View Full Version : Robbie Brady (M Preston b.1992)

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

05/12/2011, 5:21 PM
What? He went to shield the ball because normally Brady would attempt to go shoulder to shoulder. The tackle was completely unnecessary. Maybe he doesn't swing the leg around but the way he goes in he stills takes the defender's legs out from under him.

Again pretty ridiculous, Brady goes to play the ball, which is the fundamental right of a football player, it is the other player who goes to 'play Brady'
ie body check him or obstruct him with his body, that is illegal in football (unless you are playing gridiron football where tackling off the ball is allowed).
How can a tackle be completely unnecessary???? He got the ball, that is a necessary part of the game!!!

05/12/2011, 5:33 PM
Because Hull are not appealing, does not mean they think it was straight red card offense. Once a ref decides it was a straight red card, then that becomes the truth by default.
Red cards are turned over a few times a year, aren't they? Hull not appealing means that while they thought it was harsh, they reckon the 3-game ban would likely be upheld or extended as the rules are commonly interpreted.

I actually think, if anything, that makes it a fairer attempt. From looking at it the ball is there to be played but the angle of the Southampton player means, to play it, a tackler would have to come 'round the corner', at an angle. Brady could've went straight through the guy, but instead, he tries to play the ball first by swinging his right leg round to play it.

It doesn't quite come off for him - it's a foul for me - but it's still a tough challenge, in the spirit of the game. Zero malice in it. Over-exuberant maybe, full-blooded sure, but definitely not a red. I think he's very unlucky.
I think he was unlucky, sure, but I think he was reckless too. Youthful exuberance I think people call it.

Again pretty ridiculous, Brady goes to play the ball, which is the fundamental right of a football player, it is the other player who goes to 'play Brady'
ie body check him or obstruct him with his body, that is illegal in football (unless you are playing gridiron football where tackling off the ball is allowed).
How can a tackle be completely unnecessary???? He got the ball, that is a necessary part of the game!!!
No, not body check, getting to the ball first and putting his body in the way. It happens dozens of times in every game. It's Brady's job to either get to the ball or win it cleanly.

05/12/2011, 5:33 PM
Just watch the Southampton player, he makes no attempt to move to the ball just to block Brady with a body check, that is illegal.
If it is a 50/50 ball you can use a shoulder charge to hold your ground as you go the ball but can't just body check a player off the
ball like that.
Can't believe he got sent off, the game has gone mad!!

Also if Hull appeal they risk the ban being lengthened.

I simply do not understand how playing the ball can get you sent off, whilst not playing the ball and barging into another
player trying to play the ball gets not sanction!! Lets face it if the other player had tried to play the ball as he should have, then
there would have been no incident as such. The game has gone mad.

05/12/2011, 5:37 PM
No, not body check, getting to the ball first and putting his body in the way. It happens dozens of times in every game. It's Brady's job to either get to the ball or win it cleanly.

He does not get to the ball first, in fact he never touches it!!
Total miscarriage of justice!!!

05/12/2011, 5:47 PM
It doesn't matter that he didn't touch the ball. He was between Brady and the ball and Brady went through him. You can debate whether it was a red card but there's no way you could possibly argue it wasn't a foul.

05/12/2011, 6:00 PM
It doesn't matter that he didn't touch the ball. He was between Brady and the ball and Brady went through him. You can debate whether it was a red card but there's no way you could possibly argue it wasn't a foul.

The only reason 'Brady went through him' was because he recklessly threw himself into the path of Brady
id Brady had not gone down to avoid avoid him there coudl have been a potentially fatal clash of heads.
He even stick his arm across Robbies chest.

05/12/2011, 6:05 PM
So you've now upgraded it from a body check to attempted murder? I can't wait to find out what happens next.

05/12/2011, 6:12 PM
Red cards are turned over a few times a year, aren't they?
To quote a reliable source "The FA's appeals policy is generally seen as quite restrictive and only a small percentage of red cards are ever overturned"

Hull not appealing means that while they thought it was harsh, they reckon the 3-game ban would likely be upheld or extended as the rules are commonly interpreted.
I don't know why Hull decided not to appeal. I would refer you to the reliable source quoted above, as a probable incentive for a club to decide not to appeal.
The burden of proof is on the player to prove the ref wrong. And I refer you to the reliable source quoted above to reflect just how difficult a task that is.

05/12/2011, 7:10 PM
I shouldn't have said overturned actually - they'd probably have been better arguing that no more than a game was sufficient. The system is strict but if they had a decent shout, they could have gone for it.

Metrostars
05/12/2011, 8:22 PM
Jeez, that's nothing.

05/12/2011, 9:07 PM
Anyone see the Spearing straight red for Liverpool at Fulham? Won the ball cleanly, no doubt, but again a reckless lunge. If he didn't win the ball it was a leg breaker. And this time his opponent was much closer and in front of him.

Some will think the game has gone mad but I'd have played football for a few years longer if some fecker hadn't felt it was OK to lunge feet first at speed.

3 words: Duty of care.

SwanVsDalton
05/12/2011, 9:22 PM
Anyone see the Spearing straight red for Liverpool at Fulham? Won the ball cleanly, no doubt, but again a reckless lunge. If he didn't win the ball it was a leg breaker. And this time his opponent was much closer and in front of him.

Some will think the game has gone mad but I'd have played football for a few years longer if some fecker hadn't felt it was OK to lunge feet first at speed.

3 words: Duty of care.

Funny enough Stutts was watching the game and after I saw the tackle I immediately thought of this discussion.

For me this is a perfect example of what you're referring to - the ball was there to be played and he played it, but in terms of technique and nastiness it was diabolical.

Why he felt the need to go off this feet and two footed when a perfectly ordinary slide tackle would've sufficed is beyond me.

This possibly goes back to you initial point - this kid is supposed to be a Premier League standard midfielder but that was a horrendously executed tackle. Maybe there's some coaching points being skipped here.

05/12/2011, 9:24 PM
Exactly, like how to tackle. And the commentators shamefully passed over addressing the issue at hand. They let all the kids out there learning the game wondering why, if he won the ball, was it even a foul. No mention of Edoardo or others who have been out out for a year by genuine but reckless lunge.

05/12/2011, 9:24 PM
Yeah it was definitely worse than Brady's. He got the ball and then his studs flew right and took Dembele out of it. If Dembele had been a second earlier and nipped the ball away his ankle would likely be in 100 pieces by now.

05/12/2011, 10:07 PM
I would have sent the Southampton guy off.

French Toasht
05/12/2011, 10:10 PM
I hate seeing red cards for challenges like this. An almost identical tackle ruled me out of the Kennedy Cup final as a kid.

Still feel bitter about it to this day.

boovidge
05/12/2011, 11:24 PM
I don't agree with giving red cards for perfectly good tackles. Haven't seen the Liverpool one but Brady's sending off was a joke.

05/12/2011, 11:44 PM
Had just turned on the game at Craven Cottage when the Spearing tackle happened.

The straight red was merited. Terrible lunge.

06/12/2011, 9:17 AM
I've missed the last two pages. Did we agree that he'll probably get a call up in the new year, but is unlikely to get into the squad for the Championships?

Predator
06/12/2011, 9:21 AM
Should there be a training camp for potential additions, Brady is very likely to be included. Brady's club form aside, Noel King frequently informs Trapattoni of players who are worth monitoring.

06/12/2011, 10:53 AM
From reading reports at the weekend, there seems like there is going to be:

a training camp, a friendly, a Poland camp and a mini-tournament before the finals take place.

I'm not sure what the logistics of all that are, but the FAI organising a B international around the February date should happen, as there enough players showing signs now that they could be an option. Off the top of my head, Randolph, Forde, McCann, Treacy, Brady, Meyler, Foley, Cunningham, Hoolahan, Pilkington, Tierney, Coleman, Clark, Wilson, Best, Stokes, Joey O'Brien, Jeff Hendricks, would form the nucleus of a decent side;

Edit, that was stoopid.

SwanVsDalton
06/12/2011, 11:09 AM
I'm not sure how useful a B international would be at this point. Realistically there's only two spots, max, available to bolters, notwithstanding injuries. I'd rather Trap identified where we're weak, find who's excelling in those positions and start them in the full international friendly in February.

Nothing against the B international mind, just at this point don't think we'd learn anything beyond getting a lot of players involved who haven't a chance of going to the finals.

Olé Olé
06/12/2011, 2:22 PM
From reading reports at the weekend, there seems like there is going to be:

a training camp, a friendly, a Poland camp and a mini-tournament before the finals take place.

I'm not sure what the logistics of all that are, but the FAI organising a B international around the February date should happen, as there enough players showing signs now that they could be an option. Off the top of my head, Randolph, Forde, McCann, Treacy, Brady, Meyler, Foley, Cunningham, Hoolahan, Pilkington, Tierney, Coleman, Clark, Wilson, Best, Stokes, Joey O'Brien, Jeff Hendricks, would form the nucleus of a decent side;

Edit, that was stoopid.

That's quite a strong B squad, it has to be said. It shows the depth of talent at Trap's disposal at mid-table Premier League/championship level. But there's a distinct lack of talent in the top sides in England.

Hopefully Brady's progression will address this.

06/12/2011, 2:31 PM
To be fair though, take the top level in England and you're looking at United, City, Chelsea, and then possibly Spurs, Liverpool and Arsenal. There's not loads of European National teams with loads of reps there.

I was gobsmacked to see Helder Postiga still playing for Portugal - Helder Postiga! He was crap when we played them 10 years ago, never mind now.

06/12/2011, 2:51 PM
Postiga did score that cheeky penalty (in sudden death, they were 1 down) against England in euro 2004 though. Nerves of steel, or IQ of a gnat - I'm not sure which. Portugal have ahd some great players in the last 15 years, but they've never really had a top notch striker.

The "mini tournament" suggested above: I hear it involves Croatia, Spain and Italy. The FAI are treating it as a warm up before the real business of a Q/F begins.

06/12/2011, 3:00 PM
Postiga did score that cheeky penalty (in sudden death, they were 1 down) against England in euro 2004 though. Nerves of steel, or IQ of a gnat - I'm not sure which. Portugal have ahd some great players in the last 15 years, but they've never really had a top notch striker.

The "mini tournament" suggested above: I hear it involves Croatia, Spain and Italy. The FAI are treating it as a warm up before the real business of a Q/F begins.

Pauleta. The anti-Portuguese footballer.

I read about that mini-tournament off Malone. It probably will involve Lech Poznan and a university team.

06/12/2011, 4:26 PM
Looks like we can't relax until these practice games are out of the way.
There must be some other way to keep the team match fit without playing these teams with defenders' tackles flying in late like a CIE train.

Olé Olé
06/12/2011, 4:26 PM
A quick look at wikipedia has told me Postiga has managed 4 goals in La Liga this season, having had 3 disallowed prior to bagging his first.

That's one goal less than Shane Long!

He was pants with Spurs though.

Razors left peg
06/12/2011, 4:28 PM
I'm not sure how useful a B international would be at this point. Realistically there's only two spots, max, available to bolters, notwithstanding injuries. I'd rather Trap identified where we're weak, find who's excelling in those positions and start them in the full international friendly in February.

Nothing against the B international mind, just at this point don't think we'd learn anything beyond getting a lot of players involved who haven't a chance of going to the finals.
From the point of view of the Euros it probably wouldnt be of huge significance but now that he has his shiney new contract he has to look beyond the Euros too and there are a fair few lads that could be contenders for places in next qualifiers

tommy_c12000
20/12/2011, 8:44 PM
Sent off again tonight . . . . this time for the reserves V Sunderland

http://www.hullcityafc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10338~2554057,00.html

20/12/2011, 8:51 PM
Good man yourself.

21/12/2011, 11:38 AM
Looks like he'll get away with it.
http://www.thisishullandeastriding.co.uk/story-14199774-detail/story.html

ROBBIE Brady has escaped first-team punishment after his sending off in Hull City reserves’ 2-2 draw with Sunderland last night.
The 19-year-old was dismissed for striking an opponent in first-half stoppage time at North Ferriby, his second red card in three weeks.

Club officials had been braced for a four-match suspension for Brady but the Tigers have breathed a sigh of relief this lunchtime after benefiting from a change in regulations this summer.

Brady will now only serve a three-match ban for non-first team football, commencing from January 3, and will be available for the remaining two fixtures of his loan spell from Manchester United, which is due to expire on December 31.

It is a fortunate let-off for Brady but caretaker boss Nick Barmby will be glad of a festive boost.

Despite his second red card in 21 days, Brady will be available for the Boxing Day trip to Middlesbrough.

The Football Association’s disciplinary committee altered their rules at the end of last season whereby a sending off for violent conduct in the reserves would only carry a three-match ban for non-first team football.

magicman
05/01/2012, 8:43 PM
What do people make of Brady extending his loan deal? Is it a good move or a little disappointing he didnt get a Premiership team until the Summer? Not living in Ireland anymore makes it kind of difficult to see much Championship football other than weekly highlights

05/01/2012, 8:46 PM
I think it's about his level at the moment. He just signed a new contract until 2014 but needs to sort of his discipline problems.

The Fly
21/01/2012, 3:28 PM
Just scored against Reading.

22/01/2012, 12:09 PM
goal online here: http://www.101greatgoals.com/gvideos/reading-0-hull-1/
Tidy finish, comical defending though

tommy_c12000
22/01/2012, 12:22 PM
Cheers, spent the last half hour looking for it. . . .

Carrigaline
10/03/2012, 2:24 PM
Scores against Ipswich.

14/07/2012, 7:43 AM
Included in United's pre-season tour squad

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/brady-earns-chance-to-impress-200709.html

Bad knee injury beckons I think, it always happens our brightest young players around this age.

14/07/2012, 8:50 AM
when I saw the thread had been named, I was convinced that's what it was!

liamoo11
14/07/2012, 5:06 PM
Great news for brady. Mclaughlin is off with liverpool on their pre season too also

ofjames
14/07/2012, 10:52 PM
Great news for brady. Mclaughlin is off with liverpool on their pre season too also

Positive news alright. Looks a talent.

Just to keep things in perspective tho, remember that Fergie took McShane on first team tours pre season too. Guess that means we shouldnt read too much into it!

gastric
15/07/2012, 12:30 AM

liamoo, are you referring to Ryan McLaughlin? Isn't he a NI player or has he declared for us?

liamoo11
15/07/2012, 10:21 AM
liamoo, are you referring to Ryan McLaughlin? Isn't he a NI player or has he declared for us?

yes he has played underage for the north but he is a big republic supporter on twitter. will be interesting to see if he switches for his last year at under 19. If he does stay with the north then fair play to him as well. Last year was his first at liverpool and hopefully there will be an irish lad around the liverpool team soon

Predator
15/07/2012, 10:51 AM
With Brendan Rodgers at Liverpool, you have to think McLaughlin has a chance.

15/07/2012, 4:16 PM
Rodgers is dead against the idea of NI kids playing for the ROI (despite his son playing for us!). Surely he'll have some influence?

CraftyToePoke
15/07/2012, 5:03 PM
Rodgers mightn't be there long. I think it says more about where Liverpool are than how good Rodgers is when getting a provincial side promoted is enough to get you the Anfield job. Haven't Worthington, Davies, Boothroyd, Dowie, Warnock and Mowbray done the same or similar recently? Different style of football granted but still.

Junior
15/07/2012, 10:41 PM
In fairness it was more than getting Swansea promoted that got him the job.

the bear
15/07/2012, 11:09 PM
In fairness it was more than getting Swansea promoted that got him the job.

He slept his way to the top?

CraftyToePoke
16/07/2012, 2:26 AM
Brady will be out on loan again this season according to this, despite being on the first team preseason tour :

http://www.thisishullandeastriding.co.uk/Manchester-United-s-Robbie-Brady-Josh-King-return/story-16455652-detail/story.html

Because Pearson managed Hull while Brady was there, there is a bit of speculation he may be heading Leicesters way. Nothing concrete though.