K, RAthvilly hoops, RoF, ROVERS LAD, roverstillidie, Rua, Sam Savic, Scoopy Hoop, shamrocksol, Springer Hoop, srfc_carr, SRFC1901, srfc1958, SRFC4Tallaght, srfcsince88, stato, StephenMcG, steveholt, superkeeper, Terry Feelin', The Biggest Club, vespa_hoop, whitechurchHoop

17/06/2011, 3:52 PM
So good, you posted it twice eh stu?

17/06/2011, 3:59 PM
it was an issue of timing Dodge...

Listen, Rovers are ****. Always have been, always will. My line was simply an opportunistic barb for a club I've always hated. No one could ever take them for an expert in race relations

hoopy
17/06/2011, 4:00 PM
Stop the presses - minority of football fans in unsavoury incident sometime in the past shock!

You pass it off like that because it's your club. If Rovers fans were accused of anything like that you'd be frothing from the mouth.

17/06/2011, 4:01 PM
So good, you posted it twice eh stu?

It's so good, it remains good even when a Bohs fan reposts it

SwanVsDalton
17/06/2011, 4:08 PM
You pass it off like that because it's your club. If Rovers fans were accused of anything like that you'd be frothing from the mouth.

Gimme a break. I haven't said a single thing about Rovers (or their fans) all thread, but even if I did at least I'd be talking about something actually happening now instead of whatabouting.

hoopy
17/06/2011, 4:28 PM
Gimme a break. I haven't said a single thing about Rovers (or their fans) all thread, but even if I did at least I'd be talking about something actually happening now instead of whatabouting.

Fair point. Agree with you about Ozo, great player and very likeable fella.

juan
17/06/2011, 6:06 PM
So after 15 pages of "debate" and "discussion" we are still none the wiser as to what allegedly happened. What we do know, however, is that LoI fans never miss an opportunity to have a go at eachothers clubs and on a personal note Mr. A is my favourite poster on this site.

Right, so when will Rovers and Pats be showing the "Zayeds: a great bunch of lads" slideshow?

Finlay Harp
17/06/2011, 9:18 PM
I hear the Bohs fans did not cover themselves in glory tonight regarding Zayed!

17/06/2011, 9:36 PM
I hear the Bohs fans did not cover themselves in glory tonight regarding Zayed!

It'll be interesting to see what comes out about it alright.

Jicked
17/06/2011, 9:41 PM
One thing's for sure if these reports are true, tomorrow's comments here and in the media will be about how Rovers and Bohs fans have racially abused Zayed in the last week, when Rovers fans did nothing of the sort. Did Pats sign Alistair Campbell in the off-season?

Finlay Harp
17/06/2011, 9:46 PM
It'll be interesting to see what comes out about it alright.

And the crowd trouble also. This is all the league wants the way the media are going at the minute!

dcfc_1928
17/06/2011, 9:50 PM
Bohs fans wearing tea-towels on their heads and fighting with the stewards. Stay classy, Phibsborough.

Red Army
17/06/2011, 9:53 PM
So after 15 pages of "debate" and "discussion" we are still none the wiser as to what allegedly happened. What we do know, however, is that LoI fans never miss an opportunity to have a go at eachothers clubs and on a personal note Mr. A is my favourite poster on this site.

Right, so when will Rovers and Pats be showing the "Zayeds: a great bunch of lads" slideshow?

Am it's a message board for football fans good for a wind up and banter that's about it.