View Full Version : 2011 Presidential Election

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Eminence Grise
06/06/2011, 9:09 PM
You could add campaigning for the decriminalisation of homosexuality and preserving Georgian Dublin, and being an internationally regarded Joycean scholar.

Hurt Locker
07/06/2011, 5:58 AM
I think people are more concerned about the flip side of the coin.

It's getting worse for Mr. Norris.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1394458/Sex-abuse-survivor-My-anger-Senator-David-Norris-disturbing-views-paedophilia.html#ixzz1OXa4NJAT

Spudulika
07/06/2011, 5:59 AM
Agreed on Georgian Dublin, though he was one of a larger group. The homosexuality issue was one where he proved that there was a general groundswell in support for changes in the law, though I always hesitate in commending in fully for it as there have been rumours of "outing" that seemed to put pressure on people. I say rumours as I have never seen anything substantiated and in cases such as this there is always idle gossip.

Eminence Grise
07/06/2011, 8:38 AM

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1394458/Sex-abuse-survivor-My-anger-Senator-David-Norris-disturbing-views-paedophilia.html#ixzz1OXa4NJAT

The Daily Mail.... A thoroughly absorbing paper...

In fairness to her she's an able spokesperson, but her experiences are such that impartiality is impossible (and lest anyone think I'm having a go at her, I had three uncles who spent some years in in the similarly tender care of this state) and the Mail doesn't let bias get in the way of a juicy story.

I know some say there's no smoke without fire, but my mother had a saying for the delusional: "'twill be a grand fire when it lights," said the monkey pi55ing in the snow.

Until I hear the recorded interview, I'm keeping an open mind. The longer it goes on without hearing it, the more sceptical I become.

07/06/2011, 10:04 AM

And there was me expecting the Mail to be fully behind Norris. Case closed, obviously.

07/06/2011, 10:20 AM

As mentioned, the daily mail!!!!!:mad:

07/06/2011, 10:50 AM
If you read the article Norris explains most of his viewpoints quite well. There's an argument regarding sexual maturity and the age at which consent can be considered as key to a sexual encounter. The fact that the legal age of consent varies greatly from place to place gives legitimacy to the arguement. His defence of O'Searchaigh comes down to the fact that he was being subjected to a trial by media which had little reference to fact or legality. Norris may be guilty of speaking too freely for someone with ambitions to become president but, liberal, intellectual debate is very different to condoning child sexual abuse.

Hurt Locker
07/06/2011, 11:24 AM
So that's the sindo, indo, IT, BT, MoS who are anti Norris. I'm sure more can and will be added to the list.

People who don't understand where Mr Norris is coming from are Farmers from down the country, breakfast roll eaters, white van drivers and blocklayers.

Miss Buckley, 64, says she was left completely bewildered and betrayed by the man who had supported her in her quest for justice for the victims of clerical abuse.

You have got to ask yourself way?
Far from an open and shut case!

07/06/2011, 11:40 AM
^^^ Is that a puzzle? Are we supposed to rearrange the words or something?

Hurt Locker
07/06/2011, 11:48 AM
^^^ Is that a puzzle? Are we supposed to rearrange the words or something?

Sorry, something wrong with my netbook since I came back from France, i edited it, HTH.

Eminence Grise
07/06/2011, 11:57 AM
So that's the sindo, indo, IT, BT, MoS who are anti Norris. I'm sure more can and will be added to the list.

People who don't understand where Mr Norris is coming from are Farmers from down the country, breakfast roll eaters, white van drivers and blocklayers.

Miss Buckley, 64, says she was left completely bewildered and betrayed by the man who had supported her in her quest for justice for the victims of clerical abuse.

You have got to ask yourself way?
Far from an open and shut case!

With the exception of John Waters, who is involved in the issue and finding the anger now that he didn’t appear to have a decade ago to denounce Norris (speaks volumes for the moral courage of our columnists!) I think the IT editorial line has been to call for clarification, and not at all condemnatory. INM Sindo/Indo is notoriously contrarian, and generally takes a line in favour of the incumbent government as long as it is in its best interests to do so (expect columns lionising Pat Cox if he gets the FG nod) and the Mail is a rag masquerading as a mid-market tabloid. Your sources are seriously lacking in credibility and impartiality - you have got to ask yourself why?

If this was really going to have legs, it would have had them by now; the Sunday papers had a week to prepare exclusives and shock stories. Where were they? More to the point, where are the pol corr heavyweights, not the columnists and regular staffers, in all of this? The questions I’m asking are why HLB and John Waters only remembered this now, not before any of the Seanad campaigns Norris contested. And who jogged HLB’s memory in the first place?

Hurt Locker
07/06/2011, 12:19 PM
Answer the question, why has Miss Buckley issues with Mr.Norris?

"experiences are such that impartiality is impossible" = Waffle, I would think the exact opposite.

If the local teacher or priest made Mr Norris comments I don't think it would blow over after a while.

Eminence Grise
07/06/2011, 1:32 PM
"experiences are such that impartiality is impossible" = Waffle, I would think the exact opposite.

Hurt Locker - do you know what it means to hurt? Because I'll tell you: I don't. I can't begin to imagine it.

Do you want me to spell out the kind of experiences that she would have suffered? Or my uncles? FFS, we don't need to go into details about the rape and the beatings and the near starvation to understand that once you're exposed to that level of torture it takes an exceptional kind of person, a Mandela if you will, to move beyond it and become impartial. Do you think you have what it takes? I know I don't. My uncles were destroyed by it: their lives were dominated by alcoholism and despair and broken marriages, and a feeling that they had done wrong and deserved their punishment (for fecking apples and turnips to give to their mother, abandoned by a drunken husband in 1950s Holy Ireland). Can you believe that? For forty years Uncle R felt he deserved to be "touched" by a priest in a borstal. They have (had; one passed away last year in his early 60s) an inability to forgive the Church for what was done to them, and their views on these issues are coloured by their experiences. My point was that she has had similar issues, and while she may have made a better life for herself than other survivors of abuse, any right-minded person would conclude that she is less likely to have an impartial view of the Norris interview than people who have never been exposed to violence. It doesn't mean her view is wrong; it's just partial.

07/06/2011, 1:35 PM
If the local teacher or priest made Mr Norris comments I don't think it would blow over after a while.
Obviously it's different - He's not in a position of power or trust of children though, and he doesn't have a history of hiding/ facilitate abusers like the Church did (does?) in parishes and schools. Even if was president, he wouldn't have direct access to children, if the comments somehow make him a danger.

Hurt Locker
07/06/2011, 2:00 PM
Hurt = physical damage to the body caused by violence, psychological suffering the death of somebody. Yes I know what hurt is. Don't be so condesending. Impartiality is the word you used.

I'm firmly with Miss Buckley on her comments.

Obvious some people can make comments and others can't. Can't see the lodgic in that!

Eminence Grise
07/06/2011, 11:21 PM
Obvious some people can make comments and others can't. Can't see the lodgic in that!

Nobody's preventing you from voicing your opinions (apart from your less than considered contribution that not unreasonably ended up in the Rubbish forum) although from a quick scan through this thread you seem to be marching to your own drum, with very few followers.

Pursuing the Norris thing now seems like flogging a dead horse. The media have lost interest in the story; new candidates are raising their heads above the parapet - Gay Mitchell is making interesting noises, Niall O'Dowd has been mentioned - and maybe the story needs to move on to new pastures.

Hurt Locker
08/06/2011, 7:25 AM
Nobody's preventing you from voicing your opinions (apart from your less than considered contribution that not unreasonably ended up in the Rubbish forum) although from a quick scan through this thread you seem to be marching to your own drum, with very few followers.

Pursuing the Norris thing now seems like flogging a dead horse. The media have lost interest in the story; new candidates are raising their heads above the parapet - Gay Mitchell is making interesting noises, Niall O'Dowd has been mentioned - and maybe the story needs to move on to new pastures.

Attack the post not the poster!

I'm not looking for followers.

Pat Cox is the man to watch, that's why he's the bookies favorite. It's FG's to lose now.

As for the "some people can make comments " reference, I was reffering to Norris v Teacher or Priest scenario.

I have no issues with Hamster giving me a warning, it was worth it.

As Mr. Norris knows when your explaining your losing!

Mr. Norris walked into his own selfmade sh1tstorm, get over it. It's basicly going to cost him, from a seemingly run away position.

culloty82
08/06/2011, 7:37 AM
Attack the post not the poster!

I'm not looking for followers.

Pat Cox is the man to watch, that's why he's the bookies favorite. It's FG's to lose now.

As Mr. Norris knows when your explaining your losing!

Mr. Norris walked into his own selfmade sh1tstorm, get over it. It's basicly going to cost him, from a seemingly run away position.

As was explained earlier, Cox's political history makes it extremely unlikely he'd win FG's nomination, let alone become President - McGuinness could perform well, but still think it's between Higgins and Norris. As EG says, the story is running out of steam, any book on Ancient Greece or Greek mythology pretty much backs up what he intended to say, even if it was foolish to go off on an intellectual meandering.

Hurt Locker
08/06/2011, 8:07 AM
As was explained earlier, Cox's political history makes it extremely unlikely he'd win FG's nomination, let alone become President - McGuinness could perform well, but still think it's between Higgins and Norris. As EG says, the story is running out of steam, any book on Ancient Greece or Greek mythology pretty much backs up what he intended to say, even if it was foolish to go off on an intellectual meandering.

Cox applied to join the FG party in Cork last night. Why did FG MEP Sean Kelly withdraw?

08/06/2011, 8:23 AM
Cox wouldn't bother joining FG, unless he was in with a real shout of the nomination, imo. There's enough credible candidates that have ruled themselves out in FG. Not sure what Gay Mitchell is thinking - maybe a gay candidate upset his base.

DannyInvincible
08/06/2011, 8:38 AM
As for the "some people can make comments " reference, I was reffering to Norris v Teacher or Priest scenario.

It was already pointed out to you that the context of the comments is crucial to forming a judgment. Norris isn't in a position - nor will be be if he does happen to win the presidential election - that entrusts him with the care or responsibility of minors. That's the distinction.

08/06/2011, 9:40 AM
What do people make of Niall O'Dowd throwing his hat in the ring? There was a letter in the IT today wondering whether somebody who is a naturalised US citizenship can run for the presidency? Dev had US citizenship from birth, and acquired Irish citizenship, but this is the reverse of that particular coin.
As far as I'm aware, you can have dual Irish/ US citizenship, so I'd be surprised if O'Dowd doesn't have it. To be honest, I'd consider him another independent FFer - he was certainly a cheerleader for them during the boom. I know he's the brother of Fergus, but I'm pretty sure I remember a documentary on him a few years ago where he said he was an FF supporter despite his background. I think he could be an alright president, but anyone who was a backer of Bartholomew is forever tainted for me.

Eminence Grise
08/06/2011, 9:47 AM
anyone who was a backer of Bartholomew is forever tainted for me.

That's like something you'd read in Paradise Lost to describe one of Beelzebub's disciples!:D

I'm ambivalent on O'Dowd running, although he does have better connections in the US than any other putative candidate, and they might be useful in the next few years. I'd prefer him to Cox, who jumps from political bed to political bed seeking his own self-promotion (FF to PD to Independent to FG?). Mary O'Rourke called him smug on radio the other day; rich coming from a backer of Bartholomew (like Enda Kenny, i'm paying you a tribute by stealing your best lines!)

Angus
08/06/2011, 12:26 PM
Angus, you've asked the questions that the meeja should be asking, but won't as they won't sell adverts!

Why would I vote for DN, what has he done?
1. He was a leader in the fight to save Wood Quay. He, along with Mary Robinson and John Bradley, and FX Martin, lay down in front of bulldozers and were kicked senseless in the bid to get them out of the way. He spoke massive amounts of sense about how we were destroying the past for future generations and how short term gain was killing long term profit. Also he was one of those who pointed out that the destruction of the most significant Viking settlement in the World did not have to be destroyed so completely.
2. He asked questions in the Seanaid in 1989-90 formally complaining about the shenanigans (his words) of the then DPP in relation to sex abuse cases in a major North Dublin Primary and Secondary School. He challenged the CB's to come forward with explanations and went so far as to go to the Gardai in the area to register a complaint.
3. He has been involved in a number of very charitable causes and not been seen to do so. I can name 2 that can be followed up on including the right for women to be allowed box (anyone who went to NUI Maynooth between 1997-99 can verify this). The second was in raising funds for an animal shelter in Ashtown.
4. Academically, while narrowly published, he is very respected abroad, in the Centre of Irish Studies in Voronezh a number of his papers are used for end of year tests - I always said that if you can understand what the heck he's on about then you get a 1st class honour!

I believe he is a decent person, who needs to calm himself down, who can be a great ambassador for Ireland and who can really help our economy. However I do fear that his chance has gone and we'll be stuck with a party animal, but not the good Road Trip kind.

Good ! OK, some genuine achievements there....

DannyInvincible
08/06/2011, 7:09 PM
As far as I'm aware, you can have dual Irish/ US citizenship

Yeah, the US imposes no limitation on its citizen possessing dual citizenship.

The out of context argument would not save a Teachers job or a Priest, and will not stop Mr Norris losing votes from people who were going to vote for him. He admits this himself.

I think that's something slightly different. Anyway, you said you couldn't see the logic in why it might be considered more irresponsible or whatever for a teacher or priest to discuss what Norris was discussing in an intellectual capacity. If you can't see that there might be a distinction there given that the former examples are entrusted with roles of responsibility over children in their professional duty whilst Norris is not, nor will be, fair enough.

What particular content of what Norris said has you getting so up in arms?

Spudulika
08/06/2011, 8:22 PM
You know what, Bertie is beginning to look not so bad with how things are going. At least we know he'd be able to smooze, plus we know his price.

08/06/2011, 9:51 PM
Hurt Locker suspended for 1 week as a result of 3 infractions in quick succession. Also permabanned from Current Affairs for the homophobic nonsense I've moved to the bin. I trust we can move back to a more mature level now...

peadar1987
08/06/2011, 10:27 PM
Hurt Locker suspended for 1 week as a result of 3 infractions in quick succession. Also permabanned from Current Affairs for the homophobic nonsense I've moved to the bin. I trust we can move back to a more mature level now...

I'm sorely tempted to make a grossly homophobic remark just to drag the thread back down! And I wouldn't even be able to redeem myself by posting something interesting or insightful about any of the candidates!

For what it's worth, I think that if Norris had said that his opinions had changed over the past few years, it'd be suicide, as it would imply to many people that he did support paedophilia at some point. I think the best course of action*, politically speaking, is to say that the quotes were taken out of context. And with the elusiveness of the tapes (or the machinery to play them on, to be precise), it's looking like this could well be the truth.

*Save simply being Bertie, who can tell people to kill themselves with apparent impunity

culloty82
09/06/2011, 7:40 AM
I'm sorely tempted to make a grossly homophobic remark just to drag the thread back down! And I wouldn't even be able to redeem myself by posting something interesting or insightful about any of the candidates!

For what it's worth, I think that if Norris had said that his opinions had changed over the past few years, it'd be suicide, as it would imply to many people that he did support paedophilia at some point. I think the best course of action*, politically speaking, is to say that the quotes were taken out of context. And with the elusiveness of the tapes (or the machinery to play them on, to be precise), it's looking like this could well be the truth.

*Save simply being Bertie, who can tell people to kill themselves with apparent impunity

In response to today's Daily Mail, Norris has released this letter:

Over the last number of days quotes, opinions and beliefs on a range of societal
issues have been attributed to me, some correct and others grossly inaccurate.
To combat any further confusion or interpretation of my position on these matters
I have personally outlined below my opinions on the subjects raised.

As the longest serving Senator of the State I fight on a daily basis for a better
society for all, introducing legislation and structures to support the most
vulnerable citizens of our country. My record is testament to my commitment in
this area.

With your continued support I will carry on my campaign to become President of
Ireland, with even greater and renewed impetus, determination and strength; A
President who will represent its people.

Legalising Drugs

Living in inner-city Dublin, I am acutely aware of the harmful affects that the
drug culture has had on my community and wider society. The blunt instrument
of criminalisation is not working because of the vast profits it generates for
organised crime. No country can face this problem on its own. I believe that there
needs to be a European led global response. Hard as it is to accept, my view is
that the welfare of the community, including the victims of drug abuse may be
better served by having access to quality controlled, legally prescribed drugs.

What is your view on prostitution?

My views and opinions on prostitution have always been directed towards the
welfare and protection of the women involved and the introduction of whatever
means necessary to ensure their safety and well-being.

What is your view on incest?

Incest is morally and medically wrong. It is dangerous and illegal and justifiably
so.

What is your view on abortion?

The issue of abortion is always a sensitive, personal and emotive issue in our
society. I believe that access to information and education is the true champion of
reducing the instance of abortion. My hope is that both sides in this difficult moral
debate will respect each other’s differences.

The Catholic Church

I have very many Catholic friends and as a devout Christian, I have the greatest
respect for the commitment and faith shown by many people, the length and
breath of the country. My criticisms are not aimed at the honest decent men
and women of faith, who have played a significant role in the founding and
development of our country, but rather with the Vatican as a political entity and
institution and its interference in matters of state. Also as a gay man, I find the
Pope’s teachings on homosexuality negative and ill-informed.

Child Protection

I abhor child abuse in all its forms: psychological, sexual or emotional. I have
always campaigned for Children’s rights and was central in introducing the
appointment of guardian ad litem (mandatory legal representation for children) to
child protection cases in court to ensure that the rights of the child are properly
represented. I have also spoken out strongly in the Seanad on the recent
Roscommon Child abuse case and on all reports into child abuse. My record in
this area speaks for itself.

Cathal O’Searcaigh

I have only met Cathal O’Searcaigh once on Wicklow St. in Dublin, I have no
other connection or relationship to him. I am a strong believer in natural justice
and if the allegations that were made in the documentary are true this is a matter
for the authorities to investigate and if necessary to prosecute if a crime has been
demonstrated. I feel that the trial by media that took place around this issue
would have frustrated any proceedings and that a court of law was the place to
have these discussions and not on afternoon chat shows.

Age of consent

In my view, the people best equipped to make these difficult moral and legal
decisions are the judiciary. Legislation based on the principle of consent
empowers the judiciary.
Consent based on age, has resulted in many instances in the inappropriate
criminal prosecution of minors.
This is the approach that I would personally support.

Pederasty

Pederasty is a term describing sexual relations between an older and a younger
man in ancient Greece. My experience as a young man in Dublin was that there
were no social outlets for gay men. I was left in ignorance by society and didn’t
consciously meet another gay male until I was in my 20s. The subject was
surrounded by silence and fear. Then I read Plato’s symposium, in which there is
a discussion about the nature of love. The greatest philosopher ever argued that
physical love was the gateway to spiritual love, very movingly it concludes with
the most beautiful young man in Athens, Alcibiades admitting that he has offered
himself sexually to Socrates in return for sharing in Socrates’ wisdom. This text
was preserved throughout the middle ages. I saw this enlightening approach and
experience as a much more interesting and preferable introduction to sexuality
than my own experience. That is my own personal opinion.

Spectrum of justice

As a legislator and a citizen, I have always upheld and supported the law. I
believe in justice delivered proportionately, across the spectrum of the relevant
crime. Sexual abuse is always wrong, but as in all crimes, there is a spectrum
and this is appropriately recognised in sentencing policy and throughout Irish law.

Media Reporting of Abuse

My comments relating to the impact of media reporting on the victims of sex
abuse being worse than the actual abuse have been misconstrued and have
caused hurt, for which I am saddened. I have always spoken out on behalf of the
victims of abuse and feel that anyone that has suffered any form of abuse, must
report it to the authorities and the perpetrators should face the full rigours of the
law. I would like to think that people would judge me on my track record on child
protection and my political contribution in this area.

Every candidate in every election has personal opinions, which they must set
aside in order to fulfil their public duties and I intend to be no different and to
reflect the broad opinions of a proud Irish nation.

Senator David Norris
9th June 2011

09/06/2011, 7:49 AM
Norris on Morning Ireland now.

09/06/2011, 12:54 PM
What is your view on incest?

Wow thats a great question to ask. Will all the candidates be asked this vital question?:mad:

09/06/2011, 2:24 PM
Wow thats a great question to ask. Will all the candidates be asked this vital question?:mad:

No not all. Just the ones from Kerry, North Cork, East Clare, Offaly, Mayo, Fermanagh...

Spudulika
09/06/2011, 8:39 PM
I'm thinking horse, bolted, stable, door, close. He can't help himself on some subjects, it's pure ego and arrogance, which is a mark of his goodness as a person, academic and debater, however he dug his own grave. Criticising a religious institution for it's views on lifestyle choice is nuts. Especially in modern Ireland. And pederasty - David, let it go. You need to lighten up and do a Father Ted (anyone think of the Chienese episode and the local bigot lady?)

10/06/2011, 9:38 AM
The Journal had another poll and Norris is still miles ahead. I'd imagine that reflects a lot on the readership of an online news site like the journal as well as the fact that Norris supporters seem to be very active online. If you want to annoy yourself then have a read of the comments after.
http://www.thejournal.ie/poll-who-would-get-your-vote-for-president-of-ireland-now-151619-Jun2011/

10/06/2011, 10:16 AM
I'm not going to link to garbage, but I noticed another article by John Waters popping up in on google news this morning saying: "The media should withdraw from electioneering and go back to doing its job." I reckon one more article and he'll fold back in on himself and disappear in a puff of smoke as the world finally notices and deals with an impossible anomaly.

To channel Denis Leary: "Talk about the pot and the f*cking kettle!"

Eminence Grise
10/06/2011, 12:00 PM
John Waters ... one more article and he'll fold back in on himself and disappear in a puff of smoke[/I]

Let it be soon!

Meanwhile, Gay Mitchell could scupper Pat Cox's chances of a FG nomination with a late decision to seek the party nomination. Should go down well with the FG grass roots,and I reckon he would have a better chance of winning than Cox.
http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0610/president.html

And David Norris needs to stop talking right now. I hate to say it, but he's getting abysmal communications advice. Every time he appears in public he draws attention to the issue, rather than drawing a line under it. I can't remember which station I was listening to yesterday, but a pol corr reckoned he has 10 Oireachtas nominees in the bag, with the ULA likely to add their 5 to him since there is no leftwing candidate. He needs to canvass the Oireachtas to get the remaining 5 (or 10) nominees, and then concentrate on winning public support.

10/06/2011, 12:14 PM
The idea of Cox as President is abhorrent to me. He's a nasty piece of work and no mistake.

10/06/2011, 12:25 PM
The idea of Cox as President is abhorrent to me. He's a nasty piece of work and no mistake.
Mitchell is worse - already out with the "Christian Democrat" nonsense for the anti gay camp. Mind you, most will associate Christian Democrat with Merkel, so not sure it's that good a card to play anyway.

culloty82
10/06/2011, 6:55 PM
In other news, it seems the Greens are putting out feelers about running Mary White as a candidate. Of course, confusingly FF's Mary White also has had interest in running for the job in the past.

11/06/2011, 12:11 PM
Sexuality discussion split to here (http://foot.ie/threads/152631-Sexuality-learned-or-innate).

Eminence Grise
11/06/2011, 12:32 PM
In other news, it seems the Greens are putting out feelers about running Mary White as a candidate. Of course, confusingly FF's Mary White also has had interest in running for the job in the past.

So let me get this straight. The Green’s White is different to the other White who is a White chocolate maker who owns Lir. Which is clear enough, unless the White Chocolate maker uses organic or Fair Trade cocoa, in which case she also becomes a Green White.

Of course, neither are really experienced politicians. Green White (the original) was a junior minister, which makes her a slightly less green Green White than the more green Green White, who was only a senator.

But then there’s Green and Blacks and...

Oh now I’m very confused.

11/06/2011, 6:15 PM

fair point - we all know that he should really have been asked:

"Mr. Norris, is it true that you would love to have Cox in the Aras?"

Spudulika
11/06/2011, 7:29 PM
fair point - we all know that he should really have been asked:

"Mr. Norris, is it true that you would love to have Cox in the Aras?"

I can hear everybody going - "ooh matron!".

Of the runners right now David Norris looks like the best option, if he can get some better media/pr people in with him. Pat Cox and Gay Mitchell won't make it, Mary White is an outsider, though if Fergus Finlay is going to be in the race, he'd be in the lead.

It all depends on "super Monday", if the 4 councils he's proposing himself too back him, then we have to look at Mr. Norris being in the lead.

12/06/2011, 12:35 PM
One thing politically women can't complain about, is the lack of representation for the role of state bill-signer, having had the role since 1990, so Mairead McGuinness would be a good choice. The only thing she would have to do is to sign a few Dail/Seanad bills per month, call a general election, and appoint the government, so it's a handy job.

13/06/2011, 10:18 AM
In other news, it seems the Greens are putting out feelers about running Mary White as a candidate.
Excellent - I'd love to see her take another electoral kicking. Probably won't get the chance, as loads of councillors will do the job first. Awful politician imo.

culloty82
18/06/2011, 7:50 PM
Avril Doyle becomes the fourth FG candidate - bonfire of the inanities, anyone?

culloty82
19/06/2011, 5:11 PM
As expected, Michael D wins Labour's nomination with 37 votes to Finlay's 17 and O'Meara's 7, at least now there's one name I'd be happy to give a preference to.

Cuyahoga
19/06/2011, 8:08 PM
I always thought he ws a prat he wont be getting a vote from me. Fergus Finlay would have been a better choice in my opinion.

Spudulika
20/06/2011, 11:55 AM
Never liked Michael Twee, he's a legacy candidate and won't win. If he can get his image right it means Mr. Norris has just been given a leg up. FG seem to be producing hopefuls like they do broken promises.

20/06/2011, 12:58 PM
Norris isn't even a candidate, but Micheal D has given him a leg up?

I think Finlay would've been a good president, but I'd say Higgins has a good cross party appeal. Not going on anything scientific, but the older generation (more likely to vote) that I spoke too in the run up to Labour selecting, and since, who wouldn't be Labour voters at all seem to have time for Higgins. Whereas Finlay was dismissed as having never stood for office and never put himself in the direct firing line etc.

He's the first actual candidate, but he's head and shoulders above the FG nominee's and the independent FFers looking for nomination. However, him and Norris would be fighting for part of the same vote, if Norris ever makes the ballot.