View Full Version : FAI Investigate Alleged Racist Abuse Of Zayed
Pages :
[
2]
14/06/2011, 10:18 PM
My pride in the league and the people associated with the league lessens by the day.
I can only say i hope the guilty parties, whoever they turn out to be, get their comeuppance.
born2bwild
14/06/2011, 10:20 PM
You think that matters to Zayed?
It'll boil down to who you believe of 2 people.
If it isn't true then Zayed should be punished IMO.
Do I think publicity matters to Zayed? Yes.
For good reasons: Eamonn has spoken out about racism before and the more than it is spoken about the better - there should be zero tolerance of racism in the league.
For 'other' reasons: Eamonn wrote about the Dublin Super Cup tournament in his most recent extratime article: "What a tournament that will be and I am sure every player (myself included!!) will be trying his best to impress Damian in this weekend’s games in the hope of getting picked for the squad."
Eammo was on the six-one news tonight.
Both causes will be advanced - clubs and fans will be reminded about racism and Eammo will be in the shop window. Win - Win?
Except that the rest of the country will get the false impression that there are a load of racists going to league matches.
We need to put on a slide show about the Chinese - 'a great bunch of lads'
Jicked
14/06/2011, 10:24 PM
Let's not forget how much Éamon seems to enjoy being in the media, like you say born2bwild the upcoming squad for the Super Cup and transfer window, and finally the fact his sister who's been quite vocal today also sees herself as a marketing and PR consultant. If people want to start talking about the character of the Rovers player involved or the Pats fan involved, then that's fair game too.
DannyInvincible
14/06/2011, 10:25 PM
Did Cork ever get fined when their fans openly displayed banners with fascist symbols on them over the past few years? I suppose this could hardly be classified as racism?
What sort of symbols are we talking about here? The fasces?
SwanVsDalton
14/06/2011, 10:26 PM
I'd say the chances of a player fabricating two separate incidents of racial abuse in consecutive matches are pretty slim. They'd have to be extra thick, even for a footballer, to have the gumption. And that's regardless of how 'attention seeking' he may be.
Red Army
14/06/2011, 10:27 PM
If you knew Zayed you might know him as being an attention seeking git off the field so probably best not to rush in to judgements based on a player's character.
I know Pats were singing Louise Zayed gives good head and takes it up the arse. I wonder did this upset him and he then in turn comes out with allegations of racist abuse?
14/06/2011, 10:28 PM
enough of the wild conspiracy theories there B2BW... lets also not lose sight of the fact that he could be telling the truth. Its not all that implausible that a Rovers player racially abused him and a solitary Pats fan (according to Dodge) in the stands shouted something at him.
Red Army
14/06/2011, 10:34 PM
What sort of symbols are we talking about here? The fasces?
Celtic crosses like I said it wouldn't be classified as racist although some might be it differently. I wouldn't be surprised if they got fined for it that's why I asked. I guess if you ban that kind of stuff then Che banner and all other political banners would have to be banned.
born2bwild
14/06/2011, 10:37 PM
enough of the wild conspiracy theories there B2BW... lets also not lose sight of the fact that he could be telling the truth. Its not all that implausible that a Rovers player racially abused him and a solitary Pats fan (according to Dodge) in the stands shouted something at him.
Well, I actually tried to balance what I said: Eamonn is trying to stand up against racists and for that he should be backed up by any decent, right-thinking person.
Still, there is no harm in making a lot of noise right now, during the transfer window.
Conspiracy theory? No. I just think Eamonn is media savvy. He's no fool and good luck to him.
So I blame Eamonn for the blemish on the league? No I don't; racism should not be tolerated but I think that Club-Club rather than Player-Media is the correct route to resolve this.
total hoofball
14/06/2011, 10:45 PM
Zayed needs to disclose what was said. I don't believe for one moment he has made such a serious allegation without it being a clearcut racist comment.
Red Army
14/06/2011, 10:52 PM
I think the big question about the debate is how do the Pats fans know Zayeds sisters takes it up the arse? Have they any evidence to back up this chant and if so post up the videos to prove it?
SwanVsDalton
14/06/2011, 10:54 PM
Well, I actually tried to balance what I said: Eamonn is trying to stand up against racists and for that he should be backed up by any decent, right-thinking person.
Still, there is no harm in making a lot of noise right now, during the transfer window.
Conspiracy theory? No. I just think Eamonn is media savvy. He's no fool and good luck to him.
So I blame Eamonn for the blemish on the league? No I don't; racism should not be tolerated but I think that Club-Club rather than Player-Media is the correct route to resolve this.
What noise has he made? He did exactly as you wanted - went to his club who related the complaints to the FAI. Reporting racism has got nothing to do with media savvy.
14/06/2011, 10:58 PM
not meaning to pick on you or anything B2BW but i cant reconcile those statements. Youre essentially saying you wouldnt put it past him to have used his ethnicity to tarnish another players reputation so that he furthers his own career during this transfer window. Thats a pretty harsh theory and I dont think it is fair to throw wild speculation out there like that just because he is an anti-racism activist. And youre not the only one to have suggested something along those lines so its not just you.
14/06/2011, 10:59 PM
I think the big question about the debate is how do the Pats fans know Zayeds sisters takes it up the arse? Have they any evidence to back up this chant and if so post up the videos to prove it?
they asked her if she ever touched a BMW. ;)
Dan6189
14/06/2011, 11:01 PM
I don't for one minute think racism has any place in Loi and it hopefully is only a small minority of Loi fans who make these comments but being a pats fan and at Richmond every game I know for a fact anyone who uses racism is given dogs abuse by other pats fan around them.this goes for all players in the league, racism has no place especially since there is so many other ways to get under opposing players skins, like when zayed has a stinker against us most times or twigg spits out his dummy when being subbed lol. Rant over
PartySaint
14/06/2011, 11:12 PM
Well Zayed is trending on Twitter now so his name is certainly out there
born2bwild
14/06/2011, 11:13 PM
What noise has he made? He did exactly as you wanted - went to his club who related the complaints to the FAI. Reporting racism has got nothing to do with media savvy.
Hmmm...if those were the channels that were used, then, fine; I am probably not doing the fella justice.
I genuinely don't want to criticise someone for standing up against racism. But does it need to be in the media? How did this end up on the six-one news? That's a PR fyck up because it's a bad news story for the league. Someone is making noise about this and I'm wondering who it is and what they have to gain from it.
On the other hand, maybe we do need to talk about racism - I haven't heard much (1 slightly racist comment in the last 70 or so matches I've attended in the last two years - a black player for Salthill devon was called 'Joseph Ndo' by one idiot)
Media savvy has everything to do with racism, people need to know that it is not acceptable. It's just that in this day and age I think most people do actually know this.
The story should not be in the media.
born2bwild
14/06/2011, 11:32 PM
not meaning to pick on you or anything B2BW but i cant reconcile those statements. Youre essentially saying you wouldnt put it past him to have used his ethnicity to tarnish another players reputation so that he furthers his own career during this transfer window. Thats a pretty harsh theory and I dont think it is fair to throw wild speculation out there like that just because he is an anti-racism activist. And youre not the only one to have suggested something along those lines so its not just you.
Ethnicity? Well last time I checked Eammo was from Bray.
Yes it does sound harsh when you put it like that 'using his ethnicity to tarnish another player's reputation'. I have no evidence for that and if I implied such a thing then that was not my intention.
Eamonn said he was racially abused. The Shams player denies it. I don't think EZ was 'hearing things' and neither do I think he's trying to stitch someone up to advance his career. Something was said and the matter should have been sorted behind closed doors.
But someone (who?) decided that this was a good time to bring this to the media.
PartySaint
14/06/2011, 11:47 PM
Ethnicity? Well last time I checked Eammo was from Bray.
Ballinteer....
I know for an indisputable fact that throughout the game last night no matter how he tried to combat it and rise above it...Zayed was sh!te.
Everything else is up for argument, I s'pose
SwanVsDalton
15/06/2011, 12:12 AM
Pretty sh!te right enough.
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/19/9d/c0/daf653ab40d7b500493499c3d2fbbb0f3a64a02e56/INPHO_00519973.jpg
15/06/2011, 12:14 AM
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_6Q9wAorJq9c/Rux6T_t8m3I/AAAAAAAAAEo/ZGRvuiXBSUU/s1600/storm_in_teacup+-+BW.jpg
This is a small issue not worthy of the of the massive publicity it will doubtless generate.
I assume there was a camera at the Pats game, aswell as stewards, gardai, etc??
Zayed, I assume has told the relevant people what was alledgedly said, when it was said and where in the ground it came from. Should be fairly open and shut after that.
On the Rovers player issue, it's a little bit more complex as it's most likely just his word against the player in question. But whatever, certainly not nice but not end of days stuff either.
The league has 1000s of problems, in my (admitedly limited to first division and the odd cup game) experience, racism aint one of them.
Pretty sh!te right enough.
As part of the best team to play in Tallaght in a good long while, yes, very sh!te.
15/06/2011, 1:19 AM
Maybe I'm missing something but whats this got to do with Louise? She is out of the country at the moment so dont understand how she is being dragged into this.
Apparently her twitter/tweetings or whatever the young people are calling it these days:
Not surprised to hear about racial abuse from fans in tallaght stadium last night but from a player is an embarrassment to the league!
That is enough reason for me
15/06/2011, 1:37 AM
Oh ok.
peadar1987
15/06/2011, 1:48 AM
Fair play to anyone who would give out to someone making racist remarks. You're better people than I am, I'd be afraid of getting my head kicked in. Anyway, the point of that little ramble was that you can't judge a club's entire support on the failure of the fans to tell a racist where he can cram his misinformed opinions. If there's a six foot something brick ****house with tattoos on his eyelids hurling abuse, I know I'm not going to have the guts to be the first person to stand up and tell him to eff off.
DannyInvincible
15/06/2011, 2:04 AM
You'd be living in denial if you were to assume that only six foot something brick ****houses with tattoos on their eyelids were the harbourers of racist and prejudiced attitudes in Ireland. You'll be just as likely to find it a lot closer to home actually, in perfectly ordinary and amiable living rooms across the country.
DannyInvincible
15/06/2011, 3:36 AM
Celtic crosses like I said it wouldn't be classified as racist although some might be it differently. I wouldn't be surprised if they got fined for it that's why I asked. I guess if you ban that kind of stuff then Che banner and all other political banners would have to be banned.
The Celtic cross isn't a fascist symbol. It has been associated with white power and misappropriated as a neo-Nazi symbol in recent decades, but in an Irish context, surely there'd be no such meaning behind its display. Nor do I really see how an Irish person would view its appearance in this light. Far-right politics don't really have a resonance in Ireland, never mind a presence in Turners Cross.
Red Army
15/06/2011, 6:38 AM
The Celtic cross isn't a fascist symbol. It has been associated with white power and misappropriated as a neo-Nazi symbol in recent decades, but in an Irish context, surely there'd be no such meaning behind its display.
You obviously never meet the lads who own it. I think one of them bumped into a few Shels fans a few weeks ago which made the national news.
Red Army
15/06/2011, 6:40 AM
Maybe I'm missing something but whats this got to do with Louise? She is out of the country at the moment so dont understand how she is being dragged into this.
Pats were singing she gives good head and takes it up the arse to wind up Zayed during the game.
DannyInvincible
15/06/2011, 7:00 AM
You obviously never meet the lads who own it. I think one of them bumped into a few Shels fans a few weeks ago which made the national news.
I'll admit ignorance. I'm genuinely surprised by this. Do tell me more. Is there a link or anything? What do other Cork fans make of these chaps? Essentially, how do they get away with the display of such iconography if the intent behind it is clearly tied in with the idea of white power and all that nonsense?
culloty82
15/06/2011, 7:44 AM
Then you've the Cork GAA fans who fly the Confederate flag - granted, the colours are the same, but still slightly off-putting.
DannyInvincible
15/06/2011, 7:50 AM
Then you've the Cork GAA fans who fly the Confederate flag - granted, the colours are the same, but still slightly off-putting.
I don't believe there's any racist intent behind that though, is there? Just has to do with the colours, no? Red Army seems to be suggesting that Cork City have a far-right element within their support who wave flags that don't just happen to feature symbolism also associated with neo-Nazism, but, presumably, because they feature symbolism associated with neo-Nazism.
Look on the bright side - finally LoI footage featured on mainstream RTE news!
If something was said (at either game), then it should be investigated and justice allowed to prevail. The fact that the mainstream media, and the usual "barstoolers", are all over this to justify their own prejudices is ridiculous.
btw, not sure what the comments (as posted above - I wasn't at either game) about his sister have to do with anything - it might be vulgar, but it's not racist imho. I hope that wasn't the catalyst for the complaints.
Spudulika
15/06/2011, 8:43 AM
I think we need to accept FINALLY that the media are just happy to sell their product to customers and advertisers - just look at the big GAA stories - drool dripping over the Louth-Meath qualifier and Offaly hurlers being locked out of training. Even in the silly season the only think of interest to the sky leaguers is the Ryan Giggs/Footballers (and their brothers) Wives saga.
To boost his profile EZ would be an idiot, and those around him idiots, to put forward a racist claim without some basis. He'd be a virtual untouchable for doing this.
Hibs4Ever
15/06/2011, 8:53 AM
Hopefully Zayed gets punished by FAI if/when these allegations go unproven. Also, what his sister posted on twitter about Shams fans was a disgrace
peadar1987
15/06/2011, 9:09 AM
You'd be living in denial if you were to assume that only six foot something brick ****houses with tattoos on their eyelids were the harbourers of racist and prejudiced attitudes in Ireland. You'll be just as likely to find it a lot closer to home actually, in perfectly ordinary and amiable living rooms across the country.
Of course. It is also worth remembering that one doesn't have to be a six foot brick ****house in order to kick the crap through someone like me! A 14 year old girl could probably do a pretty effective job!
SwanVsDalton
15/06/2011, 9:20 AM
The defensiveness on this thread is ludicrous. Haven't seen too many posters assuming guilt on the part of Rovers and Pats, but there's pretty much a queue forming to baselessly slam Zayed. He's the one actually speaking out and has the most at stake, but people are presuming he simply made it up for attention or to get in the Dublin Super Cup squad or because his sister's the antichrist or something. Jesus wept.
Dave_SRFC
15/06/2011, 10:44 AM
White Irish Libyan bloke with massive ego is upset that Pats fans are slagging his sister so he uses the race card. He's gonna look like a bigger sap than he already is at the end of this. I'd imagine he'll get a lot of stick from away fans after this...
Flexy
15/06/2011, 10:47 AM
Hopefully Zayed gets punished by FAI if/when these allegations go unproven. Also, what his sister posted on twitter about Shams fans was a disgrace
Hibs 4 ever hows he a disgrace. IF a player has been abused raciestly would YOU not come out and talk about it. If a player has raciestly abused another player they are of course going to DENY it as the embarrassement of saying it in the heat of the moment could lead to him being suspended or even sacked from the club. Things are said in the heat of the moment, football is competitive and meant to be just a game. But for people to come on here and say a PLAYER would intentionally come out and try and blame a fellow player for making up that he has been racially abused is a disgrace.
Jicked
15/06/2011, 10:58 AM
Erm Flexy, last time such a situation occurred the player immediately admitted to what he said and apologised. Interestingly it doesn't seem that anyone has overheard what went on this time, whilst there was also a very limited amount of time any confrontation between the two players could have occurred, and to the entire watching crowd nothing of any controversy took place on the field, let alone to the point where something so offesnive "in the heat of the moment" would have been uttered.
SwanVsDalton
15/06/2011, 11:05 AM
Erm Flexy, last time such a situation occurred the player immediately admitted to what he said and apologised. Interestingly it doesn't seem that anyone has overheard what went on this time, whilst there was also a very limited amount of time any confrontation between the two players could have occurred, and to the entire watching crowd nothing of any controversy took place on the field, let alone to the point where something so offesnive "in the heat of the moment" would have been uttered.
It's entirely plausible a player said something out of earshot of everyone else and Zayed simply got on with the game. Could equally accuse the player in question of being savvy enough to ensure he has deniability. Both insinuations are a bit crass at this point IMO.
horton
15/06/2011, 11:10 AM
I wonder if this was a Shams/Pats player would everyone be so critical of them for making a complaint?
White Irish Libyan bloke with massive ego is upset that Pats fans are slagging his sister so he uses the race card. He's gonna look like a bigger sap than he already is at the end of this. I'd imagine he'll get a lot of stick from away fans after this...
Has he not been getting enough stick already? Nothing like trying to get on with your job when others are singing crap about your sisters sex life at you:confused: I wasn't there nor know what was supposedly said so I can't jump to conclusions like some of you lot have done!
El-Pietro
15/06/2011, 11:11 AM
one guy owned and made that banner - we didnt realise what the symbols meant - he did - he was told to remove it when it was pointed out to us what it represented and he did immediately
I dont think that guy was involved up in Shels though I could be wrong. he certainly wasn't injured in any way
Red Army
15/06/2011, 11:16 AM
Mod Note: Removed
Invincible
15/06/2011, 11:17 AM
My own opinion is that the abuse he got has been taken as being racial abuse. I don't really get how one person was heard by someone on the pitch and not by any other Pats fans or nearby stewards ( from what I know no one heard it ) . If someone had've said something racist I think Pats fans would've reacted to it. We certainly would've in the SEI section of the ground as it's not something we want to be associated with or have Pats associated with in anyway. Hopefully it gets sorted out soon.
Hibs4Ever
15/06/2011, 11:44 AM
Hibs 4 ever hows he a disgrace. IF a player has been abused raciestly would YOU not come out and talk about it. If a player has raciestly abused another player they are of course going to DENY it as the embarrassement of saying it in the heat of the moment could lead to him being suspended or even sacked from the club. Things are said in the heat of the moment, football is competitive and meant to be just a game. But for people to come on here and say a PLAYER would intentionally come out and try and blame a fellow player for making up that he has been racially abused is a disgrace.
Nice rant, but read my post again, I never called him a disgrace :rolleyes:
born2bwild
15/06/2011, 12:04 PM
The defensiveness on this thread is ludicrous. Haven't seen too many posters assuming guilt on the part of Rovers and Pats, but there's pretty much a queue forming to baselessly slam Zayed. He's the one actually speaking out and has the most at stake, but people are presuming he simply made it up for attention or to get in the Dublin Super Cup squad or because his sister's the antichrist or something. Jesus wept.
It's probable that the Rovers player made a racist remark. Yes, Zayed is 'speaking out' but this issue should be 'spoken in' - let the league and the clubs deal with it and don't involve the media. Now, who sent this to the media? The ref? The FAI? The LOI is not a racist league - there are announcements before every match in every ground warning fans. I have almost never heard a racist comment from a fan. There is no need to 'speak out' - this bullsh1t in the media projects an unfair, damaging picture of the league.
Straightstory
15/06/2011, 12:12 PM
Feel sorry for Zayed. He's a good bloke - and one of the most articulate players in the league. He won't enjoy this publicity. (Can't quite imagine what specific racial taunt an abusive could actually aim at him...)