View Full Version : Robbie Brady (M Preston b.1992)
Pages :
[
15]
02/04/2016, 4:08 PM
Wow a real ding dong battle there, fortunately Norwich snatched it in the last minute or so 3-2
that may well keep the Irish lads in the top flight.
DeLorean
02/04/2016, 4:30 PM
https://twitter.com/ChallengersPod/status/716276334557806593
What a free kick that is, we have a serious weapon there.
It was a great game. I thought Newcastle were going to nick it at the end as the Norwich players, and noticeably Brady, were dead on their feet. Brady is a menace though with his left foot. Delightful player really. Wes came on late and didn't do too much.
02/04/2016, 9:21 PM
Brady's kicks and be a bit hit a miss but when he gets it right he can produce a real gem.
seanfhear
03/04/2016, 12:06 PM
He certainly can every good and he is producing very good ones at Norwich.
16/04/2016, 12:52 PM
taken off at half time today against Sunderland, according to the commentary team it was a tactical decision, not an injury.
Can't understand that, surely you'd want to keep your creative players on when you're 1-0 down?
DeLorean
16/04/2016, 3:35 PM
That's beyond belief!
TheOneWhoKnocks
16/04/2016, 3:38 PM
taken off at half time today against Sunderland, according to the commentary team it was a tactical decision, not an injury.
Can't understand that, surely you'd want to keep your creative players on when you're 1-0 down?
History repeating itself with Hoolahan as well. They went down under Hughton & Adams after leaving him out of the team every week. They are heading that way again now.
Bit of a concern how much stronger Sunderland's defence looks with O'Shea out of the team.
16/04/2016, 3:43 PM
That's beyond belief!
Agreed.
17/04/2016, 1:54 AM
Norwich had 64% of the possession apparently, and 14 corners to 0 apparently yet still lost 3-0.
Seems Sunderland are doing a Leicester, winning games without possession, it clearly is not the be all and end all of winning games.
17/04/2016, 8:50 PM
That link is incorrect.
18/04/2016, 10:15 AM
Perhaps he was having a stinker ?
18/04/2016, 10:22 AM
Perhaps he was having a stinker ?
I was watching it and he wasn't great, he was pretty good for the first 15-20 mins or so when they were well on top but he seemed to be less and less on the ball as the half progressed. He still delivered a few good corners but that was about it.
TheOneWhoKnocks
07/05/2016, 1:19 PM
And that's why they shouldn't have taken Brady off.
TheOneWhoKnocks
07/05/2016, 4:00 PM
Barring an unlikely turn of events, Brady & Hoolahan will no longer be PL players in June.
Will Brady get a PL move after just one season at Norwich?
He cost in the region of £7m so they will be looking for at least £10m I would imagine.
Olé Olé
07/05/2016, 5:34 PM
I would be completely and utterly shocked if Robbie Brady was in the Championship next season. He's probably worth a good £10m but he won't want to play in the Championship (same situation as last season) and clubs will want him so I think Norwich's hands will be tied to accept anything above their £7m investment, even if the parachute payments dictate that they don't need to sell him from a financial perspective.
Hope he gets a good move. I think he will. Not sure how good though.
DeLorean
07/05/2016, 5:36 PM
Back to Hull maybe if they come up. :)
07/05/2016, 9:18 PM
They would need a miracle to stay up, averaging about 50-1, or rather 1-50 for be relegated.
Mind you Leicester were 5000-1 so it ain't over till it is over!
TheOneWhoKnocks
15/06/2016, 11:42 AM
Linked with Leicester.
http://www.leicestermercury.co.uk/Leicester-City-transfer-rumours-City-linked-7m/story-29403488-detail/story.html
15/06/2016, 10:22 PM
Nice move if he gets it, would be Champions League!
Fixer82
16/06/2016, 10:41 AM
Brady is in the shop window and playing like it. One more performance like Sweden and he will be in very high demand. Despite Hoolahan's age, one more performance like that from him and he'll be a PL player in September too
TheOneWhoKnocks
16/06/2016, 3:00 PM
Brady is in the shop window and playing like it. One more performance like Sweden and he will be in very high demand. Despite Hoolahan's age, one more performance like that from him and he'll be a PL player in September too
Norwich will be loathe to sell him but I could easily see a Burnley or Middlesbrough coming in for Hoolahan.
He'd be a valuable squad player.
TheOneWhoKnocks
03/07/2016, 9:29 PM
Four year contract and £50,000 a week in wages on the table from Leicester; Norwich willing to sell @ Sunday Times.
Colbert Report
04/07/2016, 5:17 AM
Leicester are not afraid to splash the cash this summer! I've been keeping and eye on Burnley and they haven't signed anyone, but Michael Keane is linked with a fifteen million pound move to Leicester as well.
TheOneWhoKnocks
01/08/2016, 6:45 PM
West Ham have bid for Andrew Robertson and Martin Olsson now but no bid for Robbie Brady.
Also couldn't help but feel that Joey O'Brien, with his years of PL experience and experience of playing in the EL with Bolton, could have done a job when they were getting torn apart down their right hand side of the pitch against a Slovenian team the other night.
Ah well. Maybe Bilic was too busy making a tit out of himself trying to be the "lovable eccentric" panelist whenever Brady was playing during Euro 2016.
Colbert Report
02/08/2016, 12:09 AM
I think Bilic was intentionally trying to get eliminated from the Europa League. He did that last summer too and said it was so the club could concentrate on the Premier League.
Robbie Brady linked again today with a move to Burnley. Surely he could do better than them?
04/08/2016, 2:52 PM
Norwich want £20m for Robbie, seems nobody wants to pay that as yet anyway.
04/08/2016, 3:11 PM
Where are you seeing 20m?
EDIT: Quick google and it's everywhere.
05/08/2016, 5:55 PM
Reports today suggest that Ireland's Euro 2016 hero Robbie Brady won't be joining the champions after Norwich slapped a very hefty price tag on his head.
The Mirror is reporting that the Canaries want £20m for the Dubliner, and that fee is simply too steep for Leicester.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/transfer-window/leicester-cool-their-interest-on-robbie-brady-because-of-huge-price-tag-34867437.html
05/08/2016, 9:18 PM
/they're getting a serious amount of mileage out of that one.
He'll move by deadline day surely?
CraftyToePoke
06/08/2016, 10:23 PM
Wasn't in their match day squad today anyway. I don't know if it's injury related.
DeLorean
07/08/2016, 9:02 AM
He was an injury doubt alright.
10/08/2016, 10:20 PM
He'll move by deadline day surely?
There's a considered added element of doubt since Norwich put a price of GBP20m, widening what was thought to be the gap between offers already made and acceptable fee.
13/08/2016, 5:24 PM
Starts today for Norwich
DeLorean
13/08/2016, 5:31 PM
Started well but faded as the half went on. The opposite could be said for Hoolahan and Westwood has had little to do bar touching an attempt at an own goal over from Hutchinson. The same player was lucky to have escaped a penalty being given against him earlier for standing on Brady's foot. Norwich have had all the territory really but Wednesday defending well.
Olé Olé
13/08/2016, 6:02 PM
Some of the tabloids carrying reports that Jeffrey Schlupp is edging closer to an £11.5m move to West Brom. I'd imagine this move and funds would open the door to Brady moving to Leicester. However, he wasn't in the squad last week and he starts this week so it's hard to read this one.
15/08/2016, 9:04 AM
Started well but faded as the half went on. The opposite could be said for Hoolahan and Westwood has had little to do bar touching an attempt at an own goal over from Hutchinson. The same player was lucky to have escaped a penalty being given against him earlier for standing on Brady's foot. Norwich have had all the territory really but Wednesday defending well.
I thought Brady had a poor game. Seldom in it and when he was, gave the ball away too easily. Just back from injury so perhaps understandable. Hoolahan, when he managed to get on the ball, was the only inspiration from Norwich who were denied space. He played the full 90 due to early injuries to two Norwich players. Westwood didn't have to make a save worthy of the name but dealt with the rest of the usual stuff comfortably enough.
Wednesday's star Fernando Foriestieri refused to play and didn't travel, having been tapped up by another club (Newcastle is the word on the street). Two months ago he said:
"Speaking exclusively to The Star, Forestieri said: “I love this club. I love the team, the fans and players. The chairman has told me to sign for Wednesday another 10 years!
“I feel so good here. I love playing for this club. I hope I can finish my career here.”
Now he wants to leave because he's been offered more money. Some people are surprised and there will be the usual Judas calls. Such has it always been for every player since freedom of contract and the surprise is that people are surprised.
The next "surprise" will be when the manager, currently a hero, heads off to the Premiership when Wednesday don't get promoted (or even if they do).
DeLorean
15/08/2016, 9:22 AM
I only saw the first half. Yeah, I heard Carvalhal's interview beforehand, Forestieri is really acting the maggot. You can be professional and still get your move, pathetic stuff really. It really should make the purchasing club think twice as well. 'Not in the right frame of mind to travel/play', sweet Lord.
15/08/2016, 11:53 AM
I thought Brady had a poor game. Seldom in it and when he was, gave the ball away too easily. Just back from injury so perhaps understandable. Hoolahan, when he managed to get on the ball, was the only inspiration from Norwich who were denied space. He played the full 90 due to early injuries to two Norwich players. Westwood didn't have to make a save worthy of the name but dealt with the rest of the usual stuff comfortably enough.
Wednesday's star Fernando Foriestieri refused to play and didn't travel, having been tapped up by another club (Newcastle is the word on the street). Two months ago he said:
"Speaking exclusively to The Star, Forestieri said: “I love this club. I love the team, the fans and players. The chairman has told me to sign for Wednesday another 10 years!
“I feel so good here. I love playing for this club. I hope I can finish my career here.”
Now he wants to leave because he's been offered more money. Some people are surprised and there will be the usual Judas calls. Such has it always been for every player since freedom of contract and the surprise is that people are surprised.
The next "surprise" will be when the manager, currently a hero, heads off to the Premiership when Wednesday don't get promoted (or even if they do).I saw a story online that SWFC want to buy Stephen Gleeson. Also, didn't Dalian Atkinson play for SWFC at one stage? Killed by a police taser earlier today.
15/08/2016, 1:40 PM
Yes, both Leeds and Wednesday linked with Gleeson last week but nothing concrete.
Saw that about Atkinson - see farewell thread. Remember him fondly but he didn't stay too long. Wonder what he did after he left football.
15/08/2016, 1:44 PM
I only saw the first half. Yeah, I heard Carvalhal's interview beforehand, Forestieri is really acting the maggot. You can be professional and still get your move, pathetic stuff really. It really should make the purchasing club think twice as well. 'Not in the right frame of mind to travel/play', sweet Lord.
He's apologised now http://www.thestar.co.uk/sport/football/sheffield-wednesday/sheffield-wednesday-fernando-forestieri-says-sorry-after-refusing-to-play-against-norwich-1-8069616 Must have been offered a pay rise.
had to come off injured on 12 mins today at home to cardiff. no word yet on severity, sounds like a hamstring maybe...
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/09/2016, 4:08 PM
had to come off injured on 12 mins today at home to cardiff. no word yet on severity, sounds like a hamstring maybe...
He's a doubt for tomorrow but he'll be fit next month, as long as there are no further injuries.
http://www.the42.ie/robbie-brady-ireland-norwich-2976154-Sep2016/
TheOneWhoKnocks
24/09/2016, 3:38 PM
Has missed a penalty.
DeLorean
01/10/2016, 8:03 PM
Class from Brady today (https://vid.me/N1sk)
01/10/2016, 8:31 PM
Can't say the same about Norwich's shirts though.
01/10/2016, 8:49 PM
Super goal almost provided his own assist!
DeLorean
04/10/2016, 12:52 PM
Robbie Brady urges Ireland to stop looking for obstacles (http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/robbie-brady-urges-ireland-to-stop-looking-for-obstacles-1.2815325)
Is this a little bit of a come and get me plea?
There’s another window in January but my main focus now is getting Norwich promoted.
05/10/2016, 12:36 AM
Can't say the same about Norwich's shirts though.
I think they're great. Clear hark back to the glorious Goss and Sutton days.
http://www.sportsignings.com/images/products/products/NOR/goss6.jpg
http://www.sporting-heroes.net/content/thumbnails/00185/18438-zoom.jpg