View Full Version : FAI Investigate Alleged Racist Abuse Of Zayed
Pages :
[
7]
corkharps
17/06/2011, 10:07 PM
Bohs fans wearing tea-towels on their heads and fighting with the stewards. Stay classy, Phibsborough.
You dissin' the peoples revolution there Shinner?:quiet:
dcfc_dee
17/06/2011, 10:55 PM
http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/4075/img0177le.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/151/img0177le.jpg/)
Ye can make out the boy with the towel on the right of the screen
17/06/2011, 11:08 PM
Bohs fans wearing tea-towels on their heads and fighting with the stewards. Stay classy, Phibsborough.
Those would be Bohs fans alright. Shamrock Rovers fans would've worn umbrellas on their heads.
bullit
17/06/2011, 11:09 PM
[ PIC
Maybe he just has a head sweat gland problem !!
Honestly,i can only see this situation(Zayed) getting worse as the season goes on,sad as that is :(
born2bwild
17/06/2011, 11:57 PM
The Zayeds: a great bunch of lads.
More drink!
18/06/2011, 12:21 AM
one fan, stupid joke.
18/06/2011, 12:59 AM
where was that piece written by Dessie Baker come from?
bullit
18/06/2011, 1:04 AM
Joe i fink??
18/06/2011, 1:12 AM
Joe.ie I'm guessing. The site Claire Tully took to court because they didn't pay her for a year.
correct, it was joe.ie
http://www.joe.ie/football/league-of-ireland/dessie-baker-abuse-endemic-in-football-culture-0013203-1
one fan, stupid joke.
It wasnt one fan fighting with stewards though ;)
Hibs4Ever
18/06/2011, 5:14 AM
Honestly,i can only see this situation(Zayed) getting worse as the season goes on,sad as that is :(
Especially if last weeks allegations go unproven (which they most likely will)
hoopy
18/06/2011, 12:23 PM
It'll be interesting to see what comes out about it alright.
It wasn't Rovers so it's ok what went on. We won't get the usual people from the usual clubs giving their hysterical opinions.
bluewhitearmy
18/06/2011, 12:27 PM
one fan, stupid joke.
Was only one Rovers player too if it turns out to be true so is it ok as long as its not more then one?
Personally think it being one player, rather than one fan, makes it a bigger deal
I get the impression that Rovers fans don't give a sh** whether Zayed was abused or not, just as long as it can't be proven. Their racist abuse of Zayed on their forum shows the mindset of some very unstable people.
As for last night being. only one fan wearing the head gear' why did they pass it around each other. And the guy who brought a knife to the game and then pulling it out, should be arrested and banned from football grounds for life.
Was only one Rovers player too if it turns out to be true so is it ok as long as its not more then one?
if you cant see the point being made then you shouldnt engage in debate. Do you genuinely think that the Bohs fan wearing the tea-towel on his head was a racist attack or slur on Zayed or do you think that maybe, just maybe, it was nothing more than a pathetic attempt at a joke given the hysteria around Zayed this past week?
Anyway, you've made your feelings on all things Bohs clear in the past so i dont expect you to even try to start comprehending the point im making as it wont suit your agenda.
And the guy who brought a knife to the game and then pulling it out, should be arrested and banned from football grounds for life.
Ah come off it. Where did you hear that from? Your "security" staff? Any evidence or is that just scurrilous hearsay?
Why is it fans of Dublin teams recently seem to come out of Derry after getting a hiding inside or outside your ground? It wasnt like that at all when i used to travel up to the Brandywell. Staff and fans were always very welcoming. From the reports on the Bohs board (which are probably just as one-sided as the ones you are getting), there seems to be an element amongst the Derry folk at games. Bit of a shame as i said before Derry was always a favourite destination of mine (not usually for the results mind!).
edit - bear in mind that our travelling support has been commended by opposition clubs and fans for the behaviour and atmosphere this season both after games and on messageboards including this one.
18/06/2011, 5:50 PM
More drink!
Well the slide show was big pile of crap but the free drink, very much appreciated!
horton
18/06/2011, 5:52 PM
Was it not Sligo fans who were the last to claim they got a hiding outside the ground? I haven't read the Derry forum yet but I doubt there was a knife at the game, there would of been more of a ruckus if a knife was shown. Yet more negative stories about LoI matches, brilliant!
Cuyahoga
18/06/2011, 5:56 PM
correct, it was joe.ie
http://www.joe.ie/football/league-of-ireland/dessie-baker-abuse-endemic-in-football-culture-0013203-1
Good article by Dessie Baker. It was interesting to read that Mark Rurtherford got the most abuse when he played at the Brandywell !
horton
18/06/2011, 6:00 PM
Please tell me that was sarcastic?? The guy says he doesn't know the full facts, just what he's read and says Zayed must be talking BS/taking something out of context! That man would be scary if he was in a position of power!
PartySaint
18/06/2011, 6:04 PM
Just to clear up our part in this whole thing, we made our feelings known through the medium of a chant last night
'We're not racists, We're Anti Zayed'
It wasnt one fan fighting with stewards though ;)
They wouldn't be the first or last there.
DannyInvincible
18/06/2011, 7:23 PM
if you cant see the point being made then you shouldnt engage in debate. Do you genuinely think that the Bohs fan wearing the tea-towel on his head was a racist attack or slur on Zayed or do you think that maybe, just maybe, it was nothing more than a pathetic attempt at a joke given the hysteria around Zayed this past week?
Hmm, maybe what the Rovers player said was a pathetic attempt at a joke given the reports of racist abuse from the Pats game? And sure that'd be grand then; he would have been just having a laugh...
Seriously though, I'll need this fan's attempt at a joke explained to me, because jokes can be racist too and I find it hard to see how wearing a tea-towel in this context could be anything other than racist.
Good article by Dessie Baker. It was interesting to read that Mark Rurtherford got the most abuse when he played at the Brandywell !
It's an awful article. Baker is in no position to pontificate on how Zayed should react to racist abuse just because Mark Rutherford was victim to similar abuse in the Brandywell a few years ago and "took it on the chin". It's a shame that Rutherford had to feel that way, as if he would have been the one who was out of order by challenging the apparent status quo in football. Abuse to which Baker himself has fallen victim isn't relevant at all; he's a fool to mention it. I'd bet he's never been victim to racist abuse in a football ground in his life. If racist abuse is endemic in football, then those victim to it just take it on the chin, we all sweep it under the carpet and move on until the next time it happens? The notion is condescending and an insult to the senses. If it isn't really a problem, then why raise the Mark Rutherford issue at all? Clearly, there was a problem then - whether Rutherford wished to make a big deal out of it or not - and there is a problem now that needs stamped out. Why should something so insulting as racism, or homophobia even, ever be accepted as inherently "part and parcel" of football? Ought the game live in the dark ages just because "that's the way it's always been"? If that docile and submissive attitude was applied to real life, African-Americans would still be living as slaves to their white masters.
Hmm, maybe what the Rovers player said was a pathetic attempt at a joke given the reports of racist abuse from the Pats game? And sure that'd be grand then; he would have been just having a laugh...
Seriously though, I'll need this fan's attempt at a joke explained to me, because jokes can be racist too and I find it hard to see how wearing a tea-towel in this context could be anything other than racist.
It's an awful article. Baker is in no position to pontificate on how Zayed should react to racist abuse just because Mark Rutherford was victim to similar abuse in the Brandywell a few years ago and "took it on the chin". It's a shame that Rutherford had to feel that way, as if he would have been the one who was out of order by challenging the apparent status quo in football. Abuse to which Baker himself has fallen victim isn't relevant at all; he's a fool to mention it. I'd bet he's never been victim to racist abuse in a football ground in his life. If racist abuse is endemic in football, then those victim to it just take it on the chin, we all sweep it under the carpet and move on until the next time it happens? The notion is condescending and an insult to the senses. If it isn't really a problem, then why raise the Mark Rutherford issue at all? Clearly, there was a problem then - whether Rutherford wished to make a big deal out of it or not - and there is a problem now that needs stamped out. Why should something so insulting as racism, or homophobia even, ever be accepted as inherently "part and parcel" of football? Ought the game live in the dark ages just because "that's the way it's always been"? If that docile and submissive attitude was applied to real life, African-Americans would still be living as slaves to their white masters.
Not being a racist but...
Are you black?
Seriously though, I'll need this fan's attempt at a joke explained to me, because jokes can be racist too and I find it hard to see how wearing a tea-towel in this context could be anything other than racist..
seriously, climb down off your high horse for once Danny. I would like the attempt at a joke explained to me too, as would most of the Bohs fans who were there last night. But if you cant see the difference between a direct racial slur as alledged by Zayed and a tasteless, tongue in cheek (for want of a better expression) jibe at the hysteria surrounding the events of the week then im not going to bother explaining it to you. Absolutely stupid as jokes go - yes - but it was hardly Bernard effing Manning now, was it?
born2bwild
18/06/2011, 8:03 PM
hysteria
This whole affair in a word.
DannyInvincible
18/06/2011, 8:49 PM
Are you black?
What would me being black or not have to do with anything? We're all human, aren't we? Clearly Zayed has taken offence from a remark intended to insult him. He's within his rights to make an issue of it. In fact, I think he should make an issue of it if successful attempts are to be made at stamping out something that idiots like Dessie Baker assume to be "part and parcel" of the game, as if racism is OK, just so long as it's in the football ground. Opinions like that need to be challenged as well. And it's not getting on a high horse to see a problem with it.
seriously, climb down off your high horse for once Danny. I would like the attempt at a joke explained to me too, as would most of the Bohs fans who were there last night. But if you cant see the difference between a direct racial slur as alledged by Zayed and a tasteless, tongue in cheek (for want of a better expression) jibe at the hysteria surrounding the events of the week then im not going to bother explaining it to you. Absolutely stupid as jokes go - yes - but it was hardly Bernard effing Manning now, was it?
It might not be at the Bernard Manning end of the spectrum, but why are we introducing a scale at all? If the chap's joke was a daft attempt at satire, fair enough - I'm a big fan of the incendiary Chris Morris - but if the league is serious about stamping out racism, that includes all racism; not just Manningesque racism. Casual racism is just as unsavoury and unpleasant for those concerned as overt racism.
Now, can you give me a hand down? My bloody foot is stuck in this stirrup. :p
HulaHoop
18/06/2011, 9:32 PM
I tend to agree but something tells me that if it was a Rovers fan with a teatowel on his head you would have a very different viewpoint on it.
18/06/2011, 10:38 PM
What would me being black or not have to do with anything? We're all human, aren't we? Clearly Zayed has taken offence from a remark intended to insult him. He's within his rights to make an issue of it. In fact, I think he should make an issue of it if successful attempts are to be made at stamping out something that idiots like Dessie Baker assume to be "part and parcel" of the game, as if racism is OK, just so long as it's in the football ground. Opinions like that need to be challenged as well. And it's not getting on a high horse to see a problem with it.
It might not be at the Bernard Manning end of the spectrum, but why are we introducing a scale at all? If the chap's joke was a daft attempt at satire, fair enough - I'm a big fan of the incendiary Chris Morris - but if the league is serious about stamping out racism, that includes all racism; not just Manningesque racism. Casual racism is just as unsavoury and unpleasant for those concerned as overt racism.
Now, can you give me a hand down? My bloody foot is stuck in this stirrup. :p
Im not introducing a scale. Im just pointing out that its not racism, casual or otherwise. It was just a daft, cheap attempt to get a laugh that went down like a lead balloon.
I cant reach that high - its a bloody big horse. :)
I tend to agree but something tells me that if it was a Rovers fan with a teatowel on his head you would have a very different viewpoint on it.
definitely.
no, just joking HH - to be honest, id probably just not comment on it. Although, believe it or not, there have been times when ive agreed with Rovers fans on here. Even this whole Turner/Zayed thing, i dont blame Rovers or fans for that. If true, its just down to individual cretinous behaviour. I dont see any need to be critical of Rovers fans or club on this occasion.
A N Mouse
19/06/2011, 2:12 PM
Im not introducing a scale. Im just pointing out that its not racism, casual or otherwise. It was just a daft, cheap attempt to get a laugh that went down like a lead balloon..
So it's all ok?
Suppose we should be grateful he didn't get out the boot polish?
So it's all ok?
Suppose we should be grateful he didn't get out the boot polish?
what a bizarre post.
19/06/2011, 4:18 PM
And the guy who brought a knife to the game and then pulling it out, should be arrested and banned from football grounds for life.
If this is true then once again serious questions have to be asked about Derry Citys' ability to host matches at The Brandywell given the policing situation. I mean how the hell does somebody get a knive into a football ground??
Or maybe I'm just spouting hysterical drivel. :rolleyes:
19/06/2011, 4:21 PM
but if the league is serious about stamping out racism, that includes all racism; not just Manningesque racism. Casual racism is just as unsavoury and unpleasant for those concerned as overt racism.
I could actually genuinely list 101 things here off the top of my head that are more important for the league to be doing than STAMPING OUT the largely non existent RACISM.
17 (SEVENTEEN) pages, grips need to be gotten all round I feel. :ball:
If this is true then once again serious questions have to be asked about Derry Citys' ability to host matches at The Brandywell given the policing situation. I mean how the hell does somebody get a knive into a football ground??
Or maybe I'm just spouting hysterical drivel. :rolleyes:
just to provide some context, the allegation was posted by someone with 2 posts on the Derry fans forum. Here is an account from 2 Bohs fans who saw the encounter...
I'll clear this one up. I left for the chipper at half time to which this little ***** in his barstooler jacket called me and i quote "a free state sell out *******" whilst wearing a liverpool top
Too which i responded by calling him a scouser ***** and because i was alone his mates got brave. A few Bohs fans came over then when they seen what was going on and they ****ed off crying to the stewards then. Btw thanks to the lads who came over could of turned nasty on myself otherwise.
Not once was there a mention of a knife let alone one pulled who utter fantasist.
Someone mentioned earlier that on the Derry forum one of the people on that forum accussed a Bohs fan of calling a young Derry fan in a Liverpool tracksuit a scouser and then taking out a knife. That is not what happened at all. I was right beside him and what happened was that the Bohs fan in question goes, "What part of Liverpool are you from?" after the kid was giving it loads about us losing at half-time. Unless I got a touch of the Stevie Wonder's for a split second, there was absolutley no knife at all.
do people really think that Bohs fans take knives to grounds on the off chance they get to dish out some rough justice to barstoolers? ;)
ped_ped
19/06/2011, 5:01 PM
17 (SEVENTEEN) pages, grips need to be gotten all round I feel.
I agree with you on this, but for different reasonS.
It's surely common sense that if a Pat's fan was guilty of racism against Zayed, he deserves to be punished. Likewise for the Rovers player, if it's true that he did so. Bohs fan with the towel misguided, and I personally wouldn't mind whether he's punished or let off, as both could be justified because I doubt there was malice in it.
Either way, this thread has gone on a bit too long, and it's threatened to - and carried through with - turning into a bitter inter-club snipefest that has nothing to do with racism and everything to do with 'I don't like your club' at times.
Surely we all agree that racism is wrong, and that's that?
do people really think that Bohs fans take knives to grounds on the off chance they get to dish out some rough justice to barstoolers? ;)
Sounds good to me :D
[/JOKE] ;)
A N Mouse
19/06/2011, 8:14 PM
what a bizarre post.
No more bizarre than your claim that it was only a joke and therefore not racist.
Intent is neither here nor there, in any of this, it's all about perception.
So if you can agree that this joke was in poor taste. Can you agree that a joke involving a 'racial stereotype' could be perceived to be racist? If so it should be condemned rather than condoned, in any manner.
Or is your defense along the line trotted out elsewhere in this thread, that it had nothing to do with a physical feature shared by people with common ancestry, and is therefore somehow acceptable. If so I wonder where you draw line?
Would it have been racist if he got out the boot polish and blacked up?
DannyInvincible
19/06/2011, 8:48 PM
Maybe it was a plastic knife from the chip van? :p
Seriously though, I wouldn't imagine it to be overly difficult. That's assuming there was a knife in a fan's possession, although that has been disputed. It's not as if metal detectors at the gates or full body-searches by the gardaí are the norm now at grounds around the country.
I could actually genuinely list 101 things here off the top of my head that are more important for the league to be doing than STAMPING OUT the largely non existent RACISM.
I don't think anyone is saying that racism is the only problem the league might have, or even that it's its most significant. It is clearly existent though, and just because there are other significant issues that ought to be dealt with as well, it's no reason to dismiss the importance of the issue of racism or sweep it under the carpet. Zayed claims to have been racially abused twice in the past fortnight and that's ignoring a Bohs fan wearing a tea-towel on his head in the Brandywell the other night who, if we're to give the benefit of the doubt, was apparently making some ill-thought satirical statement on the media's reporting of the issue. We even have Dessie Baker telling us racist abuse is "part and parcel" of the game so we should all just accept it and those subjected to it "take it on the chin". Bewildering.
No more bizarre than your claim that it was only a joke and therefore not racist.
Intent is neither here nor there, in any of this, it's all about perception.
So if you can agree that this joke was in poor taste. Can you agree that a joke involving a 'racial stereotype' could be perceived to be racist? If so it should be condemned rather than condoned, in any manner.
Or is your defense along the line trotted out elsewhere in this thread, that it had nothing to do with a physical feature shared by people with common ancestry, and is therefore somehow acceptable. If so I wonder where you draw line?
Would it have been racist if he got out the boot polish and blacked up?
go ahead and get all outraged about it then. Ive made my thoughts pretty clear and it seems that some posters are in agreement with it so thats enough for me. You cant take "a joke involving a 'racial stereotype'" out of the context of what happened before. In isolation it is undoubtedly a racist gesture. Put into context it is not racist and is more along the lines of that which i have outlined previously. If that fan had wanted to racially attacked Eamon Zayed he would have hidden himself amongst the crowd and made his points a bit clearer.
Fine if you disagree and want to get offended. Go ahead.
horton
19/06/2011, 10:35 PM
Can we just let this thread die/be locked until the FAI finish this 'investigation'? I think everyones getting fed up reading the same arguments over 17 pages.
Of course there are no Maori's on the island.
Red Army
20/06/2011, 9:17 AM
Can we just let this thread die/be locked until the FAI finish this 'investigation'? I think everyones getting fed up reading the same arguments over 17 pages.
I'm not it's great craic
If people get fed up, they'll stop reading it, stop posting on it and it'll die naturally. You're obviously not that fed up that you had to open the thread...
Cuyahoga
20/06/2011, 9:55 AM
There is an article in this month's When Saturday Comes magazine about Zayed playing for Libya. The article was written before the alleged racist abuse received. Also there is a photo feature on Carling Nations cup at the Aviva.
Redzer
20/06/2011, 11:19 AM
Perhaps no class has carried prejudice against colour to a point more dangerous than have the Irish, and yet, no people have been more relentlessly oppressed on account of race and religion.” Frederick Douglass 1818 - 1895
Rasputin
20/06/2011, 12:00 PM
Are you black?
How is that in any way relevant?
A N Mouse
20/06/2011, 5:51 PM
go ahead and get all outraged about it then. Ive made my thoughts pretty clear and it seems that some posters are in agreement with it so thats enough for me. You cant take "a joke involving a 'racial stereotype'" out of the context of what happened before. In isolation it is undoubtedly a racist gesture. Put into context it is not racist and is more along the lines of that which i have outlined previously. If that fan had wanted to racially attacked Eamon Zayed he would have hidden himself amongst the crowd and made his points a bit clearer.
Fine if you disagree and want to get offended. Go ahead.
When it's ajar!
22/06/2011, 12:33 AM
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/5950/fai-receive-submissions-racism-probe/
The FAI have today confirmed that it has received all final submissions from clubs at the centre of allegations of racist abuse and a decision will be made tomorrow whether further action is needed.
The allegations surround Derry City striker Eamon Zayed whose claims started an FAI investigation into alleged racial abuse. The Shamrock Rovers player at the centre of the allegation has denied the claim. The FAI are also investigation an incident at Richmond Park three days earlier when Derry City played St. Patrick's Athletic.
“The FAI this afternoon received all final submissions from Derry City FC, St Patrick’s Athletic FC and Shamrock Rovers FC in relation to allegations of racist abuse levelled at a player in two recent Airtricity League matches”, the FAI statement read.
“The submissions are now being reviewed by the Disciplinary Control Unit and a decision regarding any further action if deemed appropriate will be made tomorrow.”