View Full Version : 2011 Presidential Election

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10

Spudulika
13/08/2011, 5:17 PM
I wasn't going to bother voting in the presidential election, but if Gay Byrne is running I will, just to keep the gobsheen out of it.

Dude, do you mean Gay Mitchell? Gay Byrne got the kiss of death from Monty Martin and quit!

13/08/2011, 5:25 PM
I stand to be corrected but I cannot remember anything specific - but I am not saying you are wrong - just can't recall anything.....there were controversies all right - protestant churches, golf with loyalists etc - but cannot recall a slip up - but happy to be corrected

She was useless. The reason the presidency is in the state its in is due to her. Travelling around the world like she is the queen of Ireland, up her own h... and least we forget a FFer as well - how may major bills did she sign again on the orders of the boys in Leinster house.:mad:

14/08/2011, 4:05 AM
how may major bills did she sign again on the orders of the boys in Leinster house.:mad:

Is there an instance in the history of the state of the President not doing so?

Edit: I see Cearbhall Ó Dálaigh referred a bill to the supreme court to test its constitutionality in 1976.

14/08/2011, 6:42 AM
I stand to be corrected but I cannot remember anything specific - but I am not saying you are wrong - just can't recall anything.....there were controversies all right - protestant churches, golf with loyalists etc - but cannot recall a slip up - but happy to be corrected

You did recall them. Controversies, slip-ups, embarrassments, pick whatever phrase you want. It's the same anyway.

Angus
14/08/2011, 12:27 PM
She was useless. The reason the presidency is in the state its in is due to her. Travelling around the world like she is the queen of Ireland, up her own h... and least we forget a FFer as well - how may major bills did she sign again on the orders of the boys in Leinster house.:mad:

Disagree - but that is why we generally get to have an election !!

You did recall them. Controversies, slip-ups, embarrassments, pick whatever phrase you want. It's the same anyway.

But in the surreal world of diplomatic nuance, that kind of stuff is controversial, but not a slip up - as it plays to inclusion etc etc - now we all know in reality it is flannel, but as part of a general programme of advancing Ireland Inc, that kind of stuff helps - in a very small way - but it helps.

The Prez is like a pilot - you only know they are there if there is a problem

Again - we may disagree on this point - which is why we have elections ! If she was going for a third term I would vote for her - you might choose elsewhere

14/08/2011, 12:31 PM

except we didnt last time!

14/08/2011, 12:56 PM
The blame for which we can lay firmly at the door of Labour.

14/08/2011, 11:51 PM

But in the surreal world of diplomatic nuance, that kind of stuff is controversial, but not a slip up - as it plays to inclusion etc etc - now we all know in reality it is flannel, but as part of a general programme of advancing Ireland Inc, that kind of stuff helps - in a very small way - but it helps.

Because it's a flannel, it's a controversy and an embarrassment. Didn't she have to apologise for her slip-ups in the past?

Anyway, Byrne has walked. No surprise tbh. The man is approaching 80, and not Trappattoni. He doesn't have the patience for The Mail, The Star, etc, splashing regular banner headlines about his salary, his funding, that he had Hors d'Oeuvres instead of Hash Browns for dinner in Dublin Castle, how much he spent on a trip to Somalia, how much of a scandal that he went to Bermuda for his holidays on taxpayers money instead of Bundoran, and having to explain himself all the time. He has a safe career as it is, and it's what he's comfortable with. The Irish media are now as intrusive and inquisitive as the British these days, and that degree of attention is not for him.

15/08/2011, 1:53 PM
As Poor Student points out, there is exactly one instance, ever, of a President here standing up to the Dail. It's hardly her failing that our presidency is a bit limp, politically. That'd be Dev's fault.

15/08/2011, 2:56 PM
How dare he stand up to the Dáil the thundering disgrace!

15/08/2011, 6:33 PM
Who was that John83? It definitely wasn't the current lump anyway, and I'm pretty sure Robinson never sent anything back unsigned.

culloty82
15/08/2011, 6:54 PM
As BonnieShels says, Cearbhall O'Dálaigh.

16/08/2011, 8:27 AM
And FF's next great white hope sticks his head into the ring...

Mícheal Ó Muircheartaigh to make a decision whether to enter the race by tomorrow after discussions with the family.

In other words, see what the News at One does with it today.

DannyInvincible
16/08/2011, 6:44 PM
"Support for Martin Sheen as Irish president grows": http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Support-for-Martin-Sheen-as-Irish-president-grows--127819948.html

Support for actor Martin Sheen to become the next Irish president has mushroomed on the Sheen for president Facebook page, reaching over 1,500 up from 300 on Monday.

A Sheen spokesman has told an Irish newspaper that they will issue a statement on the drive to have Sheen, an Irish citizen run in the election which will be held in late October.

:hypnotized:

freewheel30
16/08/2011, 7:21 PM
We could end up with Bosco as President at this rate.

16/08/2011, 7:26 PM
Is he 35+ ?

Spudulika
17/08/2011, 4:37 AM
Now we are getting what the government, FF and the scum who are still ripping off the country need - bread and games! The great unwashed (ie all of us) are busy chattering about who is going to be the next person out of the closet, while the country is getting taken to the cleaners by the same crew who dragged us into the abyss. I love how our media is now firmly British, the whole lot of them. Indo, Times and the English affiliates, RTE love it as they're doing what they're told and so keeping their licence fees. God bless Ireland.

17/08/2011, 8:32 AM
As Poor Student points out, there is exactly one instance, ever, of a President here standing up to the Dail. It's hardly her failing that our presidency is a bit limp, politically. That'd be Dev's fault.

As I was saying then! she was useless, another FF head doing nothing in a high position of authority - with the state of the nation we could do with a leader ready to shake things up a bit and get off the god damn fence!

17/08/2011, 4:50 PM
I have to say, I think I'd wee my pants a little if we had Sheen as prez. We'd be the coolest country every. :)

17/08/2011, 4:52 PM
Charlie or Martin? :)

(I did see Charlie's name mentioned somewhere.. possibly an online poll)

17/08/2011, 4:54 PM
I have to say, I think I'd wee my pants a little if we had Sheen as prez. We'd be the coolest country every. :)
I doubt he'd be as cool as you expect unless we could nab Sorkin as a speech-writer.

17/08/2011, 4:56 PM
Martin! Jesus Mr A, have a little faith in me!

17/08/2011, 5:16 PM
Ah now. With a man with tiger blood in his veins as president we'd always be winning.

Eminence Grise
17/08/2011, 11:17 PM
There are a lot of blindspots in how the president's role is seen.

The President has virtually no choice but to sign bills passed by the Oireachtas. There is power to refer unsigned bills to the Supreme Court to test their constitutionality. It’s seldom used, but it is used more than some posts here make out: 25-30 times in all - Robinson and McAleese referred around half of those. Take money bills and statutory instruments that never come before the Dáil out of that and there are actually very few bills for the president to look at.

Even worse, the President has to consult the Council of State before being allowed to refer a bill. That particular group of vested interests includes the Taoiseach, Tánaiste, Ceann Comhairle, Cathaoirleach and Attorney General, all former Taoisigh, Presidents and Chief Justices, as well as the president’s own choice of 7 members, so the President is hamstrung.... Incidentally, Mary Davis is on the council since 2004.

When Dev wrote the Constitution, he never wanted to have an executive president because that would too tightly define the republic he never created. So he left the office deliberately weak, allowing the Taoiseach to control it through the Oireachtas.

S’all in the constitution. Well, mostly...

BTW: Charlie Sheen for Prez! He could appoint Heidi Fleiss to the Council of State – we’d have a proper madam to manage the cute hoors... Adam, we’ll never be cool enough to have Père Sheen! You can uncross your legs!

19/08/2011, 5:37 PM
Groundswell of support surging for the inanimate carbon rod (http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/pages/Inanimate-Carbon-Rod-for-President-of-Ireland/234305433273638)apparently

Eminence Grise
19/08/2011, 7:24 PM
Funny.... and one of the people on that page is on the national executive of a political party, with designs on a Dail seat. Politicos do have a sense of humour after all!

ICR gets my #1!

culloty82
24/08/2011, 12:42 PM
Brian Crowley quits the race, realising FF won't run a candidate. Surely an open goal for Sinn Féin to select someone now, allowing themselves to be considered the "real" leaders of the opposition?

Angus
24/08/2011, 7:31 PM
Remains a mystery as to why Martin is allowing this to continue - the template for this is Inda - shortly after he took over a FG leader, and about a year out from the last Prez election, he announced no FG candidate - it was a story for 2 days and some people got emotional - but for that 2 days he killed it

Labout and Michael D then got all emotional on what they were going to do - so 3 days after the general election why did Martin not just announce that they weren't running anyone ?

25/08/2011, 1:32 PM
Because he's an idiot and its been proven that Inda has a for more political gumption than he was ever given credit for.

Eminence Grise
25/08/2011, 3:03 PM
Tricky Micky is notorious for commissioning reports - won't act until he gets a favourable one - and he's been delaying a decision until it's too late to mount a campaign. He's right not to run a FF candidate. The party is broke and hasn't got the €500,000 to fund a campaign, and the last thing it needs is for a candidate to come in the bottom half of the field. But, as if more proof were needed that FF exists on a different planet to the rest of us, there is still a large core in the party that thinks the general election was their only punishment and that they can win the presidency. Delusional....

Cuyahoga
30/08/2011, 5:06 PM
Date for the presidential election has been set for thursday 27th october.

legendz
03/09/2011, 9:48 AM
I hope Fine Gael do get the presidency. Everyone wanted to get revenge on Fianna Fail for the mess the country is in. The last thing FF want to see is a FG president.

Eminence Grise
03/09/2011, 10:28 AM
Nose, cut, spite and face? It's the last thing a lot of us want to see, in fairness! FG means Gay Mitchell - and he's oilier than an exploration field off the coast of Mayo... Didn't B****e A***n (sorry for having to use foul language!) once call him the evil of two lessers? I'd rather get revenge on FF in the next local elections - and really grind them into the dirt where it matters.

culloty82
03/09/2011, 7:50 PM
Fianna Fáil will be irrelevant for the next decade - none of their current TDs have the wherewithal to change public perceptions, especially when you look at the next generation (McConalogue, Niall Collins, Calleary), and even GE-level support in 2014 would halve their county and city councillor numbers. Still think Higgins will win, but while he has his qualities, it'll have more to do with the rest of the field than anything else.

03/09/2011, 8:19 PM
Fianna Fáil will be irrelevant for the next decade - none of their current TDs have the wherewithal to change public perceptions, especially when you look at the next generation (McConalogue, Niall Collins, Calleary), and even GE-level support in 2014 would halve their county and city councillor numbers. Still think Higgins will win, but while he has his qualities, it'll have more to do with the rest of the field than anything else.

eh FF = Fg !

05/09/2011, 12:18 PM
Nose, cut, spite and face? It's the last thing a lot of us want to see, in fairness! FG means Gay Mitchell - and he's oilier than an exploration field off the coast of Mayo...
I think that's a bit of a misconception about the exploration fields off of Mayo. For all their billions of dollars of drilling, there's been sweet feck-all oil so far. Of course that does suggest a solution to our national budget crisis: erect a derrick over Gay Mitchell and let the black gold flow.

Eminence Grise
05/09/2011, 10:20 PM
You can't keep a good man down... but several tons of Ready Mix would go a long way alright.:D "Gay Oil" - could be interesting brand extension opportunities there...

bluemovie
07/09/2011, 2:53 PM
erect a derrick over Gay Mitchell and let the black gold flow.

Oo-er missus! Some people might stumble upon that post accidentally with a google search.

07/09/2011, 8:47 PM
Can I be president? Far as I see, it doesn't matter a feck who president is as they have no shout in what happens anywhere just stand there and look pretty. I can be pretty.

07/09/2011, 9:19 PM
Oo-er missus! Some people might stumble upon that post accidentally with a google search.

I completely missed the wonderful innuendo there. I wonder... was it intentional... Missed opportunity or POTM contender?

07/09/2011, 10:27 PM
Can I be president? Far as I see, it doesn't matter a feck who president is as they have no shout in what happens anywhere just stand there and look pretty. I can be pretty.

You have to be over 35. So no.

You're also not that pretty.

08/09/2011, 11:55 AM
I unsubbed from this thread last night. That's how interested I am in the election at this stage...

Eminence Grise
09/09/2011, 9:44 AM
And in the latest twist in this fascinating - nay! downright gladiatorial - contest, Mary Davis and Gay Mitchell are slugging it out for the right to ... the naffest slogan since records began: "Pride at home. Respect abroad." http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0909/1224303758921.html

FG are also lifting the ban on their councillors endorsing other candidates. Cui bono?

Now, I just want to say...

Hello? Are you still awake out there? Ach, who cares anyway...

09/09/2011, 9:59 AM
Well, that Gay Mitchell appears likely to fail to get it adds a little bit of interest for me.

Eminence Grise
09/09/2011, 11:54 AM
On mature recollection, the cynic in me wonders at the timing and source of this story. The IT report reads like it came from an FG source (their accusation,followed by MD's response) and it makes me think it's being used deliberately to detract from FG's decision that its councillors can now nominate candidates. My guess is that councillors will only nominate candidates who can pull first preferences from independents and Michael D. That would be an abuse of public office, and fundamentally anti-democratic.

"FG in bid to secure nominations for no-hope candidates so Gay can triumph" might well be the real story of the day.

Edit
Heard a mention on The News at One that FG are denying any change in policy, and that councillors are still expected to support only GM. Make of that what you will.

thebooboys
10/09/2011, 12:53 AM
Attended the Cork City Council nomination process earlier this week. 4 speakers, (a deranged Corkman whose name I cant remember, a Mr. MacSweeny, a Mr Mulqueen, and Mr. Sean Gallagher) The vote went as follows -

5 or 6 Labour Councillors unanimously voted against the idea of allowing a vote on potential candidates
5/7 FG Councillors voted in favour of allowing the vote proceed
All 4 SF councillors voted in favour of allowing the vote proceed
2 Independent councillors voted in favour
1 WP and 1 Socialist councillor voted against
5 FF councillors voted in favour of allowing the contest proceed.

So the City Council agreed to allow a vote permitting the nomination of one of the 4 candidates who sought the nomination of which Sean Gallagher was selected through the support of SF, FF, 2 indo's and crucially the abstention of all FG councillors on the vote

Labour/ WP/ Socialist councillors all voted against.

Essentially FG's abstention allowed Gallagher to win the nomination, and was very surprised to see SF's support even though they themselves may have a candidate in the field.
Would like to know if Labour members were instructed to obstruct or left to their own devices.
Mary Davis along with the 4 aforementioned speakers will address the Cork County Council to seek a nomination next week, next Monday I think.

culloty82
11/09/2011, 12:38 PM
So it appears Norris could be about to re-enter the race, apparently FF and United Left have been canvassed and are prepared to give backing. Don't see the point at this stage, Mitchell would be the only real winner through the splitting of the left/liberal vote.

Eminence Grise
11/09/2011, 2:13 PM
True enough, and it wouldn't be a surprise. But you could also end up with a scenario where DN or Michael D's transfers would put the other in ahead of GM. With 5 candidates, there's very little chance of anybody getting much more than c.30% FPs. IF SG and MD exit first, their transfers (perhaps 12-18% of the poll) become important; I can see more of those going left/liberal than to GM because of SG's FF background, and MD being seen as an independent, so assuming he had a lead of, say 10% over Michael D or DN it would be eroded to single figures with three candidates left. Whichever of them is third at that stage becomes the king maker, with something in the region of 25% of the poll transferring, say 3:1 left:right. Just surmising...

A lot of the hullabulloo around DN was that because of politicians withdrawing their support, voters were being denied their right to decide whether or not he would be a suitable candidate for the presidency. We're into the dog days of the nominations now, and IIRC McAleese was only nominated about three weeks or so before the election began; some pollster a few months ago (can't recall who, might have been Noel Whelan) predicted that a late candidate could do well. The campaign might be about to get interesting again...

Spudulika
12/09/2011, 1:35 AM
Is this not all down to the media playing games? They played him up to the audience, then turned on him (a least the sensible middle, the luvvies do their own thing) and the last couple of weeks have been leaking "polls" and opinions of how he'd do well if he came back in. If his ego is big enough to step back in right now then he's less of an intellectual heavyweight than he considers himself to be. He was my number 1 until the letters to Israel came out, even then I would still have given him the benefit of the doubt (he mightn't have been told the full sceal etc) and he withdrew gracefully and intelligently. But taking FF backing, no, it defeats everything he ever spoke about. This is the chief culprit (party) behind the destruction between the greatest Viking and early Medieval site in Europe, an incident which saw DN lie in front of bulldozers (along with Mary Robinson, John Bradley and FX Martin) and they back him. Has to be an early April fools.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ff-shutout-to-scupper-new-norris-aras-bid-2873524.html

Looks like the remnants of the evil empire will remove all doubt today.

12/09/2011, 11:45 AM
You know you're fecked when even FF are running scared! http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0912/1224303946740.html