View Full Version : FAI Investigate Alleged Racist Abuse Of Zayed

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10

hoops1
16/06/2011, 2:03 PM
Ye I seen that too.
Why havent Derry or Zayed come out and said for definite what the comment made was?

marinobohs
16/06/2011, 2:05 PM
Nonsense for starters. I saw the comment before it was removed and you were warned. It was homophobic and you know it.

Just as "Gypoweb" is rascist you mean ? Entitled to your view on other forums (actually admire your taste for once ;)) feel free to express them there. Now, do let us know where you are on alledged rascist comment by shams player (diversionary tactics not working)

16/06/2011, 2:10 PM
Why havent Derry or Zayed come out and said for definite what the comment made was?

I'd assume they were told not to until the investigation was finished.

sundance kid
16/06/2011, 2:12 PM
Just as "Gypoweb" is rascist you mean ? Entitled to your view on other forums (actually admire your taste for once ;)) feel free to express them there. Now, do let us know where you are on alledged rascist comment by shams player (diversionary tactics not working)

while anything is still alleged, i've a sit back and let the authorities get on with it attitude. maybe that's the wrong way to be, but that's the way i am.
homophobia is just plain wrong though, hopefully you've matured a bit since the aftermath of your last trip to tallaght

hoops1
16/06/2011, 2:12 PM

You were on your own forum calling Buzz a faggot. You have some neck I tell you

SwanVsDalton
16/06/2011, 2:15 PM

You're joking right? It's an ongoing investigation whose outcome is yet to be determined. You'd hardly be happy if a yet to be proven allegation against a Rovers player was made public for all to read.

A N Mouse
16/06/2011, 2:16 PM
So we’ve gone from a moral argument to a legal one. And wiki tells us so.

What moral argument? That what was said wasn't racist?

Surely that depends on how you define racism?

And that is, basically, the same definition used by the fai in their literature.

Or you could let us decide what we want to take offence to.

I can no more tell which slurs and stereotypes you should take offence at, than other posters here can tell Mr Zayed.

I was merely pointing out that in modern parlance race no longer refers, just, to the colour of someone's skin.

hoops1
16/06/2011, 2:28 PM
You're joking right? It's an ongoing investigation whose outcome is yet to be determined. You'd hardly be happy if a yet to be proven allegation against a Rovers player was made public for all to read.

The player has already been accused of Racism, if the player denies it was a racist comment or alleges himself that it was not of a racist nature. What both are claiming should be revealed. Its at the centre of the issue. He should be able to say I didnt say that i said this. The rovers player cant defend himself publicly, yet can be called a racist in public.

SwanVsDalton
16/06/2011, 2:34 PM
The player has already been accused of Racism, if the player denies it was a racist comment or alleges himself that it was not of a racist nature. What both are claiming should be revealed. Its at the centre of the issue. He should be able to say I didnt say that i said this. The rovers player cant defend himself publicly, yet can be called a racist in public.

He has defended himself publicly, he's denied it. If you're worried about the player's reputation, it'd be more damaged by full public disclosure of the accusation.

16/06/2011, 2:36 PM

Then why come public about ANY allegation (as Kenny has)?

SwanVsDalton
16/06/2011, 2:45 PM
Then why come public about ANY allegation (as Kenny has)?

Couldn't tell ye. Mistake? Post-match anger? FAI encouraged it? Kenny loves a microphone? All of the above? As said before don't think it matters, since story would've broke fairly quickly one way or the other anyway. What can be kept close, however, is the full details of the investigation and I can't think of a single reason why any Rovers fan would want it made public.

16/06/2011, 2:51 PM
An unspecified player has been called a racist in public. If the FAI decides not to take action his name will not be released. I really don't see how putting his name all over the news is going to help him.

16/06/2011, 2:52 PM
Should we all be racists now?

Only I spend the whole day working and I'm quite tired by the time I get home and just like to have a cup of tea, so I'm not sure I can devote myself fully to the old racism.

hoops1
16/06/2011, 3:01 PM
An unspecified player has been called a racist in public. If the FAI decides not to take action his name will not be released. I really don't see how putting his name all over the news is going to help him. No need to put his name anywhere I agree CD, but the club could put the players side forward defending him and in turn defending the club. Leading to a more balanced covering of the incident.

SwanVsDalton
16/06/2011, 3:05 PM
No need to put his name anywhere I agree CD, but the club could put the players side forward defending him and in turn defending the club. Leading to a more balanced covering of the incident.

Presumably the club are putting their defence case in the investigation, in the same way DCFC are likely putting their case in the investigation (as opposed to in public). The only thing made public is the accusation and denial - I think that's balanced. But if you feel aggrieved, and the player's innocent, just think of all the unbalanced flak Derry and Zayed will get if Rovers and player are exonerated.

White Horse
16/06/2011, 3:12 PM
homophobia is just plain wrong though..

My kid came home on evening a said they got a talk at school on how bad a thing homophobia is.

He said "Dad, homophobia is really gay".

I could only laugh at the irony.

hoops1
16/06/2011, 3:14 PM
just think of all the unbalanced flak Derry and Zayed will get if Rovers and player are exonerated.

Well thats it in a nutshell, I hate to break this to you but there isnt enough evidence to say who is telling the truth. Nothing will come it.
Now when its finished will there be countless pages in the papers, coverage on the 6.1 news, radio interviews saying by the way no one was found guilty of Rascim, of course not. It will be well he was racially abused but they couldnt prove it.

16/06/2011, 3:16 PM
Gotta love this forum, ye'z are debating what the correct terminology should be for whatever Zayed is claiming was said to him rather that what should be done against the offender/stop it happening again. I noticed part of one of Shams press releases on this has retracted a particular paragraph, I wonder why. . . .

whats that about?

16/06/2011, 3:20 PM

The insinuation being made here is that the gypoweb was homophobic as a result of a couple of ill advised posts. I just want to point out that the posts were deleted and the poster reprimanded by posters and moderators for his comments.

Well thats it in a nutshell, I hate to break this to you but there isnt enough evidence to say who is telling the truth. Nothing will come it.
Now when its finished will there be countless pages in the papers, coverage on the 6.1 news, radio interviews saying by the way no one was found guilty of Rascim, of course not. It will be well he was racially abused but they couldnt prove it.

if it cannot be proven, you lot should probably just count yourself blessed that you managed to dodge another bullet instead of looking for apologies. Do an OJ - pokerface it and hope for the best.

SwanVsDalton
16/06/2011, 3:25 PM

So? It works both ways. Just as valid to speculate, in that scenario, Zayed and Derry being totally furious at a case of racial abuse going unpunished. Maybe you should wait for an actual outcome before playing the victim.

16/06/2011, 3:27 PM
What both are claiming should be revealed. Its at the centre of the issue.

Meanwhile, we have Hoops on the Ultras site bleating about the fact that due process should be followed. When it is being followed, you still aren't happy.

hoops1
16/06/2011, 3:29 PM
Meanwhile, we have Hoops on the Ultras site bleating about the fact that due process should be followed. When it is being followed, you still aren't happy.

If you think what Kenny did is due process then you have a different view of it than me.

16/06/2011, 3:31 PM
And exactly where did I said what he claimed was due process?

Like yourself, I believe SK should have said nothing until the matter was investigated.

16/06/2011, 3:33 PM
Like yourself, I believe SK should have said nothing until the matter was investigated.

Ill say what i like!

(oh wait a minute...)

16/06/2011, 3:40 PM
Maybe you should wait for an actual outcome before playing the victim.Zayed and Kenny should have done so also.

SwanVsDalton
16/06/2011, 3:41 PM
Zayed and Kenny should have done so also.

I might agree with you on Kenny. Zayed hasn't said a single thing publicly.

16/06/2011, 3:43 PM
I might agree with you on Kenny. Zayed hasn't said a single thing.
Sorry, you're right. I actually don't understand why Kenny made it public (I disagree that it would have gone public eventually anyway, not to the extent of not only a club but a player being named), because he's brought a whole pile of sh!te on himself and Zayed if nothing can be proven.

PartySaint
16/06/2011, 4:23 PM
Fair play to Pats . The usual 'everything is wrong at Rovers' brigade out in full force enables them to take a back seat in all this :plane:

Yeah I was fairly worried when the story first came out but once I heard Rovers were involved as well all we had to do was sit back and relax, Once anyone brings us up all we have to do is say 'Yeah but did you see what Rovers did' and then sit back down again

Harsh calling Zayed 'Gadaffi', If someone called me Enda Kenny I would lose the plot

DannyInvincible
16/06/2011, 7:02 PM
What about the nationality they have in common, at least in a footballing sense? It ain't pretty either way, but I still not sure it's racist.

Obviously, it's something of an ambiguous area this exercise of attempting to classify whether something said has been racist or not, but what criteria would a comment have to fulfil in order for it to be classified as racist in your eyes?

Abuse based on some ignorant, ill-informed national stereotype would fall foul in my book, especially when it has the additional element of being extremely insensitive. Aren't terms like "frog" and "rosbif" considered racist when used in a certain context in spite of such terminology being rooted in national stereotypes?

I suppose what would help, ultimately, is if the FAI had an available definition on what they construe to constitute racist abuse?

I wouldn't call that racist either. Zayed choose to play for Gaddafi's national side.

If a player decides to ridule him for supporting a tyrant, it cannot be racism in my opinion.

http://i676.photobucket.com/albums/vv123/Gardnerius/8de09-NotSureIfSerious.jpg?t=1299652974

peadar1987
16/06/2011, 10:01 PM
Calling Zayed "Gadaffi" wouldn't be the same as calling any of us "Enda", or even "Bertie", it'd be more along the lines of equating every Irish person with (Insert paedophile priest of choice here). It should be fairly obvious he wasn't (allegedly) called Gadaffi purely because Gadaffi is the leader of a North African nation, he was (also allegedly) called Gadaffi because the offending party wanted to evoke a negative stereotype about North Africans.

horton
16/06/2011, 11:25 PM
Out of curiosity, whats the source for "Gadaffi" being the alleged insult? I've heard about 4 different things being the supposed comment, and unless the player went rip at Zayed, they can't all be true. . .

poster
17/06/2011, 2:18 AM
(Insert paedophile priest of choice here

What if you're Protestant?

17/06/2011, 7:49 AM

It makes being a paedophile priest all the more difficult.

Spudulika
17/06/2011, 8:51 AM
It makes being a paedophile priest all the more difficult.

You'd be a padeophile Vicar - or probably a scout master :-)

peadar1987
17/06/2011, 9:01 AM

Then you get to be Ian Paisley, which is even worse

marinobohs
17/06/2011, 9:55 AM

Unlike Jicked linking Bohs keeper to convicted Austrian paedophile in this very thread ? Did your high moral standards miss that ?

SDCC stadium - the home of Irish Hypocracy

Jicked
17/06/2011, 10:00 AM
Unlike Jicked linking Bohs keeper to convicted Austrian paedophile in this very thread ? Did your high moral standards miss that ?

Oh good lord, you're not being serious are you. He can't actually be serious can he? I actually think he's being serious. My word.

Blow up the forum.

dong
17/06/2011, 10:04 AM
This thread is a cesspit of sh!te.

17/06/2011, 10:05 AM
Don't try and cover it up now Jicked. You clearly stated Chris O'Connor was among the most disgusting speciesof all humanity

A Bohs player...

17/06/2011, 10:23 AM

Oh FFS, this thread is bad enough without you blatantly misrepresenting somebody's post like that.

SwanVsDalton
17/06/2011, 10:29 AM
Sorry, you're right. I actually don't understand why Kenny made it public (I disagree that it would have gone public eventually anyway, not to the extent of not only a club but a player being named), because he's brought a whole pile of sh!te on himself and Zayed if nothing can be proven.

For me the FAI leaks like a sieve and I'd be surprised if someone didn't spill it to the media (or maybe a decent journo does his job). But I take your point.

17/06/2011, 10:31 AM
Pats were contacted by the Derry press about it so I don't think the FAI is the leak here (although they are, of course, riddled)

Rasputin
17/06/2011, 10:39 AM
I wouldn't call that racist either. Zayed choose to play for Gaddafi's national side.

If a player decides to ridule him for supporting a tyrant, it cannot be racism in my opinion.
Oh my word, you wait and you hope for a gem like this once every few threads and the BAM you get it.
When handed this absolute gem its difficult to know really what to do with it, only pause from laughing to re-read again and again.
Oh dear, oh dear.

horton
17/06/2011, 11:09 AM
There's a fair few contenders for Post of the Month in here, and I'm not just referring to Mr A's Fr Ted quote.

Derry
17/06/2011, 11:47 AM
Why isn't the player who's accused of racism not on the media shouting about his innocence. Why isn't Rovers not making him tell everyone he's hasn't done anything. I mean if you were innocent you would do it.

17/06/2011, 11:58 AM
Because mud sticks. Keeping his identity secret is the only way he's going to emerge with his reputation intact.

Ezeikial
17/06/2011, 12:44 PM
Because mud sticks. Keeping his identity secret is the only way he's going to emerge with his reputation intact.

Agreed, but it assumes that the player in question actually has a reputation to retain!

culloty82
17/06/2011, 12:51 PM
Very interesting piece on Zayed in this month's When Saturday Comes (published before last week's events) - in fairness, they have regularly published articles on events in the League of Ireland.

17/06/2011, 12:52 PM
Oh he has a reputation alright...

marinobohs
17/06/2011, 1:21 PM
Oh he has a reputation alright...

Oh, My, God,its Ryan Giggs isnt it :D