View Full Version : Robbie Brady (M Preston b.1992)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

01/04/2015, 10:23 PM
Nobody ever mentions Formula one drivers' salaries either, and they're routinely at the top of the highest paid sportspeople in the world. Schumacher was on 50 million a year at one point! Why do footballers get called out for their earnings?

01/04/2015, 10:26 PM
there might be something to the laminated sheet story
Brady wasn't in the lineup photo
http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/52/99/07/6fe7921ed34d9eb1d7da13ec3e2b6bf44915ff5e17/INPHO_00915614.jpg

Fixer82
01/04/2015, 10:39 PM
Never had a problem with how much soccer players earn.
If there's that much money in the game I'd rather it go to the players than Sky, shareholders etc.

I think the real issue people have with soccer players is the diving and play-acting. That, for me, is what really takes away from the sport.
The only way around it is heavy punishment for the perpetrators, even if posthumously.
I read today that FAI will be fined for us getting so many yellow cards against Poland.
No mention of anyone or any association being fined for the cynical things that went on on the pitch.

DannyInvincible
01/04/2015, 10:48 PM
Nobody ever mentions Formula one drivers' salaries either, and they're routinely at the top of the highest paid sportspeople in the world. Schumacher was on 50 million a year at one point! Why do footballers get called out for their earnings?

Probably to do with football's popularity (there is saturated coverage of every little detail) and it being the "working man's game". The gap is possibly seen as more obvious or significant between the humble, working-class roots and those who work their way into the game's elite because there's just so much money in it. Is it to do with a sort of begrudgery of the vast accumulation of wealth perhaps? Many of football's followers possibly view footballers' lifestyles as more repugnant and at odds with their ideals and sense of community. They probably don't bother themselves so much about wealthy stars from other sports; they aren't their heroes, after all, which also kind of shows the peculiar sort of bipolar relationship football fans have with those who play the game they love. I have no real issue with footballers earning what they can get, I might add. Fair play to them. There's an awful lot of money in the game because it makes an awful lot of people around the world happy, and they're its actors, after all. As Fixer says, rather the footballers get it than others in the background. Those who follow the likes of rugby and Formula One (more middle-class?) probably don't begrudge affluence (or probably aren't as suspicious of it) in the same way many football fans might (be). Not that I'm necessarily suggesting that resentment is an irrational or inappropriate response either. We live in a terribly unequal society and it's naturally a great source of social discontent.

http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/52/99/07/6fe7921ed34d9eb1d7da13ec3e2b6bf44915ff5e17/INPHO_00915614.jpg

Ah, yeah, I wasn't seriously doubting that he'd been over talking to O'Neill; I just think it a bit silly to assume he was only then learning what he was really being expected to do at that moment.

02/04/2015, 7:20 AM
Footballers are knackers, that's why the middle classes are outraged at their earnings.

So Brady was over talking to O'Neill. So, what? Are we really being asked to believe he didn't know where he was playing? All the media were reporting he was likely to play LB all week cos that's where he had been training. Stephen Quinn was quoted about him playing LB.

No, let's make a crisis out of a good comeback and a good second half.

02/04/2015, 7:24 AM
Never had a problem with how much soccer players earn.
The only way around it is heavy punishment for the perpetrators, even if posthumously. I can just see FIFA turning up at players' funerals and going up to their grieving widows: we're taking 5,000 Swiss francs from you for your husband diving against Ireland 54 years ago :)

02/04/2015, 7:53 AM

ya it's completely true but I thought the point of ridicule here was that it didn't matter he missed it. to be it's a formal part of the process and pre match process - the fact he was still at the point of needing info from Mon with respect to where he was playing or formation or whatever is pretty poor.

I saw that pic after the game and wondered why it was slightly lopsided not knowing he actually was getting last minute advice from Mon!

02/04/2015, 9:55 AM
whenever anyone mentions how much a player earns, it always reminds me of Chris Rock's "rich VS wealth" routine: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AdmW0rnvF_s
Which made me think of the Formula One post above - but also this: people will question a player's wages, but not the wages of the guy who pays him + twenty two other squad members every week.

gastric
02/04/2015, 10:15 AM
Players' salaries aren't normally an issue until the likes of Ashley Cole make silly comments about their pay. I still think his comments were amazing. ON Brady's perfromance against Poland, to me he looked completely confused as to what to do until McGeady changed wings. Once this happened he seemed to be more assured as to what the game plan was. He showed enough promise over the whole game to be played there again. particularly if Bruce continues to play him there.

DeLorean
02/04/2015, 10:33 AM
I think the whole team looked nervous confused for a half hour.

gastric
02/04/2015, 10:51 AM
I think the whole team looked nervous confused for a half hour.

Not arguing with that comment , but I felt once this move occured, Brady felt more certain of his role and after three times of viewing the game I have become more adamant in my belief!

02/04/2015, 11:00 AM
The thing is when salaries are generally discussed, they are discussed in a sneering jealous context, "he's a selfish so and so" "blackmailing the club" "cashley cole" , or equating money with performance, "disgracefully lazy sod, he should run around a bit more considering what he's paid".
If high transfer fee or high salary made footballing excellence, then life would be very straightforward.

The actual context for discussing the exorbitant salaries and subsequent rise in inequality is in another place altogether and that place has absolutely nothing to do with the individual footballer who would be certifiable if he said "Im not worth that worth boss, just pay me half".

DeLorean
02/04/2015, 11:02 AM
Not arguing with that comment , but I felt once this move occured, Brady felt more certain of his role and after three times of viewing the game I have become more adamant in my belief!

Yeah I'm not disputing yours either. I remember in my own (brief) full back days I'd gain in confidence and positional awareness as the game wore on anyway. I recall constantly looking across at my centre backs following their line and trying to develop an understanding with the wide midfielder in front of me. Poland could have been set up slightly differently to what was prepared and it might have thrown him for a while. Even if they weren't, I don't think it necessarily points to a lack of communication or preparation on the part of the management, probably more Brady's own lack of experience and learning the role at such a high level.

Eminence Grise
02/04/2015, 11:04 AM
I don’t know why people think footballers’ pay is fair game for criticism. There are much higher paid people in many other areas, some for less effort and talent than a footballer (hello, Ashton Kutcher). A quick search brought up these recent examples of high pay, some in under the radar sports (here anyways) and a few non-sports areas.

Highest paid TV actor (2014) Ashton Kutcher, €26 (Mark Harmon was joint 5th on a measly $19m. Now who was it who said we’re in TV’s golden age? Seriously?)
Best paid in baseball (2014): Ryan Howard, $25m
Best paid academic in the US (2013) David N. Silvers: $4.33m (Clinical Professor of Dermatology and Pathology and Director of the Dermatopathology Laboratory at Columbia University, and all round Smartie Pants. I'm an academic, but I get paid weakly, very bloody weakly.)
Best paid in European basketball: Theodoros Papaloukas €3.5m
Average EPL salary (2014): £2.3m
Tenth-highest paid Irish CEO (2014): Gene Murtagh, Kingspan, €2.6m
(I think from here down is where the bulk of the Irish squad would come in this list)
Average championship salary (2014): £486,000
Most expensive stud cover fee: Frankel c. £100,000
Biggest advance for an Irish first-time novelist: Kathleen McMahon, €500,000 (I think John Connolly may have gotten even more back in the ‘90s, but I can’t find that info)

DannyInvincible
02/04/2015, 11:05 AM
the fact he was still at the point of needing info from Mon with respect to where he was playing or formation or whatever is pretty poor.

We don't even know what info he was receiving/sharing/seeking, so we're simply in no position to criticise from ignorance. Even if Brady wasn't sure of something, you'd rather he sought clarification then, before kick-off, than him not asking (and later possibly getting into difficulty as a result) for fear of looking stupid. A player spoke about how the instructions were much clearer now under anglophonic O'Neill. I think it was Gibson who, a few days earlier, had said that the players know exactly what was expected of them now, which he felt was a big improvement on the confusion that he claimed riddled Trap's instructions.

Perhaps Brady saw where one of their right-sided players had just positioned himself or he saw who exactly he'd be up against, having previously not been certain, and was seeking advice based on this new information. Martin O'Neill doesn't receive details of the Polish strategical line-up before the game, does he? The names of both teams were released and shared pre-kick-off, but the exact positional or tactical line-ups surely not. UEFA supplied the media with two line-ups that were in a 4-4-2 format. They had Hoolahan on the right wing for us. So who knows what the two were talking about? We can't really draw any conclusions. A manager passes instructions to his players throughout the whole game in order to deal with scenarios that develop and circumstances as they arise. It's called adapting to the situation.

DannyInvincible
02/04/2015, 11:24 AM
Players' salaries aren't normally an issue until the likes of Ashley Cole make silly comments about their pay. I still think his comments were amazing.

I don't think the matter is ever that far away from the football-following public's curiosity. I remember English teachers often used to raise it ("Are footballers wages justified?") as a class debate or discursive essay topic back in school. It's one of life's big questions, it would seem...

What exactly did Cole say?

I don’t know why people think footballers’ pay is fair game for criticism.

Do the vast wages remind football fans of the unspoken reality that their beloved club is to a large degree a business with employees instead of loyal servants?

02/04/2015, 11:40 AM
What exactly did Cole say?
in his autobiography he said he nearly crashed his car when his agent rang with his new contract offer of £55,000 a week

Ash! Are you listening?” said a virtually hyperventilating Jonathan. “I’m here in the office and David Dein is saying they aren’t going to give you £60k a week. They’ve agreed £55k and this is their best and final offer. Are you happy with that?” When I heard Jonathan (Barnett) repeat the figure of £55k, I nearly swerved off the road. “He is taking the ****, Jonathan!” I yelled down the phone. I was so incensed. I was trembling with anger. I couldn’t believe what I’d heard. I suppose it all started to fall apart for me from then on. I’d trusted Mr Dein to push the deal through.

I got that from an Arsenal fan's blog: http://the-cannon.com/2006/09/11/ashley-coles-book-extract/

DannyInvincible
02/04/2015, 12:44 PM
in his autobiography he said he nearly crashed his car when his agent rang with his new contract offer of £55,000 a week

I got that from an Arsenal fan's blog: http://the-cannon.com/2006/09/11/ashley-coles-book-extract/

So, good amazing or shocking amazing?

I suppose, if he had crashed the car, he could always have blamed it on Jermaine Pennant (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1484718/Jermaine-Pennant-jailed-for-second-drink-drive-case.html).

02/04/2015, 1:24 PM
At least he remembered he had a Mercedes.
Porche by comparison are forgettable.

02/04/2015, 10:35 PM
The great thing about sport is that the best paid sportspeople in the world are, by a fairly objective criteria, demonstrably among the best in the world at what they do, unlike so many other forms of entertainment where ability is subjective and hype and advertising can go on indefinitely without being found out.

TheOneWhoKnocks
04/05/2015, 7:24 PM
Brady influential for Hull against Arsenal tonight. Sone Aluko should have done better after a peach of a cross from Brady. His delivery has been very good so far.

TheOneWhoKnocks
04/05/2015, 7:36 PM
I jinxed it. Exposed for Arsenal's second.

Fixer82
04/05/2015, 9:00 PM
Nice finish from Quinn all the same

liamoo11
04/05/2015, 9:19 PM
Nice finish from Quinn all the same
Did Brady play off the front man when Robertson came on for aluko ?

Fixer82
05/05/2015, 12:21 AM
Did Brady play off the front man when Robertson came on for aluko ?

It looked like it. He certainly moved in from the left wing and was in a more attacking role

TheOneWhoKnocks
07/05/2015, 3:05 PM
"Robbie Brady was the best player on the pitch" against Liverpool.

http://www.hulldailymail.co.uk/Robbie-Brady-revelling-wing-role-ready-lead-Hull/story-26435477-detail/story.html

That was said after their first game against Liverpool, too, when he shackled Sterling; he likes playing against Liverpool.

09/05/2015, 3:22 PM
Brady at fault for the goal Hull just conceded. Terrible touch in the box from a bit of ping pong off a cross and Ings knocked it in.

09/05/2015, 3:31 PM
2 cracking frees off the cross bar though and he has played very well.

Quinn has also really impressed.

DannyInvincible
16/06/2015, 10:42 PM
Norwich and Aston Villa are reported to be keen on keeping Brady in the Premier League.

Olé Olé
16/06/2015, 10:48 PM
Norwich and Aston Villa are reported to be keen on keeping Brady in the Premier League.

I was considering which would be a better fit for Brady but, to be honest, I think Brady has enough of ability to make an impression at either side so it matters less who he signs for. The one that is willing to play him on the left wing maybe.

I'm looking forward to him coming in and hitting the ground running like he did in his first season in the PL with Hull before he suffered an injury nightmare for the second half of that season.

17/06/2015, 12:04 AM
Both he could do well at. Sherwood is a big fan of wingers, while Norwich have relied heavily on theirs this season too. Arguably he'd have more opportunities at Villa.

seanfhear
17/06/2015, 6:35 AM
He has a great Left foot. He can put in good cross's without beating his man. His Dead ball quality is excellent.

Its a pity Ireland don't have a quality Left back so that Brady could be best utilised farther up the field.

samhaydenjr
18/06/2015, 1:19 AM
He has a great Left foot. He can put in good cross's without beating his man. His Dead ball quality is excellent.

Its a pity Ireland don't have a quality Left back so that Brady could be best utilised farther up the field.

We're all crossing our fingers for Derrick Williams next year

18/06/2015, 1:20 AM
We're all crossing our fingers for Derrick Williams next year
I think this was discussed in another thread and we figured out he's played most of the season left side of a back three. Four at the back might be better suited to the Championship though so we'll see where he ends up. Greg Cunningham is there too remember.

18/06/2015, 11:56 AM
The more I look at our Personnel, the more I'm convincing myself 3-5-2 is the way to go - or as Marco Bielsa might say a 3-1-3-2-1 :-)

I'd even reconsider McShane as part of a 3 man defence.

Clark, Wilson, Duffy, O'Shea, Delaney, McShane, Derrick Williams.

18/06/2015, 12:36 PM
The more I look at our Personnel, the more I'm convincing myself 3-5-2 is the way to go - or as Marco Bielsa might say a 3-1-3-2-1 :-)

I'd even reconsider McShane as part of a 3 man defence.

Clark, Wilson, Duffy, O'Shea, Delaney, McShane, Derrick Williams.

Is Derrick Williams any good? To be honest, I have never seen him play but may see a bit more of him in the Championship.

Olé Olé
18/06/2015, 1:26 PM
Is Derrick Williams any good? To be honest, I have never seen him play but may see a bit more of him in the Championship.

Nor have I. Well maybe bits and pieces in the past but not at Bristol City so how about I consult those who know: http://www.otib.co.uk/index.php?/topic/169759-derrick-williams/

To summarise- He's seen as not getting enough credit but is a no-nonsense and solid player who maybe isn't that exciting but the common consensus is he has room to improve and will do so, with a few tipping him as a PL player in the future and one of their players with most potential. Almost every poster seems to speak positively of him.

The talk strikes me as though he hasn't go a future as a left-back, more so as a centre-half (left of a back 3, as CD stated, being where he's played).

TheOneWhoKnocks
19/06/2015, 8:51 PM
Brady, McClean & Walters all linked with West Brom at the same time. Heh.

20/06/2015, 3:15 AM
Brady, McClean & Walters all linked with West Brom at the same time. Heh.

James McClean set for West Brom with £1.5m fee agreed, according to Sky sources

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/12040/9890382/james-mcclean-set-for-west-brom-with-16315m-fee-agreed-according-to-sky-sources

West Brom have agreed a £1.5m deal for Wigan winger James McClean, according to Sky sources.

The 26-year-old, who made his name at Sunderland and has 27 caps for the Republic of Ireland, joined the Latics two years ago but appears to be on his way back to the Premier League with the Baggies.
He played 37 times for Wigan last season but could not prevent the club sliding into League One - Gary Caldwell's side finishing in 23rd place some seven points from safety.

£1.5 mill hardly breaking the bank!!

However this is miles better than him going to the MSL, well provided he is getting a decent amount of game time.

WEST Brom have joined the race to sign highly-coveted Hull City star Robbie Brady, according to the Mirror. A long list of Premier League clubs are interested in the 23-year-old, whom the Tigers are desperate to keep hold of ahead of the new Championship campaign.
The Baggies are looking for a successor to long-serving Chris Brunt, 30, and Brady fits that bill superbly.

West Brom join Midlands rivals Aston Villa and top-flight new boys Norwich in the battle, but City are refusing to budge from a big-money valuation for the Republic of Ireland international.
We reported yesterday that Tim Sherwood, Villa boss, is looking to use his 'pulling-power' in the transfer market to prise Brady away from East Yorkshire, but that has so far yet to see any offers come to the office of City manager Steve Bruce.

http://www.hulldailymail.co.uk/Hull-City-transfer-talk-West-Brom-join-Robbie/story-26728495-detail/story.html

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/06/2015, 9:31 PM
We are lucky Tony Pulis is still a formidable presence in the PL.

Pulis, Bruce and McCarthy always buy and scout Irish players.

More and more PL teams aren't doing this as managers like Koeman and Laudrup come in and teams like Swansea and Southampton change their structure and policies. And I know Shane Long signed for Southampton when Koeman was manager but that went over his head and it's debatable that he will ever be a regular starter there.

That's why you have to be thankful for the like of Pulis.

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/06/2015, 12:12 PM
Norwich have bid for Brady according to ESPN.

http://www.espnfc.com/story/2504787/norwich-city-submit-offer-for-hulls-robbie-brady-sources

Considering the fact that Bournemouth have stupidly paid £8m for Tyrone Mings, a player with no International recognition, no PL experience and a player who is coming off a promising if inconsistent season, Hull will probably set their stall out with a £6m valuation of Brady; probably more, as they do not need to sell.

TBH if Mings is worth £8m, then Brady is worth at least £11m.

The valuation of English players and the domino effect it has on other transfers really is something to behold.

Very frustrating.

TheOneWhoKnocks
27/06/2015, 12:10 PM
£10m valuation according to The Mirror

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/hull-city-put-10million-price-5954626

He has one year left on his contract according to this. I suppose that makes a transfer more feasible. But they are hardly in a position where they feel pressured to sell their best assets when they get parachute payments and are in a healthy financial position.

The Canaries are expected to test Hull's resolve with a lower offer, knowing they need to cut costs after falling out of the Premier League

Then again they might prefer to cash in now, rather than risk him becoming a free agent, like Stephen Quinn, even if he indispensable to their hopes of getting back into the Premier League.

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/06/2015, 12:15 PM
Brady linked to Watford.

http://www.hulldailymail.co.uk/Hull-City-Robbie-Brady-sold-cheap-Watford/story-26793323-detail/story.html

Not going to be easy after Bournemouth's cockblock.

IsMiseSean
29/06/2015, 3:12 PM
I hope he doesn't join Watford.
I reckon they'll be a bit of basket case of a club in the next few years like QPR became.

TheOneWhoKnocks
06/07/2015, 6:48 PM
CANARIES FAIL IN BRADY BID

Newly promoted Norwich have had three offers rejected by Hull for winger Robbie Brady, the latest being for £3m Sky Sports understands.

The 21-year-old has one year left on his contract at the KC and there has been no comment so far from either club.

06/07/2015, 10:10 PM
CANARIES FAIL IN BRADY BID

Newly promoted Norwich have had three offers rejected by Hull for winger Robbie Brady, the latest being for £3m Sky Sports understands.

The 21-year-old has one year left on his contract at the KC and there has been no comment so far from either club.

21 year old?

TheOneWhoKnocks
07/07/2015, 3:47 PM
Hull have confirmed that they have rejected a third bid from Norwich for Brady; talks remain ongoing.

http://www1.skysports.com/transfer/news/11714/9906072/robbie-brady-bid-from-norwich-rejected-by-hull

The fact that they are talking is a good sign. At least Hull are open to doing business.

07/07/2015, 4:32 PM
If they get him for anything like £3m it's a steal, especially when Snodgrass went the other way in similar circumstances for twice that.

Olé Olé
07/07/2015, 5:00 PM
If Norwich are bidding £3m and Hull are seeking £7m, I think halfway still represents good value for Norwich. In fact, I think £7m isn't far off being a fair enough price that Hull have the right to ask for. Brady is left-footed, 23, has 13 international caps, is a free kick specialist, can operate in a few positions, he had 34 appearances in the PL last season and would have had as many the previous season but for injuries.

If it comes to a deadlock, given that he's 23, you can see this one coming down to incentives in the fee. Brady could do worse than push this through.

08/07/2015, 10:58 AM
£3m is a bit of a joke really, sound like an opening bid but it is their third bid apparently, may be they will stick in a another low but more realistic one ie may £5m splitting the difference to what Hull want.