View Full Version : The Cricket Thread
Pages :
[
6]
02/03/2011, 4:05 PM
Kyle in the studio is talking so fast. it's gibberish.
Noelys Guitar
02/03/2011, 4:05 PM
Maggie Thatcher, Allan Knott, john snow, Ian Botham, Brian Close, Smarmy Strauss your boys took one hell of a beating. Wooooohooooooooooooooo
02/03/2011, 4:07 PM
Mooney never flinched when the pressure went to fever pitch and Trent was just unbreakable.
02/03/2011, 4:10 PM
Strauss "Kevin O'Brien came in and chanced his arm"
O'Brien came in and kicked your ass
02/03/2011, 4:10 PM
Brilliant, I just heard it on the radio and caught the last 2 overs on a stream!!!
02/03/2011, 4:13 PM
You trust that Roscommon gobs, over me?
I'm disappointed in you Kingdom.
What did I say? Or not say as generally seems to be the case.
02/03/2011, 4:18 PM
Geysir where did he say that all i got was "Andrew Strauss: "Things were looking pretty comfortable but we weren't reckoning on an outstanding innings from Kevin O'Brien - it was pretty brutal and set us back." and same from espn
02/03/2011, 4:19 PM
Got my prediction earlier horribly wrong, I'm delighted to say.
Watched the last hour in the bookies, incredible stuff, the crowd of people in front of the tv kept growing. Amazing win, amazing performance.
Noelys Guitar
02/03/2011, 4:21 PM
Geysir where did he say that all i got was "Andrew Strauss: "Things were looking pretty comfortable but we weren't reckoning on an outstanding innings from Kevin O'Brien - it was pretty brutal and set us back." and same from espn
He said it on Sky and then Atherton repeated it when interviewing Kevin O'Brien ie you chanced your arm. To his credit O'Brien just went along with it.
02/03/2011, 4:22 PM
I hope you were in there before that hour at 112 - 3 after 25 overs or whatever it was when some exchanges were offering 400/1 :D
02/03/2011, 4:23 PM
What did I say? Or not say as generally seems to be the case.
From your first breath your words uttered were 'will we fall short' when we are on the cusp of victory
3 runs left to get and you doubt Trent Johnson.
So forgive me if I didn't read the rest of that post:)
You are a chronic fatalist believing in ultimate doom and gloom, fortunately not enough to jinx this.
02/03/2011, 4:26 PM
ANy chance some of your guys will now play cricket? We have a nice club in Sandyford :)
www.sandyfordcc.org
Shoot, I should have gone over. And IF we had beaten Bangladesh, we would be on top of the group.
Noelys Guitar
02/03/2011, 4:27 PM
We can get out of this group now. Beating the West Indies and Holland can be done.
02/03/2011, 4:27 PM
He said it on Sky and then Atherton repeated it when interviewing Kevin O'Brien ie you chanced your arm. To his credit O'Brien just went along with it.
It's O'Brien's prerogative to say he was lucky and that he chanced his arm.
Strauss on the other hand could have acknowledged that it was a magnificent innings by O'Brien, perhaps the greatest in wc history?
02/03/2011, 4:29 PM
I was slighltly behind you guys on cricket world cup and espn site. but i was probably writing something else and then updated with 3 runs, i did however ask would we fall short when it was around 312-7.
Because its easier:D no because its just the way things pan out, we looked dead on against bangladesh after 5 yet we came wholly unstuck with some very bad individual mistakes.
You had faith in Johnston but he was in and out quicker than a priest at a hoor house in the last game.
Anyway we beat england :D
02/03/2011, 4:30 PM
Didn't take that from what Strauss had said (though I wasn't listening for the whole thing). His comments are on cricinfo (http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc_cricket_worldcup2011/engine/current/match/433572.html) -
"We thought we had done a reasonable job with the bat and also with the ball initially. We weren't expecting such an innings from Kevin O'Brien. Our WC dreams are not over yet, we need to set things right soon. Kevin O'Brien played really well and made the most of the powerplay. They deserve the victory, we can't do much but to lick our wounds. We have a couple of niggles, KP and Swann got injured today, hopefully they will be fit for the next game."
Kevin O'Brien, meanwhile, said
"Not able to believe it, I am quite speechless. I got a bit of luck and things went my way. If we would have gotten out soon, it would have been a boring game for the supporters and so I decided to chance my arm, it paid off."
Which seems to imply he said he chanced his arm, not Strauss.
Beat Holland and get a better nett RR than Bangladesh is now the task I think? Anything else is a bonus.
SwanVsDalton
Strauss on the other hand could have acknowledged that it was a magnificent innings by O'Brien, perhaps the greatest in wc history?
Definitely the greatest. Matt Hayden's was the fastest century off 66 balls. O'Brien smashed his from fifty.
well it was, according to bbc greatest and fastest :D http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/cricket/9410478.stm
Noelys Guitar
02/03/2011, 4:32 PM
I agree. Strauss went from super smarmy to gibberish panic mode with numerous face palms. The"Chancing his arm" comment about sums him up.
Noelys Guitar
02/03/2011, 4:35 PM
Didn't take that from what Strauss had said (though I wasn't listening for the whole thing). His comments are on cricinfo (http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc_cricket_worldcup2011/engine/current/match/433572.html) -
Kevin O'Brien, meanwhile, said
Which seems to imply he said he chanced his arm, not Strauss.
Beat Holland and get a better nett RR than Bangladesh is now the task I think? Anything else is a bonus.
Strauss clearly said "he was chancing his arm" on Sky Pinapple Stu. I watched it live as did a few others on here. Then Atherton repeated it back to O'Brien when interviewing the MOM.
Real ale Madrid
02/03/2011, 4:52 PM
Surely there's a joke flying around already about - Johnson , Mooney and O'Brien.......
Work is a real pain in the a$$ on a day like today - what a result!
02/03/2011, 4:58 PM
ANy chance some of your guys will now play cricket? We have a nice club in Sandyford :)
Strictly here for the bandwagon, only.
Unashamed cricket bandwagoneer, waving a plastic bat.
02/03/2011, 5:07 PM
Surely there's a joke flying around already about - Johnson , Mooney and O'Brien.......
Especially since their manager is Flower!
02/03/2011, 5:08 PM
You had faith in Johnston but he was in and out quicker than a priest at a hoor house in the last game.
At half time Ithought we would be lucky to get 100 runs but don΄t even dream to throw that quote back at me :)
The point, in case you missed it, is that you are chronically tuned into failure and pessimism in general.
When anybody in their right mind is thinking we can win this, stand tall, we are going to do the most incredible comeback in WC history and against England, you are looking at where can we fail.
Then when Trent comes in , you think of a situation where he failed, not the the other situations where he stood tall under extreme pressure eg. when he hit the boundary against Pakistan.
OK?
legendz
02/03/2011, 5:56 PM
Great win, will Christy Moore have a song about this one?!
Real ale Madrid
02/03/2011, 6:28 PM
Great win, will Christy Moore have a song about this one?!
Didn't Gift Grub do a cricket version of Joxer Goes to Stuttgart for the last world cup? Something about Roger and the chaps from Malahide? Can't find it for the life of me.
02/03/2011, 7:30 PM
At half time Ithought we would be lucky to get 100 runs but don΄t even dream to throw that quote back at me
The point, in case you missed it, is that you are chronically tuned into failure and pessimism in general.
When anybody in their right mind is thinking we can win this, stand tall, we are going to do the most incredible comeback in WC history and against England, you are looking at where can we fail.
Then when Trent comes in , you think of a situation where he failed, not the the other situations where he stood tall under extreme pressure eg. when he hit the boundary against Pakistan.
OK?
I asked the question, in a rhetorical sorta way, can we do this do?! like obama to his supporters on the election trail? Can we do this?! Yes we can.
Ill admit i wasn't sure if we could. I'm a realist through experience of getting my hopes up too often, the other was timing as much as anything else, i was a few runs behind ye a good few and the 3 came out as i had originally written something else. :)
The point was understood geysir, don't worry :D those high doses of serotonin and rushes of excitement might have got the better of ye. But in general you are probably right!
It might be nice if that happened the odd time the other way around ;)
jinxy lilywhite
02/03/2011, 7:33 PM
i heard on radio that someone had €25 on ireland to win at 400/1 with PP when england finished scoring.
lucky fcuker but fortune favours the brave
02/03/2011, 7:48 PM
An actuary mate of mine said some in betting exchanges were offering near to 2000/1.....
ya fortune in this case, but how many has that person put on at times like that and told no one - and for obvious reasons :d
ArdeeBhoy
02/03/2011, 7:49 PM
Well done to all the lads. Especially Kevin O'Brien!
And to all the optimists on here also....
Amazed & delighted.
That's the strength of a United team.
Take note other sports....
02/03/2011, 8:08 PM
Betting exchanges are reporting that there were £ millions placed on England when they traded at 1.01 and 1.02, at the time when Ireland were at their lowest 111-5.
Somehow, that pleases me greatly.
02/03/2011, 8:16 PM
My God, how amazing was that? I was on tenterhooks for the last hour or so.
Maggie Thatcher, Winston Churchill, Lord Nelson, Geoffrey Boycott, Ian Botham...your boys took a hell of a beating :)
legendz
02/03/2011, 8:18 PM
I read only recently they want to reduce the number of teams in the World Cup. Surely they'll have to rethink that one?!
02/03/2011, 8:19 PM
Maggie Thatcher, Allan Knott, john snow, Ian Botham, Brian Close, Smarmy Strauss your boys took one hell of a beating. WooooohoooooooooooooooSorry Noely - just saw this. I texted the same to anyone English on my SIM card after the game!
02/03/2011, 8:33 PM
I dare say old chap, I do believe the English cricket team just got PADDY-WHACKED!
:hammer:
02/03/2011, 8:36 PM
Have to say, I haven't been so nervous as I was watching the live tracker on yahoo.com in a long, long time!
02/03/2011, 9:05 PM
I read only recently they want to reduce the number of teams in the World Cup. Surely they'll have to rethink that one?!
Nope, netherlands and england wont appear in the next one ;) Thats all the 10 they need then.
02/03/2011, 10:04 PM
Was it Ireland's call for when the power play happened in the match?
boovidge
02/03/2011, 10:41 PM
yep the batting team decides when to take their powerplay.
As for the "chancing arm" comment, the reaction on here sounds like some way ott hypersensitivity to me. I haven't heard the Strauss interview so maybe it was the way he said it but it seems like a pretty accurate way of describing O'Brien's initial approach when he came to the crease. At 111-5 Ireland were all but beat so there was a choice of trying to score 2 or 3 an over and fall short but with a respectable total or to give it a go but run the very high risk of a heavy defeat. Luckily O'Brien did "chance his arm" and got Ireland a famous win.
Noelys Guitar
02/03/2011, 10:52 PM
Sorry Noely - just saw this. I texted the same to anyone English on my SIM card after the game!
Great minds think alike Stutts. The John Mooney Post match interview calling today his Ray Houghton moment. Stuttgart88-Bangalore11
http://www.rte.ie/sport/other/2011/0302/cricket_ireland_av.html
Can't wait for Sundays Game against India with a sell out crowd.
03/03/2011, 9:26 AM
Heard an interview with the O'Brien's Da last night on BBC R5. He talked proudly of what had happened, but at all times was level headed and talked a good game with rational analysis of what went down.
Then the studio hanger-ons were saying to the presenter 'lucky you got that interview in before he got ****ed drunk and incoherent'.
They can shovel their stereotypes, by the barrow load, up their backside as well.
Cuyahoga
03/03/2011, 10:31 AM
Great Result for the Irish Cricket team. I heard talk on the radio about comparisons with Stuttgart 88 . Not a patch on that great day. How many Irish people even knew yesterdays game was on until they heard it on the news and how many players names had people heard of.
03/03/2011, 10:57 AM
yep the batting team decides when to take their powerplay.
Thanks, so it's tailor made for K O'Brien
As for the "chancing arm" comment, the reaction on here sounds like some way ott hypersensitivity to me. I haven't heard the Strauss interview so maybe it was the way he said it but it seems like a pretty accurate way of describing O'Brien's initial approach when he came to the crease
It was begrudging comment to make from the losing captain, there is no doubt.
The achievement was not that O'Brien chanced his arm. I'm sure O'Brien has chanced his arm on plenty of occasions, that decision took one second, rather the achievement was the execution of the most brilliant innings and one where he was the last capable man standing.
I don't imagine that Strauss was in the best mental health at that moment in time immediately after the game and was able to acknowledge O'Brien's innings properly at a later stage.
Noelys Guitar
03/03/2011, 12:24 PM
Great Result for the Irish Cricket team. I heard talk on the radio about comparisons with Stuttgart 88 . Not a patch on that great day. How many Irish people even knew yesterdays game was on until they heard it on the news and how many players names had people heard of.
It was understandably for John Mooney and hard core Irish cricket fans (many of whom happen to be football fans as well). And the best things about Stuttgart88 and yesterday is compensation for all the bad days experienced (and beating England). How many people can name the Irish team/manager that played Denmark pre Jack Charlton?
Real ale Madrid
03/03/2011, 2:28 PM
Something big brewing again today at the cricket world cup. Pakistan bowled out for 184 by Canada who now need 81 from 100 balls and have 7 wickets in hand, could be another big shock on the cards......
03/03/2011, 2:30 PM
They're scoring at the rate of about 1 run every seven hours though. Looks like the stereotypical utter tedium after the remarkable drama of yesterday. Canada haven't once shown that they can up the run rate to the required level to win, or even get close. I know the scoring usually gets higher as the game goes on, but even still, I'd be favouring Pakistan here.
(Usual disclaimer about my almost complete lack of cricket knowledge here)
03/03/2011, 2:31 PM
Price To back To lay Traded
1.01 63,901 4,655
1.02 38,564 1,186,902
1.03 12,203 771,371
1.04 12,701 528,643
1.05 10,893 569,080
1.06 39,949 544,229
1.07 101 325,177
1.08 2,273 156,036
1.09 148 487,828
1.10 2,370 593,731
1.11 6,400 304,921
---------------
Figures on the right are matched bets on Pakistan,huge money at tiny odds,there would be a lot more money on Pakistan only for the Ireland result yesterday.
Real ale Madrid
03/03/2011, 2:46 PM
Yep, not watching it myself, just following the score, it seems they have collapsed somewhat now. The more associate wins over the big 10 the better, I fear yesterday may be the only one.
03/03/2011, 2:53 PM
Can Ireland even qualify for the next World Cup, or is it just the big ten?
And how do we get to not be an associate country any more? Isn't there something about winning x number of games against full ODI countries?
03/03/2011, 3:01 PM
Betting exchanges are reporting that there were £ millions placed on England when they traded at 1.01 and 1.02, at the time when Ireland were at their lowest 111-5.
Somehow, that pleases me greatly.
Over 2.75 Million Sterling matched at 1.01 on England
1.01 £2,716,718
1.02 £2,182,447
1.03 £1,084,695
1.04 £2,059,428
1.05 £250,032
1.06 £141,567
1.07 £364,731
1.08 £98,889
Ireland matched @ 400/1 for about 50 Euro.